When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · 40 In Tv

10 Best 40 In Tv 2026

We compared the top 40 In Tv products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Hisense 40-Inch Hi-QLED FHD Smart TV 2026

Hisense 40-Inch Hi-QLED FHD Smart TV 2026

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Enhanced color with Hi-QLED technology.

  • Built-in Alexa for hands-free control.

  • Seamless integration with AirPlay and HomeKit.

9.5 / 10 Rating
37% off Check Price
3
Best Deal Hisense 40-Inch QD4SR Hi-QLED Smart Fire TV

Hisense 40-Inch QD4SR Hi-QLED Smart Fire TV

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Vivid colors with Hi-QLED technology.

  • Alexa Built-in for easy voice control.

  • Slim bezel design enhances viewing experience.

9.2 / 10 Rating
42% off Check Price
4
Samsung 40-Inch F6000 Smart TV 2025 Model

Samsung 40-Inch F6000 Smart TV 2025 Model

  • Crisp Full HD display with HDR support.

  • Enhanced audio experience with Object Tracking Sound.

  • Secure and user-friendly with Knox Security.

8.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Amazon Fire TV 40" 2-Series HD Smart TV

Amazon Fire TV 40" 2-Series HD Smart TV

  • Alexa Voice Remote for easy control.

  • Fast streaming with Dolby Audio quality.

  • Access to free and live TV options.

8.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
6
Hisense 40-Inch A4 Series Smart Fire TV

Hisense 40-Inch A4 Series Smart Fire TV

  • Alexa integration simplifies voice control.

  • Slim bezel design enhances viewing experience.

  • DTS Virtual: X provides immersive sound quality.

8.4 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Samsung 43-Inch Mini LED M70H Smart TV

Samsung 43-Inch Mini LED M70H Smart TV

  • Stunning 4K visuals with Pure Spectrum Color.

  • Smooth motion handling with 120Hz refresh rate.

  • Smart features enhanced by Samsung Vision AI.

8.2 / 10 Rating
14% off Check Price
8
Roku Smart TV 2026 – 40-Inch Select Series

Roku Smart TV 2026 – 40-Inch Select Series

  • Voice remote for easy navigation.

  • Bluetooth headphone mode for private listening.

  • Built-in Wi-Fi for seamless streaming.

8 / 10 Rating
24% off Check Price
9
Toshiba 43" C350 Series 4K UHD Smart TV

Toshiba 43" C350 Series 4K UHD Smart TV

  • Crisp 4K UHD resolution enhances viewing experience.

  • Built-in Fire TV for seamless streaming access.

  • Voice remote with Alexa for easy control.

7.6 / 10 Rating
47% off Check Price
10
Insignia 40" F40 Series LED Smart TV

Insignia 40" F40 Series LED Smart TV

  • Integrated Alexa makes voice control easy.

  • Full HD display offers crisp visuals.

  • Smart Fire TV provides seamless streaming access.

7.5 / 10 Rating
33% off Check Price

You Might Also Like

Choosing a 40-Inch TV

A 40-inch TV is ideal for smaller spaces such as bedrooms, kitchens, dorm rooms, offices, guest rooms, or other areas where a compact screen is preferable over a larger one. Most available models are 1080p with 60 Hz refresh rates, although some offer 4K resolution or features like QLED color, HDR, motion smoothing, or gaming modes. The true performance of a TV depends more on tested picture quality, available connections, installation requirements, software support, privacy options, and energy consumption than just the advertised features.

Begin by considering the panel quality and viewing distance. For this size, a 1080p display is suitable for standard broadcast, streaming content, and older game sources. However, 4K is necessary for native 4K resolution content. Be aware that a “120” motion rating does not necessarily mean the panel is 120 Hz; some listings indicate 60 Hz panels with processing enhancements like Motion Rate. Similarly, support for HDR10 or HDR10+ does not automatically guarantee a bright, high-contrast HDR picture. Independent reviews measuring brightness, contrast, color accuracy, local dimming, input lag, and motion handling provide more reliable indicators than feature labels.

Top 40 In Tv

Check that the TV’s connections match your existing devices. Key details include the number and version of HDMI ports, support for ARC or eARC, USB, antenna, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, optical audio out, headphone jack, composite video, casting capabilities, and supported audio/video formats. Retail listings may sometimes conflict with official manuals or manufacturer websites, and some models may have inconsistent HDMI counts, VESA mounting compatibility, HDR capabilities, or audio formats. Consult the product manual for accurate information before purchasing accessories like soundbars, gaming consoles, adapters, or wall mounts.

For electrical safety, verify that the TV’s power supply and equipment have valid third-party certifications from recognized testing laboratories applicable in the U.S., such as UL, Intertek ETL, or TÜV Rheinland Certipedia. Look for certification records rather than relying solely on seller claims or generic warranties. Also, review the CPSC Recalls database and SaferProducts.gov for any safety notices. Some models lack publicly available certification records, which means certification has not been confirmed—this does not necessarily imply the product is unsafe.

Regarding energy efficiency, prefer models with an ENERGY STAR certification, EnergyGuide label, or verified DOE testing results. The listed wattage or maximum power draw provided by manufacturers is less reliable than independently verified on-mode and standby energy use. Annual energy consumption figures depend on specific testing conditions. Some models show useful government or EnergyGuide data; others only provide estimates from manufacturers or retailers. For durability, look for clear warranty terms, firmware support duration, available repair services, replacement parts, and options for recycling or taking back the unit through authorized programs.

Connected TVs require careful review of privacy and security settings. Ensure options are available to disable or limit data collection related to viewing habits, advertising identifiers, app usage, voice commands, and other personal information. Confirm that the manufacturer provides a credible update policy. Keep in mind that “smart” features do not guarantee privacy by default—adjust settings accordingly, and note that turning off data collection may not delete previously stored information.

Finally, install the TV safely as a household device, not just a display piece. Verify that the included stand, mounting screws, VESA pattern, screw depth, wall-mount ratings, and wall structure are compatible and secure. Follow current CPSC guidance on anchoring safety, especially if children or climbing risks are present. Common safety concerns include uncertain mounting specifications, incomplete anti-tip instructions, reliance on stand feet alone, and improper wall mount installation. Flicker issues are also notable; some tested models exhibit low-frequency flicker below maximum brightness, or pulse-width modulation (PWM) in most modes. Buyers sensitive to flicker should seek specific measurements for the models they consider rather than assuming a 60 Hz backlight based on the refresh rate label.

FAQ

Q: What are the important features to consider when purchasing a 40-inch TV?

A: When choosing a 40-inch TV, focus on the resolution (with 4K for clearer images), smart TV features for streaming content, and the number of HDMI ports to connect various devices. These aspects contribute to a versatile and high-quality viewing experience.

Q: Is a 40-inch TV suitable for small living spaces?

A: Yes, a 40-inch TV is well-suited for small to medium-sized living rooms, balancing screen size with space efficiency. It provides an engaging viewing experience without taking up too much room.

Q: How does a 40-inch TV compare to larger models in picture quality?

A: A 40-inch TV can offer excellent picture clarity, especially with 4K resolution. While larger TVs may provide a more cinematic experience, a 40-inch model is usually more affordable and still delivers sharp, vibrant images.

Q: Is it possible to wall-mount a 40-inch TV?

A: Yes, a 40-inch TV is suitable for wall mounting, which helps save space and creates a modern look. Be sure to use a compatible wall mount and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for safe installation.

Q: What is the optimal viewing distance for a 40-inch TV?

A: For the best viewing experience, sit approximately 5 to 8 feet away from a 40-inch TV. This range allows you to enjoy detailed and vivid images without causing eye strain.

Integrity

The evaluation distinguishes physical safety and viewing comfort from environmental sustainability and the quality of evidence. Scores serve as relative indicators among the products provided, rather than official certifications or guarantees. A higher score indicates more comprehensive documentation or testing at the model level in that area, while a lower score suggests the presence of uncertain or conflicting information across the product listing, manual, and review records.

HHealth & Safety

Certified electrical safety by an independent agency

This assesses whether the specific TV and its included power accessories possess a valid third-party U.S. electrical safety certification and are free from unresolved issues related to shocks, overheating, or fire hazards. This is important because every TV is connected to household mains power. The scores for these products range from 70 to 94: the product with a score of 94 had confirmed UL directory information for the exact model, whereas many products scoring between 70 and 74 lacked publicly available UL, ETL, or TÜV records for their exact models.

Secure Position and Safe Installation

This assesses the completeness and reliability of details such as feet, screws, VESA dimensions, mounting instructions, weight, and anti-tip guidance. This is important because a 40-inch TV could tip over from furniture or malfunction if the mount, screws, or wall attachments are incorrect. The provided scores range from 52 to 80, with higher scores indicating products that offer clear instructions, hardware specifications, weight details, or four-hole mounting guidance. Lower scores suggest issues like unstable feet, conflicting dimensions, or missing anti-tip information.

Claims Regarding Responsible Viewing Comfort

This metric assesses the disclosure of flicker, brightness adjustment features, blue light or eye-comfort features, and the extent of health-related marketing claims. It is important because simply labeling a panel as 60 Hz does not indicate whether it flickers backlight, and claims about HDR or brightness do not guarantee comfortable viewing. Most products tested score between 68 and 70, while one product scored 48 after independent testing revealed low-frequency flicker. A higher score reflects specific measurement results for that model and does not imply an overall guarantee of eye health.

EEcology

Evaluated energy performance

This measure confirms the on-mode and standby electricity consumption for the specific model, supported by an independently verifiable qualification like ENERGY STAR or an EnergyGuide label. This is important because TVs can stay plugged in or operate for many hours. The scores range from 68 to 82, with higher scores reflecting precise EnergyGuide or official government registry data. Lower scores are assigned to models that only provide catalog wattage, estimates, or lack exact energy consumption records for the model.

Designed to remain functional and recyclable

This assesses aspects such as warranty transparency, firmware updates, repair information, availability of replacement parts, and responsible take-back or recycling programs. It is important because a connected TV with a short lifespan can turn into electronic waste even if the display remains functional. The scores provided range from 70 to 82. Higher scores indicate a combination of clear warranty terms, ongoing updates, support services, and recycling options, while lower scores often lack defined software support durations, commitment to spare parts, repair documentation, or detailed U.S. take-back policies.

EEvidence

Privacy Management and Security Assistance

This assessment evaluates whether the collection of viewing and device usage data is transparently disclosed, optional for users, and under their control, as well as whether security updates are reliably supported. This is important because a smart TV can gather information related to viewing habits, app usage, voice interactions, advertising, and device data. Scores assigned range from 72 to 83, with higher-scoring products clearly documenting their opt-out options and update procedures. In contrast, lower-scoring products often lack a specific support end date for updates or do not clearly specify the limits on data collection and retention.

Supporting Evidence for the Claims

This assessment evaluates whether the claims regarding resolution, HDR, brightness, color, contrast, local dimming, and motion align with actual model-specific evidence. It is important because labels such as HDR, QLED or Mini LED branding, and motion performance figures can sometimes exaggerate what a 40-inch panel truly provides. The scores range from 49 to 77, with higher scores indicating consistency with verified specifications or test results. Conversely, lower scores suggest discrepancies in HDR or motion claims, lack of supporting measurements, or independent findings that contradict marketing assertions.

Connections that truly perform as promised

This assessment evaluates whether the TV clearly specifies details for HDMI, ARC or eARC, USB, antenna, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, casting, voice features, and audio formats. These specifications are important when connecting devices such as gaming consoles, soundbars, headphones, older equipment, or networking components. The scores range from 61 to 82. Higher scores indicate the presence of model-specific manuals or verified information, while lower scores suggest conflicting HDMI port counts, unsupported format claims, or incomplete details regarding versions and compatibility.

Transparent and honest marketing strategies

This assessment evaluates whether the listing clearly identifies the measured specifications, certified features, software-dependent functions, and promotional language. It is important because some products provided conflicting claims regarding HDR, Dolby Atmos, MEMC, operating systems, HDMI inputs, or mounting dimensions. The scores range from 47 to 79, with higher scores indicating better alignment with official manuals and supporting evidence. Lower scores suggest material inconsistencies that buyers need to clarify before making a purchase.

Evidence that surpasses the brand's own assertions

This metric evaluates the quantity and quality of publicly available, precise model evidence from sources such as certification organizations, government databases, independent laboratories, or verifiable third-party testing. It is important because claims made solely by brands and retailers do not suffice to confirm electrical safety, energy efficiency, flicker performance, or picture quality. Scores range from 68 to 83, with higher scores indicating products that have documented evidence like UL certifications, EnergyGuide labels, government registrations, or specific model testing. Lower scores tend to depend mainly on manufacturer documentation.

FPD 40-inch Palette-Series Smart TV CG40-P3
#1 - Best Overall

FPD 40-inch Palette-Series Smart TV CG40-P3

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 69/100 FPD

Overview

The installation instructions recommend proper ventilation, keeping the television away from water and heat sources, and using the provided stand hardware. The specified 200 x 200 mm wall-mount pattern offers a clear mounting interface; however, the available materials do not include anti-tip hardware or model-specific anti-tip instructions. No product-specific CPSC recall records were found during the review, and there is no public record of UL, ETL, or TÜV certification for this exact model. This indicates a knowledge gap rather than evidence of an electrical fault. Regarding energy efficiency and lifespan, no specific ENERGY STAR qualification, annual kWh consumption data, or standby power measurements for this exact model were available. The product documentation states a one-year warranty and mentions that software updates are provided. However, it does not specify an end date for updates, supply of replacement parts, repair procedures, or recycling and take-back options. Google TV offers privacy controls, but its documentation indicates that the platform may collect viewing data, app usage, diagnostics, device information, and personalization data. It is recommended to review and adjust location and recommendation settings during setup.

What works

  • No specific UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety certification for the exact model was found in the publicly available certification sources reviewed.
  • No specific ENERGY STAR model listing, measured annual energy consumption, or verified standby power measurement could be found.
  • HDR support is not documented for HDMI input, even though HDR10 is prominently featured in the product marketing.
  • No independent, documented review or published tests of latency, flicker, or brightness measurements, nor any specific model radio authorization records, were found.
  • The provided support materials do not specify an end date for firmware support, the duration of parts availability, or a recycling program specific to the product.

What does not

  • An independent retailer and product documentation consistently list the 40-inch Full HD display and the core input layout.
  • Google TV offers robust controls for casting, account management, privacy, and system updates, all governed by Google platform settings.
  • The specified 200 x 200 mm mounting pattern and the included stand hardware offer clear and standardized installation options.
  • The product documentation specifies a limited manufacturer warranty that lasts for one year.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals seeking a compact television for their living room, bedroom, dorm, or as a secondary screen. It is suitable for standard Full HD streaming, broadcast reception, and basic external devices. The device is designed to meet installation requirements featuring two HDMI ports, two USB ports, Ethernet, basic Bluetooth and Wi-Fi connectivity, Google Cast, and a 200 x 200 mm mounting interface. Additionally, it is suitable for users comfortable with reviewing Google TV privacy settings during setup and periodically checking for system updates.

Who is it not for

This product may not be ideal for households that require official third-party electrical certification before powering a television from mains electricity, or for those needing published energy consumption data for operating cost planning. Additionally, it is not well-suited for users of gaming consoles or streaming boxes who expect HDR support via HDMI, as the available documentation indicates HDR playback is limited to local or network video sources. If you need verified low input lag, confirmed flicker-free performance, assured long-term software updates, access to repair parts, or a manufacturer take-back program, consider choosing a different product.

Hisense 40-Inch Hi-QLED FHD Smart TV 2026
#2 - Popular

Hisense 40-Inch Hi-QLED FHD Smart TV 2026

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 71/100 Hisense

Overview

There are no active US recalls or regulatory warnings specific to this product based on the reviewed public sources. However, a public US electrical safety certification listing for this particular model and its supplied power equipment could not be found. The available retail specifications confirm that it is a 60 Hz LED LCD model but do not include details on flicker measurements, brightness control methods, blue light emissions, or photobiological safety testing. Therefore, its eye-comfort performance has not been verified. Hisense offers US recycling options through the MRM collection program, providing a practical end-of-life disposal method. The company also states that products sold by authorized US dealers come with a one-year limited warranty; however, specific US support documentation for this exact model was not available. The product does not have a publicly listed Energy Star certification or disclosed standby power consumption, making it impossible to independently verify its actual energy usage. Additionally, since Hisense's smart TV data practices involve collecting viewing and service-related information, consumers should be aware of these policies. An opt-out option is available within device settings to restrict the sale or sharing of this data.

What works

  • There is no record of public US NRTL certification for this specific television or its supplied power equipment. This absence of verification does not indicate an electrical defect.
  • An exact US installation manual for the model was not found, so there is no confirmation of stand dimensions, screw specifications, anti-tip guidelines, or mounting limitations.
  • There was no record of an exact-model Energy Star certification or measurements of on-mode and standby electricity consumption.
  • There was no independent, instrumented review available to confirm the brightness, contrast, color coverage, flicker characteristics, input lag, HDR support, or the claim of one billion colors.
  • The VIDAA smart platform is capable of gathering viewing and usage data; however, the specific security support period for this particular US product has not been publicly stated.

What does not

  • An independent retailer confirms the specifications of the exact model, which includes a 40-inch screen, 1080p resolution, 60 Hz refresh rate, and VIDAA platform.
  • According to the manufacturer, basic connectivity options include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, two HDMI ports, and USB for streaming and peripheral devices.
  • Hisense has announced a US consumer electronics recycling program in partnership with MRM, which includes details about state-specific collection sites.
  • Hisense provides a device-menu option that allows users to opt out of the sale or sharing of their personal information for relevant smart TV services.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals furnishing a bedroom, dorm room, office, kitchen, or other small spaces where a 40-inch Full HD screen is suitable. It caters to users primarily interested in streaming, antenna TV, and a limited number of connected devices, as it offers Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, two HDMI ports, and USB connectivity. Additionally, it is suitable for those seeking a mainstream smart TV interface, provided they are willing to review privacy settings during setup and stay attentive to firmware updates.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for buyers who demand independently verified picture quality, confirmed low-flicker operation, documented gaming latency, or validated HDR performance. Households with young children should not consider the included stand as inherently stable, as specific anti-tip and installation instructions for this model are not publicly available. It is also not ideal for setups that involve multiple gaming consoles, sound systems requiring verified ARC or eARC functionality, or advanced home-theater configurations. Privacy-conscious users should refrain from connecting it until they have reviewed VIDAA and Hisense's data-sharing policies.

Hisense 40-Inch QD4SR Hi-QLED Smart Fire TV
#3 - Best Deal

Hisense 40-Inch QD4SR Hi-QLED Smart Fire TV

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 69/100 Hisense

Overview

No product-specific recalls, regulatory warnings, or public incident reports were found in the reviewed U.S. safety sources. However, there is no publicly verifiable electrical safety certification from a U.S. Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory for this exact product. The product's physical specifications—such as its 10.6-pound weight, included stand, and 100 by 200 mm VESA mounting pattern—support safer installation planning. It is recommended to use a mount rated for the television, securely installed into appropriate wall structures, and to follow standard anti-tip safety precautions, especially around children. Hisense provides a U.S. recycling program through MRM and offers a one-year warranty covering parts and labor for LCD and LED TVs. This warranty supports end-of-life recycling and addresses early defects; however, public information does not confirm the availability of repair parts or specify a fixed software update period. Caution is advised when considering energy consumption claims. The retailer lists a yearly energy use of 10 kWh and an annual cost of $10, which does not align with the specified 70 W power consumption. Roku devices feature automatic software updates and an option to disable automatic content recognition; however, disabling this feature does not completely prevent platform data collection.

What works

  • There was no publicly available record of UL, ETL, TÜV, or other NRTL certifications for the specific model, so the safety certification for mains power could not be independently verified.
  • There are no verified instrumented reviews or certified laboratory reports available for the picture quality, flicker, input lag, audio performance, standby power consumption, or wireless reliability.
  • The stated annual electricity consumption of 10 kWh conflicts with the listed power rating of 70 W and the claimed $10 annual operating cost. Without the supporting EnergyGuide label, this information cannot be considered a reliable estimate of electricity usage.
  • The product offers 1080p resolution and explicitly does not support HDR. Although some marketing materials mention "Full Array LED," there is no documentation indicating that it features local dimming.
  • Roku users have the option to disable automatic content recognition; however, Roku states that it still gathers certain streaming and interaction data via other methods. Additionally, there is no publicly available, device-specific end date for software support.

What does not

  • A leading retailer independently confirms that the display features a 40-inch Full HD direct-lit QLED panel and does not support HDR.
  • The provided stand and wall-mount interface are clearly defined, including a VESA spacing of 100 by 200 mm, M6 screws, an installed weight of 10.6 pounds, and a stand width of 28.6 inches.
  • The device features three HDMI 1.4 inputs, a USB-A port, an RF antenna input, a composite input, a 3.5 mm audio output, as well as Wi-Fi, AirPlay, and Roku software, offering convenient connectivity for essential sources and streaming options.
  • Roku offers a device setting that allows users to disable automatic content recognition for antenna and connected-input viewing data. Additionally, Roku states that security updates are delivered automatically through software updates.
  • Hisense offers a U.S. consumer electronics recycling program managed by MRM, along with a one-year warranty covering parts and labor for their TVs.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for buyers seeking a lightweight, compact TV suitable for a bedroom, guest room, kitchen, dorm, office, or as a basic secondary monitor. It works well with streaming services, antenna broadcasts, older composite video devices, and multiple HDMI sources where 1080p resolution meets requirements. It is also suitable for users who plan to use the included stand or already have a compatible VESA mount rated for the TV and understand the importance of proper installation. Additionally, Roku's adjustable privacy settings are beneficial for households that want to review them during setup.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for viewers who want 4K resolution, HDR playback, documented local dimming, high-refresh-rate gaming, or independently verified picture and motion performance. It also isn't appropriate for buyers who need a verified exact-model electrical safety listing, measured standby power, or a publicly available long-term repair parts and firmware support plan. Families with young children or unstable furniture should not rely on the included feet as a replacement for proper placement or secure anchoring. Privacy-conscious users should refrain from connecting the device until they understand the Roku account, advertising, and data collection settings.

Samsung 40-Inch F6000 Smart TV 2025 Model
#4

Samsung 40-Inch F6000 Smart TV 2025 Model

Buyer Score 89/100 Integrity Score 76/100 Samsung

Overview

There are no current CPSC recalls or product safety warnings for this specific television in the U.S. recall database reviewed for this assessment. Samsung offers model-specific installation instructions and specifies a 200 x 200 mm VESA mount interface, M8 fasteners, and an installed weight of 13 pounds. However, no public certification evidence from NRTL organizations such as UL, ETL, or TÜV was found for this exact television or its supplied power equipment, meaning its electrical safety certification remains unverified rather than confirmed. Samsung reports typical power usage at 54 watts and standby power at 0.5 watts, and provides an EnergyGuide label. The company's U.S. website features a ZIP code-based recycling locator for consumer electronics. Additionally, Samsung has a policy of providing security updates for smart TVs launched from 2023 onward, with a duration of seven years. Privacy controls are available within settings, but the Smart TV notice indicates that enabling certain features may allow the collection of viewing, device, and usage data.

What works

  • There are no public records in the UL, ETL, or TÜV directories for the exact model, so third-party electrical safety certification could not be verified through public registers.
  • There was no independent, standardized review found for HDR brightness, contrast, color, flicker, viewing angle, or gaming latency.
  • Samsung documents support for HDR and HDR10+, but does not provide specific details on peak brightness or local dimming, leaving the practical HDR performance range unspecified.
  • Smart TV privacy settings can turn off certain personalized recommendations and targeted advertising. However, Samsung continues to collect Smart TV usage data for other reasons.

What does not

  • Samsung supports two HDMI inputs, one of which includes eARC for compatible soundbars or receivers.
  • The mounting specifications are notably comprehensive, including a 200 x 200 mm VESA pattern, M8 screws, and a specified screw depth of 21-23 mm.
  • Samsung's official policy guarantees seven years of security updates starting from the date of release for this 2025 smart TV.
  • A typical power consumption of 54 W during operation and 0.5 W in standby mode is specified, with an EnergyGuide label included in the product documentation.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals seeking a compact, lightweight TV for a bedroom, kitchen, dorm, office, or small living area, where Full HD resolution is sufficient and the screen will primarily be viewed straight on. It is also well-suited for households that utilize streaming apps, antenna signals, game consoles, or soundbars, as Samsung provides specifications for Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Bluetooth, ATSC, and Clear QAM reception, along with two HDMI ports and eARC support. Additionally, wall-mount users will find helpful model-specific details on VESA compatibility and screw depth.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for buyers who require independently verified HDR performance, wide viewing angles, low-latency gaming capabilities, or clearly documented flicker details for sensitive viewers. The 60 Hz Full HD panel is not designed or marketed as a high-refresh-rate gaming monitor. Additionally, it requires careful privacy setup compared to offline displays, as Smart TV features may involve data collection related to viewing habits, devices, and usage. Households with young children should securely mount the TV to an appropriate wall or piece of furniture and follow the installation instructions rather than simply placing it standing freely.

Amazon Fire TV 40" 2-Series HD Smart TV
#5

Amazon Fire TV 40" 2-Series HD Smart TV

Buyer Score 86/100 Integrity Score 75/100 Amazon

Overview

Amazon’s safety documentation provides specific guidelines for installation and usage. It emphasizes the importance of setting the product on a stable surface, involving two people in the installation process, ensuring proper ventilation, routing cables to prevent tripping hazards, and using all four wall-mount holes. The warnings also highlight risks such as electric shock, exposure to moisture, damaged power cords, the need for battery replacement, sensitivity to flashing lights, potential harm from prolonged high-volume listening, and the danger of children tipping the unit over. During checks, no specific CPSC product recall was identified for this item. However, there is no publicly available UL, ETL, or TÜV certification record for this exact television model in the U.S. An EnergyGuide label is displayed on the product page, providing useful information, but details on actual power consumption in on and standby modes, ENERGY STAR qualification, and results from instrumented efficiency testing could not be confirmed. Amazon offers a one-year limited warranty and provides links to Fire TV software security update information. Recycling instructions advise owners to follow local electronic waste disposal regulations. However, there are no model-specific repair parts, repair instructions, or a designated product take-back program available. The remote control uses two disposable AAA batteries, which should be recycled according to local recycling programs.

What works

  • No public records of UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety certifications for the exact model were found in the certification registers reviewed.
  • There were no available independent instrumented reviews or public laboratory measurements for brightness, contrast, HDR performance, flicker, or input lag from any specific model.
  • This product does not have publicly available flicker measurements, blue light information, or a dedicated viewing comfort mode from Amazon.
  • The product listing states it supports Wi-Fi 6, but Amazon's developer specification page for the 2025 2-Series lists 802.11ac Wi-Fi. This discrepancy requires clarification.
  • The provided stand documentation does not mention the inclusion of an anti-tip strap, and Amazon does not offer consumer repair parts or repair instructions for the TV.

What does not

  • Amazon provides documentation for the supplied stand hardware, which includes a 100 x 100 mm VESA pattern, M6 mounting screw guidance, and instructions for two-person installation.
  • The manufacturer specifies Full HD resolution, HDR10, and HLG, without suggesting 4K support.
  • The device features convenient connection options, including an eARC HDMI input, optical output, Ethernet port, USB port, antenna input, and headphone jack.
  • The Fire TV privacy documentation offers an option to opt out of advertising ID sharing and requires users to opt in for content personalization sharing.
  • The product page displays an EnergyGuide label and includes a one-year limited warranty for the TV.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for viewers seeking a modest 40-inch screen for a bedroom, small living room, kitchen, guest room, or secondary area. It is primarily suitable for watching streaming apps, broadcast TV, or a connected cable box. Additionally, it is convenient for users connecting a compatible soundbar, as one input supports eARC and an optical output is available. Users should be comfortable signing into a Fire TV account, managing privacy settings, and understanding that the native resolution is Full HD, not 4K.

Who is it not for

This TV is not ideal for those who need independently verified HDR brightness, contrast, color accuracy, flicker performance, gaming latency, or 4K resolution for close viewing and modern gaming hardware. Customers requiring a third-party verified electrical safety certification for the specific model should request documentation prior to installation. In households with young children or climbing hazards, do not depend solely on the included stand for stability; instead, use a secure supporting surface and follow proper wall-mounting or anchoring instructions. Privacy-conscious users who prefer to avoid an account-based, ad-supported smart TV interface should consider an alternative setup.

Hisense 40-Inch A4 Series Smart Fire TV
#6

Hisense 40-Inch A4 Series Smart Fire TV

Buyer Score 84/100 Integrity Score 68/100 Hisense

Overview

During the review, no recalls for the specific product, safety actions from the CPSC, or public warnings about electrical hazards were identified. The product features a known VESA pattern and comes with a supplied stand. However, publicly available information for this model does not confirm an NRTL electrical safety listing or include detailed anti-tip instructions. It is important to use the included stand hardware exactly as instructed or to choose a compatible mount with appropriate wall anchors for safety. Hisense states that the product consumes approximately 70 W during operation and uses 0.5 W or less when in standby mode. These figures are provided by the manufacturer and are not based on independent testing. There is no ENERGY STAR certification for this specific model. The brand offers a one-year warranty, model support, firmware downloads, a replacement remote, and options for TV recycling through state programs. Regarding Smart-TV privacy, users should be mindful during setup. Fire TV advertising controls feature the ability to reset the advertising ID and opt out of targeted ads. Hisense also provides information about optional viewing-data services available on some compatible models.

What works

  • The claims regarding HDR and audio on the marketplace conflict with Hisense's model-specific specifications, which specify that this TV does not support any HDR formats and list DTS Virtual:X instead of Dolby Atmos.
  • No public records of UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety certifications for the specific model were found. This absence indicates a lack of verification rather than evidence of an electrical defect.
  • No publicly verified energy performance results or ENERGY STAR certification for the exact model could be found. The specified 70 W operating power and standby power of 0.5 W or less are provided by the manufacturer.
  • Hisense does not release specific measurements for individual models regarding flicker, details about brightness control, blue light information, or photobiological safety documentation.
  • The security policy guarantees updates for at least two years, but only for specific models, and does not specify an end date for support of this product.

What does not

  • The official technical specifications indicate a resolution of 1080p, a 60 Hz refresh rate, and a viewing diagonal of 39.5 inches.
  • The manufacturer's documentation specifies three HDMI inputs, eARC, optical output, headphone jack, antenna input, and composite input, ensuring compatibility with both legacy and modern connection types.
  • The product features a documented VESA mounting pattern of 200 by 100 mm using M6 hardware, and it has a listed weight of 12.1 pounds with its stand.
  • Fire TV offers options to reset its advertising ID or to opt out of targeted ads, and Amazon provides documentation on how to enable or disable interest-based personalization.
  • Hisense provides product support, firmware updates, a one-year warranty, replacement remotes, and information about electronics recycling programs through state initiatives.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals furnishing a bedroom, dorm room, small office, storefront, or secondary living space who require a compact 1080p display instead of a large 4K screen. It is particularly practical in situations where multiple older and newer devices need to remain connected, as it features a variety of inputs including antenna, composite, three HDMI ports, optical output, headphone jack, and eARC for compatible soundbars. Additionally, it caters to users seeking Fire TV navigation and the convenience of optional Alexa voice control via the remote.

Who is it not for

This device is not suitable for households requiring verified HDR playback, high-refresh-rate gaming, variable refresh rate, automatic low-latency switching, or local-dimming contrast control. According to Hisense’s own specifications, these features are not included, despite conflicting descriptions in marketplace listings. It is also not ideal for users who are concerned about privacy, as it cannot be used without a connected television platform, account-based streaming, or advertising controls that need to be actively managed. For households with small children, it is recommended to secure the TV to appropriate furniture or use a properly rated VESA mount, since specific anti-tip safety instructions for this model are not publicly available.

Samsung 43-Inch Mini LED M70H Smart TV
#7

Samsung 43-Inch Mini LED M70H Smart TV

Buyer Score 82/100 Integrity Score 69/100 Samsung

Overview

Samsung's installation materials include clear instructions for fall prevention. The product features basic feet, a 200 x 200 VESA mounting interface, and a listed weight of 14.8 pounds when installed. For homes with children or pets, secure wall mounting or the use of a separately acquired anti-fall anchor is recommended. There are no active recalls for this product in the United States; however, I was unable to independently verify the presence of an official UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety certification for a specific model. Regarding viewing comfort, independent tests have found backlight flicker at 120Hz in most picture modes, with a higher flicker rate of 480Hz in Filmmaker Mode, except at maximum brightness. Samsung does not provide specific model-by-model claims related to eye health or flicker levels. Environmentally, the product comes with a one-year limited warranty, a repair guide for the model family, access to genuine parts through Samsung’s repair program, and a software support window of up to eight years from launch. Additionally, Samsung offers electronics recycling drop-off options in the United States.

What works

  • Independent testing revealed the absence of local dimming, low HDR brightness, washed-out dark scenes, poor handling of direct reflections, and significant blurriness during fast motion. These issues are well-documented performance problems, not just a lack of evidence.
  • The catalog's claim of a 120Hz DLG conflicts with Samsung's 43-inch specification sheet, which indicates that DLG is not available at this size. Additionally, independent testing revealed that with a 1080p 120Hz input, every second frame is dropped.
  • The panel employs 120Hz pulse-width modulation in most picture modes, while Filmmaker Mode operates at 480Hz, except when set to maximum brightness. The product does not include any model-specific information regarding eye comfort or photobiological safety.
  • No official UL, ETL, TÜV, or ENERGY STAR listings for the product were found in the relevant public records. This indicates unverified certification status and does not suggest the presence of an electrical defect.
  • Samsung's optional viewing data service can gather information such as viewing history, device identifiers, and IP addresses. Users have the choice to opt out, but completely disabling home-screen advertising is not possible.

What does not

  • Samsung offers a North American self-repair guide for this product family, and its self-repair program in the United States provides authentic parts, tools, and repair manuals.
  • According to independent testing, Samsung guarantees system updates for up to eight years after the device's release.
  • The provided foot setup is documented, with Samsung indicating the 200 x 200 VESA mounting pattern, along with details on dimensions, weight, and necessary safety measures to prevent falls.
  • It features three HDMI inputs, eARC, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB-A port, antenna input, AirPlay, Google Cast, and VRR support. Independent testing verified the proper functioning of eARC and demonstrated low input lag at its 60Hz setting.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for a single viewer or a small household seeking a compact 4K display for regular streaming, over-the-air TV, and external devices in a low-light environment. It is best suited for cabinets that can fit feet spaced approximately 24.1 inches apart or for installation with a properly rated 200 x 200 VESA mount. Additionally, it appeals to users who prioritize accessible repairs, extended software support, and are comfortable reviewing privacy settings during setup.

Who is it not for

This TV is not ideal for bright living rooms or for viewers who sit far from the screen, especially those expecting vibrant HDR highlights and deep black levels. Independent testing revealed issues such as glare, low brightness, limited viewing angles, and the absence of local dimming features. It also isn’t suitable for gamers seeking true 120Hz performance from consoles or PCs, as testing confirmed a maximum refresh rate of 60Hz. Families with children should not rely solely on the included feet for stability, since an anti-fall wall mount anchor is not provided and must be installed separately.

Roku Smart TV 2026 – 40-Inch Select Series
#8

Roku Smart TV 2026 – 40-Inch Select Series

Buyer Score 80/100 Integrity Score 73/100 Roku

Overview

The feet provided are secured with four screws, and Roku's setup instructions recommend placing the television on a stable, flat surface. The model-specific mounting table indicates a weight of 10.4 pounds, a 200 x 100 mm mounting pattern, and M6 x 10 mm screws. While this information is useful for safety, Roku's product page shows a different mounting pattern of 200 x 200 mm. It is important to verify the markings on the actual product before attempting wall mounting. No specific model of this product has been recalled by the CPSC, and there are no records of NRTL certification for the exact model available in the checked sources. A retail EnergyGuide listing estimates the annual electricity consumption at 86 kWh. Roku offers a one-year limited warranty, provides software release notes detailing automatic security updates for supported TVs, and offers guidance on electronics recycling. However, it does not specify a support end date, guarantee availability of repair parts, or include measurements for flicker at the model level. Using Bluetooth headphones can help reduce disturbance to others, but claims regarding eye health or low-flicker performance have not been independently verified.

What works

  • No publicly available certifications for exact-model UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety listings were found in the certification registers reviewed. Additionally, FCC Part 15 compliance does not constitute an electrical safety certification.
  • There are growing discrepancies in the mounting specifications across Roku materials. The product page states a 200 x 200 mm mount size, whereas Roku's mounting table indicates 200 x 100 mm. Therefore, customers should refer to the label on the actual device and its accompanying documentation before purchasing a mount.
  • There are no publicly available precise measurements of flicker, brightness, blue light exposure, or independent laboratory testing of images.
  • Roku offers privacy controls; however, its policy states that disabling Automatic Content Recognition (ACR) does not halt the collection of data related to internet streaming. Additionally, data collected prior to opting out of ACR may still be retained.

What does not

  • The manufacturer states that this product features a 1080p resolution, direct-lit LED backlighting, dual-band Wi-Fi, Bluetooth connectivity, and Dolby Audio.
  • It features three HDMI inputs, including one with ARC, along with composite, antenna, USB-A, and optical audio ports, allowing compatibility with a wide range of both modern and legacy devices.
  • Roku provides specific details about the wall-mount hardware for this product, including a weight of 10.4 pounds, a 200 x 100 mm mounting pattern, and M6 x 10 mm screws.
  • Roku records automatic updates for Roku OS and security on supported Roku TV models, and offers a recycling solution for electronic waste.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals furnishing a bedroom, kitchen, dorm room, guest room, small apartment, or other compact viewing spaces who prefer Full HD over 4K. It is particularly convenient in setups that include an antenna, older composite devices, soundbars with HDMI ARC, wired optical audio, or wireless headphones. Additionally, it is suitable for users who want Roku's integrated streaming interface and are prepared to review and adjust privacy settings during setup. Wall mounting should only be considered after verifying the mounting pattern from the TV's label or the current Roku instructions.

Who is it not for

This device is not ideal for viewers who require 4K resolution, HDR support, high-refresh-rate gaming, verified high brightness levels, wide viewing angles, or independently validated contrast and motion performance. It is also unsuitable for households that need comprehensive electrical safety certifications or clear mounting documentation prior to installation. Users concerned about privacy, particularly those who prefer a connected TV that does not collect streaming data, should avoid connecting it to the internet or choose a display with a platform designed to minimize data collection. Additionally, do not select a wall mount solely based on conflicting information found online.

Toshiba 43" C350 Series 4K UHD Smart TV
#9

Toshiba 43" C350 Series 4K UHD Smart TV

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 73/100 TOSHIBA

Overview

The public record does not show an active CPSC recall for this specific product. The manufacturer provides details such as a designated mounting interface of 200 x 300 mm with M6 hardware, a supplied stand, dimensions, and weight when installed. These details facilitate safer installation, but the equipment has not been independently verified in a public UL, ETL, or TÜV listing for the exact model. The product should be placed on a stable surface or securely mounted using hardware and wall mounts rated for the size of the television and wall type. The FTC EnergyGuide label indicates an estimated yearly electricity consumption of 160 kWh and an approximate annual cost of $26 based on its assumptions. Toshiba also states that standby power consumption is 0.5 W or less, but this is based on manufacturer claims rather than verified ENERGY STAR certification. The manufacturer offers a one-year warranty and directs U.S. customers to MRM recycling collection programs. Public documentation does not provide information on parts availability, repair manuals, or specific firmware support end dates for this model, which raises concerns about long-term repairability and software longevity.

What works

  • No publicly available UL, ETL, or TÜV electrical safety certification for the exact model was found; therefore, third-party mains safety approval could not be verified.
  • No independent, model-specific review was found for metrics such as brightness, contrast, color, flicker, HDR performance, or gaming latency.
  • The official product page features unrelated text mentioning Z670R Mini LED and 144 Hz, whereas the model-specific specification sheet clearly identifies this product as a 60 Hz non-QLED LCD without local dimming. This discrepancy constitutes a significant disclosure issue.
  • Toshiba's model-specific specifications do not list HDR10+ in their catalog claims; instead, they specify support for Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HLG.
  • The disclosed privacy policy states that connected TVs may gather audio data for automated content recognition and collect information about programming or app usage. While controls are available, users need to actively review and manage them.

What does not

  • The manufacturer lists three HDMI 2.0 inputs, with eARC available on HDMI 3. Additionally, it features Ethernet, Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth 5.0, an antenna input, and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • The manufacturer indicates a lightweight installation weight of just 17.2 pounds and supports a 200 x 300 mm VESA interface with M6 hardware, providing a clear foundation for choosing a compatible mounting solution.
  • The provided EnergyGuide label indicates an estimated energy consumption of 160 kWh annually, resulting in an estimated yearly electricity cost of $26, based on the label's assumptions of a 16-cent per kWh rate and five hours of use per day.
  • According to Amazon's Fire TV documentation, Fire TV offers privacy settings for app usage data, interest-based advertisements, and live TV broadcast data.
  • Toshiba offers a one-year warranty and directs users in the U.S. to MRM collection information for electronics recycling.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for a buyer seeking a compact 4K smart TV for everyday streaming, local antenna channels, and a few wired devices in a small space. It features a clearly defined 42.5-inch display, three HDMI ports, eARC support for compatible soundbars or receivers, Ethernet connectivity for a reliable wired connection, and a standard VESA mounting pattern. Additionally, it is suitable for households that are willing to use Fire TV settings to restrict app usage, broadcast TV, and the collection of interest-based advertising data.

Who is it not for

This device is not ideal for buyers who need independently verified picture quality prior to setup, particularly for HDR movies, bright room viewing, competitive gaming, flicker sensitivity, or color-critical tasks. It lacks precise, model-specific instrumented testing for brightness, contrast, latency, or flicker. Additionally, it is not suitable for those seeking an ad-free or minimally data-collecting television experience, as Fire TV privacy settings must be adjusted, and the manufacturer's connected-TV policy indicates data collection related to automated content recognition and usage.

Insignia 40" F40 Series LED Smart TV
#10

Insignia 40" F40 Series LED Smart TV

Buyer Score 75/100 Integrity Score 75/100 INSIGNIA

Overview

The setup instructions include important safety information. They advise users to place the television on stable furniture, route cords to prevent pulling or tripping hazards, consider using a wall anchor for added stability, and ensure all four rear mounting holes are utilized with an independently safety-certified mount. The manual also covers standard precautions related to ventilation, moisture, electrical safety, and antenna grounding. No specific model was found in public recall databases related to CPSC recalls. The product page indicates that the packaging is made from FSC-certified paper. The manual states that the television contains recyclable materials and provides guidance on local recycling options. A one-year limited warranty is provided. However, there was no information available regarding an exact model's ENERGY STAR certification, annual energy consumption, standby power consumption, repair parts policy, or publicly reported flicker measurements. Fire TV devices offer significant data control options, but users must actively disable any data collection features they do not wish to use.

What works

  • No official listings for the exact model were found in the reviewed UL, ETL, TÜV, or ENERGY STAR sources, so third-party certifications for electrical safety and energy efficiency could not be verified.
  • There were no publicly available measurements for the exact model regarding brightness, contrast, color, input lag, LED flicker, or standby power.
  • This is a non-HDR, 1080p, 60 Hz television and does not support the resolution or HDR formats typically associated with 4K HDR content.
  • The Fire TV platform gathers usage data unless privacy settings are adjusted. Disabling platform data collection does not affect the data practices of individual streaming applications.
  • The manual suggests using a wall anchor to minimize the risk of tipping over, but it is not indicated as being included.

What does not

  • The confirmed 1080p display and 40-inch size are suitable for standard Full HD streaming and broadcast viewing.
  • The product features two HDMI inputs, an antenna input, a composite input, a USB port, an optical output, a headphone jack, Wi-Fi connectivity, and HDMI ARC.
  • The manual provides detailed instructions for anti-tip measures and mounting, including the use of all four rear mounting holes.
  • Fire TV's privacy settings enable users to restrict data collection related to device usage, third-party app activity, and targeted advertising based on user interests.
  • A limited warranty of one year is provided, and the packaging is made from FSC-certified paper.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals furnishing a bedroom, guest room, dormitory-style space, kitchen, or other small viewing areas who primarily watch broadcast channels via an antenna or cable, as well as standard streaming services. It is also suitable for users with a limited number of wired devices, such as a game console and a soundbar or media player, since it features two HDMI inputs, optical audio, headphone output, and an antenna input. Additionally, it is particularly convenient for users who are interested in reviewing and adjusting Fire TV privacy settings during the setup process.

Who is it not for

This device is not intended for viewers who require 4K detail, HDR playback, high-refresh-rate gaming, or independently verified picture quality suitable for a bright room or critical movie watching. It is also not suitable for households that cannot securely place it on stable furniture or properly install it, especially those with young children or pets that might climb. Wall mounting necessitates choosing a safety-certified mount separately and carefully using all four mounting holes. Users concerned about privacy should avoid connecting the device until they have configured the platform settings and reviewed the app’s data practices.