When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Crossbows

10 Best Crossbows 2026

We compared the top Crossbows products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Wicked Ridge RDX 410 Peak XT Crossbow

Wicked Ridge RDX 410 Peak XT Crossbow

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Impressive 410 FPS speed for quicker shots.

  • Silent cocking mechanism for stealthy use.

  • Compact design for easier handling and transport.

9.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
3
Best Deal Barnett Hyper Whitetail 410 Crossbow Bundle

Barnett Hyper Whitetail 410 Crossbow Bundle

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • High-speed shots with 410 FPS performance.

  • Includes illuminated scope for better targeting.

  • Comes with essential accessories for convenience.

9.2 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
Wicked Ridge Rampage XS Crossbow - 390 FPS

Wicked Ridge Rampage XS Crossbow - 390 FPS

  • High-performance speed of 390 FPS.

  • Includes ACUdraw for easy cocking.

  • Comes with lighted 3X Pro-View Scope.

8.8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Wicked Ridge Warrior 400 Crossbow Package

Wicked Ridge Warrior 400 Crossbow Package

  • Exceptional speed at 400 FPS for accuracy.

  • Affordable performance under $500 budget.

  • Includes lighted scope for enhanced visibility.

8.4 / 10 Rating
Check Price
6
TenPoint Titan 400 Compact Crossbow with Pro-View Scope

TenPoint Titan 400 Compact Crossbow with Pro-View Scope

  • Compact size for easier handling and transport.

  • ACUdraw Silent ensures quiet cocking.

  • Pro-View 400 Scope enhances down-range accuracy.

8.1 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Xpedition Archery Xpedite 420 Crossbow Package

Xpedition Archery Xpedite 420 Crossbow Package

  • Powerful 420 FPS for swift target hits.

  • Includes illuminated scope for enhanced visibility.

  • Convenient rope and crank for easy cocking.

7.8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
8
Killer Instinct Lethal 405HD Crossbow Kit

Killer Instinct Lethal 405HD Crossbow Kit

  • Redesigned stock enhances user comfort and stability.

  • Anti-dry fire safety feature prevents accidental firing.

  • High power output with 405 FPS for precision.

7.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
9
Xpedition Archery Scrapeline 390X Crossbow Package

Xpedition Archery Scrapeline 390X Crossbow Package

  • Lightweight design enhances maneuverability and ease of use.

  • Impressive 390 FPS speed ensures powerful performance.

  • Included 4x32 scope offers improved shooting accuracy.

7.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
10
Steambow AR-6 Stinger II Compact Crossbow Set

Steambow AR-6 Stinger II Compact Crossbow Set

  • Quick six-shot repeating capability.

  • Compact design enhances portability.

  • Modular system allows easy customization.

7.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Crossbows: Key Factors to Consider

A crossbow stores significant mechanical energy, which is released through a trigger to shoot compatible bolts. Its performance and safe handling depend on more than just the listed feet-per-second (fps) speed. Important considerations include whether the trigger and manual safety prevent accidental discharge, if the bolt is properly secured, whether the cocking system safely manages stored energy, and if components such as limbs, string, cables, rail, stock, and fasteners remain reliable through normal use.

Begin by consulting the specific model's manual. It should detail compatible bolt length, nock type, and minimum finished-bolt weight. Common requirements include 20- or 22-inch bolts, specific nock styles like clip-on, half-moon, or Alpha-Nock, and minimum weights typically ranging from 370 to 410 grains. Features like a bolt retainer, nock sensor, or dry-fire inhibitor can mitigate risks but do not eliminate the need to ensure the bolt is fully seated against the string, and to inspect for cracks, damaged nocks, loose fletching, or other defects. The manual should also include guidelines for eye protection, proper hand placement, loading and unloading procedures, storage and transport, inspection schedules, lubrication, and actions following a dry fire.

Top Crossbows

Cocking and unloading require careful attention. Using rope cockers, sleds, or cranks can lessen the effort to draw the bow—especially for systems drawing 175 to 210 pounds—but correct hook placement, controlled movement, and inspection of cords and straps are essential. Many models cannot be safely de-cocked with their cocking aids; instead, instructions often recommend firing a practice bolt into a designated safe target or ground where legally permissible. Truly safe de-cocking systems should provide detailed, model-specific procedures with controlled backwinding, avoiding reliance on hand control of the string.

Treat velocity, kinetic energy, trigger pull, effective range, and accuracy figures as conditional. For example, a claimed speed of 390 to 420 fps may depend on using a lighter bolt than the included one. Verified claims should specify bolt weight, configuration, distance tested, measurement or accuracy method, and results. Independent field measurements can support claims but do not replace comprehensive, model-specific laboratory testing covering trigger performance, drop tests, abuse resistance, dry-fire safety, fatigue, cocking cycles, and component containment.

Regarding certification and accountability, do not rely solely on unverified badges. The ANSI/NACF 001-2018 standard was withdrawn in February 2021, so it is no longer a valid certification. Stronger evidence includes details about the specific model and sample tested, testing procedures, pass/fail criteria, testing laboratory, and traceability of production or serial numbers. Buyers should verify the manufacturer’s registration, warranty policies, recall history via the CPSC Recalls database and SaferProducts.gov, and accreditation of testing laboratories through A2LA or ANAB with a relevant ISO/IEC 17025 scope.

Important warnings across these products include: they are not suitable for children, inexperienced users without supervision, casual backyard shooting, or homes lacking secure, restricted storage and controlled firing areas. Users must have a safe backstop, wear eye protection, ensure proper hand and finger placement, use compatible bolts, perform pre-use inspections, and follow lawful procedures for unloading. None of the products reviewed had model-specific independent laboratory safety certification for all critical mechanisms, nor did they feature comprehensive environmental end-of-life disposal programs. Additionally, one product displayed a Proposition 65 lead warning, though the specific component or exposure pathway was not identified.

FAQ

Q: What is the maximum effective range of a crossbow?

A: The effective range of a crossbow varies based on factors such as its power, speed, and the shooter's skill level. Typically, most crossbows have an effective shooting distance of approximately 50 to 80 yards.

Q: What kind of game can I hunt with a crossbow?

A: Crossbows are suitable for hunting various game animals including deer, elk, bears, and wild boar. However, it is essential to verify local hunting laws to confirm that crossbow hunting is permitted in your area and to obtain any required permits or licenses.

Q: How do I choose the right crossbow for me?

A: When selecting a crossbow, consider your budget, whether you'll use it for hunting or target shooting, as well as factors like draw weight, length, speed, and accuracy. It's advisable to handle and test multiple models to find one that feels comfortable in terms of weight, balance, and handling.

Q: What kind of maintenance does a crossbow require?

A: Maintaining a crossbow involves inspecting strings and cables for wear, lubricating the rail and trigger components, and tightening all bolts and screws. Proper storage in a dry, cool environment is also important to prevent damage from moisture and extreme temperatures.

Q: Do I need any special training to use a crossbow?

A: Although beginners can operate a crossbow, it is recommended to undergo proper training to ensure safe and effective use. Training can cover handling, storage, target shooting, and hunting techniques. Many ranges offer classes and instructional programs for new crossbow users.

Integrity

Crossbow safety depends on stored energy, projectile management, proper maintenance, and the reliability of the evidence supporting safety claims. The scores provided below evaluate the products based on these factors; however, they do not substitute for the specific model's manual, recall information, or proper safe handling training.

HHealth & Safety

Protection for users and bystanders from injury

This measure assesses protection against projectiles, eye injuries, hand injuries, cuts, and impact trauma. For crossbows, effective safety features include finger guards, pass-through foregrips, enclosed trigger zones, clear warnings along the firing path, and instructions to keep bystanders behind the shooter. The products evaluated received scores ranging from 72 to 79: higher scores were associated with designs that incorporated validated hand-placement guidance and protective hardware, whereas lower scores indicated less comprehensive evidence or a greater reliance on user technique.

Trigger and Safety Reliability

This assesses whether the trigger, manual safety, and sear can prevent firing unless intentionally pulled. This is important because a loaded crossbow can release enough energy to cause serious injury even during handling, transportation, or loading. The scores provided ranged from 69 to 75. The higher scores were associated with documented safety procedures and instructions related to the trigger, but none of the products had an independent, model-specific report that included trigger, drop, and abuse tests.

Protection for dry-fire and bolt compatibility

This assessment evaluates whether the product prevents firing unless a properly seated, compatible bolt is in place. It also clearly specifies the length, nock type, and minimum finished weight of the bolts. Using incorrect or underweight bolts can cause damage to strings, limbs, and cables, and may pose a risk of fragments being projected toward the user. The scores ranged from 73 to 80. Products with higher scores provided specific guidelines for bolt length and nock compatibility, as well as additional retention or inhibitor features. Conversely, lower-scoring products depended more heavily on the user's correct loading technique.

Cock and Decock Safety Mechanism

This measures the control of rope cocker devices, sleds, cranks, hooks, handles, and stored energy during the loading and unloading processes. It is particularly important because many products utilize draw systems ranging from 175 to 210 pounds, and several models provided cannot be safely uncocked using their standard crank or rope mechanisms. The scores ranged from 62 to 78. The highest score was achieved by a product with a documented controlled de-cocking procedure; simply reducing the effort required was insufficient.

Limb, string, and structural reliability

This assessment evaluates whether limbs, cams, cables, strings, rails, stocks, and fasteners can endure usage without breaking, derailing, or producing fragments, and whether inspection and replacement support are accessible. The scores provided ranged from 70 to 76. Higher scores indicate more transparent maintenance schedules, easily replaceable wear parts, and better service support. None of the products reviewed included an independent report on model-specific fatigue, proof-load testing, dry-fire containment, or component failure.

Clear and safe usage instructions

This assessment evaluates whether the instructions clearly cover assembly, inspection, compatible bolts, loading, unloading, dry-fire response, eye protection, storage, transport, and keeping individuals out of the firing path. Scores ranged from 70 to 87. Manuals with higher scores provided specific bolt limits, guidelines for hand placement, detailed inspection procedures, and unloading instructions. In contrast, lower scores were linked to incomplete model-specific documentation or greater ambiguity regarding package contents and safe unloading procedures.

EEcology

Responsibilities for Materials and Field Impact

This assessment evaluates durability, repairability, replaceable wear parts, material transparency, and measures to minimize lost bolts and the disposal of composite, plastic, battery, or lead-containing components. Scores ranged from 53 to 73, with higher-scoring products providing replacement strings, cables, bolts, nocks, or service parts to help prolong the product's lifespan. Overall, transparency regarding materials, strategies for lost-bolt recovery, recycling options, and end-of-life guidance were generally limited across the products. Additionally, one product carried an unspecified Proposition 65 lead warning.

EEvidence

Verified Safety Mechanism Testing

This assesses whether claims regarding trigger, safety, anti-dry-fire, bolt-retention, finger protection, and cocking are validated through consistent, model-specific testing. The testing process includes identifying the sample, testing method, pass criteria, results, and laboratory details. Scores ranged narrowly from 68 to 72, primarily because none of the products provided an accredited laboratory report as requested. While manufacturer manuals and field reviews offered valuable evidence, they did not fully verify performance in areas such as trigger response, drop safety, abuse resistance, fatigue, or containment.

Independent validation and product traceability

This assessment evaluates whether the specific product and its production batch can be linked to independent evidence, manufacturer support, and a reliable serial number system. Scores ranged from 70 to 77. Products with higher scores typically featured serial registration, warranty or repair options, and some form of independent performance data. However, having a robust traceability system does not guarantee that the safety features have undergone independent testing. Buyers should always verify the seller, exact product listing, serial records, and any recall status before making a purchase.

Honest assertions regarding speed, range, and accuracy

This measurement assesses whether the advertised performance details—such as bolt mass, configuration, distance, and test method—align with reproducible results. Scores ranged from 54 to 82. The most credible claims specified the test bolt condition and incorporated independent chronograph or accuracy verification. Lower scores were associated with conflicting speed data, missing information on bolt mass or test setup, or the absence of independent verification. Using a lighter test bolt can artificially enhance the headline speed compared to the actual configuration provided.

Recall and Corrective Action Responsibility

This assesses whether affected units are accurately identified, hazards are properly communicated, remedies are effective, and safety notices remain accessible. Scores ranged from 71 to 76. Products with higher scores typically included serial number registration and documented service or warranty procedures, whereas lower-scoring products offered less comprehensive evidence of accountability. Although previous recalls of other models do not indicate that the current product is recalled, they highlight the importance of registration and verifying records through the CPSC database.

Wicked Ridge Fury 410 De-Cock Crossbow
#1 - Best Overall

Wicked Ridge Fury 410 De-Cock Crossbow

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 75/100 Wicked Ridge

Overview

The primary safety concern is stored energy. The manufacturer specifies features such as a D1 trigger equipped with a dry-fire inhibitor, a nylon arrow-retention brush, safety wings on the fore-grip, and an ACUdraw De-Cock procedure that involves removing the arrow and ensuring the crank claw engages both sides of the string. While these design features are helpful safety controls, they are documented by the manufacturer rather than confirmed through independent safety testing. The manufacturer also offers maintenance instructions covering lubrication, checking for string and cable wear, proper nock alignment, and inspection after any dry-fire incident. Their registration process records the product's serial number and requires the owner to confirm they have read the safety instructions. A 2015 Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) recall affected older models of TenPoint and Wicked Ridge made between 2011 and 2014—this particular product is not included. The recall identified affected units by model and serial number ranges. Information about materials and disposal procedures for carbon bolts, synthetic parts, and worn strings is limited; therefore, damaged bolts should be removed from use and discarded according to local waste disposal regulations.

What works

  • No report was found for any model-specific, independent trigger, anti-dry-fire, crank load-cycle, drop, abuse, or structural testing.
  • The claims regarding safety and dry-fire are primarily statements made by the manufacturer and are not independently verified or replicated.
  • The 2026 catalog weight, including the crank, differs from the lighter bare crossbow weight commonly listed. Buyers should verify the weight of the crossbow when fully assembled and ready for use.
  • This is a high-energy projectile device. Safety features such as safety wings, arrow retention, and a dry-fire inhibitor help minimize certain risks; however, they do not safeguard individuals located in the path of fire.
  • The composition of materials, end-of-life instructions for composite bolts and polymer components, and a formal recycling program for consumables are not explicitly disclosed.

What does not

  • The claimed arrow speed is approximate, measuring 400 fps when using the 410-grain Match 400 arrow.
  • The manual for the crank provides a specific, arrowless de-cocking procedure and instructs the user to secure the claw on both sides of the string.
  • The manufacturer has incorporated a Dry-Fire Prohibitor into the two-stage D1 trigger and provides Match 400 arrows specifically designed for this platform.
  • A serial number-based warranty registration process and manufacturer support resources offer valuable traceability of ownership.
  • The published maintenance instructions specify the inspection of strings, cables, serving, rails, nocks, and shafts, rather than assuming that wear components are maintenance-free.

Who is it for

This product is designed for experienced adult hunters who require a compact crossbow for use in blinds, tree stands, or dense cover. It is ideal for those who want the ability to safely return the string to a resting position without firing a shot. It’s most suitable for users capable of following a multi-step crank process, inspecting strings, cables, nocks, and bolts before each use, and maintaining a controlled firing environment. The package includes 400-grain arrows and a scope, providing a more complete starter set. However, it’s important to ensure compatibility between arrows and nocks when replacing components.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for minors without supervision, casual users who have not received formal crossbow training, or households that cannot securely control access, transportation, and safe aiming. It is also not ideal for individuals expecting independently verified safety features such as trigger certification, anti-dry-fire mechanisms, structural testing, or crank failure assessments, as no specific model reports were found. Users with limited hand mobility, difficulty following the crank operation steps, or those hesitant to perform regular string and cable inspections should only use this equipment after proper fitting, instruction, and supervision from a qualified professional.

Wicked Ridge RDX 410 Peak XT Crossbow
#2 - Popular

Wicked Ridge RDX 410 Peak XT Crossbow

Buyer Score 96/100 Integrity Score 74/100 Wicked Ridge

Overview

The primary safety concern is mechanical injury rather than chemical exposure. The manufacturer's instructions specify the use of safety glasses and highlight potential hazards such as limbs, cables, strings, crank cords, flying parts, dry-fire events, and fingers entering the flight deck. The product features a documented dry-fire inhibitor, manual safety engagement during cocking, compatibility with Alpha-Nock arrows, and clear cocking instructions. However, there is no evidence of independent laboratory testing—such as trigger, drop, endurance, or misuse tests—to validate these safety features. Material details are only partially disclosed. Industry reports indicate that the riser is made of cast aluminum, and the stock is constructed from glass-filled polypropylene. The package includes carbon arrows equipped with aluminum inserts and replaceable nocks. The manufacturer provides guidance on lubrication and inspection, offers replacement support, and grants a limited lifetime operational warranty—excluding strings and cables. No specific instructions for end-of-life disposal or recycling are available for worn composite arrows, strings, electronics, or plastic components. Additionally, a 2015 CPSC recall involved older Wicked Ridge models manufactured between 2011 and 2014, but this particular RDX 410 model was not included.

What works

  • There is no independent laboratory report available for the specific model regarding trigger, safety, anti-dry-fire, crank endurance, drop, or abuse testing.
  • The ACUdraw Silent manual clearly states that there is no anti-over-cranking slip clutch. Over-cranking can harm the draw cords and cause the claw to fly off.
  • The crank must not be used to de-cock this product. It remains in a cocked position and should only be discharged using the manufacturer's recommended unloading procedure.
  • The structural support is limited by normal wear exclusions. Strings and cables are not covered under the warranty, whereas limbs, scopes, and cocking devices are covered for five years.
  • The disclosure of materials is incomplete, and no product-specific guidance on recycling or end-of-life management was found for carbon arrows, composites, electronic components, or worn strings.

What does not

  • Independent on-field chronograph testing yielded an average of 402 fps, closely aligning with the manufacturer's claimed velocity of 410 fps.
  • The provided Match 400 arrows are characterized by a 20-inch length, 410-grain weight, and Alpha-Nock specifications.
  • The recorded dry-fire inhibitor prevents the trigger from firing when it engages the string instead of the string latch.
  • The manufacturer’s detailed instructions specify the use of eye protection and include precautions for loading, cocking, arrow handling, inspection, and storage.
  • A serial number registration system, repair authorization process, service centers, and a limited lifetime operational warranty collectively offer reliable support and traceability.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for seasoned adult hunters or range enthusiasts seeking a compact reverse-draw crossbow and prepared to follow a thorough loading and maintenance routine. It is particularly suitable for users who prefer the manufacturer's specified 5-pound crank effort over manually drawing a 200-pound bow. Buyers should ensure a controlled target setup, use the recommended Alpha-Nock arrows, wear eye protection, regularly inspect the strings and crank components, and have a safety plan in place for discharging a loaded bow safely.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for beginners without supervision, children, casual users, or anyone lacking a secure backstop and a disciplined loading routine. It stores a significant amount of energy, and the instructions emphasize that using frayed crank straps, over-cranking, storing the claw improperly, or incorrect cocking procedures can lead to serious injuries. Additionally, it is not ideal for users who require a crank-operated decocking method, as the included ACUdraw Silent must not be used to de-cock the bow. Do not use unapproved arrows or alternative nock styles.

Barnett Hyper Whitetail 410 Crossbow Bundle
#3 - Best Deal

Barnett Hyper Whitetail 410 Crossbow Bundle

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 73/100 BARNETT

Overview

The primary safety concern is stored energy. Barnett's instructions caution that fingers or thumbs placed near the flight track, string, or cables can result in serious injuries or amputations. The manufacturer recommends wearing safety glasses, keeping bystanders well behind the shooter, inspecting the strings, cables, limbs, nocks, bolts, and the cocking rope before each use, and discontinuing use if any parts are worn or damaged. Although the product features anti-dry-fire and nock-sensor systems, these are marketing claims; independent, model-specific testing to verify these features could not be found. The product features an aluminum flight track, while the bolt mechanism uses specialized small-diameter carbon bolts with replaceable nocks, vanes, points, strings, cables, and bristle retainers. Barnett offers replacement bolts and advises inspecting and replacing parts as needed, supporting maintenance and repair over disposal of the entire device. There is no significant evidence of a product-specific recycled-content, end-of-life, or bolt recovery program. Additionally, a Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) recall for older Barnett models involved a nock-sensor malfunction, but this recall does not apply to the current product.

What works

  • No independent reports specific to any particular model were identified regarding trigger reliability, unexpected discharge resistance, anti-dry-fire performance, bolt retention, limb fatigue, or rope-cocking durability.
  • The main component needs specialized 22-inch Hyperflite bolts equipped with capture nocks. This restricts options for replacement bolts and emphasizes the importance of bolt inspection and ensuring compatibility.
  • Barnett's current comprehensive manual advises against hand or rope decocking and recommends discharging the crossbow into a safe target. However, this can be impractical in situations where a proper backstop is not accessible.
  • In 2016, Barnett issued a CPSC recall for six older crossbow models due to nock-sensor malfunctions that led to unintentional firing. Although this specific product is not mentioned in that recall, the history highlights the importance of performing pre-use function checks.

What does not

  • The manufacturer explains that the 410 FPS measurement was obtained using a 380-grain bolt, providing important context for the headline speed claim.
  • Barnett's core model features a 190-pound draw weight, a 15.5-inch power stroke, a weight of 7.6 pounds, and a compact width when cocked.
  • The safety features listed include anti-dry-fire protection, a trigger sensor, a Soft-Lok bolt retainer, finger reminders, and a pass-through foregrip.
  • Barnett offers registration assistance along with a comprehensive manual that covers inspection procedures, storage guidelines, loading instructions, eye protection, and safety precautions for bystanders.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adult hunters or target shooters who have received practical crossbow instruction, have access to a safe shooting range or approved backstop, and are ready to inspect their bolts, nocks, string, cables, fasteners, and cocking rope before use. It is ideally suited for individuals comfortable handling a high-energy, 190-pound draw crossbow and sourcing the necessary 22-inch Hyperflite replacement bolts. The included scope, quiver, cocking sled, and basic bolts aid in initial setup but do not substitute for supervised safety training.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for children, untrained users, or households where safe storage and a secure shooting area cannot be maintained. It is also not recommended for individuals who cannot use a rope cocking device safely, which requires stable footing, proper footwear, and controlled hand placement. This includes people with limitations affecting their hands, back, heart, or balance that could compromise safe operation. Users who require a device that can be manually decocked should seek alternative options, as Barnett advises unloading the product by shooting into a safe target rather than by hand or rope decocking.

Wicked Ridge Rampage XS Crossbow - 390 FPS
#4

Wicked Ridge Rampage XS Crossbow - 390 FPS

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 76/100 Wicked Ridge

Overview

The primary safety concern is the stored energy within the device. The manual emphasizes the importance of using a safe firing direction, maintaining awareness of the target, wearing eye protection, conducting inspections before each use, and removing the equipment from service if strings, cables, limbs, bolts, or other hardware show signs of damage. It warns that damaged carbon bolts may shatter, underweighted arrows can cause dry-firing and limb failure, and that the crank magnet may interfere with pacemakers or other electronic implants. A recall by the CPSC was announced on May 18, 2015, which affected older TenPoint and Wicked Ridge models manufactured between 2011 and 2014, excluding the Rampage XS. The recall was based on specific model and serial number ranges and addressed an unexpected firing hazard, demonstrating an established process for corrective actions. While the product features replaceable bolts and serviceable strings, cables, and cocking components for field repairs, there is no dedicated program for recycling or disposing of carbon shafts, composite limbs, polymer parts, or lighted nock batteries.

What works

  • There is no third-party laboratory report available for any model-specific testing related to trigger abuse, dropping, anti-dry-fire measures, finger protection, crank load, or structural fatigue.
  • The ACUdraw instructions highlight potential stored-energy hazards, such as loss of crank control, cord damage, and the absence of an anti-over-cranking slip clutch when using the original crank handle.
  • The only manufacturer-approved method to uncock the bow is by shooting a practice or discharge arrow into a proper safe backstop; reversing the crank is not permitted.
  • The claim of 390 feet per second is provided by the manufacturer. Independent testing was conducted on a similar Rampage XS setup with a heavier bolt, not on this specific packaged product.
  • Disclosure of materials is limited. The available information specifies the use of carbon bolts, glass-filled polymer components, aluminum parts, and composite limbs, but does not include details regarding end-of-life options or recycling instructions.

What does not

  • The manufacturer specifies safety guidelines for concrete bolts, including approved nock types and a minimum arrow weight of 370 grains.
  • The safety features include a Dry-Fire Inhibitor, an automatic trigger safety, bolt retention, a pass-through foregrip, and safety wings.
  • The owner's materials provide detailed instructions for pre-use inspections, loading, transportation, unloading, and safe uncocking procedures.
  • Support for factory registration processes, an instructional library, an authorized service network, and a limited lifetime operational warranty, ensuring traceability and access to repairs.
  • Independent testing of the corresponding Tactical Stock version was conducted to evaluate speed, trigger pull, shot noise, and 35-yard accuracy.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adult hunters who can set up a designated target area and follow a thorough crossbow safety and usage routine before each use. It is particularly suitable for those who prefer a crank-assisted cocking mechanism instead of manually drawing a 175-pound bowstring, with the understanding that safe uncocking still involves intentionally shooting into a proper target or backstop. Additionally, it is suitable for users who plan to use the designated 20-inch bolts, regularly inspect the strings, cables, nocks, and crank components, and register the product for factory support.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for minors without supervision, households with children or unknowing visitors, or anyone lacking a secure area to shoot and retrieve bolts. It is also not recommended for users who require a hand crank to safely decock after hunting, as the manual warns against decocking with the ACUdraw. Avoid using it with unverified bolts, flat or moon nocks, underweight arrows, damaged carbon shafts, or modified safety components.

TenPoint Titan 400 Compact Crossbow with Pro-View Scope
#6

TenPoint Titan 400 Compact Crossbow with Pro-View Scope

Buyer Score 81/100 Integrity Score 72/100 TenPoint

Overview

The primary safety concern is stored energy. TenPoint’s ACUdraw Silent instructions emphasize the importance of wearing safety glasses during assembly, maintenance, cocking, loading, and shooting. They warn that worn straps, improper storage of the claw, over-cranking, or placing a foot in the stirrup while cranking can lead to serious injuries. The instructions also mention a dry-fire inhibitor and advise users to inspect the string after any inhibitor catch. These guidelines are detailed and specific, although they are manufacturer-provided instructions rather than independent safety tests. In 2015, the CPSC issued a recall for older TenPoint and Wicked Ridge models, but not for the Titan 400. The recall was triggered because a re-engaged safety could, under certain conditions, allow the crossbow to fire. The recall used serial number ranges for identification and offered repairs. While this product supports serial number registration, there is no evidence of current independent safety certification or laboratory testing reports. Its replaceable components, such as strings, cables, arrows, and nocks, are supported by a maintenance network. However, the carbon arrows and composite parts require careful handling when recovered and disposed of to prevent field loss.

What works

  • The crank instructions warn that excessive cranking can harm the device and cause the string claw to fly off. They also clarify that there is no slip clutch to prevent over-cranking.
  • This version cannot be safely de-cocked using its built-in crank. Therefore, a loaded crossbow should be discharged in a controlled environment rather than simply unloading it with the crank.
  • There were no independent laboratory reports found that are specific to any model, covering trigger, drop, anti-dry-fire, cocking system, limb, or fatigue testing.
  • The claims regarding 400 fps, trigger performance, range, and safety features are made by the manufacturer. While the speed claim specifies a certain arrow mass, no independent test report verifying these speeds has been found.

What does not

  • The stated arrow speed refers to a particular test setup using a 410-grain arrow, rather than simply indicating 400 fps without specifying arrow weight.
  • Manufacturer documentation details an automatic safety and dry-fire prevention system designed to mitigate two common potential firing mistakes.
  • The manufacturer supplies model-specific setup guides, crank, scope, knock, and maintenance instructions, along with instructional videos.
  • Serial number registration and a limited lifetime warranty offer the original owner reliable support and a clear traceability pathway.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for experienced adult crossbow hunters who have access to a controlled target range, are familiar with proper loading procedures, and prefer a lightweight setup with an integrated crank instead of a separate cocking rope. It is especially suitable in situations where repeatedly drawing a 215-pound weight manually would be impractical, as TenPoint claims the crank reduces the effort required to just 5 pounds. Buyers should be ready to carefully follow the provided crank operation instructions, regularly inspect the strings, cables, nocks, and straps, and use only the recommended compatible arrows.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for unsupervised minors, casual backyard use, households where loaded equipment may be accessible, or anyone unable to maintain a proper exclusion zone downrange. It is also not appropriate for users seeking a low-risk method to unload a cocked crossbow after a hunt or range session, as the integrated crank should not be used for de-cocking. Additionally, buyers who cannot regularly inspect the strap, string, cables, nock, and arrow before use should avoid relying on this platform.

Xpedition Archery Xpedite 420 Crossbow Package
#7

Xpedition Archery Xpedite 420 Crossbow Package

Buyer Score 78/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Xpedition Archery

Overview

The manufacturer’s manual provides unusually clear and specific safety information. It warns against dry firing, placing your hand or thumb above the finger guards, using damaged strings or cables, transporting the crossbow when cocked, and using an improper bolt weight. It specifies that the minimum bolt weight should be 380 grains and notes that dry firing can cause damage to the limbs, string, and cables. The instructions also advise users to regularly check for loose, worn, missing, frayed, or damaged parts and to lubricate the rail and strings every 5 to 10 shots. No product-specific CPSC recall was identified during the search. The manual includes a space for serial-number registration and offers a one-year warranty covering defects in materials and workmanship. However, there is no independent safety testing report or certification to current recognized crossbow standards. Material composition details are limited to component descriptions, and the manual does not provide guidance on bolt recovery, disposal of composite parts, or battery disposal for the illuminated scope.

What works

  • There is no publicly available independent laboratory report confirming the trigger, safety features, anti-dry-fire mechanism, crank, limbs, or the 420 fps claim for this model.
  • The claim of 420 fps is only qualified as "up to," as there is no published information regarding bolt weight, chronograph methodology, or measuring distance for accuracy.
  • The product listing mentions both a rope cocker and a crank, whereas the manufacturer's current basic package description includes only a rope cocker and does not specify a crank. Buyers should verify the included components before proceeding with setup.
  • The manual prohibits decocking using either a rope or a mechanical cocking device. A cocked firearm must be discharged using the recommended bolt, ensuring the presence of a proper safe backstop and controlled range conditions.

What does not

  • The manual provides a specified compatibility envelope for bolts, detailing requirements such as a minimum finished weight of 380 grains, length, and type of nocks.
  • Loading instructions specify that the bolt must pass beneath a retention spring and be fully seated with a clip-on nock click.
  • The manual describes how the safety automatically moves to the safe position if the string locks during cocking.
  • The manufacturer provides documentation for a serial number registration process and a one-year defect warranty.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for an experienced adult crossbow user capable of following a comprehensive setup, lubrication, inspection, and loading procedure, as well as ensuring a safe environment for every shot. It is especially suitable for those looking for a compact, 8-inch cocked width, making it convenient for hunting access or confined blind situations. The user should be ready to use only the designated bolt configuration, thoroughly check strings, cables, fasteners, and wear parts before use, and verify whether the purchased package includes the mechanical crank.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for children, casual first-time users without direct supervision, or households that do not have secure storage and a safe backstop. It is also not suitable for individuals who plan to uncock it using the rope or crank after deciding not to shoot, as the manual explicitly forbids this method. Users requiring independently verified trigger, drop, abuse, fatigue, or chronograph testing should select a product with those documented reports. Additionally, it is not suitable for users who cannot consistently obtain the specified 20- or 22-inch bolts weighing at least 380 grains, along with compatible nocks.

Killer Instinct Lethal 405HD Crossbow Kit
#8

Killer Instinct Lethal 405HD Crossbow Kit

Buyer Score 75/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Killer Instinct

Overview

The main safety concerns involve stored energy and a fast-moving projectile. The manual clearly warns of the risk of severe hand injuries, including possible amputation of fingers or thumbs, if the hands come into contact with the string and cable path. It advises users to wear eye protection during cocking, loading, and shooting, to inspect both the bolts and the bow before each use, to keep the safety engaged until ready to fire, and to ensure the area in front of the firing path is clear of people. These instructions are clear and practical; however, the product does not have publicly available independent safety mechanism testing. The package includes carbon bolts and features replaceable strings, cables, cable slides, and other parts subject to wear. The manual recommends replacing damaged bolts and worn strings or cables, which can help prevent breakage and minimize debris during use. The manufacturer also includes a California warning that products sold through its website may expose users to lead. However, it does not specify which component or exposure route is involved. Additionally, there is no information available regarding recycling or end-of-life disposal plans for this product.

What works

  • The claim of 405 feet per second is provided by the manufacturer and does not include published testing conditions or an independent, model-specific chronograph verification.
  • There was no evidence of independent, reproducible testing conducted for the trigger, safety features, anti-dry-fire system, cocking aid, structural durability, or bolt retention.
  • Decocking involves firing a bolt or a proper discharge bolt into a suitable target or a rock-free surface. It does not have an internal let-down mechanism.
  • A draw weight of 210 pounds still represents a significant amount of stored energy. While using a rope cocker can decrease the manual effort required to load, it does not eliminate the risks of hooking, pinching, back injury, or loss of control.
  • The manufacturer issues a California lead exposure warning for products sold on their website, but does not specify the particular component or route of exposure related to this specific package.

What does not

  • The manual provides specific compatibility guidelines for bolts, detailing criteria such as minimum finished weight, length, and approved nock styles.
  • The documented anti-dry-fire system is engineered to prevent switching the safety to FIRE unless a correctly loaded bolt is in place.
  • Safety guidelines include eye protection, proper hand positioning, the use of backstops, inspection procedures, safe storage and transportation, and maintaining a safe distance for bystanders.
  • The maintenance plan includes pre-shot inspections, routine lubrication, replacing worn strings or cables, and periodic checks by the dealer.
  • Registering the serial number and following an authorized service process ensure warranty coverage and enable traceability of service history.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for an experienced adult hunter or target shooter who has completed hunter education or can receive qualified in-person instruction. The user should be comfortable with detailed procedures such as loading, inspecting the bolt, rope-cocking, and performing maintenance. Additionally, they should have access to a safe crossbow target or an approved discharge area. It is recommended for individuals who are willing to register the product, keep proof of purchase, record the serial number, and arrange periodic authorized servicing, rather than attempting to perform tasks like string, cable, limb, or trigger repairs at home.

Who is it not for

It is not recommended for children to use without direct adult supervision, for inexperienced users without proper training, or for households unable to keep it securely uncocked and out of reach. Individuals with back, shoulder, hand, balance, dizziness, or other health issues that may affect safe and controlled cocking should not rely on the rope cocker as a substitute for professional medical advice. Additionally, it is unsuitable in environments lacking a safe target and backstop for unloading, since decocking involves firing a bolt rather than using a built-in controlled release feature.

Xpedition Archery Scrapeline 390X Crossbow Package
#9

Xpedition Archery Scrapeline 390X Crossbow Package

Buyer Score 75/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Xpedition Archery

Overview

The primary safety concern is stored energy. The manual advises users to keep their hands and thumbs below the string and cable path, ensure the clip-on nock is fully seated, inspect fasteners and strings regularly, avoid dry firing, wear eye protection, and never transport the crossbow in a cocked or loaded state. It also notes that the safety automatically returns to the "Safe" position after cocking. These are manufacturer instructions, and no independent trigger, anti-dry-fire, or structural test reports have been identified. The product features carbon bolts and utilizes strings, cables, cable slides, lubricants, and other replaceable wear parts. The manufacturer offers a one-year limited warranty and has a current registration process for the product. The parts store lists a crossbow retention spring, although compatibility information for this part is incomplete for this particular model. No model-specific CPSC recalls were found during the search. Additionally, there is no information on environmental material disclosures, bolt-recovery plans, composite disposal guidelines, or a broader lifecycle management program.

What works

  • No independent report specific to the model was found regarding the trigger function, anti-dry-fire performance, drop testing, abuse testing, limb fatigue, or structural containment.
  • The claim of 390 feet per second lacks details regarding bolt weight, setup, chronograph method, testing distance, or consistent, repeatable results.
  • The manual advises using appropriate bolts and cautions against using underweight bolts, but it does not specify a minimum finished bolt weight or provide a comprehensive approved bolt specification.
  • The instructions for rope-cocking prevent manual or rope-cocker decocking, but do not specify a safe method or system for controlled decocking.
  • The one-year warranty does not cover strings, cables, cable slides, bushings, bearings, or other parts that are subject to wear and tear.

What does not

  • The package contents are thoroughly listed, including the scope, quiver, rope cockers, three 20-inch bolts, and practice tips.
  • The manufacturer’s manual provides detailed instructions for loading the clip-on nock and the bolt-retention spring.
  • The instructions clearly emphasize proper hand placement, discourage dry firing, stress the importance of wearing eye protection, and highlight the need for regular inspection, ensuring the firearm is pointed in a safe direction, and storing it unloaded.
  • The manufacturer documentation includes details about a serial number field and the process for registering a 30-day warranty.
  • The manufacturer still provides crossbow support, user manuals, registration options, and at least some replacement parts.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adult crossbow users who have access to an appropriate shooting range or hunting area. Users should understand that it requires a rope cocker for cocking and be willing to perform regular inspections and lubrication as part of routine maintenance. It is ideal for individuals who appreciate having a basic setup package included and are able to confirm compliance with local crossbow regulations. The user should also be comfortable choosing compatible 20-inch bolts with clip-on nocks and must ensure a safe target and backstop are available for every shot.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for children, inexperienced users without supervision, or households that cannot securely store it unloaded and out of reach of unauthorized individuals. It is also not appropriate for those who require a controlled mechanical decocking system, documented drop and trigger testing, or a specified minimum bolt weight before use. Individuals who cannot safely operate a rope cocker with stable footing and even tension should avoid this type. Additionally, do not use it in environments where a safe shooting range, a crossbow-rated target, or a clear firing path cannot be guaranteed.

Steambow AR-6 Stinger II Compact Crossbow Set
#10

Steambow AR-6 Stinger II Compact Crossbow Set

Buyer Score 75/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Steambow

Overview

The primary safety concern is physical injury caused by mechanical forces, rather than chemical exposure. The manual emphasizes that the product can cause serious injuries or fatalities, noting that the string and limbs move at high speeds and that bolts can penetrate or pass through materials. It is essential to wear safety glasses, use an appropriate backstop, regularly inspect for worn strings and damaged bolts, and store the device uncocked. A key limitation is the absence of a manual trigger safety and the reliance on the user to manage dry-fire control. The device's body is made from a high-glass-content, impact-resistant, and UV-resistant polymer. The limbs are constructed from a fiberglass and carbon-fiber hybrid, and the supplied bodkin bolts feature hardened steel tips. Steambow offers replacement parts such as strings, springs, limbs, and bolts, supporting repair rather than disposal. However, detailed information on the materials used is limited, with no guidance on recycling or bolt recovery programs. Additionally, no product-specific recalls or warnings under California Proposition 65 were identified in the reviewed sources.

What works

  • This product does not feature a manual trigger safety, a deliberate design decision that results in a cocked crossbow being ready to fire.
  • It does not feature an automatic anti-dry-fire mechanism by default. The manual instructs users to manually track the number of shots fired or to check the magazine, and cautions that dry firing may cause damage to the crossbow or its limbs.
  • No independent laboratory report specific to the model was found for testing related to trigger, drop, anti-dry-fire, structural fatigue, or misuse/abuse.
  • The claim of 75-foot accuracy is provided by the manufacturer and lacks publicly available test conditions or an independent accuracy verification specific to the model.

What does not

  • The manual provides unusually clear warnings regarding the lack of automatic safety features, the dangers of dry firing, proper hand placement, the importance of eye protection, the risk of ricochets, and the necessity of secure backstops.
  • The manufacturer explicitly specifies the included items: a 35-pound limb, a six-bolt magazine, replacement strings, and a stringing aid.
  • The manufacturer offers replacement springs, strings, limbs, bolts, and other service components for the platform.
  • The manual stipulates that inspections of the strings, fasteners, bolts, limb alignment, and wear should be performed both before and after use.

Who is it for

This setup is ideal for a trained adult operating within a controlled target area, equipped with eye protection, a sturdy backstop rated for the bolt, and a clear firing lane. The lightweight, compact design weighing approximately 35 pounds, along with the integrated six-bolt magazine, is suitable for someone who prefers a short, lightweight platform and is willing to adhere to the manual’s procedures for inspection, loading, and shot counting. It is also suitable for users who prefer access to replacement strings, springs, limbs, and compatible bolts, rather than a sealed, disposable device.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for children without direct adult supervision, casual use in the backyard without a tested backstop, or households where an untrained person might access a cocked projectile launcher. It is also not appropriate for users who rely on a manual safety, automatic dry-fire prevention, or independently verified trigger and abuse-test results. Individuals who cannot consistently maintain strict finger discipline, keep both hands below the rail, inspect bolts and strings, and accurately count each shot should choose equipment with more robust passive safety features.