When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Electric Fireplace Inserts

10 Best Electric Fireplace Inserts 2026

We compared the top Electric Fireplace Inserts products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert

PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Realistic fire crackling sound.

  • Includes a convenient remote control.

  • Offers adjustable heat settings.

9.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
3
Best Deal Touchstone Sideline 50-Inch Smart Electric Fireplace

Touchstone Sideline 50-Inch Smart Electric Fireplace

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • 30 customizable ember color and flame options.

  • Alexa and WiFi-enabled for easy control.

  • Built-in thermostat for efficient heating.

9.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
Electactic 60" Electric Fireplace Heater with Remote Control

Electactic 60" Electric Fireplace Heater with Remote Control

  • Multiple flame color options for customizable ambiance.

  • Includes timer and remote for convenient control.

  • Can be recessed or wall-mounted for versatile installation.

8.8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Euhomy 50" Electric Fireplace with Remote

Euhomy 50" Electric Fireplace with Remote

  • Customizable flame colors for a personalized ambiance.

  • Dual heat settings for energy-efficient warmth.

  • Sleek design fits seamlessly into any space.

8.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
6
PuraFlame Electric Fireplace Log Set Insert

PuraFlame Electric Fireplace Log Set Insert

  • Offers six customizable flame colors.

  • Includes realistic crackling sound effects.

  • Convenient remote control operation.

8.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Antarctic Star Electric Fireplace Heater

Antarctic Star Electric Fireplace Heater

  • Multicolor flame options enhance ambiance beautifully.

  • Dual heat settings provide flexible warmth control.

  • Sleek design fits both recessed and wall-mounted setups.

8.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
8
BELLEZE Electric Fireplace Heater 28"

BELLEZE Electric Fireplace Heater 28"

  • Realistic wood log with soothing crackling sound.

  • Adjustable timer enhances convenience and safety.

  • Versatile design fits bedrooms and living rooms.

8 / 10 Rating
5% off + $10 Coupon Check Price
9
Xbeauty 50" Wall Mounted Electric Fireplace

Xbeauty 50" Wall Mounted Electric Fireplace

  • Sleek, ultra-thin design saves space.

  • Easy control with touchscreen and remote.

  • Adjustable heat settings for personalized comfort.

7.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
10
Garvee 50-Inch Electric Fireplace Inserts

Garvee 50-Inch Electric Fireplace Inserts

  • Ultra narrow frame for sleek wall integration.

  • Twelve flame colors for customizable ambiance.

  • Low noise operation ensures a quiet environment.

7.7 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Electric Fireplace Inserts: Key Factors to Consider

Electric fireplace inserts combine visual flame effects with electric-resistance heating. Most models feature 750W and 1500W settings, remote or touch controls, thermostats or timers, and can be installed recessed, wall-mounted, freestanding, or into existing fireplaces. The flame display and heating functions may operate independently, allowing for ambiance without using full heating capacity. These inserts are designed as supplementary heating devices; their claimed room size does not guarantee they can serve as primary or whole-home heating sources.

The suitability of a model depends primarily on proper fit and installation. Prospective buyers should know the exact dimensions, cutout or opening requirements, mounting method, ventilation needs, power outlet or circuit specifications, and clearance from combustible materials. Several reviews emphasize the need for a grounded 120V outlet, direct wiring without extension cords or power strips, unobstructed vents, and about three feet of clearance in front of the unit. Some models are only plug-in and cannot be hardwired. A unit that visually fits but cannot meet airflow or clearance requirements poses safety risks and should not be installed.

Top Electric Fireplace Inserts

Electrical safety certification must be verified on the product label and confirmed against current listings from OSHA-recognized testing laboratories. Popular standards include UL 1278 and UL 2021; certification records can be verified through CSA or Intertek databases for specific models. A seller’s claims of “UL,” “ETL,” “CSA,” or “cETL” certification alone are insufficient; the certification must match the exact model, brand, installation type, and be traceable through official databases such as UL Product iQ, Intertek’s ETL directory, or CSA’s database. Retailer-hosted certification reports may help but are less definitive if the specific model details cannot be verified.

Heat output claims should be interpreted with context. A 1500W heater generates approximately 5,100 BTU per hour, meaning wattage and BTU claims near that level are credible. However, such figures do not confirm suitability for spaces of 400, 600, 1000, or 1500 square feet. Reviews often mention factors like insulation, ceiling height, outdoor temperature, room layout, and desired temperature rise that influence performance. Discrepancies among wattage specifications across listings, manuals, or records should be scrutinized. Claims related to infrared heat, energy savings, humidity control, lower operating costs, low noise, or wellness benefits require precise measurements or supporting evidence specific to the model.

For safe ongoing use, look for features such as thermal shutdown, cooldown behavior, instructions for damaged cords, hot-surface warnings, and clear operation guidelines for timers, thermostats, remotes, and power interruptions. A timer alone does not replace supervision. Repairability depends not only on warranties but also on the availability of manuals, support contacts, replacement parts (remotes, fans, controls, flame components), and service instructions to ensure the unit can be maintained or repaired.

Important safety considerations include avoiding extension cords, power strips, loose or hot outlets, blocked vents, makeshift enclosures, outdoor or damp locations, and installations that do not maintain required clearances. Hot surfaces, glass, grilles, and outlets pose burn risks, especially to children, pets, vulnerable individuals, and near bedding, curtains, or furniture. These inserts should not be left unattended overnight or used as primary heating sources. Before modifying walls or enclosures, buyers must verify all dimensions, wattage, installation instructions, certifications, and thermostat specifications to ensure safe and proper installation.

Integrity

The scores presented below are based on the provided product reviews and the assigned weights for the frozen topics. A higher score signifies greater support regarding the particular health, ecological, or evidence-related concern; however, it does not validate unverified claims as confirmed facts.

HHealth & Safety

Impact of Indoor Air Quality on Health

Electric fireplaces do not consume fuel during regular use, making the all-electric products provided free from the room emissions typically produced by wood, gas, kerosene, coal, or other combustion-based appliances. A higher score indicates appropriate limits on claims related to air cleaning, humidity, and wellness. Scores ranged from 54 to 92: the lower end included an unsupported claim about infrared humidity, while the higher-scoring products clearly demonstrated electric operation without making unverified therapeutic claims.

Confirmed Electrical Fire Safety

This metric assesses whether the specific product has an official, verifiable listing from an OSHA-recognized laboratory for the relevant installation and safety standards, such as UL 1278 or UL 2021. It serves as a key differentiator in this category, with scores ranging from 48 to 92. Products with high scores typically had precise model documentation from CSA or Intertek, while lower-scoring items depended on seller claims or lacked an association with a current public listing.

Protection against overheating, burning, and electrical shocks

The product's documentation thoroughly covers thermal shutdown, cool-down behavior, hot-surface warnings, grounded power requirements, and instructions for stopping use if the cord is damaged, all of which are included in its safety listing. The supplied scores ranged from 72 to 90. Products with higher scores typically included certification evidence along with model manuals that detailed temperature limiting or reset procedures. Lower scores generally indicated protection claims made solely by the manufacturer or uncertainty about whether the documented safeguards were applicable to the specific product.

Secure fit, proper wiring, and adequate clearances

This assesses whether a buyer can install the product precisely as specified, without needing to modify the enclosure, wiring, ventilation, or clearance for combustible materials. Scores ranged from 62 to 89. Products with higher scores provided detailed information on cutout dimensions, circuit requirements, installation procedures, and front or top clearances. Conversely, lower-scoring products lacked installation documentation, had inconsistent depth specifications, unclear ventilation instructions, or guidance that seemed to refer to a different size or model.

Reliable Automated Heating Control Systems

Timers, thermostats, remote controls, child locks, and flame-only modes are only beneficial if the local overheat protection continues to function properly and if the manual clearly explains the device's behavior following a power outage or control fault. The evaluation scores ranged from 70 to 81 points. Products with higher scores generally included more control options and safety features; however, none of the products tested fully addressed every issue related to power interruptions. Therefore, a timer or remote control should not be relied upon as a substitute for supervision.

Recall and Incident Responsibility

This assesses the brand's safety record traceability and the effectiveness of its recall support, including whether there are unresolved issues with specific products or a clearly defined remedy process. Scores ranged from 70 to 75, indicating that the products are quite comparable. Overall, the reviews did not identify any recalls of specific products in the searched U.S. or Canadian sources; however, this absence does not guarantee that there is no risk. Maintaining support and model-specific records remains crucial in the event of a hazard or safety concern.

EEcology

Energy Consumption and Environmental Impact

Electric resistance heating transforms electricity into heat for a room, with a 1,500W setting consuming approximately 1.5 kWh per hour of continuous use. Higher ratings, ranging from 65 to 79, indicated effective lower heat settings, the presence of thermostats, timers, and flame-only functions, while avoiding unsubstantiated energy-saving claims. However, none of the analyzed products had independent measurements covering all operating modes, including high heat, low heat, flame-only, and standby conditions.

Repairability and Electronic Waste

A fireplace has a longer lifespan when manuals, support contacts, warranty details, replacement remotes, fans, heaters, controls, and flame components are accessible. Scores ranged from 68 to 82. The highest-rated examples provided comprehensive repair access and replacement support, while lower-rated products offered only limited warranties, lacked public parts catalogs, or did not have consumer-serviceable internal components. Having a replacement remote is beneficial but does not guarantee complete repairability.

EEvidence

Accurate heat output and coverage

This assessment evaluates the consistency of wattage, BTU, thermostat range, and room coverage claims, ensuring they are backed by test conditions. Scores ranged from 60 to 88. Products with higher scores typically featured 1,500W ratings, corresponding to approximately 5,100 BTU per hour or a documented range of 4,600 to 5,000 BTU. Overall, coverage claims were less reliable across the category due to the lack of room condition specifics and independent testing.

Ensure honesty in claims and maintain traceability of specifications.

A high score indicates that the listing, manual, rating label, warranty, dimensions, noise claims, controls, and certification statements all describe the same exact product. The scores assigned ranged from 48 to 83. Products with lower scores often displayed conflicting details regarding wattage, weight, installation, thermostat, power source, or coverage. In contrast, higher-scoring products, while still containing some unverified claims, had more consistent core specifications and supporting documentation.

Unbiased verification beyond promotional claims

This assesses the extent to which safety and performance information can be verified through an accessible, independent record rather than relying solely on the seller's claims. Scores ranged from 48 to 91. The highest-rated products had precise model-specific certifications from CSA or Intertek with verifiable documentation. Lower-rated products relied on retailer or manufacturer claims, had inaccessible records, mismatched model suffixes, or lacked active public listings. Independent verification is particularly crucial before proceeding with fixed recessed installations.

R.W.FLAME 60" Electric Fireplace
#1 - Best Overall

R.W.FLAME 60" Electric Fireplace

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 77/100 R.W.FLAME

Overview

Since this is an all-electric heater, it does not burn wood, gas, kerosene, or any other fuels during operation. This eliminates indoor pollutants caused by fuel-burning fireplaces and heaters, such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and combustion particles. The manufacturer’s manual also advises that the outlet grille can become hot, requires a three-foot clearance from combustible materials at the front, and stresses not to block air openings. Additionally, users are instructed to stop using the heater if cords or plugs are damaged. The manufacturer claims that the product has been tested according to ETL standards for fixed and dedicated electric room appliances, with Intertek being an OSHA-recognized testing laboratory. However, no public product listing has been verified, so this claim remains unconfirmed at the product level. When operating at full heat, the heater can draw up to 1,500W. Using the lower 750W setting and the timer can help reduce unnecessary runtime, but actual standby and flame-only power consumption have not been independently measured. The manufacturer provides a one-year warranty and states that certain parts can be repaired or replaced, although long-term availability of replacement parts has not been documented.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the product has ETL certification; however, no current or specific product entry was found in the public Intertek directory. As a result, the safety listing remains unverified, though not conclusively disproven.
  • The claim of coverage up to 400 square feet lacks specified conditions regarding insulation, climate, ceiling height, or temperature increase testing parameters.
  • Assertions that the product maintains natural humidity levels and is energy-efficient are not backed by specific measurements. While electric heating does not produce combustion pollutants, it can still lead to a decrease in indoor relative humidity.
  • There were no tests conducted for this product regarding independent plug-load, noise levels, standby power, or heating coverage.
  • The manual states that glass and wearing parts are not covered under warranty. Additionally, there is no comprehensive parts catalog available for fans, heaters, controls, or remote controls.

What does not

  • The recorded maximum input of 1,500W aligns with the claimed heat output of 5,100 BTU.
  • The detailed instructions specify the use of a grounded 120V power supply, a 15A outlet, necessary clearances, vent protection measures, and procedures for both recessed and wall-mounted setups.
  • The manufacturer specifies local touchscreen controls, a remote control, heating options of 750W and 1,500W, and a shutoff timer that can be set from 1 to 8 hours.
  • The manual provides instructions for stopping use, cooling down, cleaning, addressing damaged cords, handling hot surfaces, and clearing obstructed vents.
  • A one-year warranty covers designated repairs or replacements, with the manufacturer providing support contact information and a list of some replaceable components.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households looking for a large decorative electric fireplace to enhance a finished feature wall, with options for wall-mounted or thoughtfully recessed installation. It is suitable for buyers who have a nearby grounded 120V, 15A outlet, can keep the front and vents unobstructed, and desire additional heating rather than primary whole-home warmth. The fireplace offers versatile features including 750W and 1,500W heat settings, flame-only mode, local controls, and a timer, making it practical for living rooms or bedrooms where direct fuel combustion is not preferred.

Who is it not for

This device is not suitable for individuals who require reliable primary heating during power outages, for heating a specific room where proven performance is essential, or for products that need an independently verifiable safety certification for an exact model. It is also inappropriate for use in makeshift enclosures, in situations with blocked vents, extension cords, damaged outlets, or in areas where children or vulnerable individuals might come into contact with the hot outlet grille unsupervised. Households seeking significant dry-air relief should not depend on the manufacturer's humidity specifications. Additionally, installing the unit near baths or directly beneath outlets violates the safety warnings provided in the manual.

PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert
#2 - Popular

PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert

Buyer Score 96/100 Integrity Score 75/100 PuraFlame

Overview

The primary advantage of this indoor unit is its simplicity. It is an electric resistance heater featuring decorative flame effects, not a traditional fuel-burning fireplace. As a result, it does not produce combustion emissions such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, or particles during normal operation, aligning with EPA guidelines that identify fuel-burning heaters and fireplaces as sources of these pollutants. However, the manual warns that the heater has hot surfaces and contains internal components that may spark or arcing, so it should be kept away from flammable liquids, water, blocked vents, and nearby combustibles. The manual also describes a temperature limiting control that automatically shuts off the heater if it reaches an unsafe temperature, along with instructions to unplug the unit and have it inspected if it trips repeatedly. With a maximum power draw of 1,500 W, the heater can consume a significant amount of electricity during continuous use. To reduce unnecessary energy consumption, the manual recommends using the 750 W setting, a manual thermostat, and flame-only operation. Repairing the unit is limited because its internal components are not user-serviceable. Nonetheless, the manual provides support contact information, states a one-year limited warranty, and indicates that replacement parts are supplied by the manufacturer.

What works

  • The claimed CSA and cUS certifications cannot be independently verified through a current public certification record for this specific model. While CSA Group is an OSHA-recognized testing laboratory, this recognition does not confirm that the product is officially listed.
  • The manual provides conflicting guidance regarding extension cords. One safety section states that extension cords should never be used, whereas the installation section permits the use of a grounded extension cord under certain specified conditions.
  • The catalog states that two AAA batteries are included, whereas the product manual indicates that a CR2032 coin cell for the remote is not included. This represents a clear inconsistency in the documentation.
  • The claim of covering 400 square feet does not specify any conditions regarding insulation, outdoor temperature, ceiling height, or thermostat settings.
  • Internal electrical components are considered not user-serviceable. The provided one-year warranty and manufacturer contact information offer limited repair support for this large appliance.

What does not

  • All-electric operation indicates that the product does not produce any on-site combustion, smoke, carbon monoxide, or nitrogen dioxide during use.
  • The manufacturer’s manual details electrical specifications specific to each model, opening size dimensions, a 3-foot clearance for furnishings, and guidelines for ventilation spacing.
  • A temperature-limiting control, as specified by the manufacturer, automatically turns off the heater when an unsafe temperature is reached and comes with instructions for resetting and stopping its use.
  • The specified maximum of 1,500 W aligns with the maximum of 4,600 BTU. This represents a conservative rating for the electric resistance heating capacity.
  • According to the manufacturer's manual, flame effects can function independently of the heater.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners replacing a decorative fireplace opening who desire a plug-in, indoor supplemental heater featuring flame visuals and optional crackling sounds. The installation requires a nearby 120 V, 15 A wall outlet, sufficient space for the insert's depth and airflow, and enough room to maintain the recommended 3-foot clearance from furniture at the front and sides, as specified in the manual. It also appeals to buyers who want the look of a fireplace without the need for wood or gas, and who understand that the claimed coverage area is conditional and may not guarantee full-room heating.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals seeking primary heating, emergency heating, outdoor use, bathroom or damp locations, or hardwired installations. It should not be used in areas where a dedicated outlet cannot be provided, where cords would run under rugs or furniture, or where nearby bedding, drapes, or furniture cannot be kept at least 3 feet away. Households that require a publicly traceable, third-party certification record for the specific model before installation should verify this directly with the manufacturer or certification authority. Additionally, it is not recommended for buyers expecting electronics that are user-repairable or a multi-year parts warranty.

Touchstone Sideline 50-Inch Smart Electric Fireplace
#3 - Best Deal

Touchstone Sideline 50-Inch Smart Electric Fireplace

Buyer Score 93/100 Integrity Score 75/100 Touchstone

Overview

Since this fireplace is electric instead of fuel-powered, it does not produce combustion emissions during normal operation. This eliminates the release of carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, particulate pollution, and additional water vapor typically associated with indoor fuel-burning fireplaces and heaters. However, it is not an air purifier or humidity control device, and safety still depends on keeping vents unobstructed, using a properly grounded outlet, and maintaining recommended clearances. The user manual includes safety features such as a temperature-limiting shutdown, a cooldown fan sequence, and guidance to avoid using it with hot or loose outlets. It also warns that both the unit and heating element can become hot, so a cool-looking glass front should not be taken as an indication that all surfaces are safe to touch. When operating at full heat, it consumes 1,500 watts of power, which can lead to significant electricity use and associated grid emissions during extended use. The manufacturer provides a one-year warranty covering parts such as controls, fans, and heating components, but internal electrical parts are not designed for user service.

What works

  • The claimed CSA testing could not be verified through an accessible, precise product listing record. This absence of independent verification does not indicate that the product is unsafe.
  • The manufacturer's documentation shows conflicting information regarding the unit weight, with the manual indicating 46 pounds and the product page listing 59 pounds. Please verify the label on the shipped unit before proceeding with handling or installation.
  • The 400-square-foot coverage claim is provided by the manufacturer and does not specify any details about room conditions. It should be considered as an indication of supplemental heating capability rather than a guarantee of complete room heating.
  • The manual states that internal electrical components are not user-serviceable. Replacement parts are covered for one year; however, long-term availability of parts and labor coverage are not guaranteed.

What does not

  • Operating entirely on electricity eliminates the need for on-site fuel burning, thereby preventing the emissions of fireplace smoke, carbon monoxide, and nitrogen dioxide.
  • The manual provides model-specific guidelines for rough-opening sizes, installation procedures, clearance requirements, grounded circuit specifications, and hardwiring instructions.
  • A recorded temperature-limiting control automatically shuts off the heater if it reaches an unsafe temperature, and includes reset and vent-cleaning instructions.
  • The specified input power of 1,500W corresponds approximately to 5,100 BTU per hour of resistance heating. The stated 5,000 BTU value is reasonable and likely reflects the rounded figure provided by the manufacturer.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households installing a permanent electric accent fireplace in a dry indoor wall, particularly where a 47 1/8-inch rough opening can be created without modifying a load-bearing wall. It is best suited for users who want additional spot heating and a flame display that can operate independently during warmer months. The installer must ensure a grounded 120V, 15A circuit, maintain the specified clearances, and engage a qualified electrician if opting for hardwiring.

Who is it not for

This heater is not suitable for anyone requiring primary heating for a large or poorly insulated room, as the 1,500W unit provides only approximately 5,100 BTU per hour. Additionally, the coverage area is given without specified testing conditions. It should not be used outdoors, in damp environments, near baths or water sources, or where curtains, bedding, furniture, or other combustible materials cannot be kept at least 36 inches away. For homes with young children or individuals at risk of burns, the safety barrier precautions outlined in the manual must be followed.

Electactic 60" Electric Fireplace Heater with Remote Control
#4

Electactic 60" Electric Fireplace Heater with Remote Control

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 77/100 Electactic

Overview

Since this fireplace is powered by electricity via a cord rather than burning fuel, it does not produce combustion exhaust inside the room during operation. This eliminates the risk of carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and particle exposure typically associated with fuel-burning space heaters and fireplaces, as identified by the EPA. It is important to note that this product is not an air purifier, humidifier, or medical device; the infrared terminology used does not imply any health claims. The user manual includes safety warnings about hot surfaces, cord damage, blocked vents, clearance from combustible materials, and grounding requirements. It also provides instructions for resetting the heater after an overheat shutdown and allowing the fan to cool after turning off. While the manual states that the product is ETL listed, the specific current certification could not be independently verified in a public registry. No recalls or safety actions related to this exact model were found in U.S. regulatory sources. Operating at 1500W, the heater consumes a significant amount of electricity when in use, but using the lower 750W setting and the timer function can help reduce unnecessary runtime. Additionally, documentation for replacement parts was not available, which may affect confidence in the product's long-term repairability.

What works

  • The alleged ETL certification could not be located in Intertek's public directory as an active, exact-model entry.
  • The claimed 400-square-foot coverage lacks information about test conditions, insulation assumptions, or any independent room-heating tests.
  • Certain installation instructions necessitate precise reconciliation. The manual provides various clearance specifications for walls, ceiling, front space, and the recessed cavity.
  • The timer is recorded, but the manual does not clearly describe how the heater behaves following a power interruption.
  • Warranty assistance can be obtained through the provided contact method; however, a publicly accessible parts catalog and repair guides for common replaceable components are not available.

What does not

  • All-electric operation eliminates the combustion pollutants that are typically produced by fuel-burning fireplaces during use.
  • The specified maximum of 1500W and the 5,100 BTU rating are physically aligned with electric resistance heating.
  • The manual provides model-specific dimensions for wall-mounted and recessed installations, detailed mounting instructions, outlet guidance, and clearance warnings.
  • The manufacturer has documented a procedure for resetting after a thermal shutdown, as well as a function for fan cooldown following shutdown.
  • The heat settings can be adjusted to either 750W or 1500W, and the flame effects can operate separately.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals looking to enhance their space with a visual fireplace ambiance and additional heat in a living room, bedroom, or finished media wall, provided there is a nearby grounded 120V outlet. It is especially suitable in situations where gas, wood, venting, and combustion emissions are inconvenient or undesirable. Buyers should be prepared to follow the provided wall-mount or built-in dimensions, maintain proper ventilation space, keep the front area clear by at least 3 feet, and use the heater as a local source of supplemental heat rather than for whole-home heating.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for households that need a primary heating source, unattended overnight heating, or to heat uninsulated large open-plan spaces. It requires direct supervision for children, seniors, and individuals at higher risk of burns, as the manual states that certain parts can become hot. Additionally, it should not be installed without a properly grounded 120V outlet, sufficient wall support, the necessary clearances, or a safe path for the power cord. Avoid using it in bathrooms, outdoors, or in areas where vents could be blocked.

Euhomy 50" Electric Fireplace with Remote
#5

Euhomy 50" Electric Fireplace with Remote

Buyer Score 86/100 Integrity Score 77/100 EUHOMY

Overview

This electric fireplace eliminates indoor combustion pollutants commonly produced by fuel-burning fireplaces and unvented heaters. This is important because such combustion sources can emit carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and particulate matter. The manual recommends using the fireplace indoors only, ensuring air openings are unobstructed, unplugging it when not in use, and ceasing operation if the cord is damaged, malfunctioning, or impacted. An Intertek certification designates the 50-inch heater platform for UL 2021 and Canadian electric air heater standards, but a current public record linking this certification directly to this specific branded product was not found. No product-specific U.S. or Canadian recalls could be identified. When operating at full capacity, it consumes approximately 1.5 kWh per hour, but using a thermostat and timer can help reduce unnecessary electricity use. The manufacturer provides a one-year limited warranty and states that replacement parts are available upon request; however, a detailed parts catalog for this product was not available.

What works

  • No recent public listing has been found that directly links the certification to this branded product. Instead, the available Intertek documentation specifies the underlying heater platform and its manufacturer.
  • The 400-square-foot coverage claim is unverified and does not specify test conditions, including insulation levels, outdoor temperature, ceiling height, or thermostat settings.
  • The manual does not clearly specify how the heater behaves following a power outage, so the restart behavior of the timer and thermostat remains unverified.
  • The product documentation offers two years of technical support, whereas the official warranty policy currently provides a one-year limited warranty. Buyers should review and obtain the written terms of coverage prior to relying on either warranty period.
  • There was no product-specific replacement parts catalog or service manual available for the fan, heater, controls, remote, or flame components.

What does not

  • The heater platform has been certified by Intertek to carry the ETL listing mark, confirming compliance with UL 2021 and Canadian heater standards.
  • It is powered by electricity instead of fuel, so it does not produce combustion gases or smoke during normal use.
  • The manual outlines an automatic thermal cut-off feature and provides clear instructions for discontinuing use in case of a damaged cord, blocked vents, or malfunction.
  • The published input and heat output figures are internally consistent, with 1,500W approximately equivalent to 5,118 BTU per hour.
  • The manual details methods for wall-mounted and recessed installations, including instructions on cutout dimensions, stud attachment, and standard 120V outlet setup.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for an adult household looking to install a decorative electric fireplace with additional resistance heating in a small, occupied room. It is best suited for locations with a standard 120V power outlet, without the use of extension cords, where the wall framing can support the unit, and where the installer can follow the specified recessed opening and front clearance guidelines. It is also suitable for those who appreciate the visual ambiance of flames without the need for burning wood, gas, or ethanol indoors. Please note that the heating feature should be considered as localized comfort heat, not as a primary or whole-room heating solution.

Who is it not for

This device is not suitable for anyone requiring reliable primary heating in large, poorly insulated, high-ceilinged, or extremely cold rooms. It should not be used in areas where the front ventilation opening cannot stay clear by at least 3 feet, or where children or vulnerable individuals might be left unattended near an operating heater. Additionally, it should not be used if the power cord could be pinched, modified, or connected through an extension cord. Households that need an easily repairable appliance with approved replacement parts and clear instructions for post-outage operation should refer to more comprehensive documentation.

PuraFlame Electric Fireplace Log Set Insert
#6

PuraFlame Electric Fireplace Log Set Insert

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 71/100 PuraFlame

Overview

Since it is an electric appliance and not a fuel-burning fireplace, it does not produce combustion emissions during use. According to EPA guidance, fireplaces and other fuel-burning heaters are potential indoor sources of carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and particulate matter. However, this advantage does not classify the product as an air cleaner, and no claims regarding air quality improvement or health benefits were identified. The manufacturer indicates that the heater features automatic overheat shutdown and should not be operated with a damaged cord, blocked vents, or combustible materials within three feet of the front. While these safety features are beneficial, an independent safety certification specifically for this product could not be found. The heater's power consumption can reach up to 1500W on high heat, so its environmental impact depends on usage duration and the energy source of the local electricity grid. The product comes with a one-year limited warranty, although the availability of specific parts for this model remains uncertain.

What works

  • An active safety certification listing for this specific product could not be independently confirmed through publicly available UL, Intertek, or CSA resources. The absence of verification does not indicate that the product is unsafe.
  • The catalog’s heat output field is internally flawed, as it details BTU output per foot per degree Fahrenheit, whereas the manual only specifies a value of 5100 BTU. This reduces the clarity and traceability of the specifications.
  • The 400-square-foot heating capacity is specified by the manufacturer without specifying environmental testing conditions. Actual comfort levels will significantly depend on factors such as insulation, outdoor temperature, ceiling height, and drafts.
  • The published instructions for this product do not clearly specify the behavior following a power outage, nor do they provide comprehensive details about side, rear, and enclosure clearance.
  • A one-year limited warranty is specified; however, there is no independent documentation regarding replacement parts for specific models or repair instructions.

What does not

  • Electric-powered operation eliminates the need for on-site fuel burning, thereby preventing the emission of combustion pollutants typically generated by wood, gas, kerosene, or other fuel-based heating sources during operation.
  • The manufacturer’s specified 750W and 1500W settings provide a lower-demand alternative for situations where full power is not required.
  • The provided manual outlines essential safety precautions, such as the need for a 120V outlet, maintaining at least three feet of clearance from combustible materials in the front, warnings about damaged cords, caution regarding vent obstructions, and an automatic shutdown feature in case of overheating.
  • According to the manufacturer's instructions, flame effects can function independently from the heater controls.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals seeking decorative fireplace ambiance and occasional extra warmth in a small to medium-sized occupied room, provided there is a suitable 120V wall outlet and sufficient open space in front of the heater. It is best suited for an existing, unused fireplace opening or a secure, free-standing spot where the unit remains unobstructed. Customers should consider the manufacturer’s estimated coverage of 400 square feet as a rough maximum under ideal conditions, rather than a definitive guarantee for heating an entire room.

Who is it not for

This heater is not suitable for households that require primary heating, unattended overnight heating, or reliable heat during power outages. The instructions clearly specify that it is intended for use as supplemental heat only. It is also an inappropriate choice in environments where children, pets, furniture, bedding, rugs, or other combustible materials cannot be kept at least three feet away from the front outlet. Customers who need an officially recognized UL, ETL, or CSA safety certification for this specific product should obtain verification before installation or use.

Antarctic Star Electric Fireplace Heater
#7

Antarctic Star Electric Fireplace Heater

Buyer Score 83/100 Integrity Score 82/100 Antarctic Star

Overview

Since it operates on electricity instead of wood, gas, kerosene, or other combustible fuels, it does not produce combustion emissions during normal use. The EPA identifies fuel-burning fireplaces and unvented heaters as sources of indoor pollutants such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and particulate matter. This electric unit still requires standard electrical safety precautions: keep air vents unobstructed, use a grounded outlet, discontinue use if the cord is damaged, and allow the unit to cool before cleaning or servicing. The specific model is listed in an Intertek ETL certification to UL 1278, which is issued by a testing laboratory recognized by OSHA. The RFH-series manual also includes a warning about potential chemical exposure to lead compounds, BBP, and DEHP, based on related documentation. This warning is not directly on the product page but is important for material awareness. When in use, the unit consumes up to 1500 watts for heating. The thermostat control and a 750-watt setting can help reduce runtime or output, but no data on standby power consumption or parts catalog was available.

What works

  • The 400-square-foot coverage estimate does not specify insulation, climate, ceiling height, or target temperature test conditions, so it should be considered a general approximation for supplemental heating.
  • The provided installation and safety manual pertains to a closely related RFH-series suffix, rather than a manufacturer-specific manual specifically for this exact product.
  • The manual cautions that hot components can cause burns, so supervision is necessary when placing the device, or a barrier should be used to keep young children and individuals at risk of contact burns away.
  • There are no available independent measurements for plug loads during high heat, low heat, flame-only operation, or standby power modes.
  • No publicly available parts catalog or repair price list was found. The warranty does not cover labor, glass, light bulbs, batteries, or various common types of damage.

What does not

  • The specific model is listed in an Intertek authorization that certifies it with ETL to the UL 1278 standard for electric room heaters.
  • The maximum power of 1500 W roughly equates to 5100 BTU per hour, making the claimed heat output credible.
  • The instructions for the accessible RFH-series outline the thermal cutoff response, vent inspection procedures, cool-down process, grounding requirements, and guidance for discontinuing use if the cord is damaged.
  • Providing documented dimensions for recessed openings, mounting hardware details, and front clearance guidelines minimizes the need for improvised installation.
  • A one-year limited warranty covers the replacement of missing or initially defective parts, in accordance with its terms.

Who is it for

This is ideal for households looking for an electric decorative fireplace to use in a living room, bedroom, or finished wall, where features like combustion, a chimney, and fuel storage are not desired. It is best used as a supplementary heat source close to the occupied area rather than for heating the entire home. Buyers should ensure they have a properly grounded 120 V outlet, enough space to maintain the recommended front and side clearances, and a wall that can accommodate the provided mounting method or a properly sized recessed opening.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for those needing primary heating, consistent performance throughout an entire 400-square-foot area, or operation during power outages. It is also unsuitable in situations where the outlet is ungrounded, the cord would pass under flooring or rugs, ventilation openings would be enclosed, or curtains and furniture cannot be kept clear. Households with unsupervised toddlers, pets, or individuals at higher risk of burns should be mindful of the hot outlet area and consider installing a physical barrier for safety.

BELLEZE Electric Fireplace Heater 28"
#8

BELLEZE Electric Fireplace Heater 28"

Buyer Score 80/100 Integrity Score 69/100 BELLEZE

Overview

The primary indoor air benefit of this product is simple: it heats using electricity and does not produce combustion exhaust fumes within the room during operation. EPA guidelines identify fireplaces and fuel-burning space heaters as sources of combustion pollutants, such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, particles, and water vapor. Since this product features a decorative flame that does not involve fuel combustion, it does not emit these pollutants. However, users should follow standard electrical heater safety precautions, including keeping vents unobstructed, avoiding damaged cords, and maintaining safe distances from combustible materials. Regarding safety, the information is partly verified and partly unconfirmed. Retail claims state that the product is CSA and UL certified, has a thermal overheat shutoff, and includes an automatic timer. However, no current official certification listing for this exact model could be found in publicly accessible certification databases. Additionally, no U.S. recall or incident reports were identified in CPSC records. A retailer has posted a California Proposition 65 lead warning, but details about the specific components or exposure risks are not provided. The product offers a one-year warranty, manufacturer support contacts, parts replacement information, and an independently compatible remote control, which may aid in repairs. Nevertheless, the availability of replacement parts for the heater, fan, control board, and flame components has not been confirmed.

What works

  • The asserted CSA and UL safety certifications could not be linked to an active, specific product listing in a publicly accessible certification database. The retailer's claim of certification is not equivalent to independently verified certification.
  • The manufacturer’s manual states that the heater has a power rating of 1400 W, whereas the current retailer documentation claims it operates at 1500 W and provides 5118 BTU per hour. This presents a discrepancy in the product specifications.
  • The existing documentation lacks a model-specific cutout diagram, detailed ventilation requirements for the full enclosure, circuit instructions beyond 120 V operation, and clear information on the device's behavior following a power outage.
  • A California Proposition 65 lead warning is displayed on a major retailer's product listing. However, the record provided does not specify the component containing lead, the route of exposure, or the level of exposure.
  • There were no available tests for this specific product regarding independent plug-load, surface temperature, noise, or room heating.

What does not

  • Electric operation eliminates the combustion pollutants typically produced by fuel-burning fireplaces during regular use.
  • The manufacturer’s manual specifies a standard 120 V, 60 Hz plug-in configuration and includes dimensions to assist with enclosure design.
  • Manufacturer-provided controls feature local touch buttons, an infrared remote, adjustable flame effects, timer options, and flames that can function without producing heat.
  • An independently documented compatible replacement remote is available, with the manufacturer’s manual providing support via phone and email, along with a one-year warranty and information on replacement parts.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for buyers seeking a decorative, plug-in electric insert suitable for a small indoor area. It can fit within the manufacturer's recommended dimensions of approximately 30.2 inches in width, 7.63 inches in depth, and 23.82 inches in height. It is best suited for environments where the visual flame effect is as important as providing additional heat, since the flame feature can operate independently of the heater. Buyers should have access to a grounded 120V outlet, ensure that the front air intake remains unobstructed, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions to discontinue use if the power cord is damaged or if the unit malfunctions.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals who require independently verified certification prior to installing an electric heater within built-in furniture or a finished fireplace opening. It may also not meet the needs of buyers who need a documented cutout size, precise rear and side clearance specifications, confirmed restart behavior after power outages, or independently verified heating performance. Households with young children or individuals sensitive to material exposure warnings should be aware of the Proposition 65 lead warning posted by the retailer. They should seek clarification about the source of this warning before installing the unit in a frequently used room.

Xbeauty 50" Wall Mounted Electric Fireplace
#9

Xbeauty 50" Wall Mounted Electric Fireplace

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 76/100 Xbeauty

Overview

The primary health benefit is clear: this is an electric heater, not a fuel-burning fireplace, which means it does not produce carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, or combustion particles during use. According to EPA guidelines, fireplaces and other combustion appliances are indoor sources of these pollutants. However, this advantage does not eliminate typical heater risks such as hot surfaces, obstructed vents, damaged cords, or improper recessed installation. The Intertek construction report provides valuable evidence for a product line branded under Xbeauty. It details UL 1278 compliance, a grounded 120V connection, controlled components, and a manual-reset thermal cutoff. However, the specific product model was not listed in a public certification database, so the exact certification claim has not been confirmed. The highest heat setting can draw up to 1,500W, which means electricity consumption and associated emissions can be significant with continuous use. No repair parts catalog or service manual was found, and the warranty information is limited to one year. Additionally, a 2021 Health Canada advisory related to Xbeauty concerned alcohol-fueled firepots, not this electric heater.

What works

  • There is no existing record in the public UL, Intertek, or CSA directories linking this specific product model to an active electrical safety certification.
  • The ETL certification claimed by the manufacturer for this specific unit could not be independently verified, despite Intertek being a laboratory recognized by OSHA.
  • There is no specific manual available that provides comprehensive details on clearance requirements, circuitry, fault reset procedures, and post-power outage instructions for the exact model. Do not modify or create makeshift solutions for recessed enclosure ventilation or wiring.
  • The 400-square-foot heating estimate lacks specified test conditions and should be considered as guidance for supplemental heating rather than a guarantee for heating an entire room.
  • In 2021, Health Canada released a fire and burn hazard advisory concerning various Xbeauty alcohol-fueled tabletop firepots. Although the advisory does not specify this particular electric product, it raises concerns about the overall safety record of the brand.

What does not

  • Electric operation eliminates the on-site emissions and pollutants that come from burning fuel in traditional fireplaces.
  • The specified maximum of 1,500W and 5,100 BTU per hour are technically aligned, rather than being an unrealistic heat output assertion.
  • Manufacturer-provided recessed dimensions and a wall-mount option offer installers two clear placement configurations.
  • A published Intertek report for an Xbeauty-branded fireplace series confirms the use of a grounded 120V plug, compliance with UL 1278 standards, and the inclusion of a manual-reset thermal cutoff.
  • The manufacturer-designated flame-only mode offers a visual display without activating the heater.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners seeking a wide, shallow decorative fireplace face and have a properly grounded 120V outlet nearby on an appropriate wall. It is best used as supplementary heating in smaller enclosed spaces or to create flame-only ambiance, rather than as the main heating source. The manufacturer specifies a recessed box depth of just 3.86 inches, designed to fit within 2x4 and 2x6 stud walls. Installers should carefully check the opening size, wall structure, outlet placement, and local electrical codes before cutting into the drywall.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals who require a publicly accessible, precise model listing record prior to installation, such as buyers, inspectors, landlords, insurers, or local authorities. It is also not recommended for use as backup heating during power outages, as it relies on grid electricity. Additionally, it should not serve as the primary heating source for large or poorly insulated open-plan spaces. Homes with young children, pets, or combustible furniture near the outlet should only consider using it if the final installation instructions and necessary clearances are verified in the provided product documentation.

Garvee 50-Inch Electric Fireplace Inserts
#10

Garvee 50-Inch Electric Fireplace Inserts

Buyer Score 77/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Garvee

Overview

Since this fireplace heats using electricity rather than a flame, it does not produce on-site carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, soot, or combustion particles during operation. This offers a significant indoor air quality benefit compared to unvented fuel-burning heaters and traditional fireplaces. However, as an electric resistance heater with hot internal parts and forced airflow, it still requires adherence to clearance guidelines, maintenance of intact cords, unobstructed vents, and immediate shutdown if overheating, strange odors, sparking, or fan failures occur. The maximum power setting of 1500W consumes approximately 1.5 kWh per hour when operating at full heat. The energy consumption for flame-only and standby modes has not been independently measured. The manufacturer, Garvee, provides a 12-month warranty for repairs and lists a U.S. support contact, but there is no detailed parts catalog or repair manual available. This makes long-term repairability unclear, particularly for components such as control boards, remotes, fans, and flame effects. No specific U.S. recall or regulatory actions related to this product were identified in the available CPSC recall records.

What works

  • No specific model certificate number or public listing record was provided for UL, ETL, or CSA verification. This indicates missing documentation rather than proof of a failed safety test.
  • No manual or rating label image specific to the exact model was found, including details on cutout dimensions, outlet and circuit requirements, ventilation space, combustible clearances, or instructions for discontinuation of use.
  • The available product information does not clarify how the thermostat, timer, remote, or Wi-Fi features operate following a power outage or overheating fault.
  • No product-specific replacement parts catalog or repair manual was found; therefore, support for fans, heater assemblies, controls, and flame components cannot be confirmed.

What does not

  • Electric operation eliminates emissions of carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and particles that result from indoor fuel burning.
  • The specified 750W and 1500W heat settings are independently confirmed by a retailer listing and align with standard resistance-heating principles.
  • Retailer details confirm that the product can be installed either recessed or wall-mounted, and it features remote operation, timer functions, touchscreen interface, and Wi-Fi connectivity.
  • Garvee offers a dedicated support channel in the United States and provides a 12-month repair warranty for purchases made through its official website.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for buyers looking for a wide, visual fireplace feature in a living room, bedroom, or similar-sized indoor space, with the goal of providing supplemental heat and adjustable flame effects. It is best suited for environments where a standard corded electrical outlet is already accessible, and where the buyer can review the installation instructions before cutting into a wall or mounting the 50-pound unit. Additionally, it is suitable for households seeking decorative heating without the need to burn wood, gas, pellets, or ethanol indoors.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for those who require independently documented electrical certification, detailed recessed installation clearance information, or a clearly defined hard-wiring and circuit plan prior to purchase. Renters and buyers who cannot securely support a wall-mounted appliance weighing approximately 50 pounds should avoid makeshift installation methods. Additionally, it is not intended as a primary heating source for large, poorly insulated, or extremely cold spaces. Households relying on unattended smart heating, overnight heating near bedding, or easily accessible replacement parts should look for equipment with more detailed model-specific safety and service documentation.