When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Surge Protector

10 Best Surge Protector 2026

We compared the top Surge Protector products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: October 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Anker Surge Protector Power Strip 2100J

Anker Surge Protector Power Strip 2100J

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Multiple outlets and USB ports for versatility.

  • 20W USB-C charging for fast power delivery.

  • Compact design with a 5ft flat extension cord.

★★★★★
9.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
3
Best Deal TESSAN Surge Protector Power Strip 10 Ft Cord

TESSAN Surge Protector Power Strip 10 Ft Cord

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Includes USB-C for versatile charging options.

  • Flat plug design saves space and fits easily.

  • Long 10 ft cord offers flexible placement.

★★★★★
9.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
Anker Power Strip with Surge Protector

Anker Power Strip with Surge Protector

  • Convenient flat plug fits behind furniture.

  • Multiple outlets and USB ports for versatility.

  • 2000J surge protection for enhanced safety.

★★★★★
8.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
NTONPOWER Surge Protector Power Strip with USB

NTONPOWER Surge Protector Power Strip with USB

  • Includes USB-C ports for versatile charging.

  • Flat plug design fits tight spaces easily.

  • Extra-long 15 ft cord for extended reach.

★★★★★
8.7 / 10 Rating
Check Price
6
TESSAN Tower Power Strip with USB Ports

TESSAN Tower Power Strip with USB Ports

  • Compact design saves space on desks.

  • Multiple USB and USB-C ports for convenience.

  • Long extension cord reaches far outlets easily.

★★★★★
8.4 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
GEARGO 30 Amp RV Surge Protector 2026 Gen2

GEARGO 30 Amp RV Surge Protector 2026 Gen2

  • Enhanced protection against power surges.

  • Easy plug-and-play setup for convenience.

  • Durable design with upgraded features.

★★★★★
8.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
8
Mifaso Surge Protector Power Strip 6-Outlet 4-USB

Mifaso Surge Protector Power Strip 6-Outlet 4-USB

  • Convenient USB ports for easy device charging.

  • Heavy-duty braided cords for enhanced durability.

  • Flat plug design saves space behind furniture.

★★★★★
8.1 / 10 Rating
10% off Check Price
9
Extension Cord Surge Protector Tower 12 AC 4 USB

Extension Cord Surge Protector Tower 12 AC 4 USB

  • Compact design saves space and organizes cords.

  • 12 AC and 4 USB ports for versatility.

  • 6.5FT cord offers flexibility and reach.

★★★★★
7.9 / 10 Rating
10% off Check Price
10
TAGZILO Power Strip Tower with Surge Protector

TAGZILO Power Strip Tower with Surge Protector

  • Fast charging with PD20W USB-C ports.

  • Ample outlets with 12 AC options.

  • Long 10ft cord for flexible placement.

★★★★★
7.7 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Overview of Surge Protector

Certainly! Here's a rewritten version of the content in clear English, maintaining all key points:

---

Overview

Top Surge Protector

A surge protector is a power strip with a cord that distributes electricity from a single grounded wall outlet while helping to minimize the impact of brief voltage spikes. Some models may include additional features such as overload switches, grounding checks, USB charging ports, indicator lights, mounting hardware, or circuit analyzers specifically for RV connections. However, having these features alone does not guarantee that the product is safe or that it provides effective surge protection.

Always begin by reviewing the product’s electrical specifications. The listed voltage, amperage, and wattage should logically align and describe the entire device, not just a single outlet. For example, a typical North American strip might state 125V, 15A, and 1,875W—these figures are consistent and reflect the total load capacity for the strip and its connected circuit. Adding more outlets does not increase this capacity. Factors like cord length and wire gauge are also important, especially for longer cables. While features such as flat plugs, mounting options, or widely spaced outlets can improve usability, they do not increase the device’s electrical load limits.

Regarding surge protection, the joule rating indicates the energy absorption capacity but does not provide details about the voltage protection level—the maximum let-through voltage during a surge—nor the nominal discharge current, protected modes, or durability. To verify the device’s surge protection quality, look for specific manufacturer and model information in UL Product iQ or Intertek’s ETL Listed Mark Directory, ensuring coverage under UL 1449 standards. A recognized testing laboratory mark is only meaningful if the entire product, along with the applicable standards, can be verified. OSHA’s Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory program can help identify legitimate laboratories but does not turn unverified marketplace claims into official certification.

A reliable surge protector should also be transparent about what happens when its surge components wear out. Features such as an easily understood protection status indicator, thermal protection, guidance on replacement, and safe disconnection options are more useful indicators of quality than just a high joule number. It’s important to note that overload protection—such as a resettable circuit breaker or automatic cutoff—is separate from surge protection: while it can prevent overcurrent damage, it doesn’t prove the device’s surge protective performance.

USB ports on these devices require careful examination. Verify the maximum shared and per-port output limits, check if USB-C Power Delivery or fast-charging features are genuinely supported, and confirm whether the charging circuitry has independent safety certification. Some products restrict all USB ports to a shared output, or claim higher outputs for USB-C ports only when other ports aren’t in use, so the actual simultaneous charging capacity may be overstated.

Performance Warnings: Always consider intended use. Indoor surge strips generally need to be grounded, used in dry locations, and connected directly to the wall—daisy-chaining multiple strips, using extension cords, placing them on rugs or carpets, near heat sources, or with high-power appliances is discouraged. Devices like space heaters, microwaves, air conditioners, cooking appliances, hair dryers, refrigerators, and power tools can quickly exceed a strip’s capacity or should be plugged into dedicated outlets. RV-specific products are different: a 30-amp pedestal analyzer isn’t a household power strip and doesn’t replace proper wiring or address unsafe campground electrical conditions.

Across various products, the main common restrictions include: do not use indoor-only strips outdoors or in damp environments, under rugs, in chain setups, or with high-demand appliances; double-check voltage, wattage, and USB specifications directly on the product; and do not rely solely on joule ratings or unverified UL, ETL, TÜV, or “fire-resistant” claims as proof of comprehensive safety. RV products must have the correct 30-amp connection and shouldn’t be considered certified solely because they feature diagnostic lights or weatherproofing features.

---

Integrity

The reviews provided differentiate between effective operational safety measures and independently verifiable evidence. The most reliable products include clear documentation on limits, indicators, grounding, and replacement procedures. Conversely, less comprehensive products tend to lack clarity regarding certification, surge performance, or electrical ratings.

HHealth & Safety

Safety Precautions for Fire, Electric Shock, and Overload Risks

This assesses protection against overloads, overheating, short circuits, exposed live components, and unsafe wiring throughout the entire unit. For a power strip, factors such as a consistent load rating, grounded operation, a resettable circuit breaker, and documented cutoff mechanisms are particularly important. The tested products received scores ranging from 68 to 78; higher scores typically indicated better overload protection features and clearer operating warnings, while lower scores were associated with incomplete certifications or insufficient construction evidence.

Safe when the protection is exhausted

Surge components can degrade over time, making it important for buyers to determine whether a status indicator shows that protection is still active and when a replacement is necessary. Products with higher scores (80 and above) typically feature a protection indicator and clear guidance on when to replace the unit. In contrast, lower-scoring products, some rated between 68 and 70, often lack clear information about their end-of-life behavior or automatic disconnection, leaving consumers uncertain whether the surge strip continues to provide protection for connected devices.

Load Capacity and Rope Integrity

This assessment determines whether voltage, amperage, wattage, plug compatibility, cord gauge, and cord length are appropriate for the intended load. It is important because many outlets share a single branch circuit, and longer cords require proper specifications. The scores ranged from 50 to 79, with higher scores indicating consistent ratings such as 125V/15A/1,875W and transparent cord details. Conversely, lower scores often involved conflicting ratings or lacked information about the cord gauge.

Secure USB Charging

This assesses whether USB charging limits and electrical protections can be directly linked to the specific configuration. Buyers should differentiate between individual port outputs and the shared total capacity, and verify if features like USB-C Power Delivery or fast charging are supported. Scores ranged from 52 to 100, with higher scores indicating well-defined output profiles and limits. Lower scores were associated with inconsistent port descriptions, unclear shared budgets, or a lack of independent evidence for charging safety.

Suitable and secure for the designated site.

The instructions for a strip should correspond to its intended environment: indoor or outdoor, dry or wet conditions, grounded or ungrounded, household use or RV application. They should also cover topics such as heat, daisy-chaining, extension cords, and mounting. Scores for these instructions ranged from 45 to 83. Products with higher scores provided clear guidance for indoor use, dry locations, grounding, and explicitly warned against daisy-chaining. Conversely, the lowest scores indicated unsafe or conflicting advice regarding carpet routing.

EEcology

Extended lifespan and a responsible conclusion at the end of life

This assesses whether the product offers lasting support, a significant warranty, clear information on repair or replacement, and a trustworthy recycling or take-back option. Surge strips are electronic devices that are typically replaced once their protection features wear out. The scoring ranged from 58 to 82, with higher scores indicating more transparent warranties, better support, or established recycling programs. Conversely, lower scores signified designs that are non-repairable, ambiguous warranty terms, or the absence of a designated disposal method.

Verified Environmental Claims

This assesses whether claims regarding recycled content, recyclable packaging, carbon footprint, or similar environmental benefits clearly specify what they pertain to and are backed by supporting documentation. Most of the scores assigned were around 70, with higher scores given when a specific recycled-content claim and certificate number were provided. However, any claim still needs verification; vague terms like “eco-friendly” or an unverified certificate do not confirm the environmental attribute.

EEvidence

Certified surge protection

This assesses whether the specific product is officially certified for surge protection under UL 1449, rather than relying solely on a joule rating or seller claims. This is particularly important because most of the available products did not have publicly accessible records confirming the exact model. Scores ranged from 68 to 75; higher scores indicated more traceable laboratory-certified claims, but none of the reviews provided fully verified model-specific surge protection certification.

Details of significant surge performance

A buyer requires more than just joule ratings; essential details include voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protected modes, and surge status behavior. The scores ranged from 52 to 77. Products with higher scores typically disclosed information like clamping voltage or more transparent status indicators, but even these often lacked some critical ratings. Simply having a high energy absorption number doesn't indicate how much voltage is actually delivered to connected devices.

Honest Insurance Claims

This assessment evaluates whether claims like "surge protected," "fire resistant," "overload protected," or "fast charging" are specific, well-qualified, and backed by the listed configuration. Scores ranged from 45 to 71. Products received higher scores when they distinguished manufacturer claims from verified facts and clearly stated their limits. Conversely, lower scores were associated with exaggerated device-compatibility language, inconsistent specifications, or certification claims that could not be verified.

Remembering the history and holding the seller accountable

Having a traceable manufacturer, importer, model, seller, and contact information simplifies the process of verifying safety measures and taking appropriate actions. This assessment also accounts for unresolved CPSC recalls or warnings. Scores ranged from 60 to 80, with higher scores awarded to products that provided clearer model details and support information and showed no known product-specific issues. Lower scores indicated uncertainty about the manufacturer's identity or product configuration, even if no recalls had been issued.

TESSAN Power Strip Surge Protector with USB C
#1 - Best Overall

TESSAN Power Strip Surge Protector with USB C

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 71/100 TESSAN

Overview

For electrical safety, this product is manufactured by a traceable company, with the manufacturer's name listed in retail records and supported by published contact information. A review of CPSC recall records up to August 16, 2026, shows no recalls or safety notices related to this specific product. While this provides some accountability assurance, it does not replace the need for official safety certification for the finished product. The primary unresolved safety concern is the absence of a verified US NRTL (Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory) listing for this exact power strip and its surge protection function. The manufacturer, TESSAN, discloses joule ratings and general overload claims but does not specify surge ratings such as voltage protection level or nominal discharge current, which are necessary for meaningful comparison. The brand offers a model-dependent warranty ranging from 12 to 24 months but has no documented product-specific take-back or recycling program. When the product reaches the end of its life, it should be disposed of at a local electronics recycling facility rather than in household trash.

What works

  • It could not be verified from UL or Intertek records that the finished product has certification to UL 1363, UL 1449, or an equivalent US NRTL standard.
  • The claim of 1080 joules does not include information about voltage protection ratings, nominal discharge current, protection modes, or other similar surge performance metrics.
  • The charging ports provide a combined output of only 15 W, which means this is not a high-power USB-C charging solution suitable for laptops or rapid charging needs.
  • The surge end-of-life guidance and the protected-status indicator are listed in a third-party hosted manual, rather than in the manufacturer's technical manual or certification documentation.

What does not

  • According to TESSAN, eight widely spaced AC outlets allow for more of the receptacles to be used simultaneously, even with large power bricks.
  • According to TESSAN, the 0.31-inch flat plug with a right-angle design is convenient for use behind furniture outlets.
  • TESSAN indicates that both the USB-A and USB-C ports combined offer up to 15 W of power, making them suitable for charging basic phones, earbuds, and small tablets.
  • According to TESSAN, the product features mounting holes and anti-slip feet to ensure a more secure setup on desks, walls, or workbenches.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals setting up a small indoor desk, dorm room, bedroom, or media area that requires multiple AC outlets and basic USB charging from a single grounded wall socket. Its design is especially useful in situations where bulky adapters would obstruct closely spaced outlets or when a low-profile plug is necessary behind a bed, desk, or cabinet. It is also suitable for buyers who can mount the strip under a desk or on a wall, ensuring that the total connected load stays within the specified rated limit.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for outdoor, damp environments, garages, workshops, RVs, medical settings, or other demanding locations unless explicitly permitted on the label. Avoid using it with heaters, air conditioners, cooking appliances, hair tools, or other high-wattage devices that could overload a power strip. Additionally, it is not appropriate for users who require independently verified UL 1449 surge certification, documented clamping performance, or USB-C Power Delivery for laptop charging. Do not connect it to another power strip or extension cord.

Anker Surge Protector Power Strip 2100J
#2 - Popular

Anker Surge Protector Power Strip 2100J

Buyer Score 96/100 Integrity Score 76/100 Anker

Overview

The safety features outlined for this product include warnings about grounding use, restrictions to indoor dry locations, an overload shutoff, and indicator lights for surge protection and grounding. Anker states that the housing is fire-resistant and describes an eight-point safety system; however, detailed information about the construction and independent verification of each safety function is not publicly available. In 2025, the CPSC recalled certain Anker lithium-ion power banks, but this specific corded power strip was not part of that recall. No safety warnings or recalls from the CPSC were identified for this product upon review. Anker provides an 18-month limited warranty for this product category and runs a US device recycling program that accepts damaged or out-of-warranty units. The company also states that replacement parts or service will be available for at least three years after the end of production for charging accessories launched after September 2023. Since the product's release date is unknown, the availability of parts cannot be guaranteed. There are no verified claims regarding recycled content, recyclable packaging, or carbon savings for this product.

What works

  • During this review, the TÜV certification listed could not be matched to any publicly available, specific product certification record.
  • There was no model-specific UL 1449 or ETL listing found, despite a retailer-reported response from Anker claiming it is UL 1449 certified.
  • The claim of 2,100J is insufficient for comparing surge endurance. Publicly available information does not include protection modes or nominal discharge-current data.
  • The product guide indicates that a dim or dark surge light signifies that the protection is not functioning properly. However, the manufacturer's publicly available page does not provide detailed instructions for replacement.
  • The USB ports have specified output ratings; however, there is no publicly available independent safety certification for this particular charging setup.

What does not

  • Anker specifies a maximum of 125V, 15A, and 1875W for AC power, featuring 12 AC outlets and a 5-foot cord.
  • The user guide explains that an overload causes the on-off reset switch to trip, cutting off the power.
  • A status indicator light for a surge and a grounded status light offer a visual confirmation during operation.
  • USB-C output profiles are defined, providing up to 20W of power when USB-A ports are not being used.
  • Anker offers an 18-month limited warranty along with a recycling program in the United States for returning old devices.

Who is it for

This device is ideal for home offices, dorm rooms, or media desks where users require multiple low- to moderate-power outlets from a single properly grounded indoor wall socket. Its layout is suitable for charging devices, monitors, computers, lamps, and small electronics, as long as the total AC load remains within Anker's specified limit of 15A, 1875W. It is also suitable for users who can monitor the status lights as an indicator of activity and who understand that the USB-C port delivers up to 20W only when the USB-A ports are not in use.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for outdoor use, damp environments, kitchen countertops, garages, aquariums, or other wet locations. It should not be used with medical equipment in patient-care areas, high-wattage heaters, cooking appliances, air conditioners, or devices that may draw close to or exceed the 15A capacity. Additionally, it is not appropriate for users who need surge protection with publicly traceable, model-specific UL 1449 certification, detailed surge mode information, or nominal discharge-current data. Do not connect it to another power strip or extension cord.

TESSAN Surge Protector Power Strip 10 Ft Cord
#3 - Best Deal

TESSAN Surge Protector Power Strip 10 Ft Cord

Buyer Score 93/100 Integrity Score 69/100 TESSAN

Overview

For electrical safety, the manufacturer specifies key safeguards such as overload protection, short-circuit protection, over-current protection, and an on-off switch designed to cut power when the rated limits are exceeded. TESSAN also identifies Zhuhai Tessan Power Technology as the manufacturer, provides support contact information, and explains the significance of unit serial numbers for warranty purposes and traceability. A search of the CPSC recall database shows no recalls related to TESSAN or its designated manufacturer. The primary unresolved concern is the lack of independent verification of the entire product. The available UL certification pertains only to the manufacturer’s power-supply cords in Canada, and there is no model-specific UL listing for this power strip or its surge protection features in the U.S. TESSAN offers a limited warranty but does not provide a specific take-back or recycling program for the product. Upon reaching end of life, it is recommended to recycle the device through a local electronics recycling facility rather than curbside pickup, in accordance with EPA guidelines for electronics recycling.

What works

  • There is no available UL 1449 or ETL certification record specific to the surge protection device. A joule rating by itself does not confirm the device's surge performance.
  • The product materials do not specify the voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protected modes, or whether there is a surge-protection status indicator. As a result, buyers are unable to compare clamping performance or determine from the available documentation when the surge protection has degraded.
  • The load specifications in the product record are inconsistent. This document indicates a 10A and 1250W rating, whereas TESSAN's product page states a maximum of 1875W. Please verify the rating printed on the actual product received and ensure you do not exceed it.
  • USB charging is capped at 15W for all ports combined, meaning the USB-C port is not specified as supporting USB Power Delivery or functioning as a high-power laptop charger.
  • No manufacturer take-back program or specific recycling instructions for the product were found.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer, it features eight AC outlets and three USB ports, making it ideal for consolidating a desk or dorm charging station.
  • According to the manufacturer, the 10-foot flat cord and low-profile plug allow you to extend behind furniture without having to push it far from the wall.
  • TESSAN explicitly states that the total shared USB power output is 5V/3A, or 15W, which helps prevent the assumption that each port can provide its maximum power individually at the same time.
  • The manufacturer listed offers support contacts, serial number tracking details, and warranty coverage typically spanning from 12 to 24 months. According to the product record, the warranty period is 18 months.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals who require multiple low-power outlets and occasional charging for phones or accessories at a desk, bedside, dorm room, or home office—especially when the wall socket is several feet away or concealed behind furniture. Its outlet configuration, flat plug, and mounting holes are convenient for organizing chargers, monitors, lamps, routers, and other electronic devices. It is best suited for buyers who can verify the electrical rating on the product label and ensure that the total connected load remains within the specified limit.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for high-power appliances such as space heaters, microwaves, hair tools, coffee makers, air conditioners, or other devices that produce heat. It is also not recommended for use in wet environments, outdoor settings, RV power systems, or any situation that requires an official model-specific U.S. safety certification and verified UL 1449 surge protection data. Customers who need to charge USB-C laptops should select a device that explicitly supports USB Power Delivery. Additionally, do not connect it in series with another power strip or extension cord.

Anker Power Strip with Surge Protector
#4

Anker Power Strip with Surge Protector

Buyer Score 89/100 Integrity Score 75/100 Anker

Overview

For electrical safety, Anker certifies the product as TÜV certified and specifies a US AC rating of 125V, 15A, and 1875W. The product documentation also indicates a surge-protection indicator. However, publicly available evidence reviewed does not confirm the specific test standard or certification details for this product, nor does it include typical surge protection information such as voltage protection rating or nominal discharge current. Therefore, the product should be used only within its specified indoor load limits and not relied upon as a universal safeguard for connected devices. No CPSC recalls or safety warnings related to this product were found in the US sources reviewed. Anker provides an 18-month warranty and US-based customer support, offering a clear support contact. No information was found regarding recycled content, packaging reduction, take-back programs, or US electronics recycling initiatives for this product. When no longer in use, it should be disposed of as electronic waste through appropriate local e-waste collection programs rather than regular household trash.

What works

  • A public record of UL 1449 or ETL certification specific to the model for the surge protection function could not be found.
  • This product lacks a specified voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protection modes, and detailed information regarding surge endurance.
  • The product page employs general language regarding device safety during severe weather conditions, going beyond what a mere joule rating can determine.
  • The specifications indicating 100-240V input and 125V US AC output require careful consideration. These are not intended to replace a plug adapter, voltage converter, or to verify the compatibility with your local outlet standards.

What does not

  • The manufacturer specifies specific US AC limits—125V, 15A, and 1875W—instead of merely indicating the number of outlets.
  • The sharing of USB output is disclosed, which helps prevent the misconception that all three USB ports can simultaneously provide their maximum power outputs.
  • The compact casing, flat plug, 5-foot cord, and mounting slots make it ideal for a fixed desk or bedside installation.
  • A precise product manual displays a surge protection indicator, allowing users to easily check the status of the protection feature.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals creating a compact, indoor, grounded power outlet suitable for low to moderate load electronics such as monitors, laptop chargers, phones, routers, lamps, and small USB accessories. It is especially useful in situations where a wall outlet is located behind a desk or bed, thanks to its 5-foot cord, low-profile angled plug, and mounting slots, which help minimize clutter and intrusion. It is also suitable for buyers who can maintain the total AC load within the specified 15A and 1875W limits and are aware that the USB charging power is shared when multiple ports are used.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for high-power appliances such as space heaters, microwaves, refrigerators, air conditioners, or other devices that may draw near or exceed the specified 15A limit. It is also not intended for use in wet environments, outdoor areas, RV power systems, daisy-chaining multiple strips, or situations that require a documented, model-specific UL 1449 surge protection record. Customers who need to charge laptops via USB-C should select a product with significantly higher, verified USB-C power output. Additionally, do not depend solely on this power strip for protection against direct lightning strikes or severe electrical faults.

NTONPOWER Surge Protector Power Strip with USB
#5

NTONPOWER Surge Protector Power Strip with USB

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 70/100 NTONPOWER

Overview

The available safety evidence is limited but still noteworthy. A retailer’s product listing indicates ETL certification, and Intertek is recognized by OSHA as a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory. However, the specific product could not be verified in the public certification records reviewed, so this claim should not be regarded as definitive third-party verification for the exact model. The manufacturer provides direct support and offers an 18-month warranty. No recalls or safety warnings related to this product were identified in the reviewed records from CPSC. The primary safety concern concerns the accuracy of product specifications. There are discrepancies in published data regarding voltage and amperage, with the most consistent ratings being 125V, 10A, and 1,250W. The manufacturer and retailer mention overload protection, but independent verification of surge protection or clear indications of surge end-of-life are lacking. The enclosure is described as made from polycarbonate or ABS and polycarbonate, but there is no information about recycled content, packaging, take-back, or recycling programs. If the unit fails, it should be disposed of through local electronics recycling facilities rather than curbside collection.

What works

  • The surge claim is capped at 1,080 joules. There is no product-specific UL 1449 certification, nor any data available regarding voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protection mode, or tested durability.
  • There is no documented information regarding a protection-status indicator light, an automatic shutdown feature following surge events, or instructions for replacing components once surge protection is no longer functioning.
  • There is a discrepancy in the published electrical specifications, with the data stating 10A, 125V, 1,250W, while also listing 15A or 240V. This inconsistency is a documentation issue and does not indicate that the product is unsafe.
  • The USB ports are only rated for a shared low-power output. There is no separate certification or official listing for USB-C specifically for this configuration.
  • There was no information found regarding manufacturer take-back programs or specific guidelines for electronics recycling related to the product.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer, the 15-foot cord and flat angled plug are convenient for use on desks, nightstands, or workspaces that are positioned far from an outlet.
  • The device features six AC outlets and four USB ports, which can decrease the number of individual chargers required for low-power electronic devices, according to the manufacturer.
  • The manufacturer offers an 18-month warranty, a 30-day return period, and direct customer support contact.
  • A retailer has identified an overload-reset switch and has claimed ETL certification; however, the specific certification documentation could not be independently verified.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals powering multiple low-demand devices in a dry indoor environment, such as at a desk, bedside, dorm room, or home office where the wall outlet is up to 15 feet away. It is well-suited for setups that include items like phone chargers, lamps, monitors, small computer accessories, or a laptop charger, with a total AC load kept conservatively below 1,250W. Additionally, it appeals to users who appreciate mounting holes and a flat plug for discreet placement behind furniture, and who are satisfied with basic shared USB charging rather than high-power USB-C charging.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for use with space heaters, hair styling tools, kitchen appliances, air conditioning units, power tools, or any devices that draw near the circuit’s maximum capacity. It should not be used outdoors, in damp environments, with extension cords or multiple power strips connected together, or where a grounded wall outlet is not available. Customers requiring verified surge protection for sensitive electronics should select a product with an up-to-date UL 1449 (or equivalent NRTL) listing, along with clear information on voltage protection, status indicators, and end-of-life alerts. Additionally, it is not suitable for fast charging USB-C laptops.

TESSAN Tower Power Strip with USB Ports
#6

TESSAN Tower Power Strip with USB Ports

Buyer Score 84/100 Integrity Score 70/100 TESSAN

Overview

The primary safety concern involves evidence rather than a confirmed defect. TESSAN states that this product includes protections against overload, short circuits, over-current, and surges, along with a circuit breaker and a protected-status indicator light. The instructions also advise against exposure to moisture, overloading, and daisy-chaining, and recommend replacing the unit if the protected light is off. While these safety features are beneficial, they are manufacturer-stated claims, as no specific UL or ETL certification listing for this product could be found in the relevant certification directories. There are no records of a CPSC recall for TESSAN power strips in the reviewed recall database. TESSAN offers a limited warranty, support options, and serial-number traceability. However, the brand does not provide a dedicated take-back or electronics recycling program for this product, nor has it provided evidence of recycled materials or packaging reduction efforts. When this electronic device reaches the end of its life, it should be disposed of through a local electronics recycling program rather than regular trash, where such services are available.

What works

  • There was no independent verification through an exact-product UL or ETL listing found for the surge protector or complete power strip intended for use in the United States.
  • The 1050-joule claim does not include comparable disclosed ratings such as voltage protection level, nominal discharge current, protection modes, and tested durability.
  • The specified load limits are inconsistent. One TESSAN webpage indicates a maximum of 15A and 1875W, whereas the product instructions specify 13A and 1625W.
  • The USB output is specified as a shared 5V and 3A, and it is not listed as a supported USB-C Power Delivery option for laptops or other high-power devices.
  • There was no evidence of any product-specific recycling or take-back programs, recycled-content claims, or disclosures regarding packaging materials.

What does not

  • The vertical design features 11 AC outlets and three USB charging ports, eliminating the need for a lengthy horizontal strip.
  • Manufacturer documentation specifies a protected-status indicator light and advises replacement once the surge protection is no longer functioning.
  • The flat, angled plug and 6-foot cord allow it to be tucked behind furniture, minimizing how far it extends from the wall.
  • Available are the manufacturer's name, product-specific documentation, support contact information, serial number traceability, and the warranty process.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals who require multiple low-power connections within a compact indoor dry environment, such as a dorm desk, home office, bedside charging station, or TV stand. Its tower design allows easy access to several phone chargers, lamps, monitors, routers, and other small electronics from different angles. Users should consider 13A and 1625W as the safety-rated limits, since these are the lower published specifications. It is important to keep the tower well-ventilated, plug it into a grounded wall outlet, and regularly check the protected indicator to ensure proper operation.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for buyers who need independently certified UL 1449 surge protection for critical electronics, unstable power environments, or compliance with insurance and workplace standards. It is also unsuitable for wet areas, outdoor applications, RVs or travel adapters, and setups that could lead to daisy-chaining. Do not use it with space heaters, cooking appliances, air conditioners, or other high-power devices. For laptop users requiring USB-C Power Delivery, select equipment that explicitly states its PD wattage and includes certification proof.

GEARGO 30 Amp RV Surge Protector 2026 Gen2
#7

GEARGO 30 Amp RV Surge Protector 2026 Gen2

Buyer Score 83/100 Integrity Score 72/100 GEARGO

Overview

The primary electrical safety concern centers on the quality of the evidence rather than an official recall or regulatory warning. Searches of CPSC recall databases and public incident reports did not reveal any safety actions related to this product. Although a UL certification is claimed, it could not be linked to a specific public UL 1449 record for this exact product, and no corresponding ETL record was found. If applicable, FCC compliance addresses electromagnetic interference but does not independently verify surge protection or mains safety certification. The manual's fault diagnosis chart and replacement instructions provide useful operational guidance. However, conflicting claims of 1,200 joules and 8,000 joules for protection capacity create uncertainty about the product’s actual surge protection level. No claims regarding recycled content, recyclable packaging, carbon footprint, or other environmental benefits were identified. While a three-year warranty may suggest a longer lifespan, there is no information about a take-back or recycling program from the manufacturer. At the end of its life, this electrical device should be disposed of through an appropriate electronics recycling facility rather than household trash.

What works

  • No UL 1449 or ETL certification specific to the model was found, so the surge protection approval for this entire product has not been confirmed.
  • The reported surge capacity is inconsistent; the current product documentation states a capacity of 1,200 joules, while other published materials indicate a value of 8,000 joules.
  • The reviewed material does not specify the voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protected modes, or cord gauge.
  • The product materials state that UL and FCC testing have been conducted; however, the documentation provided does not include a traceable certificate or file number for the entire product.
  • No manufacturer take-back or electronics recycling guidelines were identified.

What does not

  • The provided manual offers a straightforward LED fault chart for pre-connection issues, covering various common pedestal wiring problems.
  • The manual recommends replacing the device if the surge-protection indicator is off, indicating the end-of-life.
  • The specified 30-amp and 125-volt ratings correspond to a maximum load of 3,750 watts.
  • A three-year warranty is included in the official instruction manual.

Who is it for

This device is suitable for RV owners with a 30-amp, 120 to 125-volt shore power connection who want a compact plug-in tester to use before connecting at a campground pedestal. Its primary function is to identify wiring issues listed in the manual, such as open ground or reverse polarity. The housing features a cover designed for outdoor use. It is ideal for individuals who regularly inspect their cords and connectors, follow the LED indicator chart, and replace the unit if the surge protection indicator shows that protection has been lost.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for a 50 amp RV connection unless used with the properly rated adapter and with a clear understanding of the associated load limits. It is also not intended for buyers who require independently verifiable UL 1449 or ETL certification for the entire surge protector, or who need published specifications such as clamping voltage, nominal discharge current, and protection modes. Do not use this as a replacement for a qualified electrician if the electrical pedestal displays faults, shows signs of heat damage or corrosion, has loose contacts, or features an unreliable breaker.

Mifaso Surge Protector Power Strip 6-Outlet 4-USB
#8

Mifaso Surge Protector Power Strip 6-Outlet 4-USB

Buyer Score 81/100 Integrity Score 69/100 Mifaso

Overview

The safety documentation is only partially complete and lacks independent verification. Mifaso reports a 15 A overload function, a claim of 900-joule surge protection, a green surge indicator light, and the use of TVS, MOV, and gas-discharge-tube components. The specified rating of 125 V, 15 A aligns internally with a maximum load of 1,875 W. However, there is no independent evidence confirming the product’s full ETL listing or UL 1449 certification for surge protection. Additionally, no specific product recall or safety warning related to CPSC was found through recall searches. The enclosure is described as made of polycarbonate. While Mifaso’s public store claims the product is carbon-neutral, it does not specify a detailed accounting method, certification, or environmental scope. No details about a take-back program, electronics recycling instructions, or repair parts policy were available for this power strip. The product listing states a one-year warranty, offering limited support, but it does not address the potential wear-out of surge protection components over time.

What works

  • The complete surge protection functionality was not independently verified through an exact-match ETL listing or UL 1449 certification.
  • This unit lacks information on voltage protection rating, nominal discharge current, protection modes, or surge endurance capabilities.
  • The available documentation does not specify whether the outlets turn off when the surge components reach the end of their lifespan or when they need to be replaced.
  • The USB port information is inconsistent. The catalog mentions four ports, but Mifaso and other specifications specify only two. Additionally, the shared charging output is not clearly documented.
  • Mifaso's store claims to be carbon-neutral but does not specify a product-specific scope, certification, or supporting methodology.

What does not

  • The specified rating of 125 V and 15 A clearly indicates a maximum connected load limit of 1,875 W.
  • Mifaso indicates that a green light signals when its surge protection feature is engaged.
  • The flat-angled plug and mounting tabs are convenient for use with desks, media furniture, and fixed indoor installations.
  • The official product page describes a three-stage surge circuit instead of solely emphasizing the 900-joule capacity.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for dry indoor environments like desks, bedrooms, or media setups that require two matching strips for standard low to moderate power electronics, such as monitors, routers, lamps, TVs, chargers, and computers. The 5-foot cord, wall-mount tabs, and flat angled plug make it suitable for placement behind furniture or under desks. Users should sum the wattage of all connected devices and ensure it does not exceed the maximum rating of 15 A or 1,875 W.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for outdoor, damp environments, garages, workshops, RVs, or high-load appliances unless the product label and instructions explicitly specify that such conditions are permitted. Do not use this device for space heaters, kitchen heating appliances, air conditioners, or other devices that may draw near the maximum circuit capacity. Customers seeking documented surge protection performance for valuable electronics or independently verified USB charging capabilities should choose a unit that has a certified performance record and clearly published electrical ratings.

Extension Cord Surge Protector Tower 12 AC 4 USB
#9

Extension Cord Surge Protector Tower 12 AC 4 USB

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 66/100 SMALLRT

Overview

Electrical safety information is partially documented through the available instructions and product images. These indicate that the product is intended for indoor dry-location use, require grounding, caution against overloading, feature a resettable switch, and include a shared USB output with a maximum of 5V and 3.4A. While these operational parameters are helpful, they are provided by the manufacturer and have not been independently verified through specific product certification records. Although Intertek is an OSHA-recognized Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL), no corresponding Intertek certification listing was found for this product. Similarly, there is no UL listing identified for this specific product. In the U.S., no recalls, Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) safety warnings, or regulatory actions related to this product or the manufacturer were discovered in available recall resources. However, this does not replace the need for proper certification or testing. The instructions mention a two-year limited warranty that covers repairs or replacements within that period. There is no indication of a manufacturer take-back program, e-waste disposal guidelines, use of recycled materials, recyclable packaging, or other verified environmental claims. When the product is damaged or no longer in use, it should be disposed of through an appropriate electronics recycling facility.

What works

  • There is no independent record of UL 1449 or ETL certification for the specific product to verify its advertised surge protection capability.
  • The surge performance disclosure is insufficient. It lacks information on voltage protection ratings, nominal discharge current, protection modes, and there is no documented indicator of protection status.
  • The existing product documentation contains conflicting information regarding surge capacity, listing 1,200 joules in one section and 1,800 joules in another.
  • The load specifications are inconsistent. Retail documentation indicates a 10A rating with a 0.75 mm² cord, whereas the catalog listing specifies a 15A rating.
  • There was no record of a take-back program, guidance for electronics recycling, a recycled-content declaration, or environmental documentation related to packaging.

What does not

  • A single grounded wall outlet can support up to twelve AC outlets, allowing you to power numerous low-power devices on your desk or in your room.
  • The USB section clearly specifies a combined output limit of 5V and 3.4A, helping to set accurate expectations when multiple devices are charging simultaneously.
  • Instructions: Identify essential indoor safety boundaries such as ensuring dry placement, proper grounding, preventing overload, and inspecting for damaged cords.
  • The product features a visible resettable overload switch, which the manufacturer states includes an automatic shutoff function.
  • The available product instructions specify a two-year limited warranty.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals who require multiple outlets in a dry indoor location to power low-energy electronics, such as phone chargers, monitors, routers, lamps, laptop adapters, and other desk or dormitory devices. Its tower design is especially useful when large power adapters make a traditional flat strip crowded. It is best suited for users who can maintain a cautious total load, use a properly grounded wall outlet, keep the unit uncovered and away from liquids, and consider the USB ports as a shared 5V, 3.4A charging source rather than four separate fast chargers.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for anyone needing independently certified surge protection for expensive or critical electronics, as no specific UL 1449 or ETL surge ratings have been identified, and its technical surge ratings are incomplete. It should not be used for heaters, air conditioners, kitchen appliances, power tools, or other high-current devices. The conflicting information regarding 10A and 15A ratings makes it especially important to use it conservatively. Additionally, it is not appropriate for outdoor use, damp environments, RV-specific applications, or situations where a surge protector with a documented end-of-life indicator is necessary.

TAGZILO Power Strip Tower with Surge Protector
#10

TAGZILO Power Strip Tower with Surge Protector

Buyer Score 77/100 Integrity Score 69/100 TAGZILO

Overview

The primary health and safety concern centers on the quality of the product's evidence rather than an established recall or defect. The product’s marketing materials highlight features such as overload protection, short-circuit protection, over-current protection, fire resistance, and surge protection. However, no specific UL or ETL certification records for the exact product have been identified. In the United States, OSHA states that electrical equipment used in workplaces must carry an authorized certification mark from a recognized testing laboratory. Additionally, UL emphasizes that a power strip with surge protection requires assessment beyond the standard power strip certification. Special caution should be exercised with the USB output claims, as the listing indicates a shared maximum of 5V, 3.4A, while promoting 20W Power Delivery (PD) fast charging separately. Furthermore, the product lacks a take-back program, repair options, packaging specifications, recycled-content claims, or environmental certifications. When the product reaches the end of its life, it should be disposed of through a designated electronics recycler, rather than being treated as regular household recycling, especially considering its mixed plastics, cords, and electronic components.

What works

  • The claimed surge protection is not supported by a model-specific UL 1449 or ETL certification.
  • No information was found regarding voltage protection ratings, nominal discharge current, protection modes, or documented surge protection status indicators. Additionally, a joule rating alone does not indicate the device's clamping performance.
  • The USB specifications are not clearly defined. A shared 5V output with a 3.4A limit amounts to 17W, which does not clearly support the claim of a separate 20W Power Delivery (PD) capability.
  • There is no verified information available regarding the AC amperage, wattage, cord gauge, product label, or instruction manual. As a result, it is not possible to verify the total load limits or installation warnings.
  • The manufacturer's general claim that it ensures the safety of electronics is more assertive than the publicly accessible technical evidence supports.

What does not

  • Features 12 AC outlets and three USB ports in a compact vertical design, with specifications provided by the manufacturer and independently verified by a retailer.
  • The manufacturer mentions that the 10-foot cord and angled flat plug allow the device to be positioned behind furniture and placed close to a wall.
  • The product includes a two-year manufacturer warranty listed in the catalog record, which can be beneficial if the seller chooses to honor it.
  • The manufacturer claims that the unit is equipped with overload, short-circuit, and over-current protection features.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for individuals who need to organize multiple small plug-in devices in a dry indoor setting, such as a dorm desk, bedside table, or home office with chargers, lamps, a monitor, and low-power accessories. Its main advantages are the number of outlets, compact vertical design, and the manufacturer’s claims of a 10-foot cord with a flat plug. It is best suited for users who can keep the total connected load moderate, verify that the device bears a recognized U.S. safety certification and a clear rating label, and do not require documented surge testing performance.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals who require independently documented surge protection for valuable computers, networking devices, home theater equipment, or work-related tools. It is also not appropriate for high-power appliances such as space heaters, microwaves, air conditioners, kitchen appliances, power tools, or other devices with high power consumption, as verified AC load ratings and cord gauge information are not available. Avoid using it in wet environments, outdoor settings, medical applications, RVs, or any configuration that involves daisy-chaining. Customers seeking reliable USB-C Power Delivery should look for products with clearer documentation on per-port and shared-output performance.