When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg

10 Best Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg 2026

We compared the top Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Supplement

Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Supplement

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Supports nerve health and glucose metabolism.

  • Includes beneficial B vitamins for added support.

  • Non-GMO and vegan-friendly formulation.

9.5 / 10 Rating
15% off Check Price
3
Best Deal Nutricost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid 100mg, 120 Veggie Capsules

Nutricost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid 100mg, 120 Veggie Capsules

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Contains non-GMO, gluten-free ingredients.

  • Convenient 100mg dosage per serving.

  • Made with vegetarian-friendly formula.

9.2 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
Alpha Lipoic Acid Nerve Support Supplement

Alpha Lipoic Acid Nerve Support Supplement

  • Combines multiple key ingredients for comprehensive nerve support.

  • Includes essential B vitamins for added benefits.

  • Made in the USA ensuring high-quality standards.

8.8 / 10 Rating
5% Coupon Check Price
5
DEAL SUPPLEMENT R Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg

DEAL SUPPLEMENT R Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg

  • Contains both R-ALA and Benfotiamine for enhanced support.

  • Provides a high dosage of 600mg per serving.

  • Designed for energy and nervous system benefits.

8.6 / 10 Rating
10% off + 20% Coupon Check Price
6
Alpha Lipoic Acid Softgels 600mg by Micro Ingredients

Alpha Lipoic Acid Softgels 600mg by Micro Ingredients

  • Highly bioavailable for effective absorption.

  • Combines ALA with nourishing coconut oil.

  • Supports nerve, heart, and liver health.

8.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Geronova R-Lipoic Acid 600 mg

Geronova R-Lipoic Acid 600 mg

  • High potency for maximum antioxidant support.

  • Enhanced absorption for better effectiveness.

  • Vegan-friendly and non-GMO formulation.

8.3 / 10 Rating
20% Coupon Check Price
8
NatureBell Alpha Lipoic Acid Complex 600mg

NatureBell Alpha Lipoic Acid Complex 600mg

  • Contains four powerful antioxidant ingredients.

  • Offers high absorption for better effectiveness.

  • Free from GMOs and gluten.

8 / 10 Rating
10% Coupon Check Price
9
Micro Ingredients Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplement

Micro Ingredients Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplement

  • Contains MCT oil for enhanced absorption.

  • Non-GMO, gluten-free, and soy-free formula.

  • Supports liver, nerve, and cardiovascular health.

7.8 / 10 Rating
20% off Check Price
10
Designs for Health Berberine Synergy Berberine HCL 400mg

Designs for Health Berberine Synergy Berberine HCL 400mg

  • Combines berberine with alpha lipoic acid.

  • Supports metabolism and heart health.

  • Vegan and non-GMO formulation.

7.6 / 10 Rating
10% Coupon Check Price

You Might Also Like

Alpha-Lipoic Acid 600 mg: Key Points to Consider

Alpha-lipoic acid is available as an oral supplement aimed at supporting antioxidant activity, nerve health, energy production, and glucose regulation. Based on relevant human studies, the most notable findings suggest that at around 600 mg daily, it may offer modest symptom relief for some individuals with diabetic peripheral neuropathy. However, the evidence is mixed and does not definitively confirm alpha-lipoic acid as an effective treatment for diabetes, blood sugar management, or unexplained nerve issues. It's important to note that intravenous studies should not be considered equivalent to oral supplement results.

Pay close attention to the "600 mg" dosage notation. This figure could refer to the amount per capsule, per serving, or per day. For example, some products may require taking two or three capsules to reach a total of 600 mg, while others may contain 600 mg in a single capsule. Salt-based R-Alpha Lipoic Acid (R-ALA) products often list sodium R-lipoate separately; for instance, one product lists 600 mg of sodium R-lipoate providing 520 mg of R-lipoic acid. A higher total dose, such as 1,000 mg, isn't necessarily better for research purposes, which typically used 600 mg, and a 100 mg dose may not replicate studied routines.

Top Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg

The form of alpha-lipoic acid also matters. Labels should specify whether the product contains "R-ALA," "S-ALA," "R-lipoate," or a "mixed" or "racemic" form, and clearly state the amount. Claims of "R-ALA" are valid only if supported by testing confirming the identity and potency of the finished product. The most reliable products are those listed in recognized independent registries or have undergone public testing—such as NSF certification, NSF/ANSI 173 listing, USP Verified status, or ConsumerLab testing—not just those labeled as "third-party tested."

For consumers, specific evidence is essential. A certificate of analysis for the finished product should identify the lot number, expiration date, testing laboratory, methods used, and results. This documentation should verify the actual alpha-lipoic acid content, R/S composition if claimed, heavy metals, microbiological safety, and residual solvents. Raw ingredient potency testing alone does not confirm the contents of the final product, and stability testing should demonstrate that the labeled amount and form remain consistent until expiration.

Transparency of formulation is another important factor. Check for all active ingredients, including the total daily dose, capsule or softgel components, fillers, flow agents, oils, potential allergens, and any additional ingredients like benfotiamine, B vitamins, chromium, berberine, or black pepper extract. Be aware that added ingredients may influence interactions or dietary considerations. If you require vegetarian or vegan options, verify that capsules do not contain gelatin or other animal-derived ingredients, especially in softgels.

Throughout product options, certain cautions are common. Alpha-lipoic acid can influence blood sugar levels, so individuals using insulin, sulfonylureas, or other glucose-lowering medications should consult healthcare professionals and monitor their blood sugar carefully. Rare reports of insulin-autoimmune hypoglycemia have been documented. Pregnant or nursing women, children, those with thyroid issues, individuals planning surgery, people on multiple medications, or those experiencing new or worsening symptoms like numbness, weakness, burning, or pain should seek professional advice before use. These supplements are not substitutes for medical treatment of diabetes, neuropathy evaluation, or prescribed therapies.

Common side effects may include nausea, vomiting, heartburn, and headaches. Some formulations, such as those combining alpha-lipoic acid with black pepper extract, could alter medication absorption. Finally, be cautious of inconsistent serving instructions, outdated labels, or language suggesting these are only "research chemicals," and avoid relying solely on marketing claims. Always verify product details before use.

Integrity

These factors set apart a credible 600 mg label from a product whose dosage, form, safety information, testing, and packaging claims can be verified. The products offered differ most notably in independent certification, batch-specific documentation, verification of the active ingredient form, and the clarity and effectiveness of their warnings.

HHealth & Safety

Potential health benefit

This assesses whether the claimed use is backed by substantial human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid at the specified dose and form, without substituting proven medical care. In this category, a high score indicates limited, well-supported claims related to neuropathy symptoms at studied oral doses; a low score suggests more extensive claims about glucose regulation, energy, heart, brain, or disease treatment that go beyond the available evidence.

Medication and Blood Sugar Safety

This assesses whether the label provides practical warnings regarding hypoglycemia, diabetes medications, surgery, pregnancy or breastfeeding, thyroid issues, and potential adverse effects. A high score indicates the inclusion of detailed clinician-reviewed information, such as warnings related to insulin or antidiabetes drugs. Conversely, lower scores are characterized by generic statements like “consult a doctor” and tend to omit guidance on monitoring, symptoms of low blood sugar, or relevant drug interactions.

Easy-to-understand formulas with clear allergen information

This evaluates whether the product accurately identifies all active and inactive ingredients, their daily quantities, the material of capsules or softgels, and relevant allergens. Products with high scores typically feature concise, named formulas and clearly state whether capsules are vegetarian or vegan, along with any exclusions. Conversely, lower-scoring products may contain undisclosed or insufficiently quantified additional ingredients, conflicting labels, or unclear information regarding gelatin, coconut, black pepper, softgel shells, and excipients.

What exactly is inside the capsule?

This assessment evaluates the identity, potency, and claimed R-ALA content versus the accuracy of mixed forms across the product's shelf life. A high score indicates more than just a label claim; it requires verifiable analytical data confirming the actual amount and form of alpha-lipoic acid in the final product. The highest scores were awarded when R-form or dosage claims were independently verified, while the lowest scores were given when the form was not specified or when historical testing revealed significant under-potency.

Contaminant Management

This assesses the reliable quality control of finished products regarding heavy metals, microbes, residual solvents, and other important contaminants. High scores indicate independent testing or certification with established limits, while low scores suggest only a manufacturer’s declaration that testing is conducted. Although publicly available heavy-metal test results are helpful, they do not guarantee that microbiology, solvents, or all current bottles consistently meet the specified standards.

Strength with the expiry date

This assesses whether the packaging, storage instructions, and stability data of the finished product verify that the labeled amount and form of alpha-lipoic acid remain accurate until the expiration date. Achieving high scores requires stability evidence supported by expiry-date testing, rather than merely storage guidance or a single test result. Among the products reviewed, most included storage instructions but lacked publicly available stability reports, preventing consumers from independently confirming the product's potency at the end of its shelf life.

EEcology

Eco-friendly packaging with transparent environmental claims designed to reduce waste

This assesses the transparency and credibility of claims related to the bottle or pouch, seal, desiccant, outer packaging, recycled content, and recyclability in the U.S. A high score indicates that packaging claims are detailed, qualified, and verifiable. However, the products evaluated generally revealed minimal information beyond the type of container, such as a plastic bottle or flexible pouch; none offered sufficient details regarding resin content, recycled material percentage, or recycling practices to demonstrate a clear environmental benefit.

EEvidence

Independent Product Verification

This metric assesses whether the final product is listed in a reputable independent registry or public testing program, rather than simply being claimed as tested by the seller. High scores are awarded to products listed by organizations like NSF or backed by independent testing results. Low scores indicate the absence of an exact product listing in such registries or public test data. It’s important to note that facility GMP certification alone does not confirm the finished product’s certification.

Test Certification for Each Lot

This assesses whether a buyer can link a recent batch of a product to a certificate that specifies the lot number, expiration date, laboratory, testing methods, specifications, and results. The most transparent example provided included details on alpha-lipoic acid potency and heavy metals for a traceable batch. In contrast, products that only relied on manufacturer-stated testing without a publicly accessible, lot-specific report received significantly lower scores in this category.

Claims regarding honest nerve health, glucose regulation, energy levels, and nutrient absorption.

This assessment evaluates whether marketing remains within appropriate structure-function language and distinguishes between evidence for oral supplements and that for intravenous or disease-treatment claims. High scores are characterized by cautious language focused on nerve symptoms and refraining from making claims about glucose control. Lower scores tend to promote general benefits related to energy, heart, liver, brain, anti-aging, absorption, or disease prevention, often without supporting human evidence, or they present the supplement as a substitute for medical treatment.

Corporate and Regulatory Responsibility

This assesses whether the accountable U.S. company, its contacts, manufacturing responsibilities, and relevant regulatory history can be traced. High scores indicate identifiable companies, NSF-listed facilities, and no ongoing regulatory actions in the reviewed materials. Low scores suggest issues such as false certification claims, history of warning letters, unclear responsibilities, or contradictions—such as marketing an orally administered product as a research chemical.

Nutricost Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg, 240 Count
#1 - Best Overall

Nutricost Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg, 240 Count

Buyer Score 99/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Nutricost

Overview

The product features a relatively straightforward disclosed formula, comprising alpha-lipoic acid along with standard capsule and tablet excipients, housed in a vegetarian hypromellose capsule. The manufacturer claims that the product is gluten-free, soy-free, non-GMO, and has been tested by an independent accredited laboratory. However, these claims are not supported by a public certification specific to this particular bottle and lot. Nutricost Manufacturing operates an NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP-certified facility in Utah, which provides some assurance of quality at the manufacturing level. Nonetheless, this certification does not independently verify the contents of this specific product. No relevant FDA recalls or warning letters were found in publicly available sources. The brand does not provide detailed information about recycled content, recyclability, desiccants, or eco-friendly packaging, making it difficult to assess its environmental impact.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the product has undergone third-party testing; however, no publicly available lot-specific certificate of analysis could be found for this finished product.
  • The label does not specify the proportions of R- and S-alpha-lipoic acid nor offers analytical evidence of the dose and form throughout the product's shelf life.
  • The general advisory to consult a healthcare professional for medications or medical conditions does not specifically highlight issues related to diabetes medications, low blood sugar symptoms, surgery, or thyroid concerns.
  • Evidence supporting the use of oral alpha-lipoic acid is not sufficient to reliably improve blood sugar management, protect the kidneys, or substitute for standard neuropathy treatments.

What does not

  • All daily active amounts and every ingredient in the listed capsules are fully disclosed, with no proprietary blends used.
  • The product contains vegetarian hypromellose capsules and is labeled by the manufacturer as gluten-free, soy-free, and non-GMO.
  • A 240-capsule bottle offers 120 recommended daily servings when taken at the suggested two-capsule dosage.
  • Nutricost Manufacturing currently holds an NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP facility listing. This confirms the certification of the manufacturing facility itself, but does not certify this particular product.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults who have already consulted a healthcare professional about alpha-lipoic acid and prefer a straightforward, single-ingredient capsule instead of a combined nerve or glucose formula. The daily dose of 600 mg aligns with amounts used in studies on diabetic neuropathy, although its effectiveness is still uncertain and should be evaluated by a clinician within the scope of established treatment plans. Its 120-day supply is suitable for those seeking a longer-term supplement, and it offers vegetarian capsules free from gluten and soy.

Who is it not for

This is not a self-treatment option for individuals experiencing new numbness, burning foot pain, poorly managed diabetes, or suspected neuropathy, as these symptoms require professional medical evaluation and proven treatment. People using insulin or other glucose-lowering medications should consult a healthcare professional for personalized advice and regularly monitor their blood sugar levels. Pregnant or breastfeeding individuals, children, those preparing for surgery, and individuals with thyroid issues or taking multiple medications should choose a healthcare provider-reviewed plan rather than relying solely on the general warnings on the label.

Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Supplement
#2 - Popular

Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Supplement

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 70/100 NUTRAHARMONY

Overview

The manufacturer claims that the product is vegan, non-GMO, produced in the United States with ingredients sourced globally, and manufactured in a GMP-certified facility. They also state that each batch undergoes testing by an ISO 17025-certified laboratory for microbiological contamination and heavy metals. However, these are manufacturer assertions and do not constitute publicly available finished-product reports. There is no evidence of official product certification in the major independent supplement registries reviewed, and no lot-specific certificate of analysis has been publicly disclosed. The packaging is described as featuring a safety neckband and an undercap seal, with storage recommended in a cool, dry place below 85°F. No information on recycled content, recyclability, desiccants, bottle resin type, outer packaging, or specific environmental claims was provided. Searches for FDA recalls, health fraud alerts, or warning letters related to Nutra Harmony LLC or this product yielded no current issues. It is important to note that dietary supplements are not approved by the FDA for safety or efficacy prior to being sold.

What works

  • The public product page does not display a certificate of analysis for the specific batch, meaning customers cannot independently verify the labeled alpha-lipoic acid content, R/S composition, levels of heavy metals, microbial presence, or the expiry date's potency.
  • No certification for an exact finished product was identified in the major independent supplement certification registries examined.
  • The language regarding pregnancy and nursing indicates that the product is generally safe but also advises users to consult a healthcare professional. This reassurance extends beyond the specific safety evidence provided for the product.
  • The directions specify the use of blood sugar and thyroid medications but do not provide clear guidance on adjusting diabetes treatment, monitoring for hypoglycemia, or discontinuing medication prior to surgery.

What does not

  • Provides the 600 mg daily dose of alpha-lipoic acid used in oral diabetic-neuropathy studies, though the results of these trials have been inconclusive.
  • The manufacturer provides daily dosage information for all four active ingredients and lists the excipients used in the capsule.
  • A vegetable-cellulose capsule makes the vegan option accessible for consumers who avoid gelatin.
  • The manufacturer includes storage instructions, details about the tamper-evident seal, batch identification, and the recommended best-by date on the bottle.

Who is it for

This product is intended for adults seeking a two-month supply of a standard mixed-form alpha-lipoic acid supplement at 600 mg per day, along with small amounts of benfotiamine, thiamine, and cyanocobalamin. It is ideal for individuals who prefer vegan capsules and appreciate a transparent, fully labeled ingredient list. The primary use is as a clinician-reviewed supplement and should not replace medical treatment for diabetes or established therapies for nerve pain. Buyers should be comfortable with the manufacturer’s quality assurances rather than relying on publicly available lot testing.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for children, pregnant or nursing individuals without medical guidance, or anyone taking insulin, other glucose-lowering medications, or thyroid treatments unless their healthcare provider has reviewed it. Those preparing for surgery should consult with a healthcare professional for personalized advice, as the general instructions do not cover perioperative use. Additionally, it is not appropriate for individuals who require a product with independent certification, a public certificate of analysis linked to the specific batch, verified R-alpha-lipoic acid, or a supplement intended to treat diabetic neuropathy or regulate blood sugar levels.

Nutricost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid 100mg, 120 Veggie Capsules
#3 - Best Deal

Nutricost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid 100mg, 120 Veggie Capsules

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 73/100 Nutricost

Overview

The product features a brief disclosed formula, listing only 100 mg of R-alpha lipoic acid, rice flour, and a hypromellose cellulose capsule. According to Nutricost, it is gluten-free, non-GMO, vegetarian, manufactured in the United States with globally sourced ingredients, and tested by an independent accredited laboratory. However, these specific testing and sourcing claims were not supported by a publicly available finished-product report. Nutricost Manufacturing holds an NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP certification for its dietary supplement manufacturing processes. This certification indicates regulatory oversight of the manufacturing facility but does not equate to NSF certification of the final product itself. No public lot-specific certificate was found for this product. The packaging appears to be standard supplement containers; however, the available materials did not specify recycled content, recyclability, desiccants, seals, or other environmentally focused details. Additionally, there were no indications of any FDA recall or warning-letter concerns related to this product based on recent FDA searches.

What works

  • Taking 100 mg daily is significantly lower than the 600 mg or higher oral doses that are typically investigated for treating symptoms of diabetic peripheral neuropathy.
  • The warning is general in nature but does not explicitly mention potential effects on blood sugar levels, diabetes medications, surgical procedures, or thyroid-related issues.
  • The claim regarding the R-ALA identity and the 100 mg potency is based on labeling information and is not verified by a product-specific analytical report.
  • There is no publicly available lot-specific certificate of analysis for the finished product's potency, heavy metals, microbiology, residual solvents, or stability at the expiration date.
  • The final product is not publicly registered in the NSF dietary supplement product registry, so the facility's GMP listing should not be considered an endorsement or certification of the product.

What does not

  • A single capsule taken daily offers 120 clearly marked servings per bottle.
  • The label provides a brief description of the formulation, indicating that each capsule contains 100 mg of R-alpha lipoic acid, along with rice flour and a vegetarian capsule made from cellulose.
  • The specified formula is free of gluten and does not contain any ingredients derived from soy.
  • Nutricost Manufacturing is recognized by NSF for complying with the NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) standards for dietary supplements. However, this certification pertains to the manufacturing facility itself and not to the finished product.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adults seeking a low-dose, single-ingredient R-alpha lipoic acid supplement, rather than a standard 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid dosage. It may also appeal to those who prefer vegetarian capsules, a simplified ingredient list, and who view the R-ALA labeling and third-party testing statements as manufacturer claims rather than verifiable batch evidence. It is intended for general supplement use and should not be considered a substitute for medical evaluation or treatment of nerve issues, diabetes, or other diagnosed conditions.

Who is it not for

It is not ideally suited for individuals aiming to replicate the oral doses typically researched for diabetic peripheral neuropathy, as the labeled daily amount is 100 mg. Those using insulin or other glucose-lowering medications, individuals with unstable blood sugar levels, those preparing for surgery, and pregnant or nursing women should consult a healthcare professional for personalized guidance before using this product. Additionally, it may not meet the needs of buyers who require public verification of R-ALA authenticity, contaminant testing results, potency up to the expiration date, or a certification listing for finished products.

Alpha Lipoic Acid Nerve Support Supplement
#4

Alpha Lipoic Acid Nerve Support Supplement

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Clean Nutraceuticals

Overview

The health-related strength of this product lies in its straightforward multi-ingredient formulation, which includes alpha-lipoic acid, NAC, acetyl-L-carnitine, benfotiamine, B vitamins, and black pepper, as identified by the manufacturer. However, the supporting scientific evidence is limited and does not fully align with the marketing claims. For example, oral alpha-lipoic acid has mixed results regarding its effectiveness for diabetic peripheral neuropathy symptoms and has not been proven to help regulate blood sugar levels. Additionally, the manufacturer’s instructions for dosage are inconsistent, providing both two- and three-capsule recommendations, which is significant for ingredients sensitive to dosage. The manufacturer states that the products are produced in GMP-certified facilities, undergo testing, and use sustainably sourced ingredients. However, these claims are not backed by publicly verifiable documentation such as certification of finished products or lot-specific testing. There is no available information on recycled content, recyclability, packaging materials, desiccants, or efforts to reduce packaging waste. While no recalls or warning letters from the FDA are publicly reported for this product, there is also no publicly accessible lot-specific contaminant or stability testing data.

What works

  • There is a discrepancy in the daily usage information. The manufacturer recommends taking two capsules per day, whereas the product label indicates a serving size of three capsules and a total of 30 servings.
  • No publicly available finished-product certificate of analysis, independent certification registry entry, or laboratory report linked to a specific lot was found.
  • The product page makes claims about blood sugar regulation, absorption, cellular energy, and cognitive support that go beyond the limited and mixed evidence available from oral alpha-lipoic acid research on diabetic neuropathy.
  • The manufacturer’s page does not prominently include product-specific warnings regarding diabetes medications, potential hypoglycemia, surgery, pregnancy or breastfeeding, thyroid issues, or the overall vitamin B6 intake.
  • The 50 mg dosage of vitamin B6 indicated in the product listing is quite high for daily long-term consumption, and taking excessive amounts of supplemental B6 can potentially lead to neuropathy.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer's information, the formula specifies each active ingredient individually rather than concealing them within a proprietary blend.
  • It is indicated that a 600 mg dose of alpha-lipoic acid aligns with the amount used in studies involving adults with diabetic peripheral neuropathy, although the clinical outcomes have been inconsistent.
  • The manufacturer indicates that the product contains rice flour and bovine gelatin, confirming that this is not a vegetarian capsule.
  • The company offers a public product page, a contact form, directions, and an FDA structure-function disclaimer. No relevant FDA recall notices or warning letters were found in the publicly available sources reviewed.

Who is it for

This product is most suitable for adults who have discussed diabetic peripheral neuropathy symptoms with a healthcare professional and are seeking a multi-ingredient oral supplement containing a manufacturer-recommended 600 mg of alpha-lipoic acid per serving. It may also appeal to individuals who are comfortable with bovine gelatin and prefer having multiple disclosed nutrients combined in a single bottle rather than in separate capsules. Use of this product should be considered as additional support and not as a replacement for diabetes management, diagnostic assessments, foot care, or prescribed treatments for neuropathy. Always check the serving size indicated on the actual bottle before use.

Who is it not for

This product is not recommended for individuals using insulin or other glucose-lowering medications without medical supervision, as alpha-lipoic acid can influence blood sugar levels. Additionally, the product page does not prominently display specific precautions for different user groups. It is also not suitable for pregnant or nursing women unless approved by a healthcare professional, nor for children, individuals who avoid bovine gelatin, or those experiencing unexplained numbness, weakness, burning sensations, or rapidly fluctuating symptoms. Users already taking vitamin B6 or multiple supplements should monitor their total B6 intake, as excessive long-term consumption may lead to neuropathy.

DEAL SUPPLEMENT R Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg
#5

DEAL SUPPLEMENT R Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg

Buyer Score 86/100 Integrity Score 69/100 DEAL SUPPLEMENT

Overview

The label-facing presentation is fairly straightforward, listing two main active ingredients: rice flour, provided by an independent reseller, and a vegetarian capsule. The manufacturer states that the formula is non-GMO, free from several major allergens, and has been tested by a third-party laboratory. While these disclosures are helpful, no public records specify the laboratory, testing methods, lot number, specifications, or results. Additionally, there is no recognized independent certification or publicly available stability data for the finished product. The packaging appears to be a plastic bottle with a screw cap. However, the manufacturer does not disclose details about the bottle resin, recycled content, seal, desiccant, outer carton, or recycling instructions. No environmental claims beyond the product labeling have been verified. Separately, Deal Supplement is involved in a 2025 California Proposition 65 case related to alleged lead or PFOA exposures from three other products. This case does not mention this alpha-lipoic acid supplement or confirm its contamination.

What works

  • The assertion regarding the identity of R-alpha-lipoic acid and its 600 mg potency is not supported by an independent public assay of the final product.
  • There was no lot-specific certificate of analysis available for heavy metals, microbes, residual solvents, or potency up to the expiration date.
  • This specific product is not listed in the official verification registries of USP, NSF, BSCG, or ConsumerLab.
  • The brand is mentioned in an ongoing California Proposition 65 lawsuit related to allegations of lead or PFOA for three separate products. While this does not confirm contamination in these products, it may undermine consumer trust in the company's overall quality standards.
  • Marketing indicates that oral alpha-lipoic acid offers extensive benefits for energy, heart health, immunity, absorption, and the nervous system, although the supporting human evidence for these claims is mixed.

What does not

  • The manufacturer's recommended daily dose of 600 mg of alpha-lipoic acid falls within the oral dosage range examined for alleviating symptoms of diabetic peripheral neuropathy.
  • It features a straightforward two-active formula that combines alpha-lipoic acid with 300 mg of benfotiamine, with rice flour included as an ingredient, as reported by an independent reseller.
  • The product comes in a vegetarian capsule format containing 120 capsules, which the manufacturer states provides a 40-day supply.
  • The manufacturer states that the product contains no gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, soy, wheat, yeast, or tree nuts.

Who is it for

This product is primarily suitable for adults who have consulted a healthcare professional about alpha-lipoic acid and specifically desire a daily dose of 600 mg taken orally, along with benfotiamine, in vegetarian capsules. It may appeal to individuals seeking additional support for diabetic peripheral neuropathy symptoms—not for glucose regulation—who are comfortable taking three capsules per day. Please note that the claims regarding R-alpha-lipoic acid and the finished product testing are provided by the manufacturer and have not been independently verified by a third party.

Who is it not for

This product should not be used as a replacement for diabetes medications, blood glucose monitoring, or assessments of new numbness, burning pain, weakness, or foot ulcers. Individuals taking insulin or other blood sugar-lowering drugs should consult a healthcare professional, as blood sugar levels may be affected and could interfere with their treatment. Pregnant or breastfeeding women, children, individuals with thyroid issues, those preparing for surgery, and people with severe kidney disease or taking multiple medications should seek guidance from a healthcare provider or avoid self-administering. Additionally, it is not suitable for customers who need detailed contaminant testing at the batch level or independent certification.

Alpha Lipoic Acid Softgels 600mg by Micro Ingredients
#6

Alpha Lipoic Acid Softgels 600mg by Micro Ingredients

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 69/100 Micro Ingredients

Overview

The product is based on a straightforward active-ingredient concept, but its quality claims are not supported by publicly available finished-product documentation. Micro Ingredients states that it conducts third-party testing for heavy metals and microorganisms, sources ingredients internationally, and manufactures products in the United States. However, no verifiable test reports for specific batches have been publicly found, and there is no evidence of certification from recognized independent agencies for this product. Coconut oil is listed as an ingredient, and it is recognized as a tree nut allergen by at least one retailer. The bovine gelatin softgel is not suitable for vegetarians. Online retailer listings vary in the non-active ingredients of the softgel capsules, so consumers should refer to the physical product labels for accurate information. There are no claims regarding recycled content, recyclability, packaging materials, or waste reduction that have been substantiated. While no FDA recalls or warning letters related to this product have been identified during searches, this does not guarantee its quality.

What works

  • No publicly available, lot-specific certificate of analysis was identified for the finished product, including details on R-isomer identity, potency, heavy metals, microbial presence, or shelf-life data.
  • There were no listings found in USP, NSF, BSCG, or other comparable independent finished-product certification databases.
  • There is a discrepancy in the retailer ingredient records. One source indicates the presence of zinc oxide in the softgel, while another mentions added color and beeswax. This inconsistency undermines confidence that non-active ingredients are reliably disclosed online.
  • The warning is general and applies to pregnancy, nursing, and medications. It does not specifically mention blood sugar monitoring, diabetes medications, surgery, thyroid issues, or the rare cases of autoimmune hypoglycemia associated with alpha-lipoic acid.
  • Overall manufacturer claims regarding nerve, heart, liver, brain, and energy support go beyond the limited and mixed evidence from human studies available for this oral product.

What does not

  • The 600 mg daily dosage indicated on the label is independently confirmed by a retailer’s labeling record.
  • The formula emphasizes a single active ingredient rather than a multi-ingredient nerve or glucose combination.
  • The manufacturer recommends taking three softgels daily, preferably with food.
  • The company publicly specifies its location in California, along with its email address, phone number, and claim of manufacturing within the United States.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adults seeking a simple R-alpha-lipoic acid softgel supplement, providing a labeled daily dose of 600 mg, without any additional ingredients. It may be relevant for individuals discussing supplementary support for diabetic peripheral neuropathy with their healthcare provider, as there is some, though inconsistent, human evidence in this area. The package contains 120 softgels, sufficient for 40 days at the recommended daily use. It is not intended to treat diabetes or serve as a substitute for prescribed neuropathy treatments.

Who is it not for

This product is not recommended for individuals who use insulin or glucose-lowering medications without medical supervision, those experiencing unexplained hypoglycemia, or individuals with a history of insulin autoimmune syndrome. Pregnant or breastfeeding women, individuals preparing for surgery, and those managing thyroid conditions or taking multiple medications should seek personalized professional advice before use. It should be avoided by those allergic to coconut. Additionally, it is not suitable for vegetarians, vegans, or anyone avoiding bovine gelatin, as the manufacturer states that its softgel capsules contain bovine-derived gelatin.

Geronova R-Lipoic Acid 600 mg
#7

Geronova R-Lipoic Acid 600 mg

Buyer Score 83/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Geronova Research

Overview

GeroNova describes their product as Bio-Enhanced Sodium R-Lipoate, a stabilized salt form designed to improve the physical stability of isolated R-Lipoic Acid. Each capsule contains 600 mg of Sodium R-Lipoate, providing 520 mg of R-Lipoic Acid, with additional ingredients including vegetable cellulose and rice flour. The manufacturer emphasizes that the formula is free from several common food allergens and artificial additives. Safety remains a primary concern. On November 18, 2021, the FDA issued a warning letter citing disease-treatment claims associated with GeroNova's R-Lipoic Acid products. Therefore, the product's broad health claims should not be interpreted as evidence of therapeutic benefits. No publicly available lot certificates, independent quality certifications, or detailed contaminant testing results were found. Additionally, there is no information regarding the bottle material, recycled content, recyclability, or disposal guidelines, making it difficult to assess its environmental impact.

What works

  • There is no publicly available, lot-specific certificate of analysis for this finished product, including tests for R and S isomers, heavy metals, microbial contamination, or residual solvents.
  • No existing independent certification for the finished product or publicly available product-specific test results were identified in the primary verification programs reviewed.
  • The manufacturer's 600 mg product page states that there are no known adverse interactions, but this information may not be sufficiently cautious for individuals taking glucose-lowering medications or those with thyroid issues.
  • On November 18, 2021, the FDA sent a warning letter to GeroNova Research regarding their claims about disease treatment for their R-lipoic-acid products. The company's current general health claims require careful evaluation.
  • The packaging materials, recycled content, disposal instructions, and environmental claims are not explicitly specified.

What does not

  • The manufacturer lists a relatively simple formula, including sodium R-lipoate, a vegetable cellulose capsule, and non-GMO rice flour.
  • The manufacturer specifies that the 600 mg of sodium R-lipoate contains 520 mg of R-lipoic acid, rather than leaving the R-form undefined.
  • The manufacturer declares that the formula does not contain wheat, gluten, corn, yeast, soy, eggs, dairy, or any artificial colors, sweeteners, or flavors.
  • Oral alpha-lipoic acid has some evidence from human studies indicating modest symptom relief in diabetic peripheral neuropathy, although the findings across different reviews are varied.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adults seeking a single-active R-lipoic acid capsule, intended for use under medical supervision, especially when diabetic neuropathy symptoms are already being evaluated by a healthcare professional. Its ingredient formula may also be suitable for individuals avoiding dairy, gluten, soy, eggs, artificial colors, and artificial sweeteners. The available evidence supports the use of alpha-lipoic acid as a potential supplement for neuropathy symptoms, but not for general anti-aging, heart health, immune support, or blood pressure management. The final product has not been independently verified by external sources.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for self-treating conditions such as diabetes, numbness, burning foot pain, thyroid disorders, or unexplained neurological symptoms. Individuals using insulin or other blood sugar-lowering medications should consult a healthcare professional, as the supplement could affect blood glucose levels and may require medication adjustments. Pregnant or breastfeeding women, children, individuals preparing for surgery, and those taking thyroid medication should seek personalized medical advice prior to use. Additionally, it is not suitable for consumers who require a publicly available, lot-specific certificate of analysis, third-party certification, or documented testing for contaminants before taking a supplement.

NatureBell Alpha Lipoic Acid Complex 600mg
#8

NatureBell Alpha Lipoic Acid Complex 600mg

Buyer Score 80/100 Integrity Score 67/100 NatureBell

Overview

The label clearly displays the two ALA enantiomers and the added B1 ingredients. It also lists ingredients such as gelatin, rice flour, silicon dioxide, and magnesium stearate, rather than concealing them in a proprietary blend. The manufacturer describes the formula as non-GMO and free from several major food allergens, though these claims have not been independently verified or registered publicly. Additionally, the manufacturer provides addresses for their California offices, offering a way to contact them with product questions. The manufacturer states that the bottle is amber-colored, UV-protected, and double-sealed, which is appropriate for protecting light-sensitive ingredients. However, no publicly available stability studies on the finished product extending to the expiry date were found. There is no information on recycled content, resin type, recyclability instructions, or any quantified environmental claims. Most importantly, the product bears a California Proposition 65 warning for potential cancer and reproductive harm. Public testing data indicating the specific chemicals involved and levels of exposure could not be located.

What works

  • The product page includes a California Proposition 65 warning regarding chemicals linked to cancer and reproductive harm. However, it does not specify the particular chemical or provide exposure details for the lot.
  • There is no publicly available finished-product certificate of analysis to confirm the potency, R and S isomer composition, heavy metals, microbial content, or residual solvents for the bottle received by the buyer.
  • There is no USP, NSF, BSCG, or publicly available ConsumerLab verification for this specific product.
  • The product lacks specific safety information regarding diabetes medications, low blood sugar, surgery, pregnancy, breastfeeding, or thyroid issues.
  • The official webpage presents conflicting information regarding the bottle count and duration: it mentions 250 capsules for 125 days, whereas the product image shows 300 capsules and 100 servings.

What does not

  • The active ingredient and all listed excipients are disclosed, including the separate amounts of 300 mg R-ALA and 300 mg S-ALA.
  • A serving of three capsules provides 600 mg of ALA, the amount utilized in certain studies on diabetic neuropathy in humans.
  • The capsule is made of gelatin, which is significant for assessing its suitability for various diets and checking for potential allergens.
  • The manufacturer claims that the bottle is amber in color, offers UV protection, and features double sealing.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adults seeking a high-dose, gelatin-capsule supplement that clearly states the amounts of both R- and S-alpha-lipoic acid, along with a substantial dose of thiamine. It is particularly suitable for individuals discussing a 600 mg daily ALA trial with their healthcare provider to address neuropathy symptoms, while maintaining their ongoing diabetes management. The 100-serving size is convenient for those who already tolerate ALA well and prefer to avoid frequent reordering. Please note, the product is not vegan, as the capsules contain gelatin.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for individuals who require independently verified potency or publicly available lot-specific contaminant testing, as these details are not provided. People with diabetes who use insulin or other glucose-lowering medications should not start using it on their own for blood sugar management, as ALA has not been proven to control glucose levels and may interfere with blood sugar monitoring. Avoid using it without medical supervision during pregnancy or breastfeeding, prior to surgery, or when taking complex medication regimens. Additionally, it is not suitable for vegetarians, vegans, or anyone who avoids gelatin. Due to the California reproductive-harm warning, extra caution is advised for those trying to conceive or who are pregnant.

Micro Ingredients Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplement
#9

Micro Ingredients Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplement

Buyer Score 78/100 Integrity Score 70/100 Micro Ingredients

Overview

The most informative health disclosure is the externally printed label. It indicates that each three-softgel serving contains 600 mg of alpha-lipoic acid, along with MCT oil derived from coconut and a shell made of gelatin, glycerin, and purified water. Coconut is specifically listed as an allergen. Evidence suggests only a potential, inconsistent supplementary benefit for diabetic neuropathy symptoms when taken at oral doses including 600 mg daily. However, it should not be considered a replacement for diabetes treatment or relied upon for consistent glucose management. The manufacturer claims that their ingredients undergo third-party testing and that their operations are eco-certified. However, this review was unable to verify the certification through a specific certifier, recognized finished-product certification, current lot certificates, or quantified packaging claims. The pouch appears to be a flexible package made from mixed materials, with no confirmed recycled content or U.S. recyclability information. A search of FDA recall notices and warning letters did not reveal any product-specific actions, but publicly available quality documentation remains limited.

What works

  • The label does not specify whether the alpha-lipoic acid is the R-only form or the typical R and S mixture, and there are no assay results to verify its identity or potency.
  • The manufacturer's assertion regarding third-party testing is not supported by a publicly available certificate of analysis for a specific batch, including details such as the laboratory, testing methods, or contaminant thresholds.
  • Cautions regarding pregnancy, nursing, and medication are included in the retailer listing; however, clear, prominent guidance on blood sugar monitoring, diabetes medications, thyroid concerns, and surgical considerations has not been confirmed.
  • Marketing claims regarding benefits for energy, liver, heart, brain, aging, and improved absorption are significantly more extensive than the verified oral human research supporting these claims.

What does not

  • The explicitly specified daily dose of 600 mg aligns with the oral dosage employed in diabetic-neuropathy research, although the results have shown inconsistent benefits.
  • The 300-softgel pouch provides 100 labeled daily servings, minimizing the frequency of reordering.
  • The independently verified ingredient list specifies the active components as MCT oil, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and coconut allergen.
  • The product page includes the necessary disclaimer regarding dietary supplements and diseases, and recommends consulting a healthcare professional.

Who is it for

This format is suitable for an adult who has consulted with a healthcare professional about alpha-lipoic acid and prefers a straightforward, gelatin-based softgel providing the studied 600 mg daily dose. It may be convenient for individuals using it as an adjunct therapy for diabetic peripheral neuropathy symptoms, rather than as a treatment for diabetes itself, and who can comfortably take three small softgels each day. Additionally, the ingredient information is valuable for buyers who avoid soy, dairy, and gluten but do not avoid coconut or gelatin.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals with coconut allergies, vegans, or those avoiding gelatin. People using insulin or other medications to lower blood sugar should consult a healthcare professional and monitor their glucose levels carefully before starting, as alpha-lipoic acid may increase the risk of hypoglycemia. Pregnant or breastfeeding women, individuals preparing for surgery, and those with thyroid conditions or on multiple medications should seek personalized medical advice. Additionally, it should not be used as a replacement for prescribed diabetes treatment or for self-managing new symptoms such as numbness, pain, weakness, or other nerve-related issues.

Designs for Health Berberine Synergy Berberine HCL 400mg
#10

Designs for Health Berberine Synergy Berberine HCL 400mg

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 73/100 Designs for Health

Overview

Berberine may lead to side effects such as nausea, diarrhea, bloating, or constipation and could interact with medications. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health recommends avoiding berberine during pregnancy and breastfeeding, highlighting a potential risk related to bilirubin levels in infants. Alpha-lipoic acid can cause symptoms like headache, heartburn, nausea, and vomiting. When combined, these supplements may have significant effects, especially for individuals managing blood sugar levels, so healthcare provider consultation is essential, particularly if taking diabetes medications, preparing for surgery, undergoing thyroid treatment, dealing with kidney disease, or using complex medication regimens. The manufacturing and packaging facilities used by the company are currently certified under NSF-listed Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP). A public independent market test verified the berberine content in the tested product, but no publicly available lot-specific certificate was found to confirm absence of contaminants, microbiological issues, alpha-lipoic acid testing, or stability up to the expiration date. Additionally, there was no information on recycled content, recyclability, packaging materials, desiccants, or eco-friendly packaging claims, making it difficult to assess the environmental impact of the product.

What works

  • The public product documentation appears to be inconsistent. The current distributor records indicate each capsule contains 50 mg of alpha-lipoic acid, whereas an older manufacturer catalog lists the dosage as 100 mg.
  • The independent test only measured the berberine content and did not assess the identity, potency, contaminants, or shelf-life performance of alpha-lipoic acid.
  • There is no publicly available certificate of analysis for the finished product linked to this lot.
  • The amount of alpha-lipoic acid is significantly lower than the typical 600 mg daily dosage often studied for diabetic neuropathy, and alpha-lipoic acid has not demonstrated consistent benefits in blood sugar control.
  • The reviewed public product pages did not offer clear, prominently displayed, product-specific information regarding diabetes medications, pregnancy or nursing considerations, surgical factors, or potential interaction risks.

What does not

  • Independent market testing detected 417.1 mg of berberine in the product, which is consistent with the labeled claim of 400 mg.
  • The current formulation is quite targeted, containing only berberine and alpha-lipoic acid as the declared active ingredients.
  • The manufacturing and packaging facilities of Designs for Health are included in NSF's current Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) listing.
  • The current distributor information provides details about the capsule excipients and confirms that the product is gluten-free.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for adults who have consulted with a healthcare professional about using berberine and prefer a simple, two-ingredient formulation over a comprehensive blood sugar blend. It is intended to complement, not replace, established diet, exercise, and prescribed treatment plans. Taking it twice daily delivers a total of 800 mg of berberine, which is at the lower end of the clinically used dosage. The independently verified berberine content provides some confidence in the accuracy of the ingredient's labeled amount in the tested sample.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for pregnant women, nursing mothers, infants, or individuals using it without medical advice while taking diabetes medications or other drugs that may interact. People with diabetes should not replace glucose monitoring, prescribed treatments, or routine care with this product. Additionally, it is not ideal for those specifically looking for alpha-lipoic acid at the 600 mg daily dose commonly studied for neuropathy, since the current twice-daily instructions only provide a total of 100 mg per day. Customers requiring detailed contaminant and potency testing records at the lot level will need documentation that is not publicly accessible here.