When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Chargepoint Level 2 Charger

10 Best Chargepoint Level 2 Charger 2026

We compared the top Chargepoint Level 2 Charger products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular EVIQO Level 2 48 Amp EV Charger for Tesla

EVIQO Level 2 48 Amp EV Charger for Tesla

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Compatible with Tesla NACS for seamless charging.

  • High 48 Amp output for faster charging.

  • Long 25' cord offers flexible installation.

9.5 / 10 Rating
10% off Check Price
3
Best Deal ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Compatible with all EV models.

  • Fast charging with 240V power.

  • Easy installation with NEMA 14-50 outlet.

9.2 / 10 Rating
18% off Check Price
4
ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

  • Fast charging, perfect for busy schedules.

  • Compatible with Tesla, ensuring seamless charging.

  • Hardwired setup, offering reliable power delivery.

8.8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

  • Fast charging up to 40Amp for quick sessions.

  • Flexible 25-foot cable enhances reach and convenience.

  • Suitable for both indoor and outdoor use.

8.7 / 10 Rating
5% off Check Price
6
WOLFBOX 50 Amp Level 2 EV Charger

WOLFBOX 50 Amp Level 2 EV Charger

  • Convenient WiFi connectivity for easy remote control.

  • Durable 25ft cable suitable for outdoor use.

  • Smart display provides clear charging information.

8.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

  • High charging speed with up to 50Amp power.

  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth for easy connectivity.

  • Durable 25-foot flexible cable for convenience.

8.5 / 10 Rating
12% off + $70 Coupon Check Price
8
WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

  • Smart app and RFID card control.

  • Long 25-foot durable charging cable.

  • Compatible with NEMA 14-50 plug.

8.2 / 10 Rating
9% off Check Price
9
Autel MaxiCharger Home Smart EV Charger 50 Amp

Autel MaxiCharger Home Smart EV Charger 50 Amp

  • Easy-to-use Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity.

  • Durable 25-foot premium cable for flexibility.

  • Suitable for both indoor and outdoor use.

7.9 / 10 Rating
25% off Check Price
10
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger 48Amp J1772

IYILO Level 2 EV Charger 48Amp J1772

  • Dual temp sensors for enhanced safety.

  • Smart app for convenient scheduled charging.

  • Energy Star certified for efficiency.

7.6 / 10 Rating
11% off Check Price

You Might Also Like

Overview

A Level 2 charger provides faster alternating-current (AC) power to electric vehicles (EVs) or plug-in hybrids compared to a standard household outlet. It functions as an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), managing the connection, communicating with the vehicle, and offering safety protections while the vehicle’s onboard charger converts AC power into battery charge. The charger can be either hardwired into the electrical system or plugged into a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, and it may feature a J1772 or NACS/J3400 vehicle connector.

Safety and usability of a charger depend on more than just its listed amperage. First, verify the vehicle connector type and the maximum AC charging rate specified by the vehicle. A J1772 charger is compatible with vehicles equipped with J1772 inlets, while vehicles with NACS inlets require a suitable, vehicle-approved adapter. A NACS charger will not directly fit J1772 vehicles without an appropriate adapter. Additionally, the charger’s maximum output does not necessarily mean the vehicle can accept that level of power.

Top Chargepoint Level 2 Charger

Electrical installation constraints are critical. Since EV charging involves continuous load, the selected current must match the dedicated circuit, breaker, wiring, grounding, and local electrical codes. For example, a charger setting of 48A or 50A typically requires a substantially larger circuit than what the product’s title suggests. Some reviews show products with manuals limiting a NEMA 14-50 plug-in setup to 32A, 40A, or lower, reserving the maximum capacity for hardwired installations. Therefore, a 50A charger is not automatically suitable for a 50A breaker, and plug-in chargers should not be treated the same as hardwired units.

For safety assurance, look for the exact model and configuration in independent certification registries. Valid certifications include UL Product iQ for UL 2594 and UL 2231 standards, Intertek’s ETL Listed Directory, or CSA Group listings for CSA C22.2 No. 280. These should be from OSHA-recognized Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories (NRTLs). Relying solely on marketplace badges, family-level, or brand claims is less reliable than checking for specific, searchable safety listings for the actual product.

Outdoor use claims must be supported by precise data. IP ratings should be based on IEC 60529 testing standards, and NEMA enclosure claims should specify the relevant standards. Check detailed operating-temperature, ingress protection, impact resistance, cable, connector, and strain-relief specifications. The label “weatherproof” alone does not guarantee resistance to all conditions like rain, dust, freezing temperatures, vehicle impact, cable wear, or exposed outlets.

Energy efficiency and connected features warrant separate consideration. The ENERGY STAR database can provide independent measurements of no-vehicle and idle power consumption, as well as output and cable details. Do not assume all Level 2 chargers have the same standby power usage. For units with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or app connectivity, review privacy policies, access controls, firmware update support, known vulnerabilities, and whether basic charging functions remain available locally if internet or network connections fail. Finally, consider the warranty, availability of replacement cables or parts, repair options, and customer support, as these influence the product’s long-term usability and environmental impact.

Common safety concerns in reviews include the necessity of professional installation, proper continuous-load sizing, and clarity about plug-in versus hardwired configurations. Compatibility between J1772 and NACS connectors must be verified. Also, an exact model certification should not be inferred from branding alone; some products lack publicly available safety listings, weather-resistance testing, replacement parts, or defined firmware support periods. Connected chargers introduce additional privacy and security issues, including data collection and potential vulnerabilities, some with no model-specific remedy. One product was noted to have limitations handling cold-weather conditions, particularly in cable flexibility. No overarching contraindications were identified beyond these installation, configuration, weather, and support considerations based on the provided information.

FAQ

Q: How long does it typically take to charge an electric vehicle with a ChargePoint Level 2 charger?

A: A ChargePoint Level 2 charger generally delivers up to 25 miles of range per hour of charging. Consequently, most electric vehicles can be fully charged overnight, making it a convenient option for daily use.

Q: Is it possible to install a ChargePoint Level 2 charger in my home by myself?

A: While self-installation is possible, it is highly recommended to hire a licensed electrician. This ensures the installation complies with local electrical regulations and is performed safely.

Q: Is a ChargePoint Level 2 charger compatible with all electric vehicles?

A: Yes, the ChargePoint Level 2 charger is compatible with all electric vehicles that utilize the standard J1772 connector. This includes most EVs in North America, with Tesla models using an adapter.

Q: What advantages does a ChargePoint Level 2 charger have over a Level 1 charger?

A: Compared to a Level 1 charger, which provides only about 4-5 miles of range per hour, the ChargePoint Level 2 charger offers significantly faster charging. This makes it more suitable for efficient and quicker charging at home or workplace.

Q: How can I monitor my charging sessions using a ChargePoint Level 2 charger?

A: You can monitor your charging activity through the ChargePoint app, which provides detailed information such as charging duration, cost, and energy consumed, allowing for efficient management of your EV charging.

Integrity

These topics highlight the information gathered from the provided reviews regarding individuals, property, electricity consumption, product durability, and the dependability of claims. Higher ratings signify more robust model-specific evidence in this collection; however, they do not substitute for electrical codes, vehicle manuals, or professional installation.

HHealth & Safety

Electrical Shock and Fire Safety

This assessment independently examines the protection features against ground faults, overheating, abnormal current, electric shock, and energized connectors. This is important because a Level 2 charger stays connected to household mains for extended periods. Generally, higher scores are associated with verified safety certifications such as UL or ETL listings and documented fault protection. Conversely, lower scores typically indicate the absence of a traceable safety certification for the specific configuration.

Secure connection for the electrical circuit

This evaluates whether aspects such as amperage, breaker guidance, wiring type (plug-in or hardwired), and adjustable settings result in a clear, code-compliant installation. This is important because EV charging represents a continuous load. Products with higher scores distinctly differentiate between plug-in and hardwired options and clearly relate current ratings to circuit requirements. In contrast, lower-scoring products often had inconsistent headline ratings, incomplete manuals, or unclear specifications for the maximum capacity advertised.

Durability of weather resistance, cables, and connectors

This assesses the device's ability to resist water, dust, temperature variations, impacts, cable damage, strain, and connector wear. These factors are important when a charger is installed outdoors or its cable runs across a parking area. Higher scores indicate more detailed enclosure and cable information or supporting evidence, while lower scores suggest reliance solely on manufacturer IP or NEMA claims, missing test reports, or documented limitations in cold-weather operation.

Vehicle and Connector Compatibility

This assesses whether the connector type, pilot signaling, current limits, adapters, and vehicle compatibility are accurately represented. It is important because a J1772 and a NACS/J3400 charger cannot be used interchangeably without a proper adapter. Higher scores were awarded for consistent specifications regarding connectors and vehicle limits, while lower scores indicated conflicting details or vague compatibility statements that necessitated an adapter or vehicle-specific confirmation.

Responsibility for Recall and Safety Incidents

This metric evaluates unresolved recalls, regulatory warnings, patterns of serious incidents, and the effectiveness of corrective actions for both the brand and the specific product. It is important because chargers are high-power household appliances. The scores tend to be grouped closely together; higher scores indicate searches that lack identified product-specific actions and demonstrate clearer accountability, while lower scores suggest less comprehensive evidence or limited information regarding the brand and associated vulnerabilities.

Application Security and Payment Data Privacy

This assessment evaluates access controls, firmware support, privacy transparency, local functionality, and disclosed security vulnerabilities for connected chargers. It is important because chargers can potentially expose sensitive information such as household networks, location, user accounts, and charging data. Products with higher scores typically offer offline operation or provide clearer support details, while those with lower scores tend to involve extensive data collection, ambiguous security timelines, data storage within mainland China, or unresolved security vulnerabilities.

EEcology

Energy Loss During Charging and Idle Periods

This metric evaluates the electricity consumption of a charger when it is idle, powered without a vehicle, or charging. This is important because a home charger can stay energized daily. Products with higher scores have precise ENERGY STAR data showing their no-vehicle or idle power usage, with measurements as low as approximately 0.8W to 3.7W in the tested set. Lower-scoring products either lack specific model measurements or official certification.

Extended lifespan and reduced electronic waste

This assessment covers warranty, durability, repairability, availability of replacement parts, service, firmware support, and take-back programs. This is important because replacing cables or unsupported smart devices leads to unnecessary waste. Devices with higher scores typically offer comprehensive warranties along with clearly documented options for repairs or replacements. In contrast, lower-scoring products often lack a parts catalog, repair pricing details, information on support end dates, or only provide a generic warranty statement.

EEvidence

Honest claims about power, speed, and features

This assessment evaluates whether claims about amperage, kilowatts, speed, weather resistance, smart features, compatibility, and certification accurately match the actual product and clearly states their limitations. It is important because product titles often showcase maximum outputs without specifying necessary circuit or hardwire conditions. Higher scores indicate consistent manuals, proper documentation, and accurate configuration details, while lower scores point to issues such as conflicts between plug-in and hardwired options, incorrect connector information, or inconsistent power ratings.

Independently verified accurate model

This evaluates whether the specific product and its configuration are listed in a reputable third-party registry, rather than just having a brand label. This is important because a family certification might not include every retail version. Higher scores are awarded when there are precise records from UL, ETL, CSA, or ENERGY STAR; lower scores are given when claims are unverified, based only on family certification, or when an independent record does not match the product’s marketed configuration.

Dependable performance and enduring assistance

This evaluates warranty coverage, fault diagnosis, firmware updates, support responsiveness, and proof that the charger will maintain its specified function. It is important because a malfunctioning or unsupported smart charger can leave a vehicle stranded. Higher scores indicate comprehensive manuals, clear warranty and support policies, and repair-or-replace guarantees; lower scores suggest vague repair timelines, limited service details, or missing replacement components.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger 48 Amp
#1 - Best Overall

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger 48 Amp

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 82/100 ‎EVIQO

Overview

Electrical safety credentials are more robust than the marketing claims suggest. Intertek's certification covers the EVIPOWER 48 A hardwired models, verified to UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 standards. The manufacturer also indicates that the charger includes built-in ground-fault protection and requires a dedicated 60 A circuit for a 48 A output. Proper professional installation is crucial due to the high and continuous electrical load involved. Regarding energy performance, independent evidence supports the 48 A J1772 configuration. According to EPA ENERGY STAR, the charger delivers a maximum output of 11.52 kW, consumes 2.43 W in no-vehicle mode, and uses 4.99 W when idle. This helps reduce unnecessary electricity consumption when parked, although losses increase with higher loads. The manufacturer provides a three-year warranty, but there is no publicly available catalog of replacement parts, take-back program, or product-specific security support lifetime. Additionally, no recalls or safety actions from U.S. CPSC or NHTSA were found during the search.

What works

  • The EVIPOWER-2 designation in the catalog does not precisely correspond to the official ENERGY STAR product name. Therefore, the efficiency data serves as strong evidence at the configuration level rather than a direct match to the product's identifier.
  • The IP66 and NEMA 4 outdoor ratings are claims made by the manufacturer. The Intertek certification reviewed verifies that the EVSE meets safety standards; however, it does not specify the scope of ingress protection testing.
  • The application gathers charging and account information in accordance with its publicly available privacy policy. However, there is no indication of a product-specific security update policy, a support end date, or a publicly disclosed vulnerability reporting process.
  • Independent hands-on testing revealed that the app is less effective for detailed time-of-use scheduling and session tracking, particularly for schedules that extend past midnight.
  • No catalog of replacement parts or official repair procedures was identified. The warranty focuses on replacement, which may restrict repair options once the coverage period has expired.

What does not

  • Intertek certification includes 48 hardwired EVIPOWER variants of class A, compliant with UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 standards.
  • The installation instructions specify that the 48 A output should be connected to a dedicated 60 A circuit. They also provide guidelines for wiring, grounding, torque specifications, and current settings.
  • EPA ENERGY STAR independently lists a compatible 48A J1772 configuration, rated at 11.52 kW, featuring a 25-foot cord.
  • The ENERGY STAR testing reports indicate a no-vehicle input power of 2.43 W and an idle input power of 4.99 W for the compatible 48 A J1772 configuration.
  • The manufacturer offers a limited parts replacement warranty valid for three years.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of J1772 vehicles or plug-in hybrids who have, or plan to have, a professionally installed dedicated 60 A, 240 V circuit and desire home charging up to 48 A. It is especially suitable for situations where a long cable is needed at the parking spot, as it features a matching configuration with a 25-foot cord. Additionally, it caters to drivers who prefer automatic plug-in charging and basic app scheduling, without requiring advanced charging session tracking or complex overnight time-of-use plans.

Who is it not for

This is not intended for renters or households lacking the authority or budget for a permanent electrical installation. A continuous load of 48 A requires a properly sized dedicated circuit, appropriate wiring, and approval from local codes. Therefore, connecting it to an existing 50 A outlet or using undersized wiring is not suitable. Additionally, it is not ideally suited for NACS-only vehicles unless the vehicle manufacturer approves the specific adapter configuration. Households that need documented long-term cybersecurity support, repair parts, or advanced utility-rate automation should be aware that these support services have not been verified.

EVIQO Level 2 48 Amp EV Charger for Tesla
#2 - Popular

EVIQO Level 2 48 Amp EV Charger for Tesla

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 77/100 ‎EVIQO

Overview

Here is a rewritten version of the content in English, maintaining the key points: Regarding electrical safety, the most authoritative external evidence is an Intertek certification for the EVIQO EVIPOWER 48 A models, confirming compliance with UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 standards. The product's installation instructions specify that a licensed electrician should perform the installation and that a dedicated 60 A circuit be used for 48 A charging. These precautions are vital because EV charging involves a continuous high-current load. As of August 16, 2026, searches of U.S. CPSC and NHTSA recall resources did not reveal any product-specific recalls or safety warnings. In terms of energy consumption, EPA ENERGY STAR reports this particular model uses 2.43 W in no-vehicle mode and 4.99 W in idle mode. This data represents independently verified efficiency figures, not general assumptions for Level 2 chargers. The manufacturer offers a three-year warranty and states that over-the-air updates are provided. However, they do not publish a parts replacement catalog, repair procedures, or an official end date for software support. Additionally, their privacy policy permits extensive collection of app and charging data, including for advertising purposes.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the unit has an output of 48 A with a maximum of 50 A, whereas the official ENERGY STAR record lists the maximum rated output as 48 A.
  • The IP66 and NEMA 4 outdoor ratings are provided by the manufacturer, but there are no publicly available model-specific ingress test reports.
  • The app's privacy policy allows for the collection of contact information, device details, location data, charging status, and usage data, including data gathered when the app is not open, for purposes related to services and advertising.
  • No publicly available replacement parts catalog, repair program, or specified support period for the software was found.
  • According to the manufacturer, smart features require an internet connection via 2.4 GHz.

What does not

  • The specific setup is specified by EPA ENERGY STAR as 48 A, 11.52 kW, and 240 V.
  • EPA ENERGY STAR testing indicates a power consumption of 2.43 W in no-vehicle mode, effectively minimizing idle electricity usage.
  • An Intertek certificate certifies that the EVIQO EVIPOWER 48 A variants comply with UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 standards.
  • The 25-foot charging cable is separately listed in the ENERGY STAR documentation.
  • The manufacturer provides explicit instructions for a dedicated 60 A circuit and licensed electrician guidance for operation at 48 A.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for Tesla owners or those with other vehicles featuring a NACS inlet, provided a licensed electrician can install a dedicated 60 A, 240 V circuit. It is also suitable for households where a fixed 25-foot cable is needed to reach an EV parked in various locations. The independently rated 48 A output is beneficial for vehicles compatible with that Level 2 charging current, and the adjustable current setting offered by the manufacturer allows installers to tailor the charging rate to the circuit's capacity.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for renters, individuals who move frequently, or those seeking a straightforward plug-in installation, as it is designed for permanent hardwiring. It is also not recommended for homes lacking the capacity for a dedicated 60 A circuit, or without access to a licensed electrician and the necessary local permits. Customers seeking a publicly documented ingress test report, repair parts, long-term firmware support, or features that minimize data collection should verify these records before using the product outdoors or on a household network.

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger
#3 - Best Deal

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 86/100 ChargePoint

Overview

The strongest safety validation comes from the UL Solutions certification for the CPH50 model series, backed by a comprehensive manufacturer fault-code guide that addresses issues such as ground faults, ground-monitoring faults, relay conditions, over-current situations, pilot errors, and self-test failures. The installation instructions emphasize that EV charging is a continuous load, require a dedicated circuit, and follow a 125 percent circuit sizing guideline. For outdoor installations, hardwiring or weather-resistant outlets are necessary, and ChargePoint states that the enclosure has a NEMA 3R rating. Energy Star independently certifies that the NEMA 14-50 configuration used by this charger meets strict standards. Its power consumption is recorded at 0.8W when no vehicle is connected, helping to minimize idle electricity use, although losses during charging increase with higher output currents. The charger features a replaceable cable and comes with a three-year parts warranty, which can help reduce unnecessary disposal of the entire unit. During this review, no recalls from CPSC or NHTSA were found for this product. However, using the charger in connected mode involves some data privacy considerations, as ChargePoint’s policy collects home charging details, scheduling information, addresses, and Wi-Fi network data.

What works

  • The provided NEMA 14-50 plug-in setup supports up to 32A on a 40A circuit or 40A on a 50A circuit. To achieve the advertised 50A maximum, hardwiring and appropriate electrical infrastructure are required.
  • The NEMA 3R outdoor suitability is specified by the manufacturer. However, publicly available evidence does not include an independent ingress test report for this specific plug-in configuration.
  • The privacy policy states that using the home station may involve collecting contact details, address information, charging and scheduling data, as well as the name of the connected Wi-Fi network.
  • ChargePoint offers troubleshooting guidance and support; however, there is no publicly available information regarding a defined firmware support lifespan or specific security update commitments for individual models.
  • This review does not identify any recalls from CPSC or NHTSA. However, online owner reports mention occasional loud failures and damaged units. These reports do not determine the cause or how often such issues occur.

What does not

  • UL Solutions has listed the CPH50 charger family and includes manufacturer documentation on various electrical fault responses, such as ground-fault and over-current conditions.
  • The installation guide provides specific and detailed instructions for continuous load requirements. It specifies the need for a dedicated 240V circuit rated at 125% of the chosen charging load and correlates each setting to the appropriate circuit size.
  • EPA Energy Star independently specifies the precise NEMA 14-50 configuration and reports power consumption figures of 0.8W in no-vehicle mode, 1.36W when partially on, and 3.53W while idle.
  • The charging cable can be replaced via ChargePoint, allowing you to avoid replacing the entire station in case of cable damage.
  • Charging can still be performed without Wi-Fi once a licensed electrician configures the current via Bluetooth.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners with a J1772-compatible electric vehicle, a dedicated 240V circuit, and access to a licensed electrician who can ensure the current matches the breaker, wiring, receptacle, and panel capacity. It is especially suitable when a 40A or 50A NEMA 14-50 circuit is already in place and charging at 32A or 40A meets your needs. Additionally, it appeals to buyers who prioritize efficient energy use without a vehicle, want detailed scheduling and charging history, need a long cable reach, and prefer the option to replace a worn cable instead of disposing of the entire unit.

Who is it not for

This setup is not suitable for households expecting to charge at 50A simply by plugging into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet. The provided plug-in configuration is limited to 40A charging on a 50A circuit. For 48A and 50A charging, hardwiring into a properly designed, larger circuit is required. Additionally, it may not be ideal for those who cannot hire a licensed electrician, have marginal or shared circuits, or are privacy-conscious users who prefer not to have a connected charger collecting home charging data, scheduling information, location, or Wi-Fi network details.

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger
#4

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 77/100 ChargePoint

Overview

The primary safety case for the electrical system is significant but not entirely independently verifiable at this specific configuration level. ChargePoint details include CCID ground-fault protection, continuous ground monitoring, connector power termination, Type 3R enclosure protection, and adherence to essential UL standards for personnel safety. Its installation manual highlights proper grounding, the use of 90°C copper conductors, cable routing, damage checks, and the necessity of licensed installation. No relevant recall actions were identified from CPSC or NHTSA searches. The product features a replaceable charging cable, a three-year parts exchange warranty, and manufacturer instructions advising users not to dispose of the station with unsorted household waste. ENERGY STAR reports that the CPH50 series exhibits low power consumption in no-vehicle mode, although it does not specifically specify this NACS hardwired configuration. User ownership considerations include a 2026 disclosure affecting the earlier Home Flex firmware, making firmware version and update status important. Additionally, ChargePoint’s privacy policy indicates that data such as home charging details, scheduling, Wi-Fi network name, app usage, and location information may be collected.

What works

  • ChargePoint has provided documentation confirming the UL and cUL certification status. However, a registry record from the issuing organization for this specific NACS hardwired configuration could not be found.
  • A vulnerability disclosed in 2026 affects Home Flex firmware versions prior to 5.5.4.22, which are susceptible to unauthenticated code execution from nearby networks. Users should verify their current firmware version.
  • The ENERGY STAR certification includes independent measurements for the CPH50 family but does not specifically specify this NACS hardwired configuration.
  • The manual specifies a minimum operating temperature of -40°F, whereas the current datasheet states -22°F, resulting in an inconsistency in documentation for installations in extremely cold conditions.
  • Only the cable is designed for field replacement. All other internal faults necessitate sending the product back for service rather than attempting repairs at home.

What does not

  • The hardwired configuration can be adjusted from 16A to 50A, with clear instructions for the dedicated breaker provided by ChargePoint.
  • The manufacturer’s documentation details a 20 mA CCID ground-fault protection, open-ground monitoring, and power termination features that activate when the connector is disconnected.
  • The Tesla-compatible home AC charging setup includes a NACS connector, a 23-foot cable, and a maximum output of 12 kW.
  • A three-year parts exchange warranty is provided, and the charging cable is a separately replaceable component.
  • ChargePoint documents the protection features of Type 3R enclosures and their suitability for hardwired outdoor installations.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for Tesla owners with a dedicated 208/240 V circuit, a fixed parking spot, and access to a licensed electrician. Its adjustable settings ranging from 16A to 50A provide flexibility in situations where panel capacity or vehicle onboard charging limitations do not support a full 50A setting. The hardwired design is especially suitable for outdoor installations, as long as the installation complies with local codes, grounding requirements, wiring instructions, and breaker sizing guidelines. It is also suitable for households that want scheduled charging and session tracking, and are willing to keep the firmware updated.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for renters, individuals who move frequently, or anyone who requires a portable plug-in charger that can be relocated without electrical work. It is also not appropriate for shared circuits, ungrounded setups, damaged cables, hazardous environments with flammable vapors, or households unwilling to hire a licensed electrician. Customers who prefer equipment without cloud connectivity should be aware that the app, Wi-Fi connection, data collection, and firmware updates are integral parts of ownership. Additionally, clarification is needed for very cold environments, as ChargePoint’s manual and datasheet specify different minimum operating temperatures.

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger
#5

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 77/100 Autel

Overview

Electrical safety data is valuable but not comprehensive. Autel's detailed technical specifications specify 20 mA ground-fault detection, protections against abnormal voltages and overcurrent, compliance with UL 2231 personnel-protection standards, UL 2594 EVSE safety requirements, CSA C22.2, and a NEMA 4 enclosure certification. However, this review was unable to independently verify an issuer directory certificate for this specific in-body holster version. Additionally, a CPSC recall search showed no relevant recalls for this product at the time of evaluation. The manufacturer offers a three-year warranty and over-the-air (OTA) updates. However, no publicly available repair parts catalog or clear support commitment was identified. ENERGY STAR independently reports a no-vehicle mode power consumption of 3.33 W and an idle power of 3.56 W for the related separate holster 40 A model; these figures should not be considered exact measurements of the product. The Autel Charge app states that data is encrypted during transmission and that users can request data deletion. NIST has identified a critical flaw in a different firmware version of the MaxiCharger Single line, not this product, emphasizing the importance of applying updates promptly.

What works

  • During this review, the claimed UL and CSA compliance could not be independently verified against an accessible issuer listing for this specific in-body holster configuration.
  • A continuous 40A charging load necessitates a properly rated dedicated circuit, including the receptacle, breaker, wiring, and, if necessary, professional evaluation. Simply plugging into an existing receptacle does not make it suitable for this load.
  • The manufacturer states that the product offers NEMA 4 weather resistance and a broad operating temperature range; however, these claims are not verified here with an accessible certification report for a specific model.
  • This review does not specify an official support end date or a public security update policy for the connected charger. Additionally, a critical vulnerability identified in 2026 pertains to a different Autel MaxiCharger Single model and not this particular product. However, the importance of receiving timely firmware updates remains essential.

What does not

  • Autel clearly specifies this configuration to include the J1772 connector, a maximum output of 40 A, and a 25-foot cable.
  • Autel's documentation specifies an adjustable charging current range from 6 A to 40 A, allowing a qualified installer to customize the charging output to suit the designated circuit.
  • The manufacturer provides documentation on ground-fault detection as well as protections against overcurrent, overvoltage, undervoltage, and voltage surges.
  • A manufacturer’s warranty of 36 months is provided, along with the ability to receive over-the-air software updates.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners with an electric vehicle (EV) or plug-in hybrid that uses a J1772 connector, off-street parking, and a professionally inspected 240 V NEMA 14-50 circuit rated for a continuous 40 A load. Its 25-foot cable is useful when the vehicle’s charging port is located far from the power outlet. The associated app can assist with scheduling charging times to take advantage of utility time-of-use rates. It is suitable for buyers who prefer a plug-in installation over a permanently hardwired unit, while also recognizing that the safety of the circuit remains the primary concern.

Who is it not for

This device is not suitable for households using an old, unfamiliar, shared, or lightly rated NEMA 14-50 receptacle, nor for those planning to install a 40 A continuous-load charger without verifying breaker size, wiring, receptacle, grounding, and permit requirements. It is also not compatible with vehicles that require a native NACS connector unless the vehicle manufacturer approves the necessary adapter. Privacy-conscious households should refrain from connecting it to Wi-Fi until they are comfortable with the app’s data handling policies and firmware update procedures.

WOLFBOX 50 Amp Level 2 EV Charger
#6

WOLFBOX 50 Amp Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 79/100 ‎WOLFBOX

Overview

The most robust independently verified environmental aspect is the product’s ENERGY STAR certification. Its performance data indicates a power consumption of 3.7 W when not connected to a vehicle, 4.68 W during partial charging, and 8.52 W in idle mode. Additionally, it independently confirms the advertised specifications of 240 V, 50 A, and 12 kW, along with a 25-foot cord. These figures are useful for estimating household electricity usage when the charger is not actively charging a vehicle. Regarding electrical safety, the manufacturer’s documentation recommends installation by a licensed professional, using a dedicated circuit, and conducting routine inspections of the cable and connector for signs of wear. The product also claims to have protections against ground-faults, leakage currents, overcurrent, thermal issues, voltage fluctuations, and lightning. While it mentions CSA certification, this review did not find a publicly accessible listing from CSA, UL, or Intertek to independently verify the safety certifications. No recalls or safety warnings specific to this product were identified from U.S. CPSC sources. WOLFBOX offers a 36-month warranty on the EV charger, but details about parts availability and long-term firmware updates are not publicly provided.

What works

  • The asserted CSA electrical safety certification and UL 2594 compliance could not be independently verified against an exact public NRTL product listing.
  • The outdoor ratings and the specified electrical protection features are based on manufacturer documentation, not on publicly available test reports for this specific configuration.
  • The documentation switches between NEMA 4 and NEMA 4X descriptions, resulting in the more specific enclosure classification not being consistently supported.
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, account sharing, and charging-data features are documented; however, there is no public commitment to a specific firmware support period or ongoing security updates for the product.
  • There was no available replacement parts catalog or repair manual for the cable, connector, display, or electronic components.

What does not

  • The specific product is independently certified by ENERGY STAR for both the United States and Canada, with its specifications of 50 A, 12 kW, and a 25-foot cable documented in the certification.
  • The ENERGY STAR record indicates a measured no-vehicle power consumption of 3.7 W, offering verified idle-energy data instead of an unsubstantiated efficiency claim.
  • Hardwiring, adjustable current settings, and a specified requirement for a dedicated circuit of 70 A or more provide clear installation guidelines for a qualified electrician.
  • The manufacturer offers a 36-month warranty on the EV charger, along with dedicated EV-specific support via phone and email, with documented assistance.
  • The compatibility with J1772 is explicitly mentioned, and the manual clearly states that Tesla vehicles require an appropriate adapter.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of J1772-compatible electric vehicles or plug-in hybrids who have access to a qualified electrician for a hardwired 240 V installation and sufficient panel capacity for a dedicated circuit of at least 70 A, as specified by the manufacturer. It is especially useful when a 25-foot cable is needed to reach the vehicle parking spot. Customers who prefer independently verified standby power consumption can refer to ENERGY STAR data. Additionally, RFID access and app-based scheduling features are beneficial for shared driveways or households where control over charging access is desired.

Who is it not for

This version is not suitable for renters, temporary setups, or households looking for a plug-in charger, as it is designed to be hardwired. It is also inappropriate for installations that lack verified panel capacity, properly sized conductors, necessary permits, or professional electrical installation. Tesla drivers should not consider it a native Tesla connector, as the manufacturer recommends using a compatible adapter. Customers needing publicly accessible UL, ETL, or CSA certification documentation for the specific electrical safety configuration should verify this information before trusting the claimed CSA marking.

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger
#7

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 77/100 Autel

Overview

The most reliable independently verified environmental detail is the specific model's EPA ENERGY STAR certification. The EPA reports energy consumption of 3.5 W in no-vehicle mode, 3.56 W in partial-on mode, and 5.77 W when idle, rather than relying on a general claim that all Level 2 charging stations have similar efficiency. Additionally, the EPA independently confirms the device's 50 A, 12 kW rating and its 25-foot cable. Autel's documentation indicates NEMA 4X certification for outdoor protection, 20 mA ground-fault detection with automatic retry, and safeguards against overcurrent, voltage faults, and surges. However, there was no publicly available safety listing record from UL, ETL, or CSA specific to this exact model. Searches did not reveal any CPSC or NHTSA recalls related to this product. Caution is advised when connected, as a 2026 disclosure impacts certain firmware versions of MaxiCharger Single, but the exact applicability and a fix for this product have not been confirmed. The product comes with a three-year manufacturer warranty, though publicly available support for repair parts could not be found.

What works

  • During verification, no public record from UL, ETL, or CSA confirming the specified personnel protection standards was found.
  • The 50 A output represents a continuous electrical load. It necessitates a properly rated dedicated circuit and professional installation, not just any available 240 V circuit.
  • The connected product family has a known remote code execution vulnerability disclosed in 2026 that affects specific versions of MaxiCharger Single firmware. The exact scope of affected units and the current status of remediation have not been determined.
  • Autel's app privacy policy allows the collection of identifiers, contact details, location information, and product usage data for the purposes of app functionality and marketing.
  • No publicly available replacement parts catalog or repair procedures were found for the cable, connector, or internal electronics.

What does not

  • The 50 A, 12 kW setup with a 25-foot cable and ENERGY STAR certification is officially recognized and listed by the EPA.
  • The measured no-vehicle power is 3.5 W, based on charging loss and idle power test results published by the EPA.
  • The J1772 connector and 240 V Level 2 charging standard are clearly defined for AC charging in North America.
  • Autel claims that the hardwired installation offers various current settings and breaker options, enabling an electrician to customize it for use with a dedicated circuit.
  • Autel offers a three-year warranty on this product.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners or small-site operators who have a compatible J1772 vehicle, a consistently available parking space, and a properly designed 240 V dedicated circuit. It is especially useful in situations where a longer 25-foot cable minimizes the need to park directly adjacent to the wall unit. Additionally, it is suitable for users who prioritize low standby power consumption and desire optional app-based scheduling or monitoring, while still maintaining a standard physical J1772 charging connection. Installation should be carried out by a qualified electrician, who can configure the output current to match the circuit’s capacity.

Who is it not for

This version is not suitable for renters or drivers who require a portable plug-in charger, as it is hardwired. It is also not recommended for households lacking the electrical panel capacity for a dedicated continuous load, or for those installing it without proper permits and qualified electrical work. Tesla and other NACS-compatible vehicles require a vehicle-approved adapter unless they are equipped with a J1772 inlet. Additionally, households concerned about privacy and network security should review the app's data practices and verify the firmware version before connecting it to their home Wi-Fi network.

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50
#8

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

Buyer Score 82/100 Integrity Score 73/100 WOLFBOX

Overview

Electrical installation is a primary safety concern. WOLFBOX recommends that installation be carried out by a licensed electrician, ensuring proper grounding, the use of 90-degree copper conductors, a dedicated 240 V circuit, and immediate disconnection in case of ground faults, leakage current, overcurrent, or relay faults. While these instructions and fault guides are helpful, they are manufacturer documentation rather than official product certification records. The product's claimed CSA and UL 2594 certifications could not be independently verified. The product comes with a three-year manufacturer warranty, which can help reduce premature replacements. Its manual also states that RFID charging can be used without a network, maintaining basic functionality if Wi-Fi or app services fail. WOLFBOX has a privacy policy, offers users rights to delete their data, and collects information such as app device details, IP address, and account data. The ENERGY STAR efficiency data measured for the WOLFBOX E50 model cannot be confidently applied to this differently named WE50 product.

What works

  • The CSA certification and UL 2594 compliance claims could not be independently verified as applicable to this specific product configuration based on the certification records reviewed.
  • The official WOLFBOX documentation contains conflicting information regarding electrical installation. The model's manual specifies a circuit of 70 A or higher for a 50 A output, whereas the product page inaccurately suggests a 40 A installation.
  • The IP66 and NEMA weather resistance ratings are provided by the manufacturer, and there are no third-party test records available for specific models.
  • There is no publicly available data on the standby power for this specific model. Although an ENERGY STAR certification exists for an E50 model, it does not cover the WE50, so its energy measurements cannot be used in this context.
  • The app includes a privacy policy and a local RFID fallback; however, there is no information available regarding the security update schedule for the EV charger or a public firmware release policy.

What does not

  • The official manual provides specific current-limit settings of 40 A, 48 A, and 50 A, along with corresponding circuit guidance.
  • RFID cards enable charging even when the app cannot connect, ensuring that standard charging is not entirely reliant on cloud access.
  • The manufacturer provides documentation for fault indications such as ground faults, leakage currents, overcurrent situations, overheating, abnormal voltage levels, control-pilot faults, and relay faults.
  • A three-year manufacturer warranty covers repairs or replacements for defects in materials or workmanship when used under normal operating conditions.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of EVs or plug-in hybrids equipped with J1772 connectors, provided they have a licensed electrician available to install a dedicated 240 V circuit and set the internal output limit accordingly. It is particularly useful in situations where the parking spot requires a long cable or when multiple household members benefit from RFID access and scheduled charging. Buyers should be prepared to follow the manual's guidance for a 70 A circuit to achieve full 50 A operation, rather than relying on potentially inconsistent marketing descriptions.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for households that require an independently verified, exact-model NRTL safety listing prior to installing a high-current charger. It is also not suitable for those intending to connect it to an existing 50 A circuit with the expectation of a 50 A output, as the manufacturer’s manual indicates reduced output for such circuits. Tesla owners should use a compatible adapter. Additionally, buyers who need certified idle-energy data, documented replacement parts, or a defined security support period should seek products with those records publicly available.

Autel MaxiCharger Home Smart EV Charger 50 Amp
#9

Autel MaxiCharger Home Smart EV Charger 50 Amp

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 81/100 Autel

Overview

The most tangible ecological achievement is that this specific product has earned independent ENERGY STAR certification. According to EPA data, it consumes 3.45 W when no vehicle is connected, 5.83 W in idle mode, and exhibits measured losses at various charging currents. These figures provide more accurate insights than assuming all Level 2 chargers have similar standby power consumption. The product is officially listed for both the United States and Canada. Regarding electrical safety, Autel's manual specifies a 20 mA ground-fault detection with auto-retry, along with protections against overcurrent, abnormal voltage, and surges. It also supports NEMA 4 installation suitable for indoor or outdoor use. The product references standards including UL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 1998, and CSA requirements. While these are relevant safety standards, the review was unable to independently verify a specific public safety listing for this model in major NRTL directories. No recalls related to CPSC or NHTSA were found during the review. The three-year warranty enhances the product’s lifespan, though there is limited public information regarding repair parts availability and long-term firmware support.

What works

  • The manufacturer references UL and CSA safety standards; however, a specific model listing could not be verified in publicly accessible UL, ETL, or CSA product directories during this review.
  • A 50 A output represents a continuous load and necessitates a properly rated dedicated circuit, appropriate wiring, and professional installation. It may not be suitable for all existing garage circuits.
  • The publicly available materials examined do not offer explicit commitments regarding product-specific security updates, support duration, or comprehensive security documentation for connected devices.
  • The claims regarding enclosure and cable durability are mainly based on manufacturer documentation rather than an publicly available certification report specific to this configuration.
  • The manual states that there are no internal parts that can be serviced by the user, and the reviewed materials did not identify any replacement cables, spare parts, or repair programs.

What does not

  • The specific product is independently ENERGY STAR certified for both the United States and Canada, verified through measured charging and standby performance.
  • The EPA specifies a 12 kW, 50 A output rating and includes a 25-foot charging cable with 8 AWG for this specific product.
  • The manufacturer’s manual provides detailed instructions for continuous-load installation, including breaker options and an example demonstrating 125 percent sizing.
  • The J1772 connector is well-defined and designed for compatibility with North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids equipped with J1772 charging ports.
  • Autel indicates that the device is suitable for both indoor and outdoor use with NEMA 4 ratings, operates within a temperature range of -40 to 131°F, and includes built-in ground-fault and surge protection features.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of J1772-compatible electric vehicles or plug-in hybrids who have, or plan to install, a professionally installed dedicated 208 or 240 V circuit capable of supporting the chosen charging current. It is especially suitable for a fixed home parking spot, where the 25-foot cable allows easy access to the vehicle’s inlet without the need for an extension cord. Additionally, it is suitable for households seeking scheduled or monitored charging via a local app, while still maintaining RFID access and vehicle-connected charging features offered by the manufacturer.

Who is it not for

This product is not recommended for household use when connecting a 50 A charger to an existing outlet or circuit without first verifying the breaker, wiring, panel capacity, necessary permits, and compliance with local electrical codes. Additionally, it is not intended as the direct connector for vehicles that only accept NACS, unless authorized and provided with an appropriate J1772 adapter by the vehicle manufacturer. Customers who need publicly verifiable NRTL listing information, comprehensive cybersecurity support, user-replaceable cables, or documented repair parts should obtain those records prior to installation.

IYILO Level 2 EV Charger 48Amp J1772
#10

IYILO Level 2 EV Charger 48Amp J1772

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 78/100 IYILO

Overview

The most reliable independently verified points are the EPA ENERGY STAR certification and its inclusion of the RA40 as an additional model. Achieving ENERGY STAR certification requires safety approval from a nationally recognized testing laboratory, and the device’s no-vehicle power consumption is recorded at 1.19 W. The manufacturer also specifies ground-fault protection, overcurrent and overtemperature safeguards, and temperature sensors located at the plug and connector. However, these features are manufacturer-declared and are not supported by publicly available model-specific test reports. The product comes with a three-year limited warranty that prioritizes repairing any defects, with replacement provided if repairs are not possible. This approach can help minimize premature disposal, although the company does not offer a published parts catalog or a take-back program in the reviewed materials. Additionally, its connected app collects data related to charging, device status, network, diagnostics, and location. Users should consider whether the remote features and data sharing are necessary for their intended use.

What works

  • The catalog lists the 48 A and 11.5 kW specifications, which conflict with the manufacturer's RA40 rating of 40 A and 9.6 kW. Installation should be based on the 40 A model specifications, not the higher values claimed in the catalog.
  • The manufacturer asserts that the product is rated NEMA 4 and IK10 for durability; however, the publicly available verification did not include a specific model enclosure or connector test report to confirm these claims.
  • The application's privacy policy allows for the collection of account information, charging session data, device identifiers, Bluetooth MAC addresses, IP addresses, logs, and location data.
  • There was no support for publicly available firmware for the lifetime, no commitment to security updates, and no process in place for disclosing vulnerabilities specific to the model.
  • A catalog for replacement parts or a DIY repair guide was not found. Warranty diagnosis and repairs are managed exclusively by authorized company technicians.

What does not

  • The RA40 has been added as an extra model to the list of EPA ENERGY STAR certified charging stations, which must have an NRTL safety certification to qualify.
  • The EPA-listed measured non-vehicle power consumption is 1.19 W, indicating low energy usage when no vehicle is connected.
  • The manufacturer’s documentation states that a dedicated 50 A circuit should have a maximum of 40 A. It features adjustable current settings and includes built-in protections against ground faults, overcurrent, and temperature-related issues.
  • The manufacturer indicates that charging can begin via plug-and-charge even when internet connectivity or app access is unavailable.
  • A three-year limited warranty ensures repair of covered defects as the first option, with replacement offered if repair is not possible.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners with a J1772-compatible electric vehicle or plug-in hybrid, an properly installed NEMA 14-50 outlet, and a dedicated 50-amp circuit confirmed by a qualified electrician. It is especially suitable for users who desire app-based scheduling or RFID access but still need reliable basic charging during an internet outage. The 25-foot cable and NEMA 4-rated enclosure—according to the manufacturer—make it well-suited for installation in a garage or sheltered outdoor wall, where cable routing can be arranged to avoid walkways, doors, and vehicle traffic.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for anyone planning to charge at a rate of 48 A or 11.5 kW, as the manufacturer specifies the RA40 as a 40 A, 9.6 kW model, despite conflicting descriptions in the catalog. It is also not recommended for use with undersized circuits, worn or unverified NEMA 14-50 outlets, or DIY electrical modifications. Customers requiring documented long-term cybersecurity support, easily accessible replacement parts, or independently published enclosure and cable test reports should look for a product that offers those records.