When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Noco Boost Plus

10 Best Noco Boost Plus 2026

We compared the top Noco Boost Plus products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular ‎WOLFBOX 4000A 12V Car Jump Starter

‎WOLFBOX 4000A 12V Car Jump Starter

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • High capacity 24000mAh battery for multiple jumps.

  • 65W quick charger for fast recharging.

  • Supports both gas and diesel engines up to 10L.

9.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
3
Best Deal NOCO GB150 Boost Pro 3000A Jump Starter

NOCO GB150 Boost Pro 3000A Jump Starter

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Delivers powerful 3000A jump-start capability.

  • Safe and easy-to-use design.

  • Supports large gasoline and diesel engines.

9.2 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
AVAPOW 8000A Portable Jumper Starter

AVAPOW 8000A Portable Jumper Starter

  • High power output for quick engine starts.

  • Compact design for easy portability.

  • User-friendly interface with clear instructions.

8.8 / 10 Rating
25% off + 39% Coupon Check Price
5
WOLFBOX 4000A Jump Starter and Air Compressor

WOLFBOX 4000A Jump Starter and Air Compressor

  • Powerful jump-start for large engines.

  • Integrated air compressor for tire inflation.

  • Fast charging and large battery capacity.

8.7 / 10 Rating
25% off Check Price
6
NOCO Boost HD GB70 Car Battery Jump Starter

NOCO Boost HD GB70 Car Battery Jump Starter

  • High power for large gasoline and diesel engines.

  • Compact and portable for easy storage.

  • Safe design with spark-proof technology.

8.4 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
AVAPOW 6000A Car Battery Jump Starter

AVAPOW 6000A Car Battery Jump Starter

  • Dual USB quick charge ports for convenience.

  • High power for both gas and diesel engines.

  • Built-in LED light for nighttime emergencies.

8.2 / 10 Rating
16% off + 35% Coupon Check Price
8
WOLFBOX 3000A Jump Starter with Air Compressor

WOLFBOX 3000A Jump Starter with Air Compressor

  • Powerful jump-starting for large engines up to 8L.

  • Integrated air compressor for versatile roadside assistance.

  • Fast charging capability with 65W power output.

8.1 / 10 Rating
31% off Check Price
9
Povasee 5000A Jump Starter with LCD Display

Povasee 5000A Jump Starter with LCD Display

  • Supports large engines up to 10L diesel.

  • Features a clear 3" LCD display.

  • Includes dual output and LED light.

7.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
10
NOCO Boost X GBX45 Portable Jump Starter

NOCO Boost X GBX45 Portable Jump Starter

  • Compact design with powerful jump-start capability.

  • USB-C charging for faster recharging and versatility.

  • Suitable for both gas and diesel engines.

7.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Overview

A portable jump starter provides a temporary high-current boost to help start a compatible vehicle when its 12-volt battery is too weak to turn over the engine. However, it does not recharge or repair a failing battery, replace the vehicle’s starter motor, or fix charging system issues. Some models also feature additional functions such as USB power output, lighting, 12-volt accessory sockets, or a tire inflator. Nonetheless, these extras do not contribute to the device’s ability to start a vehicle.

The effectiveness of a jump starter depends on its usable output under load, not just the maximum rated number on the packaging. Peak current ratings like 1,000A, 2,000A, 4,000A, or 8,000A typically indicate the highest possible current briefly reached and may not represent the actual current sustained during a typical engine start, which lasts several seconds. More reliable evidence of performance includes detailed specifications such as the exact product model, load conditions, voltage and current ratings, test duration, and temperature. While independent testing on real vehicles can be helpful, a practical start attempt differs from laboratory test results. Manufacturer specifications are more credible when they specify starting or continuous current, voltage cutoffs, minimum battery charge levels, and procedures suitable for the intended vehicle class.

Top Noco Boost Plus

Compatibility is equally critical. Ensure the device is designed for a 12-volt system and compatible with the specific battery chemistry, typically lead-acid types such as wet, gel, maintenance-free, EFB, or AGM batteries. Do not assume that a jump starter intended for a 12-volt lead-acid battery is suitable for lithium-ion batteries, or for 6-volt, 24-volt systems, or hybrid and electric vehicles. Vehicle engine size ratings should match the specifications listed in the product documentation and manual. Caution is advised with claims like “all gas” or “all diesel,” especially if the manual specifies narrower limits or if capacity claims conflict with other published data.

Safety claims should be backed by documentation directly from the specific model’s manual and markings, rather than just the brand or general product description. Look for verified features such as reverse-polarity alerts, short-circuit and overcurrent protection, spark suppression, temperature shutoff, and guidelines for handling damaged, frozen, leaking, swollen, or excessively hot batteries. An important safety consideration is whether the specific model is listed in recognized safety certification databases such as UL Solutions Product iQ, Intertek ETL, or CSA listings for portable power packs, typically under UL 2743. A generic “UL approved” or “certified” label from a retailer does not guarantee model-specific certification.

Buyers should also evaluate the service support and the product’s lifespan. A meaningful warranty, accessible customer support in the U.S., serial or batch identification, replacement parts like clamps or cables, and compatible charging accessories can prolong the usable life of the jump starter. Since sealed batteries usually cannot be replaced by the user, repair options may be limited even if external parts are available. Lithium-ion devices should be disposed of via proper recycling or hazardous waste programs rather than household trash or curbside recycling. Use specialized facilities for damaged packs.

Important warnings from reviews include that manual or force-start modes can disable safety features such as reverse-polarity and spark protections; these modes should only be used with confirmed correct polarity and are not intended for routine use. Never use jump starters on damaged, frozen, leaking, swollen, or chemically incompatible batteries, or near flammable gases. Do not operate devices outside their specified temperature range. Leaving a jump starter in a very hot vehicle may cause it to exceed its storage limits. Finally, none of the tested jump starters had publicly verified, model-specific NRTL safety listings. Therefore, any safety features claimed should not be considered independently certified unless proper certification records are confirmed.

FAQ

Q: How does the NOCO Boost Plus jump start a car?

A: The NOCO Boost Plus utilizes a high-capacity lithium-ion battery to deliver a quick burst of energy, enabling it to jump-start a vehicle with a dead battery. To use, connect the clamps to the vehicle's battery terminals; the device then supplies the power needed to start the engine.

Q: What types of vehicles can the NOCO Boost Plus jump start?

A: The NOCO Boost Plus is compatible with a variety of vehicles, including cars, trucks, boats, and motorcycles. It can jump start gasoline engines up to 6 liters and diesel engines up to 3 liters, making it suitable for most standard vehicles.

Q: How long does it take to charge the NOCO Boost Plus?

A: It generally takes around 3 hours to fully charge the NOCO Boost Plus using a USB charger. It is advisable to fully charge the device before heading out to ensure it's ready for emergency use.

Q: Is the NOCO Boost Plus suitable for use in extreme weather conditions?

A: Yes, the NOCO Boost Plus is built to operate reliably in harsh weather. Its durable construction and safety features, such as spark-proof technology and reverse polarity protection, enable it to function effectively even in very cold or hot environments.

Q: What additional features does the NOCO Boost Plus include?

A: In addition to jump-starting vehicles, the NOCO Boost Plus functions as a portable power bank with USB ports for charging smartphones and tablets. It also features a built-in LED flashlight with multiple modes, including SOS and emergency strobe, for versatile use in various situations.

Integrity

Health and Ecology This section evaluates practical hazards, environmental management, durability, and the quality of evidence supporting start and safety claims. Scores differentiate between documented controls and verifiable evidence versus general marketing claims; they do not convert a peak amperage rating into confirmed continuous performance.

HHealth & Safety

Health Effects

This evaluates how effectively a jump starter manages fire, burn, electric shock, and battery explosion risks during normal operation and foreseeable faults. For this type of product, higher-rated examples typically include detailed warnings, temperature restrictions, fault response procedures, and instructions for damaged batteries; lower-rated products often lack clarity on these conditions. The provided scores range from 72 to 84, with higher scores reflecting comprehensive shutdown procedures and inspection guidance rather than just stating that the product is "safe."

Safety of Connections and Override Mechanisms

This assesses protection against reverse clamps, short circuits, and sparking, as well as how clearly any force-start mode is restricted. A high score indicates the presence of visible polarity warnings, documented electronic safeguards, and clear instructions explaining when bypassing is permitted. Products with lower scores may still feature intelligent clamps, but their overriding procedures or clamp designs increase the risk of misuse. In the tested set, scores range from 70 to 85, with disabling protections being a common significant concern.

Safety Precautions for Heat, Cold, and Storage

This assesses whether the manual provides reliable information on operating, charging, and storage limits, as well as explanations of protective shutdown features. This is important because a lithium jump starter may be stored in a vehicle and then required to deliver high current. Higher-rated products specify temperature thresholds and include hot or cold lockout features, while lower-rated ones offer more general or incomplete limits. The scores assigned range from 70 to 86; however, simply listing a storage temperature range does not guarantee effective cold-weather starting performance.

EEcology

Environmental Impact

This assesses whether the product helps minimize battery waste and mitigate end-of-life fire hazards by ensuring durable use and providing clear disposal options. A high score reflects a reliable service life alongside guidance for battery recycling, household hazardous waste collection, or specialized disposal methods, rather than trash or curbside recycling. Scores range from 68 to 82. The majority of the products analyzed contain sealed lithium batteries, and several do not have a designated U.S. take-back program.

Duration of Service and Ease of Repairs

This assesses the product’s ability to stay functional after typical wear and tear, considering factors such as warranty coverage, replacement clamps or cables, compatible charging accessories, and model-specific service information. Higher scores indicate documented support and the availability of external parts, even if the internal battery is sealed. Lower scores suggest generic warranty terms, lack of a parts catalog, or no replacement options. The scores assigned range from 70 to 82; none of the reviewed jump starters feature a user-replaceable internal battery.

EEvidence

Independent Verification

This assesses whether the specific product itself—not just its brand, batteries, charger, or manufacturer—has a verifiable certification from an OSHA-recognized testing laboratory for the applicable portable power pack safety standard. A high score depends on having a public record entry that includes the model and certification status. Scores range from 68 to 78; however, reviews often note that a verified public UL, ETL, or CSA listing could not be confirmed. Therefore, retailer “UL” claims alone are not enough.

Performance verified at the outset

This measurement assesses cranking capability under specified load and conditions, rather than relying on a brief peak-amp reading. More reliable data includes details about the specific product, such as current, voltage, duration, temperature, or repeated starts on a realistic vehicle. Scores range from 0, indicating a charger that cannot crank, to 91, representing a product with independent validation of capacity through bench tests and vehicle starts. Many other products primarily depend on manufacturer peak claims or informal, non-standardized testing.

Claim of honesty

This assesses whether peak amps, engine limits, capacity, recharge time, jump counts, and safety claims are verified and aligned with the manual and testing results. Higher scores indicate clear differentiation between peak and starting current, as well as consistent specifications, while lower scores suggest unsupported claims or contradictions—such as discrepancies in capacity, engine limits, or warranties across different materials. The scores provided range from 50 to 84, highlighting that a high peak number does not necessarily represent continuous output.

Vehicle and Battery Compatibility

This assesses whether the product clearly specifies supported voltage, battery chemistry, vehicle types, engine limitations, and exclusions such as hybrids, electric vehicles, or restricted jump points. A high score provides the buyer with a clear go/no-go decision, while a low score indicates general or conflicting guidance. Scores range from 52 to 87. The most reliable reviews explicitly limit usage to 12-volt lead-acid batteries and caution against unknown or incompatible systems.

Traceability and Support for Recall

This assesses whether owners can recognize the manufacturer, model, manufacturing details, and the U.S. support channels necessary to respond to a safety alert. Higher scores indicate the presence of serial-number guidance, product registration, accessible support, a warranty, and a documented process for remedies. Lower scores typically only offer generic seller or warranty information. The scores range from 70 to 82. It is important to note that the absence of an identified recall does not mean the product will not receive future safety notices.

NOCO Boost XL GB50 Jump Starter
#1 - Best Overall

NOCO Boost XL GB50 Jump Starter

Buyer Score 99/100 Integrity Score 76/100 NOCO

Overview

The most valuable safety documentation is the product manual. It specifies that the device should only be used with 12-volt lead-acid batteries, and details safe operating temperatures of -20°C to 50°C, with charging recommended between 0°C and 40°C. The manual advises users to stop using the unit if it becomes excessively hot. Built-in hot and cold indicators help prevent jump-starting when temperature limits are surpassed. Additionally, the manual clearly warns that manually overriding safety features disables protections and may result in sparks or high heat. The internal lithium-ion battery is sealed and should not be tampered with or opened. The manual instructs users not to dispose of the battery in household trash and encourages recycling at a local battery-recycling facility, following EPA guidelines for lithium-ion batteries. Replacement clamps are available to extend the product’s lifespan when cables wear out. While there is a UN 38.3 transport test report for the product, a specific UL 2743, ETL, or CSA safety certification for the exact model has not been independently verified.

What works

  • The manual override feature intentionally bypasses spark-proof and reverse-polarity protections. Improper use may generate sparks and intense heat.
  • There is no confirmed public UL 2743, ETL, or CSA listing for an exact product. Additionally, FCC compliance mentioned in the manual does not indicate that the portable power pack has safety certification.
  • The advertised 1,500 amps refers to a peak value. NOCO does not provide information on continuous starting-current ratings, test duration, voltage cutoff points, or cold-cranking test procedures.
  • The existing 35 watt-hour specification conflicts with a 2019 transport test summary for the GB50, which reports a capacity of 24 watt-hours. Although this may indicate a revision, the documentation does not clarify or reconcile the discrepancy.
  • The one-year warranty is limited, and the sealed internal battery is not designed to be replaced by the user.

What does not

  • Normal operation involves detecting reverse polarity, with the manual providing a clear error indication and instructions for correction.
  • The manual outlines specific temperature ranges for operation, charging, and storage, along with warning signals for hot and cold conditions.
  • The manufacturer clearly specifies that it is only compatible with 12-volt lead-acid batteries, eliminating any confusion regarding the type of battery chemistry.
  • Replacement heavy-duty clamp assemblies are available for purchase separately for this product.
  • A U.S. support channel, a serial number registration process, and a one-year limited warranty are provided.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for drivers, riders, or boat owners with a standard 12-volt lead-acid starting battery who need a compact emergency booster rather than a battery charger. It is best suited for individuals who can recognize battery polarity and follow the vehicle’s manual, and who will regularly recharge and check the pack’s condition. Additionally, it appeals to users who appreciate clearly specified temperature limits, basic USB device charging capabilities, and the option to replace worn clamps instead of disposing of the entire unit.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for individuals requiring documented cold-cranking capacity or consistent restart performance under controlled load conditions, such as fleet managers or those providing essential roadside assistance. It is also not suitable for lithium, high-voltage hybrid, or electric vehicle traction batteries, and should not be used when the battery chemistry or voltage is unknown. Anyone unfamiliar or uncomfortable with battery safety procedures should avoid using the manual override mode, as it disables standard spark-proof and reverse-polarity protections.

‎WOLFBOX 4000A 12V Car Jump Starter
#2 - Popular

‎WOLFBOX 4000A 12V Car Jump Starter

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 77/100 WOLFBOX

Overview

The manual provides more detailed safety instructions than many basic jump-starter guides. It advises users to stop using damaged clamps or wires, avoid creating short circuits, limit the number of repeated starts, remove the clamps promptly after a successful start, and not charge the device above 45°C. It also specifies output protection at 131°F and below -4°F, with restart thresholds indicated once temperatures recover. While reverse-polarity indicators and overcurrent warnings are included, their safety performance has not been independently certified in a public U.S. registry for this specific product. This device contains a lithium-ion battery. No specific U.S. recall for this product was found in CPSC records; however, the manual does not include a U.S. take-back program or detailed disposal instructions. According to EPA guidance, lithium-ion batteries and products containing batteries should not be disposed of in household trash or curbside recycling. If the battery becomes damaged, swollen, leaking, or is recalled, it requires specialized handling and should not be placed in regular battery drop-off points.

What works

  • There is no available public UL, ETL, CSA, or other U.S. NRTL certification listing specifically for this product. The references to CE, FCC, and RoHS in the manual do not replace the need for an exact product safety listing for this portable power pack in the United States.
  • The boost function can initiate startup when the normal mode fails. Manually, it is limited to situations below 9 V and is not recommended if normal starting is possible. However, using it in this mode carries a higher level of risk.
  • The 4,000 A claim represents a peak value. Independent testing confirms genuine starting capability; however, it does not provide published data on controlled current, voltage, duration, or temperature measurements for that peak rating.
  • The storage guidelines allow for vehicle storage temperatures ranging from -4°F to 140°F. However, the manual does not provide detailed instructions regarding the disposal of end-of-life vehicles, damaged batteries, or management of thermal events.
  • The existing product documentation provides only limited details regarding replacement clamps, cables, internal battery maintenance, serial number traceability, or production date identification.

What does not

  • Independent testing recorded a capacity of 82.3 Wh, roughly 93% of the claimed 88.8 Wh, and the battery successfully passed multiple tests involving starting after depletion.
  • The manual specifies a starting current of 1,000 A, rather than solely referencing the more marketing-oriented peak value of 4,000 A.
  • The manual details visible indicators for reverse polarity, the warning behavior for overcurrent, and specific cutoff points for high and low temperature outputs.
  • A 65W USB-C input and output specification, along with an included charger, battery level display, and case, makes charging and readiness assessments more convenient.
  • The manual includes a two-year limited warranty along with contact information for phone and email support within the U.S.

Who is it for

This device is ideal for drivers of 12-volt cars, SUVs, pickups, or diesel vehicles seeking a compact emergency jump starter. It provides sufficient independently measured battery capacity to perform several standard starts and to occasionally charge USB-C devices. It is especially suitable for users who can check the charge level before traveling, follow polarity instructions, and recharge the unit every few months. The included case, display, and 65 W charger support these preparedness-focused uses. However, it is not intended to replace a failing vehicle battery or address charging system issues.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for vehicles beyond a standard 12-volt starting system, nor for buyers seeking comprehensive coverage for all battery types, including hybrid, electric, commercial fleet, or specialized equipment scenarios. Individuals who require a publicly verifiable U.S. NRTL safety certification for a specific portable power pack should choose a product that possesses such certification. Additionally, it should not be used if it has been exposed to heat, sustained physical damage, swelling, leaks, or if its clamps or cables are damaged. Do not rely on boost mode as a regular solution for unresolved battery issues.

NOCO GB150 Boost Pro 3000A Jump Starter
#3 - Best Deal

NOCO GB150 Boost Pro 3000A Jump Starter

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 72/100 NOCO

Overview

The safety documentation provides detailed guidance for normal use, warning against issues such as damaged cables, exposure to moisture, charging in poorly ventilated areas, frozen batteries, overheating, and operating near explosive environments. It clarifies that manual overrides disable safety features and explicitly warns that improper use can generate sparks and excessive heat. Additionally, the product documentation includes a California Proposition 65 warning about potential exposure to chemicals like lead and exhaust fumes. No specific product recall from the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) was identified in the recent recall search results. The product contains an internal lithium-ion battery that is not intended to be replaced by the owner. NOCO advises users to stop using the device if the battery becomes hot, deformed, leaks, or appears abnormal, and to take it to a local battery recycling facility instead of disposing of it in household waste. This aligns with EPA recommendations to prevent fires caused by damaged lithium-ion batteries in trash or curbside recycling. A manufacturer take-back program in the U.S. for this specific product has not been confirmed.

What works

  • The 3,000-amp figure is specifically a peak rating. No publicly available independent tests have verified continuous output, voltage under load, or consistent cold starting performance for this particular product.
  • The manufacturer's support page continues to list this product as having a 2,000-amp capacity, whereas the current product page and manual specify 3,000 amps. This unresolved discrepancy undermines confidence in the advertised performance claims.
  • Manual override bypasses all safety features and may generate sparks and intense heat. It requires the user to correctly assess the polarity at the time protections are disabled.
  • A public record confirming that a portable power pack meets a specific safety certification standard was not found in the reviewed registers of UL, Intertek, CSA, or TÜV.
  • The internal battery cannot be replaced by the user, and the warranty lasts for only one year.

What does not

  • The manual explicitly limits the use to 12-volt lead-acid batteries and advises users to confirm the voltage and type of chemistry before making a connection.
  • During normal operation, reverse-polarity detection is performed. Additionally, the support guidance indicates a hot internal battery by flashing an error signal.
  • Published temperature limits for charging, operation, and storage specify the conditions owners should follow to ensure safe handling.
  • The manufacturer offers product registration, guidance on serial numbers, support contact options, compatible charging accessories, and a one-year limited warranty.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for vehicle owners or fleet operators in need of a compact emergency starter for 12-volt lead-acid vehicles, particularly larger gasoline or diesel engines within the manufacturer's specified engine capacity. It is best suited for users who are willing to keep the unit charged, regularly check the clamps and cables, and adhere to the recommended temperature guidelines in the manual. The integrated voltmeter, 12-volt output, and flashlight can assist with roadside diagnostics; however, these features should not replace proper vehicle battery repairs when necessary.

Who is it not for

This product is not designed for lithium, 24-volt, unknown-chemistry, or frozen vehicle batteries. It is also not suitable for individuals who treat manual override as a regular starting method, as this mode bypasses safety controls and could cause sparks if the polarity is incorrect. Households that cannot keep the pack in a dry, temperature-controlled indoor environment should adhere strictly to the recommended storage limits. Users who need a verified NRTL safety listing with a publicly traceable, exact product, or those requiring independently documented sustained cranking performance, will need to seek evidence beyond what is provided here.

AVAPOW 8000A Portable Jumper Starter
#4

AVAPOW 8000A Portable Jumper Starter

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 67/100 AVAPOW

Overview

The product utilizes lithium-ion cells, which require more careful handling than standard accessory batteries. The provided instructions advise against starting the battery when frozen, using the clamps near flammable gases, cranking the device for more than three seconds, or storing it in high temperatures. The specified operating and storage temperature range is from -10°C to 60°C. While a vehicle parked in direct sunlight can cause the battery temperature to rise above safe levels, this broad temperature range does not imply that prolonged hot-car storage is safe. During the review, no relevant CPSC recall or specific exposure warnings for this product were found. Additionally, there is no publicly available certification record from a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) for this specific product. When the lithium-ion battery reaches the end of its life, it should not be disposed of in household trash or curbside recycling. The EPA recommends taking used batteries to a dedicated battery recycling facility or a household hazardous waste collection site, ideally with terminals disconnected. However, AVAPOW’s publicly accessible product information does not specify a U.S. take-back program or detailed disposal instructions for this model.

What works

  • There is no public certification record from UL, Intertek ETL, CSA, or any other NRTL for this specific product, so its safety testing for the portable power pack cannot be independently verified.
  • No independent testing report has been found that verifies this product's specifications, including measured cranking current, loaded voltage, test temperature, or repeat-start performance. The 8000A figure is solely a peak claim.
  • The claim regarding engine capacity is inconsistent. The manufacturer's product page states that all diesel engines are included, but the available manual restricts diesel engines to 10L. Buyers should adhere to the lower specified limit until AVAPOW provides clarification.
  • The force-start mode is designed for a severely discharged battery, but publicly available instructions do not clearly specify which electronic protections remain active when using this mode.
  • There was no product-specific U.S. take-back program, end-of-life disposal instructions, replacement clamp listing, or supported repair parts catalog identified.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer, the display is designed to show information such as charging status, battery level, clamp status, and error messages. This helps users identify any incorrect connections before attempting to start.
  • The USB-C 30W bidirectional port and 12V DC output enable its use beyond emergency starting, such as charging compatible personal devices and powering 12V accessories.
  • Published guidelines outline essential safety measures, such as limiting cranking to a maximum of three seconds, allowing at least one minute of cool-down between attempts, recommending a minimum charge of 50 percent, and cautioning against starting batteries that are frozen.
  • The product record indicates a lifetime warranty; however, publicly available information regarding the terms, repair processes, and availability of replacement parts could not be found.

Who is it for

This product is designed for drivers seeking a relatively large, rechargeable 12V emergency power unit that can also charge phones or operate compatible 12V accessories during a roadside delay. It is ideal for users who can attentively follow connection instructions, inspect the clamps and housing before use, regularly maintain the charge every few months, and acknowledge that the manufacturer’s claims of 8000A peak and engine starting capability are unverified. It is best suited for occasional roadside emergencies rather than frequent commercial starting tasks.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for buyers who need a publicly verifiable NRTL safety certification, independently tested cold-weather starting performance, or a clearly specified continuous starting-current rating. It is also not suitable for households requiring documented recycling options or easily accessible replacement clamps and repair parts. Do not rely on the general claim of "diesel" for engines over 10 liters, as the available information is inconsistent. If users cannot identify whether a battery is frozen, damaged, leaking, or has the wrong voltage, they should seek professional roadside assistance instead.

WOLFBOX 4000A Jump Starter and Air Compressor
#5

WOLFBOX 4000A Jump Starter and Air Compressor

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 75/100 WOLFBOX

Overview

The manual offers important safety instructions for operation. It advises users to avoid damaged cables, reverse polarity clamps, exposure to explosive atmospheres, fire, and extreme heat. Additionally, it details protections for charging below 0°C and above 55°C, responses to short circuits and over-current situations, and limitations on repeated starting attempts. These are controls documented by the manufacturer, but are not independently verified or certified. WOLFBOX claims UL and FCC certifications; however, a specific product listing could not be found in the relevant certification databases. No product-specific CPSC recall was identified from the recall sources checked. When the product reaches end-of-life, the manual instructs users to follow local disposal regulations. According to EPA guidelines, lithium-ion devices should not be thrown in trash or curbside recycling; instead, they should be taken to a specialized battery recycler or household hazardous waste collection point. Store the device away from prolonged heat, especially from sun-heated surfaces like dashboards.

What works

  • There is no publicly available UL, ETL, CSA, or other NRTL listing to verify the claimed UL certification.
  • The independent startup test provided valuable real-world evidence, unlike a controlled laboratory cranking test that measures load, voltage, current, or involves multiple cold-start cycles.
  • Boost mode can revive a severely discharged battery once the user confirms the correct polarity. However, it should be used cautiously and not as a regular override.
  • The manual states that lithium batteries should be disposed of according to local regulations, but it does not mention any U.S. take-back program or specify a particular recycling process.
  • The compatibility guidelines are only applicable to 12V vehicles and specify engine size restrictions. They do not explicitly cover hybrids, electric vehicles (EVs), battery types, or vehicle-specific jump-start points.

What does not

  • Independent field testing by editors confirmed successful engine starts on three vehicles, including winter conditions at 0°F.
  • The manual provides a actual starting-current value of 1,000A, along with a less detailed peak figure of 4,000A.
  • The smart-clamp instructions include features to detect reversed polarity, while the manual details protections against short circuits, over-current, and high temperatures.
  • The inflator features preset options and an automatic shutoff. An editorial review found its display and inflation controls to be user-friendly and practical.
  • A U.S. support phone number, email contact method, registration process, and a 24-month manufacturer warranty are provided.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for an average driver of a 12V gasoline or diesel vehicle who needs a versatile roadside tool for low tire pressure, a dead starter battery, phone charging, and lighting. It is best suited for users who are willing to read the clamp and boost instructions, recharge the unit periodically, and avoid exposing it to extreme heat inside the vehicle. With an 88.8Wh capacity, a built-in air hose, and weighing 5.3 pounds, it is better stored in the trunk or cargo area rather than kept as a portable pocket-sized power bank.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for use on vehicles outside the specified 12V application, nor is it suitable for individuals seeking explicit manufacturer instructions for hybrid, EV, or unusual battery jump-start points. Additionally, it does not meet the needs of buyers requiring a publicly traceable NRTL safety listing for the specific product or laboratory-verified cranking performance for extreme cold conditions or repeated commercial use. Anyone who is unwilling to inspect damaged clamps, adhere to polarity indicators, or properly manage lithium-ion battery storage should not leave it unsecured in a vehicle.

NOCO Boost HD GB70 Car Battery Jump Starter
#6

NOCO Boost HD GB70 Car Battery Jump Starter

Buyer Score 84/100 Integrity Score 78/100 NOCO

Overview

The product contains a sealed lithium-ion battery, and its primary health risks include electrical connection errors, battery overheating, fire hazards, and the release of explosive gases similar to those from lead-acid vehicle batteries. NOCO provides clear documentation on reverse-polarity indicators, high-temperature warnings, and a Manual Override warning that explicitly states this feature disables safety protections. The product is only compatible with 12V lead-acid batteries and should not be used outside specified temperature ranges or with frozen batteries. NOCO specifies that the product contains a 56Wh lithium-ion battery and offers a one-year warranty, registration options, serial number support, and compatible accessories that can extend its usability. When the battery reaches the end of its life, specialized handling is required. EPA guidelines advise against disposing of lithium-ion products in household trash or curbside recycling; instead, they should be taken to a battery recycler or household hazardous waste facility. Before use, store the product away from prolonged heat and inspect it for any damage, swelling, unusual odors, or excessive warmth.

What works

  • The advertised 2,000A is a peak value and does not include a manufacturer-provided continuous current, voltage, temperature, or load testing protocol.
  • During verification, there was no confirmation of a public UL, ETL, CSA, or other NRTL registry record for this specific product and portable power pack safety standard.
  • Manual Override deliberately bypasses safety protections and forces the output to stay on. It is sometimes required for batteries below 2V, but using it increases the risk of connection errors.
  • The specified operating temperature extends up to 122°F; however, consistently storing the battery in a hot, parked vehicle is not advisable, as it can negatively impact the lifespan and safety of lithium-ion batteries.
  • The internal battery cannot be replaced by the user, and no specific U.S. take-back program for the product has been identified.

What does not

  • An independent, precise product test recorded four seconds of Jeep starting, drawing approximately 135A, and maintaining a usable voltage of 10.0V by the end of the test.
  • NOCO defines specific battery boundaries, limited to 12V lead-acid batteries, with specified engine size limits for both gasoline and diesel vehicles.
  • The support documentation provides clear indications of reverse polarity and high internal temperature errors.
  • NOCO indicates an IP65 rating when ports are closed, providing protection against dust and water ingress during storage or roadside applications.
  • The documentation includes details about a one-year warranty, product registration, serial number lookup, support contact information, and compatible charging and storage accessories.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for drivers, fleet operators, boat owners, and recreational vehicle enthusiasts who require a compact emergency starter for standard 12V lead-acid batteries. It can be kept charged, inspected, and stored properly. Its specified engine capacity is appropriate for a wide range of passenger cars, trucks, and equipment within the listed gasoline and diesel size ranges. The device is particularly useful in situations where a reliable cranking performance is more important than just high peak amperage, as evidenced by documented operational use on a Jeep. Users should be familiar with proper clamp connection procedures, interpret error indicators correctly, and adhere to battery chemistry guidelines.

Who is it not for

This device is not intended for jump-starting lithium, high-voltage hybrid, or electric vehicle traction batteries, nor for any batteries with uncertain voltage or chemistry. It should also not be used as a portable pack to fix a failed, frozen, damaged, or repeatedly discharged vehicle battery. Avoid storing it permanently in the dashboard area in extreme heat conditions. Users who cannot differentiate between normal connection mode and Manual Override should select a product that does not require bypassing safety controls. For households seeking a product with a publicly verifiable NRTL safety certification, look for a model that has that specific certification readily available.

AVAPOW 6000A Car Battery Jump Starter
#7

AVAPOW 6000A Car Battery Jump Starter

Buyer Score 82/100 Integrity Score 68/100 AVAPOW

Overview

The product contains a lithium-ion battery, which poses fire and burn hazards if crushed, overheated, short-circuited, damaged, or improperly charged. The manual includes warnings about reverse connection, low-capacity lockout, start timeout, and high-temperature output cutoff as safety features. While these controls are helpful, there is no public certification from UL, ETL, CSA, or other NRTL agencies specifically for this product. Additionally, no recalls related to AVAPOW have been found through CPSC search results. The manual specifies operating and storage temperatures between -10°C and 60°C. However, lithium-ion battery guidance recommends avoiding prolonged exposure to extreme hot or cold environments, such as leaving the device on a dashboard in direct sunlight. The manufacturer does not provide specific instructions regarding the end-of-life disposal of the product. According to EPA recommendations, lithium-ion devices should not be discarded in household trash or curbside recycling; instead, they should be taken to a certified battery recycling facility or household hazardous waste collection program. Before transporting, tape or isolate any exposed connections, and seek specialized advice if the battery is swollen, leaking, or damaged.

What works

  • There is no public UL, ETL, CSA, or other NRTL certification listing available for this specific product, so its safety verification as a portable power pack remains unconfirmed.
  • The figure of 6,000A is designated as a maximum or peak value, as there is no published data on sustained current, voltage under load, cold-temperature performance, or repeatable cranking tests.
  • There is inconsistency in the capacity information across sources, with the catalog listing 24,000mAh and the manufacturer FAQ stating 32,000mAh or 118.4Wh.
  • The force-start feature can activate a severely discharged battery; however, the manufacturer's instructions do not clearly specify which electronic protections are bypassed or the potential risks of sparking involved.
  • The manufacturer offers support contact details; however, there is no available information on a specific U.S. recycling process for the product, a listed replacement clamp, or published warranty terms.

What does not

  • The manual specifies a high-temperature shutdown at approximately 80°C, with a tolerance of plus or minus 5°C, and an automatic restart once cooled.
  • Smart clamp indicators are available to alert for reverse connections, high temperature, low battery charge, and start timeout situations.
  • The manual indicates that there is a 12V/10A accessory power outlet and USB charging ports available for powering roadside devices.
  • An independent reviewer evaluated this specific product and reported a stable output rather than a surge-like one, although the testing methodology was not fully disclosed.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for drivers who require a portable emergency jump starter for standard 12V gasoline or diesel vehicles and are willing to follow the provided manual carefully. It is best suited for users who will regularly inspect the clamps, recharge the pack every few months, utilize the included case, and consider the USB and 12V ports as backup power sources. The safety warnings regarding the clamps and the thermal cutoff feature provide helpful operational feedback for users, though it should be noted that these protections are documented by the manufacturer and not independently certified.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for buyers who need independently verified electrical safety certification, confirmed cold-cranking performance, or a clearly defined sustained starting current. It is also not suitable for those uncertain whether their vehicle has a 12V starter battery, has an unusually large engine or battery system, or requires assistance with hybrid or electric vehicle jump-start procedures. Do not use the force-start mode without consulting the vehicle manufacturer's instructions, as this mode may be employed when standard battery detection prevents a normal start.

WOLFBOX 3000A Jump Starter with Air Compressor
#8

WOLFBOX 3000A Jump Starter with Air Compressor

Buyer Score 81/100 Integrity Score 77/100 WOLFBOX

Overview

The safety documentation provides more detailed instructions compared to a general protection claim. It advises users to stop attempting to start after three consecutive tries, wait two minutes between each attempt, disconnect the clamps within 30 seconds after starting, and avoid using damaged cables, explosive environments, water immersion, extreme heat, or devices other than a 12V vehicle. Additionally, it outlines features such as reverse-polarity indication, protection against short circuits and over-current, and temperature-based lockouts when charging below 0°C or above 55°C. The product contains a lithium-ion battery. The manual recommends following local disposal regulations at the end of its lifecycle but does not specify a U.S. take-back program or a dedicated recycling route. EPA guidance is clearer, stating that lithium-ion batteries and devices should not be disposed of in household trash or curbside recycling due to fire risks. No public safety certification for this specific product was found in certification registers, so its protection claims should be viewed mainly as manufacturer documentation rather than independently verified performance.

What works

  • There is no record of a public certification for this specific product in the UL, ETL, CSA, or TÜV public registers.
  • Boost mode is designed for vehicles with a weak or damaged battery and must be completed within 30 seconds. It should not be used as a regular bypass.
  • The documentation states that it is only for 12V vehicles, but it does not clearly specify which battery chemistries are supported or provide detailed warnings regarding hybrid and electric vehicles.
  • The manufacturer states that the device can inflate tires up to 45 times per charge; however, the reviewed manual does not specify the tire size, initial pressure, desired pressure, or testing conditions.
  • A replacement clamp or service parts catalog could not be found, and the manual provides only general instructions for local disposal.

What does not

  • Independent testing showed a delivered capacity of 51.3 Wh, compared to the stated 59.2 Wh for the battery.
  • An editorial test documented multiple successful startups of the V6 SUV at 33°F, along with three additional rapid-start test passes.
  • The manual records a starting current of 600A, along with a more notable peak value of 3,000A.
  • The manual details specific battery temperature protections, such as battery charge lockout when temperatures drop below 0°C or rise above 55°C.
  • A two-year manufacturer warranty is available for jump starters with air compressors, including support via U.S. phone and email contact options.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for drivers seeking a single, stored emergency tool suitable for standard 12V gasoline or diesel vehicles, occasional tire topping, and phone charging. It is especially suitable for users who can keep the device charged, inspect the clamps and cable before use, and adhere to the manual’s recommendation of charging it to at least 50% before attempting to start a vehicle. Independently tested, the V6 model can start at temperatures as low as 33°F, making it suitable for regular cars and SUVs. Additionally, its built-in inflator allows for routine tire pressure adjustments away from a service station.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for vehicles with systems other than a 12V starting system, nor for users requiring verified compatibility with every type of battery chemistry, hybrid system, or EV roadside procedure. Additionally, it is not ideal for batteries with recessed or hard-to-reach terminals, as independent testing has shown the clamps are less effective in tight spaces. Households that cannot store lithium-ion equipment below 140°F, inspect it after impact, or arrange specialized end-of-life recycling should choose an alternative emergency solution.

Povasee 5000A Jump Starter with LCD Display
#9

Povasee 5000A Jump Starter with LCD Display

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 70/100 Povasee

Overview

The product is equipped with a lithium-polymer battery, a type of lithium-ion battery. According to its manual, the battery includes protections against reverse polarity, short circuits, over-discharge, and temperature extremes. It is designed to operate and be stored within temperatures ranging from -22 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit. The manual also recommends keeping the device dry, ensuring proper ventilation during use and charging, and keeping it out of reach of children. While these safety instructions are provided by the manufacturer, no official safety certifications such as UL 2743, ETL, CSA, or TÜV have been identified for this product. The manual advises recharging the battery every three to six months and storing it in a cool, dry place away from sunlight. The EPA recommends stricter guidelines for end-of-life and long-term storage, suggesting storage at room temperature and cautioning against exposing the battery to prolonged extreme heat or cold. Additionally, the EPA emphasizes that lithium-ion batteries should not be disposed of in household trash or curbside recycling. Instead, they should be taken to a dedicated battery recycling facility or household hazardous waste program. If the product is damaged, swollen, leaking, or overheating, consult the manufacturer for proper disposal instructions.

What works

  • No public records of certification to UL 2743 or an equivalent safety standard for portable power packs were found in the major certification registers searched.
  • The claims of a 5,000-amp peak and the all-gas or 10-liter diesel configurations are missing disclosed testing conditions, including load, duration, temperature, and voltage cutoff.
  • The RST force-start instruction allows bypassing the standard low-voltage detection threshold of 9 volts. However, the manual provides minimal warnings regarding the increased risks or specific situations where this bypass should not be implemented.
  • The warranty information is inconsistent, with one section mentioning a 36-month period and another referencing 24 months. Additionally, there is no parts catalog available for replacement clamps or charging accessories.
  • The manual advises storing the product in a cool and dry place but does not specify the acceptable charging temperature range, procedures for damage inspection, or instructions for product-specific recycling.

What does not

  • The manufacturer's manual provides detailed steps for connecting the concrete, along with a green smart-clamp indicator that signals a proper connection before beginning.
  • The manual details protections against reverse polarity, short circuits, over-discharge, and temperature issues; however, these protections have not been independently certified for this product.
  • A specified operating and storage temperature range of -22 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit provides users with clear boundaries, rather than leaving temperature guidance undefined.
  • The provided storage case, cables, 12V accessory adapter, and USB cable help keep the roadside kit organized and together.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for drivers of standard 12-volt gasoline or diesel vehicles up to 10 liters. It is ideal for those seeking a compact emergency kit with clamp guidance, a display, USB charging capability, and a light. It is better suited for occasional roadside emergencies rather than for users requiring high cranking power. Users should remember to recharge it every three to six months, follow vehicle-specific jump-start instructions carefully, and avoid using the force-start function unless fully familiar with its limitations.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for buyers who need independently certified safety for the battery pack or independently tested cold-weather starting performance. It is also not ideal for households that tend to leave a lithium battery in direct sunlight or inside a hot vehicle for extended periods, as the EPA recommends storing batteries at room temperature and cautions against prolonged heat exposure. Do not rely on this product as a replacement for proper diagnosis of a failing vehicle battery. Owners of hybrids, electric vehicles, specialized battery systems, or vehicles with manuals that prohibit traditional jump-starting should adhere to their vehicle manufacturer's recommended procedures instead.

NOCO Boost X GBX45 Portable Jump Starter
#10

NOCO Boost X GBX45 Portable Jump Starter

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 79/100 NOCO

Overview

The product includes significant safety features documented by the manufacturer when used in normal operation. Its manual outlines alerts for reverse polarity and short circuits, a timed boost cycle, temperature indicators, specific guidelines for use and charging, and instructions to cease use if the unit becomes hot, damaged, swollen, odorous, or abnormal. Additionally, it warns that lead-acid batteries can emit explosive gases and includes a California Proposition 65 warning regarding lead and exhaust fumes related to battery handling. The Manual Override function is a key safety exception, as it disables spark-proof and reverse-polarity protections. The internal lithium-ion battery, rated at 31Wh, is sealed and must not be disassembled or repaired, according to the manual. Users are instructed not to dispose of batteries in household trash and to instead use local battery recycling facilities. This aligns with EPA recommendations to prevent lithium-ion batteries from being discarded in regular trash or curbside bins, as damage during collection could pose a fire risk. Replacement clamps are available to address worn cable assemblies, helping extend the product's lifespan. However, the one-year warranty and the non-repairable nature of the battery limit the long-term serviceability.

What works

  • There is no available public record of UL, ETL, CSA, or other NRTL certification for this specific product, so third-party electrical safety certification cannot be confirmed.
  • Manual Override disables both spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection, can provide up to 1,250A, and necessitates careful verification of polarity.
  • The 1,250A rating is specifically a peak value. The manufacturer does not provide information on continuous cranking current, load duration, or the conditions under which voltage cutoff is tested.
  • It is only designed for use with 12-volt lead-acid batteries. It should not be used to jump-start batteries of different chemistries or 24-volt systems.
  • The battery compartment cannot be repaired by the user, and it comes with a one-year warranty.

What does not

  • Independent editorial testing revealed excellent initial performance and measured a usable USB capacity of 23.9Wh.
  • The manual provides detailed guidelines for operating, charging, and storing the device, along with indicators for hot and cold status.
  • In normal mode, the device detects reverse polarity and short circuits, with a 60-second boost timeout.
  • USB-C is capable of delivering up to 60W, as confirmed by independent testing which measured its maximum output.
  • A one-year limited warranty is provided, along with serial number registration, available support contact options, and compatible replacement clamps are listed.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for drivers who require a compact emergency jump starter for a standard 12-volt lead-acid battery found in passenger cars, motorcycles, SUVs, light trucks, boats, RVs, or similar vehicles within specified engine size limits. It is especially convenient for users who can maintain its charge, follow the vehicle’s manual, and need both USB-C emergency power and jump-start functionality. Its rated operating range and IP65 protection with sealed ports make it suitable for storage in a dry vehicle compartment, as long as summer temperatures stay within the recommended limits.

Who is it not for

This product is not designed for vehicles with 24-volt electrical systems or for jump-starting lithium, nickel-metal hydride, or other non-lead-acid batteries. Owners of hybrid and electric vehicles should adhere to their vehicle manufacturer's roadside-start procedures before connecting any booster to the low-voltage battery. Additionally, it is not suitable for users who cannot differentiate between normal protected operation and Manual Override. This mode bypasses essential protections against polarity and sparks, so individuals who are unsure about terminal identification, battery condition, or safe handling of lead-acid batteries should seek roadside assistance or professional help.