When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Whitening Toothpaste

10 Best Whitening Toothpaste 2026

We compared the top Whitening Toothpaste products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Boka Refresh Mint Toothpaste

Boka Refresh Mint Toothpaste

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Promotes tooth enamel health with nano-hydroxyapatite.

  • Free from fluoride and harsh chemicals.

  • Refreshing mint flavor for fresh breath.

9.5 / 10 Rating
20% Coupon Check Price
3
Best Deal Lumineux Teeth Whitening Toothpaste 3 Pack

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Toothpaste 3 Pack

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Safe for sensitive teeth and enamel.

  • Certified non-toxic and fluoride-free formula.

  • Dentist formulated for effective whitening.

9.2 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
LIVFRESH Wintergreen Toothpaste Gel

LIVFRESH Wintergreen Toothpaste Gel

  • Removes plaque effectively and improves gum health.

  • SLS-free formula for gentle oral care.

  • Whitens teeth while freshening breath.

8.8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Lumineux Teeth Whitening Strips 21 Treatments

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Strips 21 Treatments

  • Gentle, peroxide-free formula for sensitive teeth.

  • Dentist formulated and certified non-toxic.

  • Provides whitening without causing sensitivity.

8.7 / 10 Rating
Check Price
6
Lumineux Whitening Starter Pack Strips & Toothpaste

Lumineux Whitening Starter Pack Strips & Toothpaste

  • Gentle on teeth and gums.

  • Naturally derived whitening ingredients.

  • Convenient, travel-friendly packaging.

8.5 / 10 Rating
24% off Check Price
7
Designs for Health PerioBiotic Toothpaste Hydroxyapatite

Designs for Health PerioBiotic Toothpaste Hydroxyapatite

  • Contains hydroxyapatite for enamel restoration.

  • Promotes oral health with probiotics.

  • Free from fluoride and artificial flavors.

8.3 / 10 Rating
10% Coupon Check Price
8
Plus White Speed Whitening Gel

Plus White Speed Whitening Gel

  • Quick results with just 5-minute application.

  • Dentist-approved whitening ingredient for safety.

  • Convenient pack of two for extended use.

8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
9
SmartMouth Zinc Ion Whitening Toothpaste

SmartMouth Zinc Ion Whitening Toothpaste

  • Strengthens enamel with fluoride protection.

  • Refreshing mild mint flavor for freshness.

  • Zinc ion formula for superior anti-cavity care.

7.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
10
AquaSonic Complete Care Day & Night Toothpaste

AquaSonic Complete Care Day & Night Toothpaste

  • Provides comprehensive oral care for day and night.

  • Features a refreshing mint flavor for freshness.

  • Targets specific needs with dual-formula effectiveness.

7.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Whitening Toothpaste: Key Factors to Consider

Whitening toothpaste primarily targets extrinsic stains—those caused by coffee, tea, tobacco, wine, and certain foods that stain the surface of teeth. Most products in this category contain polishing agents such as silica, alumina, calcium carbonate, or pyrophosphates. Some also include peroxide for chemical bleaching, while others utilize violet color correction to temporarily diminish the appearance of yellow tones. These methods operate through different mechanisms and should not be confused or used interchangeably.

A trustworthy product should clearly specify whether it is a daily fluoride toothpaste, a cosmetic stain remover, or an additional gel or strip treatment. For cavity prevention, check for the current U.S. Drug Facts label that lists the active ingredient and its concentration. Many products disclose fluoride levels, such as 0.10% or 0.15%. Fluoride-free options should not be assumed equivalent to fluoride-containing products for cavity protection without consulting a dental professional.

Top Whitening Toothpaste

Regarding safety, the key question is not whether a product claims to be “enamel safe,” but whether the final formulation has undergone appropriate testing. The relevant measure for abrasiveness is the Relative Dentin Abrasivity (RDA). In reviews, some products show RDA values like 86.83 or 66, while others lack publicly available RDA, pH, enamel wear, or ISO 11609 test reports. Lower or moderate RDA values are preferable; however, RDA alone does not guarantee long-term enamel safety or whitening effectiveness.

When evaluating whitening claims, it’s important to read carefully. Phrases such as “two shades,” “ten shades,” “instant,” or “clinically proven” can refer to different outcomes, time frames, formulations, or types of studies. Meaningful results should be supported by human testing on the actual product, using the specific active ingredients, instructions, and comparison methods with validated shade or colorimetry techniques. Evidence varies from modest stain reduction over weeks, to short-term color changes lasting up to an hour, or studies on ingredient effects, older formulas, extracted teeth, or different application methods—none of which fully confirm the product’s efficacy.

Independent verification adds credibility. An ADA Seal of Acceptance can support claims related to cavity prevention, sensitivity, or whitening, but it must correspond exactly to the product and its specific claims. More reliable evidence includes peer-reviewed human studies, ClinicalTrials.gov records with results, and ISO/IEC 17025 laboratory reports—these are more trustworthy than testimonials, patents, or claims funded solely by the brand. Consumers should also review the product label for the full ingredient list, usage instructions, age recommendations, warnings, manufacturer details, lot or expiration info, and a contact method for reporting issues.

Certain precautions are common across many products. Fluoride-free options do not offer the proven cavity protection of fluoride-containing toothpastes. Products containing peroxide may cause temporary tooth sensitivity or gum irritation, especially if peroxide concentration is undisclosed. Ingredients like flavor oils, mint, menthol, or sodium lauryl sulfate can irritate sensitive mouths or cause sores. Whitening treatments should be avoided or discussed with a dentist if you have untreated cavities, gum disease, mouth pain, sores, cracked teeth, high sensitivity, braces, or restorations that do not whiten. For children, always follow the age-specific instructions on the label; some formulations are designed solely for adults or older children.

Integrity

The scores presented below are based on the product reviews provided, with greater emphasis placed on whitening effectiveness and independent verification compared to other factors. A higher score indicates stronger product-specific support. However, it does not eliminate the importance of reading the current label or taking into account individual dental requirements.

HHealth & Safety

Prevention of cavities

This assessment determines whether a product provides proven cavity protection at a clearly disclosed active ingredient level. For whitening toothpastes, the main difference lies between those with an up-to-date fluoride Drug Facts label—such as containing 0.10% or 0.15% fluoride ion—and fluoride-free pastes or gels. The scores assigned range from 15–20 for fluoride-free products to 90–92 for those with clearly labeled fluoride content.

Safe Cleaning for Enamel

This metric evaluates whether stain removal occurs without causing excessive abrasive or erosive damage. It is important because polishing agents can effectively eliminate surface stains but may also accelerate wear if the formula is overly abrasive. Among the products provided, higher scores indicate documented or measured support, such as RDA values of 86.83 or 66. Conversely, lower scores typically indicate a lack of information on RDA, pH, enamel wear, or ISO testing.

Gentle Care for Your Teeth and Gums

This assesses the potential for sensitivity, gum irritation, mouth sores, or unnecessary exposure-related harm during typical use. Concerns commonly associated with peroxide, flavor oils, mint, menthol, and sodium lauryl sulfate are frequently noted. Products with higher scores often feature clearer warnings, disclosed desensitizing ingredients, or evidence of human tolerability. In contrast, lower-scoring products either claim to be non-sensitivity or gentle without supporting product-specific data, or they do not clearly specify the active ingredient dosage.

What does it actually contain?

This evaluates whether consumers can recognize the active ingredients, whitening process, concentrations, fluoride content, usage instructions, and limitations. Products with high scores, such as those rated 88–92, display up-to-date Drug Facts information or comprehensive ingredient lists. Lower-scoring products often lack disclosure of peroxide or hydroxyapatite quantities, have inconsistent ingredient lists, or contain vague formulations, making it difficult to assess their effectiveness and safety.

Reliable Quality and Safety Assurance

This evaluates whether the product is produced by a responsible manufacturer, features appropriate U.S. labeling, includes contact information, and provides lot or expiration details, along with a reliable process for recalls or adverse reactions. Higher scores, typically between 82 and 85, indicate comprehensive labeling and clearly identified companies. Conversely, lower scores suggest administrative issues, incomplete traceability, or less accessible product-specific documentation.

EEcology

Minimized Waste Packaging

This assessment evaluates factors such as material usage, recycled content, recyclability, refill options, and specific disposal instructions relevant to the U.S. Most of the products provided lacked documented evidence regarding recycling, refill options, or recycled content, resulting in scores generally ranging from 68 to 76. The more meaningful distinctions are based on specific product claims, such as whether a carton has been removed or whether a tube, cap, and carton are recyclable in areas where local facilities support such recycling; however, these claims do not ensure local acceptance.

EEvidence

Demonstrated noticeable whitening

This assessment determines whether the final product delivers noticeable and quantifiable improvements in color or stain removal when used as directed. Higher scores are attributed to products like the peroxide-free strip set and Sensodyne Extra Whitening, both rated at 84, supported by human evidence demonstrating actual color or extrinsic stain improvement. Lower scores are given to products based on manufacturer claims, ingredient evidence, short-term effects, or studies involving older or different formulations.

No false promises of whitening.

This assessment evaluates whether the advertising clearly differentiates between stain removal, chemical bleaching, and temporary color correction, and whether it provides realistic timeframes. Products that explicitly mention surface stain removal or temporary violet correction tend to achieve high scores. Conversely, lower scores are given when claims such as instant results, significant shade changes, or no sensitivity are not supported by publicly available testing of the product.

Verified independently, not merely self-claimed.

This assesses whether a credible, independent organization, laboratory, or peer-reviewed research confirms the claims made about the finished product. The most robust example provided is a product supported by ADA evidence for cavity and sensitivity claims. Several other products score in the high 60s or 70s because their evidence is either hosted by the manufacturer, based on ingredient information, or not available for the specific formula. Testimonials by themselves are not sufficient to establish this score.

Evidence that aligns with this formula

This assesses whether the studies evaluate the sold product, its active dose, format, instructions, and intended result. Higher scores indicate well-controlled human studies that test the marketed product or its closely related usage, with the strip study receiving a score of 78. Lower scores are associated with experiments on extracted teeth, older formulations, unpublished manufacturer data, or studies that focus on plaque or ingredients rather than whitening effects from the current product.

AURAGLOW Whitening Gel Booster Toothpaste Additive
#1 - Best Overall

AURAGLOW Whitening Gel Booster Toothpaste Additive

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 71/100 AURAGLOW

Overview

The formulation contains 9% hydrogen peroxide, a well-known chemical bleaching agent supported by human evidence in other consumer dental products. However, the available evidence does not specifically evaluate this particular pump-and-brush product. Since peroxide whitening can cause tooth sensitivity and temporary gum irritation, the manufacturer’s claims of minimal or no sensitivity should not be regarded as independently verified. The packaging includes a full ingredient list and advises users not to swallow the gel or get it into their eyes. No FDA recall or warning letter related to this product was found in the recent FDA records. Auraglow indicates that the product is manufactured in the United States and typically has a two-year expiration date. There is no certification from the American Dental Association (ADA), no independent verification of the finished product, nor any publicly available testing reports. While the pump design eliminates the need for disposable strips and trays, there is no information on recycled materials, recyclability, refilling options, material specifics, or U.S. disposal instructions. Consequently, the environmental impact of its packaging remains largely undocumented.

What works

  • This is not an anticavity toothpaste. The ingredients listed do not include fluoride, so its cavity protection relies on the other toothpaste used in conjunction with it.
  • The claim of achieving up to 10 shades whiter in seven days is not supported by a publicly available report specific to this particular gel, dosage, brushing method, and instructions.
  • No publicly accessible reports regarding RDA, pH, enamel wear, or finished-product oral tolerability tests were found.
  • Peroxide whitening may lead to temporary tooth sensitivity or irritation of the gums. The brand's claim of no sensitivity has not been independently verified for this formula.
  • No existing ADA Seal certification, publicly accessible independent laboratory report, or specific peer-reviewed clinical study for the product was found.

What does not

  • The product contains a 9% hydrogen peroxide concentration, and the complete list of ingredients can be found on the package transcription, providing more detailed formula information than a basic disclosure.
  • Its pump-and-brush design allows for the addition of peroxide whitening to your current brushing routine without the need for separate strips or trays.
  • Hydrogen peroxide is clinically supported for tooth whitening, with studies on similar 9% peroxide gels; however, these studies did not evaluate this specific product or its routine use.
  • Auraglow offers clear usage instructions, a documented two-year warranty, and indicates that its gels have expiration dates.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for adults who already use fluoride toothpaste and are looking for a peroxide-based whitening step without the need for trays or strips. It is ideal for those comfortable with a twice-daily routine involving pumping and brushing for approximately a month. It is most effective for addressing common extrinsic stains caused by coffee, tea, wine, soda, or smoking, where peroxide bleaching is a suitable solution. Additionally, the higher claimed number of treatments may appeal to individuals who prefer to consistently use a single pump bottle instead of purchasing short-term, disposable strips.

Who is it not for

It is not suitable as a substitute for fluoride toothpaste or for individuals seeking proven cavity prevention through the whitening product itself. Those with existing tooth sensitivity, gum inflammation, mouth sores, untreated decay, cracked teeth, or scheduled dental procedures should consult their dentist before using peroxide whitening. Auraglow states that their whitening products are not recommended for children under 14, pregnant or nursing women, individuals with braces, or those who have crowns, veneers, fillings, or other restorations intended to be whitened.

Boka Refresh Mint Toothpaste
#2 - Popular

Boka Refresh Mint Toothpaste

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 71/100 Boka

Overview

Boka discloses the complete ingredient list for its Refresh Mint Whitening toothpaste and emphasizes that the product is free from fluoride, peroxide, SLS, parabens, and artificial colors. The company explains that its whitening process relies on polishing and removing surface stains through silica abrasives, rather than peroxide. Additionally, Boka states that an independent toxicology review concluded the formula is non-toxic when used as directed for individuals aged 6 and older. However, this report is not publicly available in a format that allows for independent assessment of the finished product, dosage, or testing methods. A search of FDA recall and safety notices did not reveal any recalls or warnings related to Boka toothpaste. Boka claims that its toothpaste is manufactured in the United States but has not made available a public RDA report or a finished-product test certificate. The packaging consists of standard tubes and outer boxes. No documentation was found regarding recycled content, refill options, curbside recycling, or disposal methods specific to the product, so claims of lower-waste packaging cannot be verified.

What works

  • It does not contain fluoride and therefore does not comply with the U.S. fluoride toothpaste standards required for ADA-approved cavity protection claims.
  • Boka does not publicly reveal the percentage of nano-hydroxyapatite, the specifications of its particles, or the RDA value of its finished products.
  • The registered whitening study has not published any results, so the effectiveness in visible whitening and the tolerability of this formulation remain unverified.
  • Mint, wintergreen, menthol, and other flavor oils may cause issues for individuals with known oral sensitivities, even though there are no specific safety warnings related to these substances in the reviewed sources.

What does not

  • The claim of whitening is limited to the removal of surface stains through regular brushing and does not involve peroxide-based bleaching.
  • The manufacturer provides a comprehensive list of ingredients, which includes abrasives, flavor oils, nano-hydroxyapatite, and confirms that the product is fluoride-free.
  • A registered human study sponsored by Boka is conducted to assess stain reduction and the tolerance of oral soft tissues; however, the results have not been published.
  • According to Boka, the product is manufactured in the United States using nano-hydroxyapatite obtained from a European laboratory.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults seeking a fluoride-free, peroxide-free toothpaste for daily brushing, primarily aiming to minimize surface stains caused by beverages and foods. It is also convenient for households purchasing a three-pack and those who prioritize a transparent ingredient list, especially when checking for SLS, parabens, artificial dyes, or specific flavor components. It is best suited for individuals with a low risk of cavities who have consulted their dental professional about using a fluoride-free oral care routine.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals who require proven over-the-counter anticavity protection, such as those with active decay, frequent cavities, dry mouth, orthodontic appliances, exposed roots, or other heightened risk for cavities. These users should not consider fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite as a confirmed alternative to ADA-approved fluoride toothpaste. Additionally, it is not appropriate for individuals who have sensitivities to mint, menthol, wintergreen, essential oils, or fragranced oral products. Children under the age of 6 fall outside of Boka's officially recommended non-toxic age range.

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Toothpaste 3 Pack
#3 - Best Deal

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Toothpaste 3 Pack

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 73/100 Lumineux

Overview

The key health consideration is straightforward. Lumineux confirms that their toothpaste is free of fluoride and instead relies on hydrated silica for cleaning and removing surface stains. While this may appeal to individuals intentionally avoiding fluoride, it lacks the over-the-counter anticavity agent typically found in fluoride toothpastes. The formula also includes various flavors and essential oils, such as wintergreen, lemon, sage, spearmint, peppermint, basil, and clove. These ingredients are not inherently unsafe but are important to note for those with contact sensitivities. A 2019 laboratory report provided by the manufacturer indicates an RDA (Relative Dentin Abrasivity) of 86.83 for this whitening toothpaste. This suggests a relatively low abrasiveness, although it does not constitute a human clinical trial testing whitening effectiveness or sensitivity. No ADA Seal of Acceptance for Lumineux was found in the referenced ADA materials. Additionally, no product-specific FDA recalls or warning letters were identified in the FDA records reviewed. The product is packaged in standard tubes, but there is no available information regarding recycled content, recyclability, refill options, or disposal instructions.

What works

  • It does not contain any fluoride as an active ingredient for cavity prevention, and therefore, it does not comply with the U.S. standard for fluoride toothpaste used for daily cavity prevention.
  • No publicly available clinical trials demonstrating noticeable whitening effects from this particular toothpaste formula could be found.
  • The RDA report provides information on abrasivity; however, since it is supplied by the manufacturer, it does not assess whitening effectiveness, long-term enamel wear, or gum compatibility.
  • Mint, wintergreen, lemon, sage, basil, and clove oils might not be appropriate for individuals who experience reactions to flavor oils or who develop oral irritation from them.

What does not

  • A laboratory report specifies the whitening toothpaste used and indicates an RDA of 86.83, which reflects a relatively low level of abrasive cleaning.
  • The listed ingredients are comprehensive and verify that the product is free from peroxide, fluoride, and SLS.
  • The product is intended for regular brushing, with clear instructions from the manufacturer to use a pea-sized amount and brush for two minutes.
  • The manufacturer explains that whitening involves gradual removal of surface stains, making it a more realistic approach compared to immediate bleaching claims.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for adults seeking a fluoride-free, peroxide-free toothpaste to gradually address surface stains from coffee, tea, or similar beverages through regular brushing. It is ideal for those avoiding SLS, who prefer transparency in ingredient listing, and who want a three-pack instead of a single tube. The provided RDA value indicates it is appropriate for individuals cautious about abrasive whitening pastes, as long as they do not require fluoride for cavity prevention and are comfortable with mint and other essential oils.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for individuals who frequently experience cavities, active tooth decay, dry mouth, orthodontic concerns, exposed roots, or other high caries risks unless their dental professional has provided an alternative recommendation. It is also unsuitable for those requiring a toothpaste with a proven desensitizing ingredient, as none is included. If you have previously experienced oral burning, sores, or allergic reactions from mint, wintergreen, clove, citrus, or other essential oils, you should avoid using this product or discontinue use.

LIVFRESH Wintergreen Toothpaste Gel
#4

LIVFRESH Wintergreen Toothpaste Gel

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 70/100 LIVFRESH

Overview

The Wintergreen gel is explicitly free of fluoride, SLS, and is manufactured without abrasives, parabens, phthalates, triclosan, or antimicrobials. Its ingredients include edathamil and a gentle foaming surfactant, sodium cocoyl isethionate. While the lack of abrasive particles may benefit users concerned about enamel wear, there are no publicly available independent reports on its RDA, enamel wear, or pH levels for the current formula. The manufacturer recommends that individuals with extreme sensitivity consult a dentist before use or consider additional sensitivity-focused products. Although studies on closely related LivFresh gel formulations demonstrate positive effects on plaque control and gum health, they do not provide evidence of whitening benefits for this specific Wintergreen product. The FDA issued a warning letter on September 19, 2025, regarding compliance issues related to a separate pediatric clinical investigation involving Livionex Dental Gel, raising concerns about study validity and participant safety. However, this was not a recall of the retail product. Additionally, there is no verified information on recycled content, recyclability, refill options, or disposal programs for this tube.

What works

  • This fluoride-free product does not offer FDA-approved fluoride anticavity protection, which is a significant limitation for everyday cavity prevention.
  • There are no publicly available human whitening studies on this Wintergreen gel that have measured shade change or used colorimetry.
  • The concentration of edathamil is not shown on the current product page, although previous clinical studies indicate a concentration of 2.6% edathamil.
  • There was no publicly available report on RDA, pH, or finished-formula enamel wear, so the claim that the product is nonabrasive has not been independently verified.
  • A warning letter from the FDA in 2025 highlighted issues related to regulatory compliance and data integrity concerning a different pediatric clinical trial involving Livionex Dental Gel. This notice did not constitute a product recall.

What does not

  • Published randomized studies of LivFresh gel formulations demonstrated improvements in plaque, bleeding, inflammation, and periodontal health compared to comparator toothpastes in small sample groups.
  • The Wintergreen formula displays its ingredients on the label and explicitly states that it is free of fluoride.
  • The manufacturer indicates that the gel does not contain any abrasives, making it suitable for individuals looking for a low-abrasion cleaning option.
  • The manufacturer states that the product is free from SLS and utilizes sodium cocoyl isethionate as its foaming surfactant.

Who is it for

This gel is primarily suitable for adults who prefer a fluoride-free, SLS-free foaming toothpaste and are specifically interested in plaque control associated with edathamil gel formulations. It may also appeal to individuals who wish to avoid traditional abrasive toothpaste particles, provided they understand that an official RDA (Relative Dentin Abrasivity) value was not found. The small tube is designed for twice-daily brushing, with the manufacturer estimating it will last approximately four to six weeks when using a pea-sized amount. When used as a supplement to a dentist-recommended fluoride routine, it offers a clearer anticavity strategy compared to relying on it alone.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for individuals who need a daily toothpaste with proven fluoride anticavity protection, such as those experiencing active tooth decay, dry mouth, frequent cavities, orthodontic appliances, exposed roots, or other heightened caries risk factors. It is also not recommended for consumers primarily aiming for visibly whiter teeth, as no clinical trials on finished products for human whitening were found. People with severe tooth sensitivity, ongoing gum bleeding, loose teeth, swelling, or mouth sores should consult a dentist instead of relying solely on plaque-control marketing. Additionally, caregivers should not interpret the manufacturer’s all-ages claim as a substitute for professional pediatric dental advice.

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Strips 21 Treatments
#5

Lumineux Teeth Whitening Strips 21 Treatments

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 62/100 Lumineux

Overview

The formula is free of peroxide, and the manufacturer discloses eight ingredients, including coconut oil, Dead Sea salt, sage oil, and lemon peel oil. The retail packaging provides important usage guidelines: it should not be used by children under 12, swallowing should be avoided, application should not exceed 60 minutes, and usage should be discontinued if gum irritation, oral irritation, or sensitivity occurs. The manufacturer also recommends consulting a dentist for individuals with existing dental issues or ongoing sensitivity. A peer-reviewed controlled clinical study indicated that minor oral irritation and tooth sensitivity were the most common issues observed in both testing groups. The study did not find significant objective whitening effects from the Lumineux regimen. Currently, there are no active FDA recalls, safety alerts, or warning letters related to these strips in the U.S. sources reviewed. The product uses disposable strips, and the review found no evidence that the packaging contains recycled materials, includes a refill system, or provides clear disposal instructions in the U.S. The claims of being cruelty-free or recyclable have not been independently verified or certified based on the sources examined.

What works

  • This product does not contain fluoride, so it does not provide proven cavity protection and should not be used as a substitute for fluoride toothpaste.
  • A controlled, peer-reviewed study showed no significant objective whitening results after 14 days of using the Lumineux strip, toothpaste, and rinse regimen.
  • The manufacturer claims that the strips are clinically proven; however, the publicly available positive study is conducted by the manufacturer themselves and lacks independent validation, which is typically necessary to support a robust performance claim.
  • While the ingredient names are disclosed, the amounts of each ingredient, the active whitening concentration, the final product pH, and standardized enamel wear data are not publicly available.
  • Each treatment employs disposable adhesive strips, and there are no available product-specific U.S. recycling instructions or documentation indicating recycled content.

What does not

  • The formula is free from peroxide, and the manufacturer’s product page lists its eight ingredients.
  • The instructions specify a wearing time of 30 minutes, followed by a structured seven-day routine, then ongoing maintenance.
  • A retail label instructs users to stop use if they experience gum irritation, oral tissue irritation, or sensitivity.
  • An in vitro study of commercial strips demonstrated that the enamel surface morphology was maintained following treatment with Lumineux strips.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for adults seeking a peroxide-free teeth whitening strip, with a preference for a 30-minute at-home treatment. It is important to note that its primary purpose is to remove visible surface stains rather than achieve significant tooth bleaching. It may also be appropriate for individuals who have experienced discomfort with peroxide-based whitening products and are willing to discontinue use if irritation arises. The package includes 21 treatments, supporting an initial seven-day course followed by recommended maintenance as advised by the manufacturer. For effective cavity prevention, it should be used in conjunction with a fluoride toothpaste.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals looking for reliable, measurable whitening of natural teeth within a specific timeframe. The available peer-reviewed study did not demonstrate significant, objective improvements in tooth color with the Lumineux regimen tested. It should not be used as a substitute for fluoride toothpaste, especially for children under 12, or for those with active gum or oral tissue irritation. Individuals with crowns, veneers, fillings, bonding, braces, or uneven dental work should consult their dentist, as these restorations may not change color and uneven results may occur.

Lumineux Whitening Starter Pack Strips & Toothpaste
#6

Lumineux Whitening Starter Pack Strips & Toothpaste

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Lumineux

Overview

The strongest evidence pertains to the whitening strips rather than the toothpaste. A randomized, university-conducted study involving 90 healthy adults found that the peroxide-free Lumineux whitening strips led to significant color improvements compared to a placebo over a 14-day period. Participants also reported fewer instances of sensitivity, burning, and soreness compared to those using peroxide-based strips. The study was funded by Lumineux, which supplied the strips, but the authors reported no conflicts of interest or external funding. While this provides meaningful evidence, it does not guarantee safety or effectiveness for individuals outside the study group. Both the toothpaste and strips in the set contain several essential oils, including lemon, sage, mint, wintergreen, basil, and clove oils. These ingredients are explicitly listed, but their exact concentrations are not disclosed. The toothpaste is fluoride-free, so its whitening effect should not be confused with cavity prevention. There are no current FDA recalls, warning letters, or ADA Seal approvals for this product based on the sources reviewed. Additionally, there is no verified information regarding recycled content, refilling options, or U.S. recycling guidance for the packaging.

What works

  • The toothpaste contains no fluoride and does not include any other proven anticavity active ingredients or specific evidence for cavity prevention. Therefore, it should not be regarded as a cavity-protective toothpaste.
  • There is no available public data regarding the Relative Dentin Abrasivity (RDA) value, finished-product pH, ISO 11609 report, or enamel wear report for the toothpaste.
  • The clinical strip evidence is promising but limited, as the study only included healthy individuals aged 18 to 30 and excluded those with existing sensitivities, allergies to ingredients, or recent whitening treatments.
  • The product does not appear in the ADA Seal reference materials that were examined, and there are no publicly available third-party certifications or accredited laboratory reports for this set.
  • The company does not disclose information regarding recycled materials, recycling processes, refilling options, or disposal instructions for this strip-and-toothpaste package.

What does not

  • A randomized controlled trial involving 90 participants demonstrated that the Lumineux whitening strips significantly outperformed the placebo in whitening results after both seven and fourteen days.
  • In that study, only one out of 30 Lumineux-strip users experienced mild, temporary sensitivity, whereas the peroxide-strip group experienced greater sensitivity and had four participants withdraw.
  • The manufacturer provides comprehensive ingredient lists for both the strips and toothpaste, detailing all components by name, including the essential oils incorporated into each formulation.
  • The kit includes a specified initial seven-treatment program, with instructions to wear each paired treatment for 30 minutes.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults seeking a peroxide-free whitening treatment with a brief initial course, and who prefer a complete list of ingredients rather than an undisclosed whitening formula. It is especially suitable for individuals who have experienced sensitivity or discomfort with peroxide-based whitening products and are aware that the clinical studies primarily involve healthy young adults using the strips, not necessarily those with sensitive teeth. Additionally, it is suitable for households that already use a fluoride toothpaste or receive fluoride treatments from their dentist.

Who is it not for

This product is not recommended as the sole daily toothpaste for individuals requiring proven cavity prevention, such as those with frequent cavities, dry mouth, exposed roots, orthodontic appliances, or as advised by a dentist for fluoride use. People experiencing active tooth or gum pain, untreated decay, mouth sores, significant gum disease, restorations on visible front teeth, or known allergies to citrus, mint, clove, sage, wintergreen, or other flavor oils should consult a dental professional before using whitening products. Additionally, children and individuals who cannot reliably avoid swallowing the strips should choose a product with clearer age-specific instructions.

Designs for Health PerioBiotic Toothpaste Hydroxyapatite
#7

Designs for Health PerioBiotic Toothpaste Hydroxyapatite

Buyer Score 83/100 Integrity Score 71/100 Designs for Health

Overview

The manufacturer designates Designs for Health as the responsible distributor of the product and provides a Connecticut address along with a phone number for reporting adverse reactions. An complete ingredient list is available, including hydroxyapatite, hydrated silica, xylitol, spearmint oil, menthol, Lactobacillus paracasei, purified silver, and CoQ10. The manufacturer states that the formula is free from fluoride, sodium lauryl sulfate, gluten, dairy, soy, GMOs, parabens, synthetic colors, and synthetic sweeteners. However, the published information does not specify the concentrations of hydroxyapatite, silver, or the probiotic. Additionally, there are no publicly available reports on the finished product’s recommended daily allowance (RDA), enamel wear, pH, whitening effects, or any independent certification. The inclusion of spearmint oil and menthol is noteworthy because mint essential oils and menthol can potentially cause oral or skin irritation in some individuals. Furthermore, no product-specific FDA recalls, market withdrawals, or warning letters have been identified in U.S. FDA records. There is also no available information regarding recycling, refilling, recycled content, or disposal programs for the tubes or outer packaging.

What works

  • The percentage of hydroxyapatite, particle size, silver content, probiotic count, and available fluoride-equivalent anticavity measure are not publicly disclosed.
  • No publicly available verified report was found for the finished product RDA, enamel wear test results, pH test results, or ISO dentifrice test report.
  • There are no independent human trials specifically testing this particular hydroxyapatite formula, so claims of visible whitening and remineralization for the marketed product remain unproven.
  • Spearmint oil and menthol may cause contact irritation or allergic reactions in sensitive individuals, but the public guidelines do not include warnings about ingredient-specific sensitivities.
  • There was no ADA Seal, publicly recognized independent certification for finished products, or verified data regarding recycling, refilling, or recycled content found.

What does not

  • The manufacturer publicly discloses the full list of spearmint ingredients, usage instructions, the responsible distributor, and the contact number for reporting adverse reactions.
  • It is explicitly free of fluoride and does not contain sodium lauryl sulfate, which could be important for adults who intentionally avoid these ingredients.
  • Hydrated silica offers a traditional surface-cleaning method, whereas hydroxyapatite and xylitol are explicitly disclosed components rather than being concealed within a proprietary blend.
  • The instructions clearly specify a brushing duration of one minute and recommend avoiding rinsing afterward, providing a clearer indication of the product's intended use than a general oral-care claim.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults who specifically prefer a fluoride-free spearmint toothpaste and appreciate having a publicly available ingredients list that includes hydroxyapatite, xylitol, and a probiotic. It may also appeal to individuals avoiding sodium lauryl sulfate or those looking for a toothpaste with clear instructions to brush for one minute without rinsing afterward. The three 4-ounce tubes are suitable for households already accustomed to spearmint and menthol flavors. Its claims regarding oral health and a bright smile should be considered as those made by the manufacturer, rather than as proven whitening or cavity-prevention results.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for individuals who rely on established fluoride anticavity protection, such as those with active or recurrent cavities, a high risk of decay, dry mouth, orthodontic appliances, or who follow a dentist-recommended fluoride routine. It is also not suitable for buyers who need independently verified whitening results, a disclosed abrasivity level, or precise active ingredient concentrations for daily use. Consumers with a history of reactions to mint oils, menthol, coco-betaine, or toothpaste flavors should exercise caution. The product is labeled to keep out of children's reach and is intended for adult use only, not for supervised use by children.

Plus White Speed Whitening Gel
#8

Plus White Speed Whitening Gel

Buyer Score 80/100 Integrity Score 60/100 Plus White

Overview

Hydrogen peroxide serves as the bleaching agent, not as an anticavity fluoride treatment. The manufacturer's ingredient list includes hydrogen peroxide but does not specify its concentration, which is important since both peroxide concentration and contact duration can affect tooth sensitivity. The brand claims that the gel is non-abrasive and manufactured in the United States; however, no publicly available data on RDA (Relative Dentin Abrasivity), pH levels, enamel wear, or independent tolerability studies have been found to support claims of enamel safety or absence of sensitivity. Warnings on the packaging recommend against use by children under 12, as well as for individuals with gum disease, braces, cavities, receding or sore gums. Consumers are advised to stop use if experiencing burning, sensitivity, or tissue damage. No FDA recalls or warning letters specific to this product were identified in relevant databases. Additionally, there is no evidence of recycled-content, recycling, refill, or proper disposal programs. Consequently, the two small gel tubes do not appear to offer a documented environmental advantage in terms of waste reduction.

What works

  • This toothpaste does not contain fluoride and has no proven cavity-fighting benefits.
  • The peroxide concentration is not specified, making it difficult to evaluate the appropriate dosage, potential sensitivity risks, or anticipated outcomes.
  • The current ingredient list provided by the manufacturer conflicts with the information on recent retail labels, leading to confusion about the actual formula being sold.
  • The manufacturer claims that the product will not cause sensitivity; however, the packaging warns that burning, gum sensitivity, and tissue damage are potential issues that may necessitate discontinuing use.
  • No publicly available independent human clinical study, ADA Seal, or recent enamel wear report for the current formula was found.

What does not

  • Hydrogen peroxide is a well-known chemical bleaching agent, and it is included in the current manufacturer's formula.
  • The manufacturer offers a detailed five-minute routine for application, rinsing, and upkeep.
  • Published package warnings highlight significant conditions and symptoms that necessitate discontinuing or avoiding use.
  • The gel formulation does not contain any listed abrasive polishing agents; however, no independent enamel-wear testing has been identified.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adults with natural teeth and mild surface discoloration, who can perform a quick five-minute rinse-off treatment. It is suitable for those preferring a peroxide gel over a whitening toothpaste and who already have a compatible tray or are comfortable applying a thin layer using a toothbrush or cotton swab. It is best used after a dental checkup has confirmed the absence of cavities and gum issues. Users should also be aware that the product’s ingredient list does not disclose the peroxide concentration.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for children under 12, nor for individuals with gum disease, braces, cavities, receding or sore gums, or known allergies to its ingredients. It is also not recommended for those with tooth sensitivity, mouth sores, ongoing oral pain, untreated dental issues, or dental restorations such as crowns, veneers, or caps that they wish to whiten. People requiring fluoride for cavity prevention should use a dedicated anticavity toothpaste. Additionally, anyone uncomfortable with an unspecified peroxide concentration should opt for a product that clearly states its active ingredient levels.

SmartMouth Zinc Ion Whitening Toothpaste
#9

SmartMouth Zinc Ion Whitening Toothpaste

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 75/100 SmartMouth

Overview

The product contains disclosed fluoride as an active ingredient. The official label indicates that it contains 0.81% sodium monofluorophosphate, which provides 0.10% fluoride ion for cavity prevention. It recommends using the product twice daily and includes age-specific precautions regarding swallowing. The distributor is listed as Triumph Pharmaceuticals, and a consumer contact number is provided. However, there is no record of an ADA Seal of Acceptance, public whitening trial results, or publicly available data on RDA (relative dentin abrasivity), enamel wear, or pH level for this formula. The formulation includes ingredients such as hydrated silica, zinc chloride, sodium lauryl sulfate, titanium dioxide, colorants, preservatives, and flavoring. Alcohol is not listed among the ingredients. Sodium lauryl sulfate may cause contact irritation in some individuals. There are no identified FDA recalls or warning letters related to this product in available FDA records. Additionally, the packaging and material information does not specify recycled content, recyclability, refill options, or disposal guidelines, leaving the environmental impact of its conventional toothpaste tubes uncertain.

What works

  • There was no available public data on Relative Dentin Abrasivity values, enamel wear results, pH results, or accredited finished-product abrasion reports.
  • No publicly available independent human clinical trials have been conducted on visible whitening effects using this specific toothpaste formula.
  • The listing's claims about sensitive whitening are not supported by any disclosed active ingredients or clinical evidence specific to the product's sensitivity treatment.
  • Sodium lauryl sulfate is included in the formulation. The ADA recognizes it as an ingredient in toothpaste that may cause contact irritation or allergies in some individuals.

What does not

  • The official Drug Facts label specifies a standard anticavity fluoride active ingredient with a concentration of 0.10% fluoride ion.
  • The instructions, age recommendations for children, warning about accidental ingestion, complete list of inactive ingredients, manufacturer information, and consumer contact number are all accessible to the public.
  • The formula is free of alcohol, according to the official ingredient list and the manufacturer's product details.
  • The 6-ounce tube size, combined in a two-pack, offers a total of 12 ounces suitable for everyday household use.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for adults and supervised children aged 2 and older who seek a traditional fluoride toothpaste with clearly listed Drug Facts, a gentle mint flavor, and two full-size tubes ideal for shared bathrooms or repeated use. It is particularly ideal for consumers who prefer an alcohol-free formula while still containing a U.S. OTC-approved anticavity active ingredient at a specified fluoride-ion concentration. The 12-ounce pack is convenient for households accustomed to standard foaming toothpaste ingredients.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals with recurrent canker sores, oral burning, or known sensitivities to sodium lauryl sulfate, flavorings, dyes, benzoates, or other listed ingredients. Additionally, it is not a well-established option for those seeking clinically proven teeth whitening, low-abrasion toothpaste, or evidence-based sensitivity relief. Keep it out of reach of children under 6, as the label warns that swallowing more than the amount used for brushing may require medical attention or contacting Poison Control. Children under 2 should use this product only under the guidance of a dentist or doctor.

AquaSonic Complete Care Day & Night Toothpaste
#10

AquaSonic Complete Care Day & Night Toothpaste

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Aquasonic

Overview

AquaSonic has disclosed the main ingredients for both of their toothpaste formulas. The nighttime formula includes charcoal powder, while both pastes contain hydrated silica and calcium carbonate, which are commonly used for mechanical cleaning and polishing. The ingredient list also features peppermint oil and menthol, which may be relevant for individuals sensitive to flavors or fragrances. No specific human tolerability studies, RDA (Relative Dentin Abrasivity) values, pH levels, or enamel-wear reports for these products have been found. Currently, the ADA (American Dental Association) lists an AquaSonic toothbrush as having its Seal of Acceptance; however, the toothpaste itself was not identified as an ADA-accepted product. Additionally, no specific FDA recalls, warning letters, or safety alerts related to these products have been found in U.S. government databases. AquaSonic provides no verified information regarding recycled content, recyclability, refilling options, or take-back programs for the toothpaste tubes and their packaging, so environmental disposal benefits remain unconfirmed.

What works

  • The fluoride-free Day Paste is marketed as an anti-cavity product; however, its disclosed formula does not include an FDA-approved fluoride active ingredient for cavities.
  • No publicly available data on Relative Dentin Abrasivity (RDA) values, enamel wear reports, or certified finished-product test results was found. This is important because the nighttime toothpaste contains charcoal combined with polishing abrasives.
  • The claimed whitening effect of up to 10 shades has not been verified for this specific product. There are no published human clinical trials or independently verified colorimetric reports to support this claim.
  • The website mentions a remineralizing complex but does not specify the name or its concentration. Additionally, it directs users to a manual for complete instructions instead of including them on the product page.

What does not

  • The two-paste system provides users with separate day and night formulas within a compact 4.6-ounce set.
  • AquaSonic discloses the specific ingredients used in each formula instead of just providing a general blend description.
  • The product is specifically free of fluoride and peroxide, which could be important for adults who follow a fluoride-free routine advised by their healthcare provider or who choose to avoid peroxide.
  • The formulas utilize sodium lauroyl sarcosinate instead of sodium lauryl sulfate, although specific oral-tolerability testing for the product could not be found.

Who is it for

This product set is primarily ideal for adults seeking a fluoride-free, peroxide-free toothpaste system, with a preference for using separate pastes for daytime freshness and nighttime brushing. It may also appeal to households that prefer a compact two-tube format and appreciate knowing the ingredient list of each formula. The set is better suited for surface stain removal and cosmetic whitening rather than a clinically proven bleaching treatment. Individuals opting for fluoride-free dental care should consider their personal cavity risk and consult with their dental professional for guidance.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideally suited for individuals with active tooth decay, frequent cavities, dry mouth, orthodontic appliances, exposed roots, or other high-risk factors for cavities who require consistent daily cavity protection. Its fluoride-free formulation does not contain the fluoride active ingredient recognized by the FDA for standard cavity-fighting toothpastes. Additionally, it may not be the best choice for those with tooth sensitivity, enamel erosion, worn dentin, or extensive dental restorations, as specific abrasivity data is not publicly available, and the night paste contains ingredients like charcoal, silica, and calcium carbonate. People sensitive to peppermint, menthol, or other flavorings should carefully review the ingredient list before use.