When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Ev Charger

10 Best Ev Charger 2026

We compared the top Ev Charger products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: October 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger - Tesla Compatible

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger - Tesla Compatible

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Compatible with Tesla's NACS charging system.

  • Long 25-foot cord for flexible parking.

  • High 40 Amp output for faster charging.

★★★★★
9.6 / 10 Rating
6% off Check Price
3
Best Deal WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Smart app and RFID card control.

  • Long 25-foot durable charging cable.

  • Compatible with NEMA 14-50 plug.

★★★★★
9.2 / 10 Rating
9% off Check Price
4
WOLFBOX Portable EV Charger 40amp J1772

WOLFBOX Portable EV Charger 40amp J1772

  • Compatible with both Level 1 and 2 charging.

  • User-friendly interface with clear LCD screen.

  • Durable build for long-lasting performance.

★★★★★
8.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
5
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

  • High-speed charging up to 80 amps.

  • Integrated AI for smarter charging management.

  • Durable for indoor and outdoor installation.

★★★★★
8.7 / 10 Rating
18% off Check Price
6
Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp 240V

Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp 240V

  • 25-foot cable offers flexible charging options.

  • Fast charging at up to 40 amps.

  • Suitable for both indoor and outdoor use.

★★★★★
8.5 / 10 Rating
20% off + 5% Coupon Check Price
7
Lectron Level 1 EV Charger

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger

  • Convenient 16 ft extension for flexible charging.

  • ETL certified for tested safety standards.

  • Portable design for easy on-the-go use.

★★★★★
8.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
8
Schumacher SEV1600HW Level 2 EV Charger

Schumacher SEV1600HW Level 2 EV Charger

  • High-speed charging for quicker EV readiness.

  • Bluetooth/WiFi integration for convenient monitoring.

  • Durable for both indoor and outdoor use.

★★★★★
8 / 10 Rating
Check Price
9
ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

  • Adjustable charging speed up to 50 amps.

  • Compatible with all electric vehicle models.

  • Easy installation and user-friendly interface.

★★★★★
7.8 / 10 Rating
$83 Coupon Check Price
10
Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

  • High charging speed with up to 50Amp power.

  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth for easy connectivity.

  • Durable 25-foot flexible cable for convenience.

★★★★★
7.6 / 10 Rating
12% off Check Price

You Might Also Like

Overview

An electric vehicle (EV) charger, specifically known as electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), safely supplies alternating current (AC) power from a household circuit to a vehicle’s onboard charger. The EVSE manages the connection, communicates permissible current levels, detects certain faults, and halts or limits charging if a problem is identified by its safety systems. It does not independently determine the final charging speed of the vehicle; instead, the actual charging rate depends on factors such as the vehicle’s onboard AC charger, the EVSE’s current setting, supply voltage, circuit capacity, connector type, and sometimes temperature conditions.

The initial decision when purchasing involves selecting the connector and installation configuration. Equipment with a J1772 connector is compatible with vehicles featuring J1772 inlets, while NACS equipment fits vehicles with NACS inlets. Vehicles requiring the other connector typically need an approved adapter. The specific receptacle and branch circuit also influence the setup. For example, a charger set to 40 A generally requires a dedicated 50 A circuit; a 48 A charger may need a dedicated 60 A circuit; and a 50 A charger may require a dedicated 70 A circuit. An 80 A charger, as reviewed here, demands a dedicated 100 A circuit, 3 AWG copper conductors, grounding, and a hardwired installation. These assumptions are not interchangeable; the final configuration should be confirmed by consulting the manufacturer’s nameplate, installation manual, local authorities, and a professional electrician.

Top Ev Charger

Power specifications should be considered carefully. At 240 V, a 40 A charger delivers 9.6 kW, 48 A provides 11.52 kW, 50 A supplies 12 kW, and 80 A offers 19.2 kW. However, the vehicle’s acceptance may be lower. Therefore, "up to" charging speeds are not guaranteed universally. Adjustable current settings are only advantageous if they align with the circuit and vehicle capabilities. Using a NEMA 14-50 plug does not automatically make an outlet suitable; improper use of adapters, dryer outlets, extension cords, worn receptacles, or standard household outlets can pose overheating risks if the current is not properly limited.

For safety assurance, verify that the entire charger (not just its cable or plug) is listed under ANSI/UL 2594 and, if relevant, ANSI/UL 2231-1 and -2. The certification body should be identifiable through recognized testing laboratories such as UL Product iQ, Intertek’s ETL, or CSA Group databases. A seller’s claims of certifications like “UL,” “ETL,” “CSA,” “CE,” or “FCC” are not substitutes for an actual, traceable certification record. Additionally, review the installation manual for correct breaker size, wiring, receptacle, grounding, continuous-load capacity, and hardwiring instructions.

Fault protection features should be documented explicitly rather than assumed from a feature list. Essential safety features include ground-fault or leakage detection, responses to overcurrent and overvoltage, overtemperature sensors, relay and control-pilot fault handling, and automatic shutdown capabilities. Outdoor-rated equipment should specify enclosure ratings (such as IP66, NEMA 4, NEMA 4X, or Type 4), temperature range, mounting limits, and cable and connector durability—these ratings are not interchangeable without knowing the specifics of what they cover.

Finally, verify traceability for recalls, warranty and support contacts, model and serial numbers, app privacy policies and update procedures, and the product’s expected standby power consumption and service lifespan. EPA ENERGY STAR ratings can provide data on the power consumption when no vehicle is connected; available products range from approximately 1.11 W to 6.31 W. Important cautions include verifying continuous-load installation with a qualified electrician, understanding that certification for specific models may be less clear than the listing suggests, that adapters for NACS/J1772 are often needed, and that outdoor ratings and thermal protections may be manufacturer claims. Additionally, products connected via apps might collect data related to location, vehicle, network, account, or charging activities. Do not rely on an undersized, shared, damaged, or unverified circuit, and avoid assuming that using a plug-in format eliminates the need for electrical assessment.

FAQ

Q: What are the different types of electric vehicle chargers available?

A: Electric vehicle chargers are primarily classified into three types: Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. Level 1 chargers use standard 120-volt outlets and are the slowest option. Level 2 chargers operate on 240-volt outlets and provide faster charging. Level 3 chargers, also known as DC fast chargers, are the quickest and are typically accessible at public charging stations.

Q: How long does it typically take to charge an electric vehicle using an EV charger?

A: Charging duration varies based on the charger type and the vehicle's battery capacity. A Level 1 charger can take up to 20 hours for a full charge, while a Level 2 charger usually requires 4 to 8 hours. Level 3 chargers can deliver up to 80% charge in approximately 30 minutes.

Q: Is it possible to install an EV charger at my residence?

A: Yes, installing an EV charger at home is feasible provided you have a dedicated circuit and a compatible outlet. It is advisable to hire a licensed electrician to perform the installation to ensure safety and proper setup.

Q: What is the estimated cost to install a home EV charging station?

A: The cost varies depending on the type of charger and installation complexity. Typically, installing a Level 2 charger ranges from $500 to $2,000. Additional expenses may include permits, equipment, and labor fees.

Q: Where can I find public electric vehicle charging stations?

A: Public EV charging stations are available at locations such as shopping malls, parking facilities, and along highways. You can also use online maps and mobile apps to locate nearby charging stations. Notable networks include ChargePoint, EVgo, and Electrify America.

Integrity

These topics differentiate a charger that simply markets a current and connector from one that provides verified information regarding electrical safety, installation compatibility, environmental impact, and accountability. Scores are relative to the products offered: a high score indicates more thoroughly documented or reviewed performance in that area, whereas a low score highlights significant evidence gaps or usage restrictions.

HHealth & Safety

Electrical Injury and Fire Safety

This assessment evaluates whether the Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) is designed and documented to prevent shock, ground-faults, overheating, and fire hazards. This is important because charging involves a continuous, high-current load. Among the products evaluated, scores range from 48 to 95. Higher-scoring units have more comprehensive fault safety measures and installation controls documented, while lower-scoring units have greater uncertainties regarding circuit loading or overall product protection.

Suitable and secure for your home wiring system

This assesses whether the amperage, breaker, wiring, plug, receptacle, and hardwiring instructions align with continuous-load requirements. It’s important because a charger may be electrically correct but still unsafe if used on an inappropriate branch circuit. High-rated products offer clear, practical guidance on current and circuit compatibility, such as recommending 40 A on a 50 A circuit. In contrast, low-rated products include unclear or conflicting instructions related to 40 A, 120 V, plug-in, or receptacle specifications.

Safety tips for plugs, outlets, and adapters

This measurement assesses whether the provided plug and adapters are properly current-limited and compatible with the outlet. It is important because plugs and receptacles are common sources of heat during extended charging periods. The scores range from 45 to 94. Systems that are hardwired or clearly matched tend to score higher, effectively avoiding or better managing this risk. Conversely, lower-scoring products do not clearly specify safe current limits for household adapters or outlet setups.

Overheat Detection and Fault Shutdown

This measurement records sensing capabilities, fault indications, and automatic shutdown functions at various points such as the plug, receptacle, cable, connector, relays, and control box. Scores in the provided dataset can be as high as 91, primarily when fault response and thermal protection details are included. Lower scores, ranging from approximately 70 to 75, typically indicate that the manufacturer’s claims lack independent response data, have unclear sensor placement, or contain incomplete fault-code documentation. The presence of a feature name alone does not determine how quickly the protection system responds.

Durability of outdoor weather resistance and cables

This assessment determines whether the enclosure, cable, connector, strain relief, and temperature specifications are appropriate for indoor or outdoor applications. It is important because exposure to water, UV radiation, impacts, cold temperatures, and repeated handling can pose electrical hazards. The scores range from 52 to 87, with higher scores backed by certifications like Type 4 or specified operating ranges. Lower scores indicate conflicting IP ratings or reported stiffness of cables in cold weather conditions.

Compatibility of Vehicle Connectors

This assessment evaluates whether the compatibility of the connector and charging control is accurately described for the intended vehicle. It's important because J1772 and NACS are different types of vehicle inlets, and using an adapter introduces an additional component that must be properly rated. The scores provided range from 78 to 94. Products with higher scores clearly specify the required connector and adapter, while lower scores are often linked to vague or potentially misleading universal-fit language.

Tracking recall histories and providing responsible support

This assesses whether the manufacturer, precise model, serial details, warranty information, support contacts, and recall procedures are clearly presented. It is important because a buyer must be able to identify a faulty charger and seek a resolution. The scores range from 68 to 88. Products with higher scores provide transparent support and warranty channels, while those with lower scores often lack clear identification, use inconsistent warranty terms, or show limited evidence of reliable long-term support.

EEcology

Energy Consumption, Durability, and Electronic Waste

This assessment covers standby energy consumption, durability, repairability, availability of replacement parts, and end-of-life management. It is important because a connected charger can draw electricity even when not in use and may eventually contribute to electronic waste. The scores range from 69 to 90. Products with higher scores typically have ENERGY STAR certification and include data on measured power consumption when idle or robust service documentation. Conversely, lower-scoring products may lack standby power measurements, information about spare parts, repair options, or take-back programs.

EEvidence

Independently certified U.S. safety approval

This assesses whether the specific charger—rather than just a component, family, or seller claim—is officially listed by an OSHA-recognized laboratory according to the relevant U.S. EVSE standard. Scores range from 70 to 98. The highest scores are awarded when the product is explicitly identified in an Intertek ETL or CSA record with the applicable standard specified. Lower scores indicate certificates at the family level, mismatched retail designations, or the absence of a public, exact-product listing.

Transparent claims about charging speed and features

This assessment evaluates the technical feasibility and compliance of various features such as current (kilowatts), speed (miles per hour), scheduling, load management, app functionalities, and weather-related claims based on vehicle and circuit limitations. Scores range from 38 to 88 points. Products with higher scores have ratings supported by ENERGY STAR certification or detailed manuals, indicating reliability. In contrast, lower-scoring products often contain incorrect units, unsupported speed assertions, conflicting descriptions regarding 40/48 A ratings, or vague claims related to two-vehicle operation and weather conditions.

Security and Privacy of Smart Apps

This evaluates whether connected devices have documented account controls, privacy practices, firmware updates, and security support, or if such features are missing when not needed. Scores range from 68 to 88. Products with higher scores typically either do not connect to the cloud or provide clear information about controls and updates. In contrast, lower-scoring devices tend to collect extensive location, vehicle, network, or account data without clearly outlining their security support lifespan or vulnerability management processes.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger 48 Amp
#1 - Best Overall

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger 48 Amp

Buyer Score 99/100 Integrity Score 83/100 ‎EVIQO

Overview

The key safety consideration is the installation process. Since 48A represents a continuous load, EVIQO recommends hardwiring the unit to a dedicated 60A circuit using specified copper conductors. The fault guide details automatic safety responses for issues such as internal over-temperature, over-current, earth-ground faults, leakage, relay faults, and charging-control faults. These documented protections are significant; however, the official safety listing record was not independently verified from Intertek’s public database. The EPA ENERGY STAR program independently certifies the 48A model for both U.S. and Canadian markets. It consumes only 2.43W of power in standby mode, which helps reduce electricity usage when not in use. The manufacturer claims the unit offers IP66 and NEMA 4 outdoor protection, but no independent testing reports were available. No CPSC recalls were identified during this review. EVIQO provides support and warranty information, although there is inconsistency between the two-year warranty page and the current three-year product page. The company does not clearly disclose details about repair parts, take-back programs, or end-of-life recycling options.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the product holds ETL listing and UL certification; however, during this review, no certification record for the specific model was found in Intertek's public database.
  • The claims of IP66 and NEMA 4 for outdoor use are provided by the manufacturer. However, no independent enclosure test report specifically for this product has been identified.
  • The application requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection for its connected features. Its publicly available privacy notices specify that it collects contact information, usage data, diagnostic details, and other related data.
  • The warranty information provided is inconsistent. The product pages specify a three-year warranty, whereas the site's terms indicate a duration of 24 months.
  • A 48A charging setting is only safe when used on a properly sized dedicated circuit. It is not suitable for an existing branch circuit with lower capacity.

What does not

  • EPA ENERGY STAR independently lists the 48A model as having a power output of 11.52 kW, equipped with a 25-foot charging cable and a no-vehicle power consumption of 2.43W.
  • The instructions for the hardwired installation specify pairing a 48A continuous output with a dedicated 60A circuit using the designated copper conductors.
  • The documented fault guide covers responses to issues such as ground faults, over-current conditions, control-pilot faults, relay faults, leakage faults, and internal over-temperature faults.
  • The J1772 is the standard AC charging connector used by many electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids in North America. Tesla vehicles require a compatible J1772-to-NACS adapter for charging.
  • EVIQO offers accessible support options, a publicly available installation guide, comprehensive app documentation, and clearly communicated remote firmware update procedures.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of J1772-compatible electric vehicles or plug-in hybrids who have a dedicated 240V, 60A circuit installed professionally and seek a permanent, high-performance home charging solution. It is especially suitable when a 25-foot cable is required to reach the vehicle’s inlet and for applications involving overnight charging schedules or energy consumption monitoring. Additionally, it can be installed on an exterior wall or in a carport, provided the installer follows the manufacturer’s guidelines for mounting, conduit setup, temperature, and weather exposure. Please note that the charging speed will still depend on the vehicle’s onboard AC charger capabilities.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for renters or households that need a portable plug-in charger, nor for those without the capacity to support a dedicated 60A circuit. It is also not suitable for vehicles with a native NACS inlet unless the owner has a compatible J1772-to-NACS adapter and has verified vehicle compatibility. Buyers who require a precisely matched, independently verifiable NRTL certification before installation should first request documentation from EVIQO or Intertek. Additionally, it is not suitable for users who are unwilling to create an app account or connect a Wi-Fi-enabled device to their home network.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger - Tesla Compatible
#2 - Popular

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger - Tesla Compatible

Buyer Score 96/100 Integrity Score 79/100 ‎EVIQO

Overview

The primary safety advantage is the documented installation compatibility. The manufacturer recommends using a dedicated 50 A breaker for 40 A charging and provides adjustable settings for 16 A and 32 A circuits to match appropriate electrical needs. The product documentation also details protections against ground faults, surges, overcurrent, overtemperature, and charging-control faults. Its outdoor IP66 and NEMA 4 ratings are only beneficial when proper mounting, cable management, and compliance with local electrical codes are observed. EPA ENERGY STAR independently certifies the specific NACS plug-in charger. It has a recorded idle power consumption of 2.36 W, which reduces electricity use during standby compared to chargers that remain largely powered on between charging sessions. However, no information was found regarding public repair parts or take-back programs. Additionally, there is a discrepancy in the warranty period: the product page states a three-year warranty, while the manufacturer's terms list only 24 months. No recalls related to EVIQO were found in the searched CPSC records.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the product has UL and ETL certification; however, a specific safety listing record for the exact product could not be independently found in the publicly available NRTL directories.
  • The IP66 and NEMA 4 ratings for outdoor use are provided by the manufacturer. However, there is no independent certification record available to verify these enclosure claims.
  • There is a discrepancy in the warranty information provided. The product page indicates a three-year warranty, whereas the current terms specify a 24-month warranty for residential products.
  • Wi-Fi capabilities necessitate a 2.4 GHz internet connection. The privacy policy outlines overall security measures but does not specify a timeline for security updates or describe a detailed process for disclosing vulnerabilities publicly.
  • The 38 miles-per-hour figure is provided by the manufacturer and can vary significantly depending on the vehicle's onboard charger, battery health, and electrical power supply.

What does not

  • EPA ENERGY STAR recognizes this specific NACS plug-in product as a Level 2 charger operating at 240 V and 40 A, delivering 9.6 kW, equipped with a 25-foot output cable.
  • The installation instructions specify that a 40 A continuous charging connection should be connected to a dedicated 50 A circuit and include lower-output settings for circuits rated at 20 A and 40 A.
  • Manufacturer documentation details integrated protections for ground faults, overvoltage, undervoltage, surges, overcurrent, overheating, and control pilot faults.
  • The NACS connector is designed for Tesla vehicles and other vehicles that utilize the NACS charging standard. For J1772 vehicles, a NACS-to-J1772 adapter is necessary.
  • The ENERGY STAR testing indicates a low no-vehicle input power of 2.36 W.

Who is it for

This product is designed for Tesla or other NACS-compatible vehicles in households that already have, or plan to install, a dedicated 240 V NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 50 A circuit. It is ideal for overnight home charging, delivering up to 40 A or approximately 9.6 kW, which aligns with the vehicle's onboard charging capacity. The extended cable is helpful when the parking spot is offset from the power outlet. Additionally, it is suitable for users who want features such as scheduling and charging cost tracking, and who are comfortable connecting the charger to a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.

Who is it not for

It is not suitable for use with a household that has an older, damaged, loose, shared, or improperly wired 14-50 receptacle, or with a circuit rated below 50 amps when operating at 40 amps. Such conditions necessitate an electrical assessment and may require either a lower current setting or a different installation. Additionally, this product does not directly fit J1772 vehicles unless the owner separately acquires a compatible NACS-to-J1772 adapter. Buyers who require an official, publicly verifiable UL or ETL safety certification or a clearly documented three-year written warranty should request additional documentation before trusting these claims.

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50
#3 - Best Deal

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 50 Amp WE50

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 71/100 WOLFBOX

Overview

The primary safety advantage is that the manufacturer provides documentation of selectable current levels and a circuit-sizing table. They also claim to include protections against leakage current, overcurrent, short circuits, grounding issues, over-temperature, and surges, along with a NEMA 4X enclosure suitable for both indoor and outdoor installation. However, these are manufacturer claims and have not been independently verified as part of a complete safety certification for the product. It is also noted that no recalls for the WOLFBOX EV charger have been found in the CPSC recall database during this review. Regarding energy use, there is some independent data, with a noteworthy caveat. The EPA's ENERGY STAR database lists the WOLFBOX E50 as consuming 3.7 W when not connected to a vehicle and 8.52 W in idle mode, and describes it as a 50 A, 240 V charger with a 25-foot cable. However, this record does not explicitly associate the E50 model name with the WE50 product under review. WOLFBOX offers a three-year manufacturer warranty, but there is no publicly available information on parts, repairs, or take-back programs.

What works

  • During this review, we were unable to independently verify the claimed CSA certification for this specific product in any public certification registry.
  • The product information is inconsistent. One section describes a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet, while another installation table restricts the 50 A output to hardwired applications on circuits of 70 A or higher.
  • Charging speed claims differ among product materials, with ratings of 38, 45, and 48 miles per hour. The actual charging speed also depends on the vehicle's onboard charger and circuit setup.
  • The smart app includes a public privacy policy and a history of app store updates. However, there is no information available regarding a model-specific security support lifecycle or a vulnerability disclosure process.
  • There were no replacement parts, repair services, or end-of-life take-back programs available.

What does not

  • The installation table indicates that a 40 A plug-in charger can be used on a 50 A circuit, while a 50 A hardwired charger requires a circuit of at least 70 A or greater.
  • It is explicitly mentioned that J1772 compatibility is supported, and a separate NACS adapter is required for Tesla vehicles.
  • The manufacturer offers a 25-foot cable, adjustable current settings, RFID access, and scheduled charging management.
  • WOLFBOX has announced a support phone number for the U.S., an EV-specific contact channel, a privacy policy, and a warranty registration process.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of EVs or plug-in hybrids equipped with a J1772 connector, provided a licensed electrician verifies a dedicated 240 V circuit and configures the charger to match the circuit's continuous load capacity. It is particularly useful when a 25-foot cable is required to reach the vehicle parking spot, and when household members prefer RFID access or scheduled charging. Customers interested in the 50 A setting must opt for a hardwired installation on a properly rated 70 A or larger circuit, in accordance with local electrical codes.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for buyers who intend to use a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet to access the full 50 A capacity. The installation guidelines specify that plug-in operation is limited to 40 A on a 50 A circuit, and achieving maximum output requires a professionally installed, hardwired circuit. Additionally, it may not be suitable for households with unreliable Wi-Fi, especially if app-based scheduling is desired. Privacy-conscious users who prefer not to have a connected account collecting device data, usage information, or location details might also find it less appropriate. Tesla owners will need a compatible adapter.

WOLFBOX Portable EV Charger 40amp J1772
#4

WOLFBOX Portable EV Charger 40amp J1772

Buyer Score 89/100 Integrity Score 70/100 ‎WOLFBOX

Overview

The main safety concern pertains to the electrical installation. According to the National Electrical Code, EV charging is considered a continuous load, meaning a 40A charging setting typically requires a dedicated circuit rated for continuous operation. Although the product's adjustable current feature can help match the output to an appropriate circuit, it does not ensure the safety of an undersized circuit or an aging receptacle. The product is listed as having ETL certification, error indication, IP66 protection, and a three-year warranty. However, there is no publicly available certification record or detailed safety manual specific to this model. Additionally, no product-specific CPSC recalls or safety warnings were found in federal recall or unsafe-product databases. This does not necessarily mean none exist. The available environmental documentation is limited. While WOLFBOX has an ENERGY STAR certification for a different model (E40), this does not apply to the portable PE40 and does not provide information about its standby energy consumption. No verified sources for replacement parts, repair services, recycling options, or manufacturer take-back programs for this product were identified.

What works

  • The ETL claim could not be independently verified against an official Intertek record that precisely details the specific product and its safety standards and listing scope.
  • Setting the charger to 40A is not suitable for a standard household outlet. EV charging involves a continuous load, and delivering the full output requires a properly installed dedicated circuit.
  • The product details are inconsistent regarding the included adapters. The title mentions NEMA 5-15 and 14-50, but the description also references a NEMA 6-20 adapter and states it can be used with any 110V to 240V outlet.
  • The IP66 and NEMA 4 ratings are claims made by the manufacturer; however, there is no specific weather testing data, temperature range information, or outdoor installation manual available for the product.
  • There is no record of an exact-product ENERGY STAR certification, repair parts program, take-back program, or documented end-of-life plan.

What does not

  • The portable dual-voltage design supports both 120V and 240V charging, allowing for lower-power and higher-power charging options, according to the manufacturer.
  • According to the manufacturer, a 25-foot cable helps minimize strain caused by inconvenient parking positions.
  • The J1772 vehicle connector is the standard AC connector used in North America for many vehicles that are not compatible with the NACS standard.
  • Selectable current settings are beneficial when the existing circuit cannot handle the product’s maximum rated output, as specified by the manufacturer.

Who is it for

This product is designed for owners of J1772-compatible vehicles who require a portable charging cable for occasional 120V charging and regular charging from an existing dedicated 240V outlet. It is particularly useful in situations where parking locations vary or installing a fixed wall unit is impractical, as the cable length is specified by the manufacturer to be 25 feet and the current is adjustable. Operating at a full 40A rating is suitable only for homes where the circuit, receptacle, wiring, service capacity, and local regulations have been verified to support continuous EV charging.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for use with a 40A connection from a standard household outlet, extension cord, worn receptacle, or a circuit that shares loads with other devices. It is also not suitable for buyers who need verifiable, independent proof that the product complies with relevant U.S. EVSE and personnel-protection standards prior to installation. Owners of NACS-only vehicles must use an adapter compatible with their vehicle. For outdoor installations exposed to the elements, the plug, receptacle, mounting setup, and cable routing must be protected beyond the enclosure rating claimed for the control unit.

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger
#5

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 85/100 Autel

Overview

Electrical safety heavily depends on proper installation. Autel's manual recommends that a licensed electrician perform the installation, ensuring permanent grounding, a dedicated circuit, and sizing the circuit at 125% of continuous load. This typically requires a 100-amp breaker and appropriately rated copper wiring at full output. The product is designed to be hardwired, which reduces risks related to outlet and adapter overheating. Autel provides documentation on ground-fault detection, overtemperature response, surge protection, and fault troubleshooting. Its claims regarding NEMA 4X and IK10 ratings, temperature range, and high-temperature derating are based on manufacturer specifications and have not been independently verified in this review. EPA ENERGY STAR records include this configuration, which is relevant for energy controls in no-vehicle mode. The manufacturer offers a five-year warranty for the main charger and internal components, but only a one-year warranty for the cable and connector, which are common wear parts. The product supports over-the-air software updates, and using it in connected mode involves cloud data collection. Searches of CPSC recall and SaferProducts resources did not reveal any product-specific recalls or public safety notices related to this item during this review.

What works

  • The manufacturer claims compliance with UL 2594 and UL 2231 personnel-protection standards. However, a specific public record of an NRTL certification for this particular configuration could not be readily confirmed during this review.
  • Charging at 80 amps requires considerable electrical capacity, including a dedicated 100-amp circuit. Many homes may need upgrades to their panels, service, or wiring to support this.
  • The connector provided is J1772, not NACS. Vehicles with Tesla or other NACS inlets require an approved vehicle adapter where necessary.
  • The app and cloud functionalities increase the exposure to data collection and remote access. Autel provides documentation on firmware updates and cloud security measures, but they do not specify a defined security support period for their products.
  • The five-year warranty covers the charger body, backplate, and internal components. The cable and connector are covered for one year.

What does not

  • An independent, utility-reviewed list from EPRI designates this setup as a 19.2 kW, single-port AC charger.
  • Hardwired power input eliminates the risk of overheating in the attachment plug, receptacle, and outlet adapter.
  • The installation manual details specific full-output requirements, such as a 100-amp breaker, 3 AWG copper conductors, proper grounding, and the use of a dedicated circuit for installation.
  • EPA ENERGY STAR certification encompasses the product configuration, ensuring it meets lower energy consumption standards when no vehicle mode is active.
  • Autel records include features such as ground-fault interruption, temperature fault indication, adjustable current settings, and an enclosure rated NEMA 4X and IK10.

Who is it for

This product is suitable for owners of J1772 electric vehicles or plug-in hybrids that can handle high-level 2 current. It is recommended that a licensed electrician confirms the presence of a dedicated 100-amp circuit, along with adequate panel and service capacity. The product is also ideal for outdoor wall or pedestal installations, where a weather-resistant enclosure, long cable, adjustable current settings, and access to utility time-of-use schedules are beneficial. Consumers should keep in mind that the actual charging speed depends on the vehicle's onboard charger, not just the charging station itself.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for homes with only a 40, 50, or 60 amp EV circuit unless it has been permanently set to a lower, compatible current by a qualified installer. It is also not appropriate for renters or users who need plug-in portability, as it is hardwired. Customers with a NACS-inlet vehicle who do not possess an approved J1772 adapter should opt for a native compatible connection instead. Households that prefer not to use a connected app or cloud account should be aware that this will limit smart features and should review Autel’s data practices beforehand.

Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp 240V
#6

Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp 240V

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 85/100 Autel

Overview

The primary health and safety concern relates to installation. EV charging operates continuously for several hours under constant load, and Autel's guidelines recommend using a branch circuit rated at 125% of the load. At the maximum 40 A setting, this typically requires a properly installed 50 A circuit and receptacle. The product features a J1772 connector, and Autel claims the enclosure is rated NEMA 4X, offering electrical protections such as overcurrent, overvoltage, and surge safeguards. Additionally, the company states that their residential MaxiChargers are UL and CSA certified, though this review did not find a publicly available certification record for the specific plug-in model. Regarding energy consumption, the product is ENERGY STAR certified. According to EPA data, it consumes 4.98 W in no-vehicle mode and 6.86 W when idle, which helps limit its always-on power use within program limits. The device comes with a three-year limited warranty, providing support during that period. However, publicly available information on repair parts, take-back programs, or end-of-life recycling options was not found. The optional smart features offer data collection and cloud connectivity, which could expose user data. The app store indicates that data transmitted is encrypted and that users can request data deletion.

What works

  • The manufacturer's claim of UL and CSA safety certification could not be verified against a public certification directory for this specific plug-in model.
  • A full 40 A output requires a properly rated 50 A branch circuit and a high-quality NEMA 14-50 receptacle; using an extension cord or an outlet adapter is not suitable.
  • The weather rating, protection features, and cold-weather cable performance are provided by the manufacturer and have not been independently tested or verified in the sources examined.
  • The connected app gathers account and device data, and there is no available information regarding a model-specific public security support lifetime or vulnerability disclosure program.

What does not

  • The specific product is separately listed by EPA ENERGY STAR with a rating of 40 A and 9.6 kW.
  • The manual considers EV charging as a continuous load and recommends sizing the circuit at 125 percent of the chosen output capacity.
  • Autel indicates that the product features a NEMA 4X enclosure and is designed to operate within a temperature range of -40 to 131 °F, suitable for outdoor environments.
  • The SAE J1772 connector is the standard North American AC charging interface used for non-NACS vehicles and plug-in hybrids.

Who is it for

This device is ideal for homeowners with a approved 240 V, 50 A NEMA 14-50 circuit, a reliable EV-compatible outlet, and a vehicle equipped with a J1772 inlet. It is also suitable when a 25-foot cable is needed to access a driveway or garage parking area. The adjustable current setting, ranging from 6 to 40 A, allows for lower charging rates if required by the vehicle, circuit, or electrical service considerations. Additionally, buyers who prioritize precise standby-power data and prefer to schedule charging during off-peak (time-of-use) periods will find independent support for these uses.

Who is it not for

This device is not suitable for households that only have a dryer outlet, an old or unknown receptacle, a 40 A branch circuit designed for continuous 40 A charging, or plans to use extension cords or outlet adapters. It also does not connect directly to a NACS vehicle without a proper J1772 adapter compatible with the vehicle. Renters and buyers looking for a portable travel charger should consider its wall-mount design and fixed NEMA 14-50 input. Users concerned about privacy who do not require scheduling or remote monitoring features may prefer to avoid connecting the charger to Wi-Fi.

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger
#7

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger

Buyer Score 83/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Lectron

Overview

The most significant independently verified environmental feature is efficiency. According to EPA ENERGY STAR, this non-connected product consumes 1.11 W when no vehicle is connected, 1.16 W in partial-on mode, and has an idle input power of 2.9 W. The same record confirms it operates on a 120 V input, has a 15 A rated output on its label, a maximum output of 1.8 kW, a 16-foot cord, and a 12 AWG output cable. Lectron states that the product is ETL-certified, weather-resistant with an IP65 rating, and protected against overvoltage, overcurrent, and short circuits. Its manual includes indications for ground-fault, leakage, high-temperature, and relay-related issues. While these safety features are important, the specific safety listing certificate scope could not be independently verified. Additionally, no product-specific CPSC recall was found during the search. The primary electrical safety concern is its continuous 15-amp draw combined with standard outlet guidance, making circuit capacity and receptacle condition more critical than convenience features.

What works

  • The manual specifies a continuous current of 15 amps, yet the product listing indicates compatibility with any standard NEMA 5-15 outlet. However, this guidance does not clarify the necessity for a circuit rated at 125 percent of the continuous load.
  • The ETL certification and the claimed UL 2594 and UL 2231 certifications could not be verified for this specific product in the publicly accessible certification records of the issuing laboratory.
  • The manufacturer claims IP65 weather resistance, along with protection against overvoltage, overcurrent, and short circuits. However, the available documentation lacks test reports and detailed specifications regarding the enclosure, plug temperature, or fault codes.
  • The claim that the product can travel 40 to 50 miles overnight is highly dependent on the vehicle and driving conditions. This statement is presented more generally than the subsequent qualification of 3 to 5 miles per hour.

What does not

  • EPA ENERGY STAR independently reports an input power of 1.11 W in no-vehicle mode for this specific non-connected product.
  • The verified ENERGY STAR documentation indicates a 16-foot long, 12 AWG output cable, offering adequate reach along with a fairly substantial conductor thickness.
  • The J1772 connector is the standard interface used for electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids that are equipped with J1772 charging ports.
  • The manufacturer’s manual details LED indicators for various faults, including ground faults, leakage, current issues, short circuits, voltage problems, and high temperature.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for J1772 vehicle owners seeking a portable, standalone Level 1 charging cable with a 16-foot length. It requires access to a dedicated 120-volt circuit rated for a continuous 15-amp EV load, confirmed by a qualified electrician. It is also suitable for drivers who favor straightforward on-device status indicators over app or cloud-based monitoring. Before use, ensure the vehicle’s charging settings are checked so that the requested current does not surpass the safe continuous capacity of the circuit.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for households intending to connect to an unfamiliar, shared, worn, or standard 15-amp garage or outdoor outlet for unattended overnight charging. A standard NEMA 5-15 outlet alone does not guarantee that the circuit, breaker, wiring, and receptacle are rated and maintained to support a continuous 15-amp load. Additionally, it is not intended for Tesla or NACS vehicles unless a compatible vehicle-side adapter is used separately, nor for users who require an independently verifiable safety listing before relying on a portable EV supply device.

Schumacher SEV1600HW Level 2 EV Charger
#8

Schumacher SEV1600HW Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 80/100 Integrity Score 80/100 Schumacher Electric

Overview

The primary evidence for electrical safety is the comprehensive installation and fault documentation. Schumacher mandates licensed installation, specifies the use of 6 AWG, 90°C copper wiring, and correlates the permitted charging current to a dedicated breaker size. The safety guide details protections against leakage, ground faults, relay issues, voltage irregularities, overcurrent, and overtemperature conditions, indicated through specific LED patterns. While these documented protections are valuable, this review was unable to independently verify a complete product safety listing from a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) for this specific charger via publicly accessible certification records. ENERGY STAR independently certifies this exact charger and reports a power consumption of 2.14 W in no-vehicle mode, which is below its 3.6 W limit, thereby reducing standby energy use. Schumacher offers a three-year limited warranty, along with registration, information on replacement parts, and a U.S. support address. The associated mobile app collects account contact information, and Google Play shows that data is encrypted during transmission and provides an option to request data deletion. However, there was no publicly available information regarding security updates or firmware lifecycle policies.

What works

  • No publicly accessible certification record from UL, ETL, CSA, MET, or TÜV for this specific product could be found. Safety statements provided by retailers or catalogs do not replace an official certification record.
  • A 50 A setting requires a dedicated breaker rated at 70 A or 80 A, not a 50 A breaker. Proper installation and DIP-switch setup are essential for safety.
  • The weather ratings are provided by the manufacturer. The guide recommends sealing or gasketing the rear conduit opening when mounted outdoors to prevent water entry.
  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth provide a connected-device interface. The update history for the companion app ends in October 2023, and there is no publicly available information regarding the firmware support lifecycle or policies for security updates related to chargers.
  • The J1772 connector cannot be directly connected to Tesla or other NACS inlet vehicles without using an appropriate vehicle-side adapter.

What does not

  • The specific product is ENERGY STAR certified and has independently verified specifications of 240 V, 50 A, and 12.0 kW.
  • Hardwired installation removes the need for the supplied high-current plug and receptacle connection, which can become a heat source in plug-in configurations.
  • The installation guide provides specific instructions for circuit compatibility, indicating that a 50 A output can be connected only through a dedicated breaker rated at 70 A or 80 A. It also specifies the use of 6 AWG, 90°C copper wire.
  • The manufacturer provides specific fault indicators for issues such as leakage, ground faults, relay failures, overcurrent, overheating, and voltage problems.
  • The manufacturer specifies an enclosure with IP66 rating, 3R rain-tight weather protection, a 25-foot cable, and a limited warranty of three years.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of J1772-compatible electric vehicles or Tesla owners using a suitable vehicle-side J1772 adapter. It is designed for permanent installation and requires space in the electrical panel for a dedicated circuit. It is especially suitable when installed by a licensed electrician who can hardwire the unit, adhere to the manual’s 6 AWG copper wire requirement, and set the output according to the breaker size. The 25-foot cable and the manufacturer-rated IP66 enclosure, which is resistant to rain, make it suitable for garage installations or sheltered outdoor parking areas.

Who is it not for

This product is not recommended for renters, temporary charging situations, or households that rely on a standard 50 A dryer-style outlet, as it is hardwired and cannot be plugged in. It is also not suitable for users expecting 50 A charging from a 50 A breaker, since the manual specifies the need for a dedicated 70 A or 80 A breaker at that setting. Buyers who need a clear NRTL listing, published firmware security commitments, or direct compatibility with NACS should choose a product that explicitly provides documentation for those features.

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger
#9

ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 78/100 Integrity Score 89/100 ChargePoint

Overview

The evidence supporting electrical safety is solid. The CPH50 Home Flex series is listed in UL's public directory, and UL is recognized as a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory by OSHA. ChargePoint also adheres to standards for personnel protection, utilizes a Type 3R outdoor enclosure, and has protocols in place for fault responses, including ground faults, open-ground monitoring, overcurrent conditions, relay issues, and self-test failures. The hardwired version eliminates the outlet plug and adapter, but safety still relies on proper licensed installation and selecting the appropriate charging current for the branch circuit. ChargePoint offers a three-year parts warranty, a replaceable 23-foot cable, support resources, and product registration. No specific product recalls were found in federal recall databases. ENERGY STAR certification has been verified for the plug-in Home Flex models, though the hardwired version's certification status could not be confirmed from separate records. Ownership of the device includes some maintenance responsibilities, as NIST records indicate an outdated firmware version associated with a known Home Flex command-injection vulnerability. It is recommended to verify and update the firmware after installation.

What works

  • According to ChargePoint, the maximum setting of 50 A requires a dedicated circuit rated at 70 A or 80 A. Using this setting on a standard 50 A branch circuit is not safe.
  • Smart functionalities necessitate account access and network connectivity. According to NIST, there is a command-injection vulnerability present in certain older versions of the Home Flex firmware, specifically versions earlier than 5.5.4.22.
  • The ENERGY STAR database entry clearly identifies the plug-in Home Flex variants. The manufacturer confirms the ENERGY STAR certification for the entire product line; however, the hardwired version was not found as a separate entry in the database.
  • The three-year warranty on parts is limited, and publicly available documentation primarily highlights replacement cables rather than options for repairing the board itself.
  • The J1772 is not compatible with the NACS connector. Tesla owners should verify their vehicle's approved adapter and charging specifications prior to use.

What does not

  • UL's public directory lists the CPH50 Home Flex family, and UL is recognized as an OSHA-accredited testing laboratory.
  • Hardwired installations can be set up for charging between 16 A and 50 A on circuit configurations rated from 20 A to 80 A, minimizing the risk of using an incompatible outlet.
  • The manufacturer provides a Type 3R enclosure suitable for indoor or outdoor use, along with a 23-foot charging cable.
  • The J1772 connector is precisely aligned for vehicles equipped with J1772 chargers, and the charging process is constrained by the vehicle and electrical circuit, not by a generic, unsupported speed claim.
  • A published fault guide addresses issues such as ground faults, ground-monitor errors, stuck relays, overcurrent conditions, and controller self-test failures.

Who is it for

This is ideal for homeowners with an EV equipped with a J1772 connector, who have a professionally installed hardwired circuit at 208 or 240 volts, and need to align the charging output with their available panel capacity. It is particularly suitable for outdoor charging locations or situations where it is preferable to avoid a continuously loaded plug and receptacle. The adjustable range from 16 A to 50 A allows for flexibility in homes that cannot immediately support maximum charging output, as long as an electrician properly selects the circuit, conductor, breaker, and app settings in coordination.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for DIY installation, homes with uncertain electrical panel capacity, or buyers expecting 50 A charging directly from a 50 A breaker. It is hardwired and not designed for those needing a portable charger or a simple outlet connection. Additionally, it is not a direct fit for vehicles requiring NACS unless the vehicle manufacturer allows the use of the necessary J1772 adapter. Customers who are unwilling to maintain the device or perform firmware updates should consider a non-networked charging solution.

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger
#10

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 83/100 Autel

Overview

Electrical safety largely depends on proper installation. According to the manufacturer's manual, the unit requires a dedicated, grounded circuit with copper conductors, installed by a licensed professional. The circuit should include branch-circuit protection rated at 125% of the continuous charging current. The manual also specifies a 20 mA ground-fault protection for the charging circuit, along with indicators for overvoltage, undervoltage, surge, ground-fault, residual-current, and overheating faults. Additionally, it recommends a NEMA 4X enclosure and operation in temperatures ranging from -40°C to 55°C (-40°F to 131°F). These are important safety features stated by the manufacturer, although a specific NRTL (Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory) listing for this exact model was not found in the directories reviewed. Regarding energy consumption, EPA ENERGY STAR certifies the product, reporting an idle power draw of 3.5 watts when not actively charging a vehicle. This is beneficial since the charger remains powered on between charging sessions. The manufacturer offers a three-year warranty and accessible support in the U.S. Additionally, the manual includes product identification details such as the label, serial number, and setup PIN. No recall information for this product has been found in the reviewed CPSC records. However, there is limited public information available about replacement parts, repair options, take-back programs, or detailed security lifecycle management for connected devices.

What works

  • The examined NRTL directories did not provide a public, specific-model listing record from UL, ETL, CSA, MET, or TÜV that clearly specifies the complete safety coverage. While the manual references UL standards, this does not equate to an officially verified public listing.
  • A full 50 A charging setup requires a properly rated dedicated hardwired circuit, typically a 70 A breaker, in accordance with the manual's guideline of 125 percent continuous load. It cannot be simply replaced with a standard 50 A outlet circuit.
  • NEMA 4X, along with the 20 mA ground-fault function, overheat response, and protection features, are documented by the manufacturer rather than independently verified through an official safety record for the specific model.
  • The connected app gathers personal data, photos or videos, and app performance details as disclosed on Google Play. The available information does not specify a public security update timeline or outline the vulnerability disclosure process.
  • The three-year warranty indicates a limited service commitment; however, publicly available information regarding replacement parts, repair procedures, and end-of-life product take-back programs could not be found.

What does not

  • EPA ENERGY STAR independently verifies that the product's specifications include a 240 V, 50 A, 12 kW rating and a 25-foot cable length.
  • Its fixed 50 A setup eliminates the need for a high-current wall outlet and adapter connection.
  • The installation manual offers very specific, ongoing load instructions, such as the need for a 70 A breaker at the 50 A setting and a physical selector for circuits with lower ratings.
  • The manufacturer's documentation details J1772 charging standards, 20 mA ground-fault detection for the charging circuit, surge protection measures, and indicators for ground faults and overheating issues.
  • EPA ENERGY STAR recorded a power consumption of 3.5 W in no-vehicle mode, staying within the permissible limit for unattended energy usage.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of EVs or plug-in hybrids equipped with a J1772 connector, who have a licensed electrician install a dedicated 208 or 240 V hardwired circuit. It is particularly suitable when the vehicle can draw up to approximately 12 kW and the electrical system can support a 70 A breaker at the full 50 A setting. The built-in current selector makes it practical for situations where the electrician needs to set a lower output, such as 32 A or 40 A, to match the available branch circuit. Its long cable is convenient for garages or driveways where the charge port location varies.

Who is it not for

This product is not intended for household use expecting a full 50 A charge from an existing 50 A receptacle circuit, dryer outlet, extension cord, or outlet conversion adapter. The manual restricts plug-in configurations to lower current settings and requires hardwiring for the full 50 A operation. It also is not suitable for vehicles equipped with a native NACS inlet unless the vehicle manufacturer approves the use of an appropriate J1772-to-NACS adapter. Buyers who require a publicly accessible, exact-model NRTL safety certification, documented security support lifecycle, or published repair parts and recycling information will find that this product lacks sufficient evidence to meet those needs.