When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Home Safe

10 Best Home Safe 2026

We compared the top Home Safe products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular SentrySafe HD4100 Fireproof and Waterproof Safe

SentrySafe HD4100 Fireproof and Waterproof Safe

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Durable protection against fire and water damage.

  • Convenient size for easy document storage.

  • Secure key lock ensures added safety.

9.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price
3
Best Deal Biometric Handgun Safe with Quick Access

Biometric Handgun Safe with Quick Access

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Quick access with biometric fingerprint technology.

  • Durable construction with carbon steel cable.

  • Stealth mode feature for discreet use.

9.2 / 10 Rating
29% off Check Price
4
AIRMuch Biometric Handgun Safe

AIRMuch Biometric Handgun Safe

  • Quick-access biometric fingerprint scanner.

  • Compact design fits multiple handguns.

  • Durable construction with anti-theft features.

8.9 / 10 Rating
29% off Check Price
5
Grimtron Smart Biometric Safe with Fingerprint Lock

Grimtron Smart Biometric Safe with Fingerprint Lock

  • Quick access with reliable fingerprint technology.

  • Convenient backlit keypad for easy nighttime use.

  • Compact size perfect for discreet storage.

8.7 / 10 Rating
10% off Check Price
6
FOWORE 16.54" Tall Safe Box

FOWORE 16.54" Tall Safe Box

  • Water and fireproof for added protection.

  • Programmable keypad offers secure access.

  • Spacious 2.8 cubic feet interior.

8.5 / 10 Rating
23% off Check Price
7
Amazon Basics Steel Security Safe Box

Amazon Basics Steel Security Safe Box

  • Spacious interior fits various valuable items.

  • Electronic keypad ensures easy, secure access.

  • Durable steel construction enhances security.

8.3 / 10 Rating
Check Price
8
Mitlvge Fireproof Safe Box 35Min 23.4''

Mitlvge Fireproof Safe Box 35Min 23.4''

  • Provides 35-minute fireproof protection.

  • Includes keys, pass code, and smart alert.

  • Features three adjustable shelves.

8.2 / 10 Rating
13% off + $30 Coupon Check Price
9
Tigerking Home Safe with Touchscreen Lock

Tigerking Home Safe with Touchscreen Lock

  • Sleek touchscreen enhances user experience.

  • 2.05 cubic feet provides ample storage.

  • Sturdy build ensures reliable security.

7.9 / 10 Rating
Check Price
10
Tipiyajo 5.2 Cubic Foot Fireproof Safe

Tipiyajo 5.2 Cubic Foot Fireproof Safe

  • Offers fireproof and waterproof protection.

  • Equipped with a reliable combination lock.

  • Includes three adjustable shelves for organization.

7.6 / 10 Rating
5% Coupon Check Price

You Might Also Like

Home Safes: Key Considerations

A home safe primarily aims to prevent casual access to valuables, organize important documents, and, when properly tested, offer protection against fire or water damage. Its effectiveness depends more on answering four practical questions than on the number of bolts or the label “fireproof”: Can unauthorized individuals be kept out? Can the safe be securely anchored? Do the protection claims accurately match the contents? And are these claims verified through independent testing of the specific product?

For protection against break-ins, look for official listings of the exact model under UL 687 (burglary-resistant safes) or UL 1037 (residential security containers). Features like steel gauge, bolt count, concealed hinges, alarm integrations, or “anti-theft” labels are descriptors of construction or features, not evidence of tested resistance. Proper anchoring is crucial; check that mounting holes and screws are suitable for the intended wall or floor material, with clear instructions on installation requirements. A portable or lightly anchored safe remains vulnerable to quick theft.

Top Home Safe

Regarding fire protection, meaningful claims should specify the test standard, duration, internal temperature limits, and impact-test considerations. UL 72 is the standard relevant to record protection. A claim such as “30 minutes at 1,550°F” is more informative than a generic “fireproof” label—but it must match the specific model in the UL Product iQ or Intertek directory. An included fireproof document bag does not mean the safe itself offers fire protection. Similarly, flammability ratings for the materials used do not guarantee overall fire endurance.

Water resistance claims should clearly state the tested depth, duration, orientation, and passing criteria, backed by an exact product report from an accredited laboratory. Terms like “waterproof” often refer only to accessories such as bags, while some safes are explicitly not water-resistant. Fire-resistant insulation might also trap moisture, so sensitive contents may require secondary airtight packaging.

Be cautious with capacity figures. Some listings claim volumes larger than what the external dimensions could physically contain. Actual usable space depends on the thickness of walls, doors, bolts, shelves, interior lining, and clearance. Always verify interior measurements, shelf arrangements, door swing, and whether your intended contents—folders, electronics, medicines, etc.—fit comfortably. Inconsistent capacity or weight data suggests planning conservatively.

Electronic and biometric locks offer convenience but also introduce dependencies like battery life, reset procedures, enrollment, and lockout situations. A reliable lock system should clearly indicate low-battery warnings, failed access procedures, emergency power options, key overrides, and backup methods beyond biometric access. Special care is needed with firearm safes; many reviews show no official California firearm safety device listing for biometric models, and broader safety regulations highlight that fingerprint readers alone do not ensure child safety.

Overall, these products are generally not substitutes for independently rated burglary protection, tested fire or flood resistance, or verified firearm storage solutions. Many require secure anchoring and careful management of override keys. Document and jewelry safes or soft organizers can assist with organization or limited fire resistance but are not designed to withstand tools or authorized entry. Manuals often exclude firearms, weapons, medications, or combustible materials. Claims regarding vague fire, water, capacity, or anti-theft features should not be considered as tested or verified standards.

Integrity

The following topics address important practical considerations related to safety, environmental impact, and evidence when selecting a home safe. The scores are based on user reviews; higher-rated products typically feature clearer operating instructions and more credible claims, whereas lower-rated options often have inconsistent dimensions, lack manuals, or include unsupported safety assertions.

HHealth & Safety

Unauthorized Access Safety

This assesses whether children and other unauthorized individuals can be prevented from entering without causing unnecessary lockouts or emergency access issues. Among the available products, better outcomes were observed with those that included verified key, keypad, or emergency power backups, as well as clear lockout instructions. Conversely, weaker results were associated with unverified biometric access systems and products designed for firearms that lack proper firearm-device certification.

Reliability of Locks and Biometric Systems

This includes predictable behaviors for the keypad, fingerprint scanner, keys, and backup power, such as enrollment, failed-entry lockout, low-battery alerts, reset options, and emergency access. Higher-rated products documented multiple access methods and battery management procedures. In contrast, lower-rated biometric products did not provide an accessible model-specific manual or independent performance data, leaving fingerprint reliability and reset functions uncertain.

Traceability and Recall Preparedness

This assesses whether buyers can accurately determine the specific model, manufacturer, support channels, warranty details, and any upcoming safety remedies. Products that include model numbers, user manuals, documented support options, replacement key procedures, or warranties received higher scores. Conversely, lower scores indicated the absence of manuals, ambiguous warranty information, limited support resources, or inadequate documentation for electronics and override systems.

EEcology

Materials, Battery Composition, and End-of-Life Environmental Impact

This assesses factors such as durability, repairability, evidence of recycled content, battery impact, and disposal instructions. The products provided are mainly made from steel or alloy steel and utilize replaceable AA batteries, preventing permanent battery integration. The most notable environmental indicator was the presence of a Recycled Claim Standard certification. In contrast, many products with less information lacked components programs, material disclosures, battery usage instructions, or guidance for product take-back and disposal.

EEvidence

Honest Claim

This assessment evaluates whether claims related to fire, water, burglary, biometric security, alarms, steel thickness, and capacity accurately reflect the actual product specifications and disclosed limits. Products with higher scores specify precise dimensions or clearly stated protection limits and recognize security boundaries. In contrast, lower-scoring products tend to claim capacities exceeding their external volume or use fireproof and waterproof claims that only apply to an included bag.

Autonomously Verified Security

This inquires whether the specific product itself—rather than just a material, component, seller claim, or accessory—has an active third-party listing or testing record. The scores provided were generally moderate, as many products lacked a model-specific UL or ETL certification. To achieve a high score, there must be a corresponding certification mark, model number, standard, and issuing organization documented in UL Product iQ or the Intertek directory.

Protection Against Break-In

This assessment evaluated the product's resistance to prying, drilling, punching, lock attacks, and removal attempts. Higher-scoring items generally provided better-supported anchoring or construction details. However, reviews consistently emphasized that factors such as the number of bolts, steel thickness, concealed hinges, and "anti-theft" labeling do not constitute official burglary ratings. A low score indicates that the product offers basic protection and does not meet standards like UL 687 or UL 1037 for secure containers.

Fire Safety Tailored to Your Contents

This evaluates whether the product has a verified duration of effectiveness, an appropriate internal temperature class, and any claimed impact protection suitable for its contents. Products with clearly defined manufacturer fire limits scored higher than those with vague fireproof claims, although many lacked an up-to-date exact-model listing. A document safe may protect paper for a specified period but may not be suitable for digital media or other sensitive items.

Water Intrusion Prevention

This assessment evaluates water protection in a standalone manner, considering specific depth, duration, orientation, and passing standards. Products with higher scores were generally transparent about not being water-resistant or provided specific manufacturer claims regarding water resistance, though most did not have detailed testing records for exact models. Consumers should differentiate between cabinet protection and water-resistant document bags, and should review warranty exclusions and submersion limits carefully.

Preventing Theft of Grab-and-Go Items

This assesses whether the safe can be securely installed using appropriate hardware, mounting holes, substrate instructions, and load capacity. Products with higher scores provided bolts and more detailed mounting instructions. In contrast, lower-scoring products only mentioned “wall mount” or included hardware without specifying the type of anchor, hole pattern, substrate requirements, or installation limitations. Proper anchoring is particularly crucial for lightweight safes.

Available Storage Capacity and Content Compatibility

This assessment determines if the stated capacity accurately represents the actual interior dimensions, including shelf clearance, door space, and content limits. Products with higher scores provide precise interior measurements or a practical file layout. Conversely, lower-scoring items tend to overstate their cubic footage compared to what their external dimensions can accommodate or have conflicting specifications between marketplace listings and manufacturer details. Buyers are advised to measure the actual contents rather than relying solely on the nominal volume advertised.

DAYI D-45 Home Security Safe
#1 - Best Overall

DAYI D-45 Home Security Safe

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 69/100 DAYI

Overview

The keypad operates on four replaceable AA alkaline batteries instead of a sealed internal battery pack. The manual advises users to use alkaline batteries, warns against using rechargeable ones, and includes a low-battery alert as well as instructions for external emergency power. It also recommends changing the default passcode and storing backup keys outside the safe. No specific product recall or public safety issues related to this product were found in the reviewed CPSC recall and safety report databases. DAYI states that the safe’s enclosure is made of alloy steel, which can provide a long service life if properly maintained and securely installed. However, there is no certification for recycled content, detailed materials declaration, or end-of-life disposal guidance available. The manual does not include instructions for battery disposal. EPA guidance suggests checking local options for recycling used alkaline batteries, emphasizing the importance of responsible disposal rather than treating it as an afterthought. Claims regarding fire and water resistance pertain to the included bag, not independently verified protection offered by the metal enclosure.

What works

  • There are no independent listings for UL, ETL, burglary-resistant, residential-security containers, fire, or water protection for this product.
  • Claims regarding resistance to physical attacks and lock manipulation are manufacturer assertions and have not been verified through model-specific forced-entry testing or rated accordingly.
  • The claim that the bag is fireproof and waterproof applies to the included bag; however, no specific details are provided regarding the duration, temperature, water depth, orientation, or passing criteria.
  • The official capacity of 2 cubic feet and the specified internal chamber dimensions cannot be accurately matched with the listed external dimensions.
  • The wall-mounting instructions do not specify appropriate wall materials, anchor load capacity, or installation procedures to ensure theft resistance.

What does not

  • The manual outlines three methods of access: a passcode, a backup key, and USB-C emergency power, all of which help minimize the risk of being locked out due to battery issues.
  • The package includes four expansion bolts, and the manual provides simple instructions for mounting on a wall with four holes.
  • The keypad features a documented low-battery warning, an alarm for three consecutive invalid codes, and an optional vibration alert.
  • Two detachable shelves, key hooks, carpeting, and an interior light offer practical storage solutions for small valuables and documents.

Who is it for

This safe is ideal for an adult household seeking organized, everyday storage for cash, passports, small documents, spare keys, or modest valuables, and can be securely anchored to a wall. It is especially suitable where keypad access is important but battery failure is a concern, as it includes a physical override key and an external emergency power option. Buyers should measure the intended contents beforehand, as the published capacity and size specifications may not be entirely consistent. Additionally, the included bag should be considered an accessory rather than a guaranteed protective enclosure.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals requiring independent ratings for burglary, fire, flood, or digital-media protection. Buyers who need to store irreplaceable documents, high-value jewelry, or items vulnerable to severe fire or water damage require clearly defined, model-specific testing limits, which are not provided here. Additionally, it is not appropriate for use as a firearm safety device where child access is a concern, since it is neither marketed nor certified as a firearm safety device. Do not rely on it when unanchored, and avoid mounting it on walls where the construction and anchors have not been evaluated.

SentrySafe HD4100 Fireproof and Waterproof Safe
#2 - Popular

SentrySafe HD4100 Fireproof and Waterproof Safe

Buyer Score 96/100 Integrity Score 75/100 SentrySafe

Overview

The product does not contain a battery, keypad, wireless radio, or biometric electronics, which helps eliminate the need for routine battery replacements and reduces the risk of electronic failure. Its mechanical key system includes two keys, and the official manual provides support for key replacements. Although the product is relatively heavy at 38.85 pounds, the manufacturer describes its construction as resin-cased fire insulation rather than a fully documented system made from recycled or low-impact materials. There is no claim of recycled content or guidance on end-of-life disassembly or recycling. The manual outlines important safety and content guidelines. It mentions that the fire-resistant insulation has high moisture content and recommends storing delicate items in airtight containers. Additionally, it advises against storing pearls, firearms, other weapons, combustible materials, and medication. The manufacturer offers a one-year limited warranty and a registration-based repair program following fire incidents. While the product's UL fire and ETL water resistance claims are specific, this review did not independently verify the product against public certification records.

What works

  • The manufacturer clearly states that its basic security measures are not designed to defend against tool-based attacks.
  • The manual advises against storing firearms, other weapons, flammable materials, or medications inside this product.
  • There was no rating assigned for burglary safes or residential security containers regarding their resistance to drilling, prying, or forced entry.
  • There is no documented built-in anchoring method or provided anchoring hardware for this portable file, which weighs 38.85 pounds.
  • Fire-resistant insulation has high moisture content; therefore, delicate items should be stored in an airtight secondary container, as the stored contents are not protected against moisture damage.

What does not

  • Available file layout designed to accommodate up to 40 standard hanging folders.
  • The fire-resistant claim specifies that the product is UL Classified to withstand fire for 30 minutes at 1550°F, as certified by the manufacturer.
  • The product has a specific water resistance claim, with ETL verification for up to 72 hours of complete submersion, as confirmed by the manufacturer.
  • A straightforward mechanical key lock eliminates the need for batteries, charging, keypad malfunctions, and electronic lockouts.
  • The package includes two keys, and the official manual offers instructions for obtaining a replacement key if needed.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households or small home offices needing to store paper records, passports, certificates, tax documents, and similar items in letter-sized hanging folders. It is especially suitable for customers seeking a compact, non-electronic filing solution with claimed fire and flood protection. Users should keep the box closed, locked, properly oriented, and place it in a location where its weight of approximately 38.85 pounds is manageable. It also appeals to those who prefer simple key access over electronic methods such as batteries, codes, or biometric systems.

Who is it not for

This safe is not designed for storing firearms, medications, weapons, or flammable materials, as the manufacturer explicitly advises against storing these items inside. It is also not suitable for situations where the primary concern is protecting against a persistent burglar, prying, drilling, or swift removal. The manufacturer describes its key lock as providing basic protection and states that it is not resistant to tool attacks. Customers aiming to safeguard moisture-sensitive collectibles, loose photographs, watches, or pearls should consider alternative storage solutions or use sealed secondary containers.

Biometric Handgun Safe with Quick Access
#3 - Best Deal

Biometric Handgun Safe with Quick Access

Buyer Score 92/100 Integrity Score 71/100 AIRMuch

Overview

The primary health and safety concern is access control. Although the product features a mechanical key backup, there is no third-party certification or test record for its fingerprint programming, lock durability, or resistance to forced entry. The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) has issued significant warnings and recalls for other biometric firearm safes following reports of unauthorized fingerprint access. While these alerts do not specifically mention this product, they highlight the importance of independent verification and careful setup for any biometric lock of this type. The product page indicates that it is made of steel and uses replaceable AA batteries, rather than a sealed rechargeable battery pack. While metal construction may enhance durability, there are no claims regarding recycled materials, repair parts availability, warranty details, or end-of-life disposal guidance. Used batteries should be disposed of through proper local collection or recycling programs. Additionally, the product is explicitly not water-resistant, meaning exposure to moisture can compromise both the contents stored inside and the electronic components.

What works

  • Its claims regarding fingerprint recognition, one-second startup, impact resistance, pry resistance, and cable strength are provided by the manufacturer and have not been independently verified.
  • No official sources were found to indicate that the product has UL, ETL, or California firearm-safety-device certification.
  • The listing provides exterior dimensions but does not specify the full usable interior space or the maximum allowable length, height, and configuration for handguns, making it uncertain whether it is suitable for specific firearms.
  • A lightweight, portable box with a cable is not the same as a tested burglary-resistant safe or a permanently anchored security container.
  • Recent actions by the CPSC regarding other affordable biometric gun safes indicate that issues with biometric programming can lead to unauthorized access. Although this product was not specifically mentioned in those cases, its biometric feature has not undergone independent verification.

What does not

  • Three methods of access are provided: fingerprint, keypad, and mechanical key, ensuring a non-biometric backup option is available.
  • The listed weight of 2.6 pounds and its compact external size make it suitable for placement in drawers, vehicles, beside tables, and during travel.
  • A security cable and installation screws are provided, allowing for quick and easy removal by grabbing and pulling when properly secured to a suitable fixed surface.
  • The listing explicitly states that the product is not water-resistant and does not claim to be fire-rated.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults seeking a compact, temporary storage solution for a small handgun or valuables in a drawer, vehicle, office, or bedside table. It is best suited for situations where the user can manage the mechanical key independently, verify each fingerprint during setup, and secure the device to a fixed object using the included cable. Its stated exterior height and lightweight design make it suitable for small items and tight spaces, rather than extensive firearm storage or long-term document protection.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for households requiring independently certified child-proof protection for a loaded firearm, especially in situations where children or untrained individuals might access it. It is also not designed to defend against a determined intruder, fire, flooding, or extended exposure to moisture. Customers looking for a container suitable for a specific handgun, optic, magazine, holster, or documents should not rely solely on the claimed capacity of two to three pistols without first measuring the interior space, as the actual usable dimensions and fitting limits have not been provided.

AIRMuch Biometric Handgun Safe
#4

AIRMuch Biometric Handgun Safe

Buyer Score 89/100 Integrity Score 69/100 AIRMuch

Overview

There is no record of any recall or specific CPSC warning related to the AIRMuch A3 in publicly available sources. However, this does not confirm that the fingerprint reader has been independently tested or verified. The CPSC has documented significant failures related to unauthorized opening in various other biometric firearm safes, including models sold on Amazon. Therefore, fingerprint access should be considered a convenience feature until the product’s locking mechanism is properly tested by the owner. The mechanical key listed as an alternative access method is important, but its storage and emergency access procedures could not be verified without an exact manual for the product. The product listing states that it is made from alloy steel or carbon steel, which may provide a durable enclosure. However, it does not mention any recycled content, repair parts availability, warranty details, or guidance on end-of-life disposal. Information about the type of batteries used or disposal instructions was not available in the checked product materials. Household batteries that are replaceable should be disposed of according to local regulations. Rechargeable or lithium batteries should be taken to an appropriate collection program for batteries or electronics, rather than being thrown away with household waste.

What works

  • There was no certification found that is independent of specific products or that indicates burglary resistance.
  • No specific product manual was found to confirm details regarding fingerprint enrollment, lockout after failed entries, battery alerts, reset procedures, or override key functions.
  • The claim of a 260-cubic-inch capacity exceeds the product's calculated external bounding volume and therefore does not accurately reflect the usable internal volume.
  • Weighing 2.6 pounds, this item is inherently prone to detachment unless the cable or screws are properly installed into an appropriate substrate.

What does not

  • The compact external dimensions make it suitable for a nightstand, vehicle, or any setup with limited space.
  • The listing offers three methods of access: fingerprint, keypad, and mechanical key.
  • The box includes one security cable and two installation screws.
  • The listing does not claim to be fireproof or waterproof without qualifications.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults who need a compact, portable lock box for brief storage of one or a few small handguns or other valuables. It allows for a mechanical key to be stored separately and can be secured using the included cable or screws. Its shallow dimensions make it suitable for bedside, vehicle, or travel use, where a larger safe is inconvenient. Users should independently test all access methods before storing a firearm.

Who is it not for

This product is not appropriate for households that require independently certified child-access protection, proven resistance to forced entry, or a recognized firearm safety device. It is also not suitable for fire, flood, or prolonged water exposure, as no such protection is claimed. Customers looking to store multiple full-size handguns, firearms with optics, or large valuables should not depend on the stated capacity, as the claimed internal volume exceeds the listed external dimensions.

Grimtron Smart Biometric Safe with Fingerprint Lock
#5

Grimtron Smart Biometric Safe with Fingerprint Lock

Buyer Score 87/100 Integrity Score 68/100 Grimtron

Overview

The primary safety concern relates to access control. The available instructions include emergency keys, external USB-C power for dead batteries, and guidance to register fingerprints from multiple angles. While these measures can help prevent accidental lockouts, the biometric system has not been independently tested or verified for this specific product. The CPSC has issued significant warnings and recalls for other biometric firearm safes that allowed unauthorized access. However, there are no records of recalls or regulatory actions concerning this particular model in the public sources reviewed. The safe features a metal construction and uses replaceable AA batteries instead of an internal rechargeable pack, which simplifies the battery replacement process. The documentation does not mention recycled materials, repair parts, electronics recycling options, or a plan for end-of-life disposal. The EPA recommends checking local recycling programs or using battery recyclers for used alkaline AA batteries. Additionally, the manual lacks specific guidance on proper disposal or recycling procedures.

What works

  • There are no UL, ETL, or other independently verifiable certifications available for this specific product's burglary, fire, water, or biometric protection features.
  • The claim of a 0.80 cubic-foot capacity conflicts with the listed exterior dimensions. The exterior volume measures approximately 0.77 cubic feet, accounting for the walls, door, and hardware.
  • The lockout description in the manual does not specify an exact duration within the product-specific documentation examined.
  • The provided anchoring instructions do not specify the anchor diameter, substrate type, or permissible load, which reduces confidence in the anchor's resistance to removal.

What does not

  • According to the published instructions, three different access methods are available as alternatives in case the fingerprint recognition or batteries fail.
  • The instructions encompass a low-battery protocol, external USB-C emergency power supply, and two emergency keys.
  • Four expansion screws and pre-drilled mounting points are provided, along with installation instructions for wall, floor, and cabinet setup.
  • The manufacturer explicitly states that this unit is not water-resistant, rather than suggesting it offers water protection.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults seeking compact, organized storage for small valuables such as passports, cash, keys, jewelry, or small electronics. It can be securely mounted to a wall, floor, or cabinet surface. It is especially suitable where keypad, fingerprint, and physical key options are preferred. Users should keep emergency keys outside the safe, regularly maintain fresh batteries, test access methods after installation, and understand that security claims are manufacturer-reported rather than independently verified.

Who is it not for

This safe is not suitable for buyers seeking independently certified protection against burglary, fire, flooding, drilling, or prying. It is also not recommended as the only security measure for firearms in homes with children or untrained users, since it lacks a product-specific certification on the California firearm safety-device roster and has not undergone independent biometric access testing. Individuals storing standard documents, binders, large electronics, or other items that require a specific internal volume should not rely solely on the stated capacity, as it conflicts with the external dimensions of the safe.

FOWORE 16.54" Tall Safe Box
#6

FOWORE 16.54" Tall Safe Box

Buyer Score 85/100 Integrity Score 64/100 FOWORE

Overview

Based on the reviewed sources, no specific CPSC recall or safety warning associated with this product was identified; however, this does not independently verify the safety of the keypad or its resistance to unauthorized access. The product is not marketed as a firearm safe, nor was any record found on the California firearm-device roster. While it includes physical backup keys and an external battery box as backup access options, there are no available instructions for battery replacement, lockout procedures, reset steps, or secure key storage specific to this model. The product is constructed from alloy steel, with at least one reseller describing the body as cold-rolled steel. There is no certification for recycled content, no material declaration, no documented program for replacement parts, and no end-of-life disposal plan. Although the safe requires batteries, no specific instructions for battery disposal were found. According to EPA guidance, used batteries should be properly recycled through designated battery or electronics recycling channels, rather than being discarded in household trash or curbside recycling.

What works

  • There are no records of UL, ETL, or other third-party certifications specific to the model for burglary resistance, fire endurance, water intrusion, or the locking system.
  • The water resistance claim is internally contradictory. While product marketing describes the safe as waterproof, the specifications specify that it is not water-resistant.
  • The claimed 2.8-cubic-foot capacity cannot be accommodated within the specified external dimensions, which amount to approximately 1.61 cubic feet when accounting for the thickness of the safe walls and door.
  • There was no model-specific manual available to verify the timing of failed-entry lockout, the behavior of low-battery warnings, reset procedures, key security measures, mounting surface requirements, or emergency access procedures.
  • The unit, weighing 25 pounds, should be firmly anchored. Unsecured cabinet safes can be easily removed and taken off-site by an attacker.

What does not

  • According to verified seller specifications, the programmable keypad access is combined with two physical emergency keys and an external battery pack.
  • The package includes four expansion screws, and mounting can be done on the wall or floor, as recommended by the manufacturer.
  • According to the manufacturer, the product features a removable shelf and a felt-lined interior, which aid in organizing small valuables and minimizing scuffs.
  • Its compact external size makes it ideal for placement in closets, offices, or cabinets where a larger safe cannot be accommodated.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for adults looking for a compact, basic safe to store modest-value items such as documents, jewelry, cash, or small electronics. It must be securely anchored to a suitable wall or floor surface. Suitable for use in a home office, closet, dorm room, or hotel setting, it features keypad access, a physical backup key, and an adjustable shelf—prioritizing convenience over independently certified burglary, fire, or flood resistance. Buyers should measure their intended contents rather than relying solely on the advertised capacity.

Who is it not for

This safe is not appropriate for storing firearms, homes that require a tested child-proof barrier, or any environment where unauthorized access could result in serious injury. It is also not suitable for storing irreplaceable records, valuable jewelry, large amounts of cash, or critical digital media that need certified protection against burglary and fire. Do not assume that the included bag indicates the safe is flood-resistant. Customers who are unable to securely anchor a 25-pound safe should consider a different storage solution.

Mitlvge Fireproof Safe Box 35Min 23.4''
#8

Mitlvge Fireproof Safe Box 35Min 23.4''

Buyer Score 82/100 Integrity Score 66/100 Mitlvge

Overview

The product features an electronic keypad, alarm, LED indicator light, and support for an external battery. According to the listing, it includes a low-battery indicator, backup keys, and external emergency power options. However, no specific product manual could be found to verify details such as battery type, replacement procedures, reset process, lockout duration, or disposal instructions. The EPA recommends checking local options or recycling facilities for used alkaline batteries and advises avoiding disposing of certain battery chemistries in household trash or curbside recycling. There are no recorded CPSC recalls or warnings specific to this product in the sources reviewed. However, this absence does not serve as independent confirmation of safety performance. Additionally, the reviewed information does not specify recycled steel content, available replacement parts, repair procedures, material disclosures, or a plan for end-of-life electronics disposal. While the product’s claimed alloy-steel construction may suggest physical durability, this durability and repairability are not confirmed by any model-specific warranty or parts support.

What works

  • The claim of a 5.0 cubic foot capacity cannot be justified based on the listed exterior dimensions. The total external volume amounts to approximately 2.43 cubic feet, prior to accounting for the safe walls and interior fittings.
  • The advertised 35-minute, 1700°F fire resistance performance lacks an identifiable UL 72, ETL, or any publicly available model-specific testing documentation. The listing does not specify an internal temperature classification or impact-test threshold.
  • The terms "waterproof" and "water-resistant" do not specify any details regarding depth, duration, orientation, pass criteria, or independent testing for water intrusion.
  • The wall installation is mentioned; however, the reviewed product details do not specify the mounting hole pattern, included anchors, appropriate wall surfaces, or installation load guidelines.
  • There are no listings for burglary safes or residential security containers that are designed for specific products. Therefore, the use of reinforced bolts and anti-theft labels does not indicate verified resistance to prying, drilling, or removal.

What does not

  • The listing includes two physical backup keys and an external battery box, both of which can help minimize the risk of lockout due to battery failure when stored separately.
  • The listing states that multiple incorrect entries will activate an alarm and temporarily lock the keypad.
  • The manufacturer suggests that three removable shelves can assist in organizing household valuables of various sizes.
  • The specified wall-mount setup can facilitate easy, straightforward removal when securely anchored.

Who is it for

This product is designed for adult households in need of a tall, compact organizer for storing low-to-moderate-value documents, jewelry, medications, and small valuables. It can be installed into suitable wall structures. It is especially ideal in situations where keypad access convenience is important, but users should keep backup keys and the external battery box in separate secure locations. The adjustable shelving feature may be beneficial for organizing different types of items. Please note that the fire and water resistance claims are manufacturer assertions and have not been independently verified; they should not be relied upon to protect irreplaceable records or media.

Who is it not for

This safe is not suitable for storing firearms where children could access it, nor for situations that require a California-approved firearm safety device. It is also inadequate for buyers needing independently certified burglary resistance, proven fire protection for paper or digital media, or tested flood and water resistance. Do not depend on the advertised 5.0 cubic foot capacity for your space planning, as it surpasses the entire exterior volume listed for the product. Additionally, buyers who cannot securely mount the safe to a wall should not consider a 45-pound safe as effective theft protection.

Tigerking Home Safe with Touchscreen Lock
#9

Tigerking Home Safe with Touchscreen Lock

Buyer Score 79/100 Integrity Score 70/100 TIGERKING

Overview

The product does not feature a biometric reader, and its documented keypad system includes mechanical and external power backup options. These features can help reduce the risk of lockouts caused by battery failure, especially when emergency and master keys are stored separately and securely. A review of the CPSC recall database and SaferProducts.gov found no specific recalls or publicly reported incidents related to this model. Additionally, no independent safety or security certifications have been identified for this product. The manufacturer states that alloy steel is the primary material used and offers a one-year warranty, which may support continued use if a functional defect occurs. The device's manual specifies the use of four replaceable AA batteries rather than an integrated rechargeable battery pack. The manufacturer does not provide information on material composition, recycled content, a parts replacement program, or end-of-life disposal guidance. The EPA recommends checking local recycling options and preferably recycling used alkaline batteries.

What works

  • There was no detection of an exact-product UL, ETL, or similar third-party safety certification; therefore, the burglary resistance, alarm functionality, and lock durability have not been independently verified.
  • The manufacturer describes their product using general terms like "thick steel" and "anti-theft," but they do not specify the steel thickness or provide an accepted rating for forced-entry resistance.
  • The manufacturer states that this product is not water-resistant and should not be depended upon for protection against flooding, sprinklers, or water damage.
  • The manufacturer's product page presents inconsistent size details for this identical product, which diminishes trust in the reported usable capacity and content compatibility.

What does not

  • The manufacturer records keypad access using separate emergency and master key backup options, along with an external battery power supply to replace a drained internal battery.
  • The manufacturer’s manual includes four expansion bolts, providing a secure and practical fixed-position mounting option for the unit.
  • The manufacturer indicates that the interior features a removable shelf and a separate locking compartment for organizing smaller valuables.
  • The manufacturer records the vibration and repeated code-entry alarm features, which can trigger an audible warning in case of tampering attempts.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for buyers looking for a medium-sized, stationary cabinet for a home or office, suitable for storing everyday documents, jewelry, cash, and other low to moderate-value items. It is best used in situations where the buyer can secure it by anchoring it to a floor or wall with the included bolts, keep both backup keys stored outside the safe in a secure location, and regularly replace the AA batteries. The internal locking compartment and removable shelf allow for organization, helping to separate small private items from larger valuables.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for individuals who require independently certified protection against burglary, fire, or water for irreplaceable documents, high-value jewelry, large cash reserves, or sensitive digital media. It is also not an approved firearm storage solution where a certified firearm safety device or verified regulatory compliance is necessary. Households with children should not rely solely on the vibration alarm as a substitute for secure key management, as manual backup access is documented mechanically. Customers seeking an exact fit for laptops, documents, or firearms should avoid depending on the variable published dimensions, as they can be inconsistent.