When you click on one of our links we may earn a commission.
Categories · Smart Locks For Home

10 Best Smart Locks For Home 2026

We compared the top Smart Locks For Home products so you can quickly spot the strongest options for value, features, and everyday performance.

Last Updated: August 2026 · By BuyersGreatGuide Team
2
Popular Ultraloq U-Bolt Pro WiFi Smart Lock

Ultraloq U-Bolt Pro WiFi Smart Lock

A balanced choice for shoppers who want strong features without overspending.
  • Built-in WiFi enables seamless remote control.

  • Fingerprint ID offers quick, secure access.

  • Auto Unlock provides hands-free convenience.

9.5 / 10 Rating
24% off Check Price
3
Best Deal Philips Wi-Fi Smart Lock with Handle

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Lock with Handle

A smart value pick for buyers focused on savings and practical performance.
  • Easy app control enhances user convenience.

  • Fingerprint unlock adds extra security.

  • Auto lock feature ensures peace of mind.

9.5 / 10 Rating
Check Price
4
Eufy Security Smart Lock C220 Fingerprint Wi-Fi Deadbolt

Eufy Security Smart Lock C220 Fingerprint Wi-Fi Deadbolt

  • Fingerprint unlock for quick, keyless entry.

  • Built-in Wi-Fi enables remote control.

  • Long-lasting 8-month battery life.

9.3 / 10 Rating
35% off Check Price
5
Veise Keyless Fingerprint Door Lock Set

Veise Keyless Fingerprint Door Lock Set

  • Quick and easy installation process.

  • Convenient fingerprint access for keyless entry.

  • Durable, stylish matte black finish.

8.8 / 10 Rating
22% off Check Price
6
Philips Wi-Fi Smart Door Lock with App Control

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Door Lock with App Control

  • Fingerprint ID for quick, secure access.

  • App control for remote door management.

  • Auto unlock detects your approach.

8.4 / 10 Rating
Check Price
7
Veise VE017G-H Smart Fingerprint Door Lock

Veise VE017G-H Smart Fingerprint Door Lock

  • Convenient remote app control for easy access.

  • Durable, weatherproof design with IP55 rating.

  • Simple installation with auto-lock feature.

8.2 / 10 Rating
38% off Check Price
8
Wyze Auto-Lock Bolt Smart Bluetooth Deadbolt

Wyze Auto-Lock Bolt Smart Bluetooth Deadbolt

  • Quick fingerprint access for easy entry.

  • Weatherproof design for reliable outdoor use.

  • In-app history tracks door activity.

8.1 / 10 Rating
Check Price
9
ULTRALOQ Bolt Smart Lock

ULTRALOQ Bolt Smart Lock

  • Seamless compatibility with major smart home systems.

  • Convenient keyless entry with fingerprint ID.

  • Long-lasting 18 months battery life.

7.8 / 10 Rating
25% off Check Price
10
LOCKSTAR Smart Door Lock Keyless Deadbolt

LOCKSTAR Smart Door Lock Keyless Deadbolt

  • Multiple entry methods for versatile access options.

  • Fingerprint Touch ID for quick, secure entry.

  • Integration with smart home devices for convenience.

7.6 / 10 Rating
Check Price

You Might Also Like

Smart Locks for Home: What to Consider

A smart lock enhances or replaces a traditional deadbolt with electronic unlocking options such as a keypad, fingerprint scanner, mobile app, key fob, NFC credential, voice assistant, or integrated smart home platform. The key question is not how many unlocking methods are available but whether the lock remains secure and functional if the phone, batteries, fingerprint reader, internet connection, account, or cloud service fail.

Begin by examining your door. Verify its thickness, bore size, backset, handedness, latch depth, strike alignment, and whether it is a single-cylinder, mortise, multipoint, sliding, or fire-rated door. Most products specify compatible door dimensions, often ranging from 35–55 mm (1-3/8–1-3/4 inches) in thickness and backsets of 60 or 70 mm. Remember, a motorized lock cannot compensate for issues like a misaligned or dragging door, weak door frame, improper strike installation, or wrong screws. Installation instructions should include guidance on reinforcement, clearance, calibration, and testing with the door open.

Top Smart Locks For Home

Prioritize safety and ease of exit over remote convenience. Look for a manual interior thumbturn or thumb latch that functions independently of power, app, code, or account. For outside access in case of dead batteries, choose locks with clearly documented mechanical keys and, if provided, backup power sources such as temporary USB or 9V batteries. Pay attention to low-battery alerts and specific replacement procedures. If the lock relies on rechargeable batteries, a gateway, cloud service, or fingerprint recognition, it should still offer a reliable mechanical fallback.

Security certifications and weatherproofing claims should be verifiable. An ANSI/BHMA Grade 1, 2, or 3 rating is not equivalent to detailed testing or certification in the BHMA Certified Products Directory or independent forced-entry and durability tests. Similarly, IP ratings like IP54 or IP65, or temperature ranges, should be backed by official documentation and certified test records. FCC radio approval confirms compliance with radio standards but does not guarantee resistance against physical tampering, weather, or cyber threats.

For connected locks, verify whether Wi-Fi is built-in or requires a bridge, and whether local Bluetooth or keypad operation is possible without internet access. Also, assess which functionalities are lost during internet or cloud outages. For standards like Matter or Thread, consult the Connectivity Standards Alliance directory. Confirm compatibility with smart home platforms such as Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, or Google Assistant for the specific model. A robust security approach should include encrypted communications, account recovery options, vulnerability disclosure processes, firmware update history, and support timelines—not just claims like “hack-proof.”

Biometric features, including fingerprints, raise privacy concerns. Look for clear disclosures regarding how and where biometric data is stored, retention periods, deletion procedures, and how guest access is managed. App privacy policies may differ from manufacturer statements, and claims of local storage should be independently verified. Be aware that logs of entries, guest codes, identifiers, location data, or video recordings can contribute to your household’s data footprint.

Consumer reviews often highlight common issues. Many products lack proper certification, independent forced-entry testing, electrical safety ratings, cybersecurity certification, or defined firmware support. Battery life and weather resistance information can sometimes conflict; for example, some warnings indicate that cold weather may impede keypad operation. Remote management typically depends on an app, account, gateway, internet, or cloud service. Details about biometric data retention are often unclear. No product should be deemed suitable for fire doors or emergency egress without proper confirmation. Additionally, reliance solely on electronic methods is unwise if occupants cannot use keys or manual releases in emergencies.

Integrity

For this category, health and environmental quality are influenced by more than just electronic features. An responsible selection ensures a manual exit option, includes a recoverable backup entry, fits the door without compromising its strength, minimizes data exposure, and reduces unnecessary battery and hardware waste. The scores provided below assess only the listed products; they do not represent official certifications.

HHealth & Safety

Secure Exit and Backup Entry

This assesses whether occupants can manually exit and re-enter the space following failures in the battery, phone, network, account, or biometric systems. For locks, having an interior thumbturn or latch combined with a physical key provides a more reliable fallback than relying solely on a mobile app. Additionally, providing emergency power options such as USB, 5V, or 9V batteries offers further recovery methods. The scores assigned to these products range from 76 to 82, with higher-scoring options demonstrating multiple independent backup solutions.

Battery and Electrical Safety

This includes information on battery type, replacement procedures, precautions against leakage and overheating, charging instructions, and behavior during electrical failures. Using replaceable AA batteries can be convenient, whereas rechargeable devices require clear guidance on charging and replacement. The product scores range from 70 to 77. Higher-rated reviews typically detail approved battery types and emergency procedures, while lower-rated reviews often mention inconsistent battery counts or lack a publicly accessible NRTL listing for the lock or charger.

Protection of entry and fingerprint information

This assessment evaluates control over fingerprint data, access logs, guest information, identifiers, location data, and account information. A robust product provides clear details on local storage or secure transmission, as well as data retention, deletion, and guest revocation processes. Scores range from 55 to 78. Higher-scoring products feature more transparent controls for local storage and deletion, whereas lower scores indicate conflicting disclosures within the app or lack of information regarding fingerprint-template retention and deletion.

It functions effectively even under challenging conditions.

This assessment evaluates performance during scenarios such as low battery, internet outages, app or cloud failures, weather exposure, door misalignment, and fingerprint recognition issues. In emergencies, local controls—such as keypads, keys, thumbturns, and status indicators—are more critical than remote features. The provided scores range from 54 to 82. Higher-rated products demonstrate reliable offline access and effective recovery methods, while lower-rated ones exhibit conflicting battery or door status instructions and rely more heavily on connected services.

It fits the door perfectly without compromising its strength.

This includes specifications for door thickness, bore size, backset, hand orientation, latch and strike requirements, alignment, and fire-rated or weather-resistant limits. A high score indicates that the instructions enable a buyer to assess the installation process before trusting the lock. Scores range from 72 to 80. More robust products offer detailed measurements and calibration verification, while less comprehensive evidence may leave questions regarding fire-door suitability, reinforcement, or compatibility with unusual door types unanswered.

EEcology

Reduced waste throughout the lifespan of the lock

This assessment evaluates replaceable batteries and components, repairability, software lifespan, and end-of-life guidance. Using replaceable AA batteries prevents discarding a sealed rechargeable pack, while a removable rechargeable pack can decrease the use of disposable cells but still requires a proper replacement and recycling method. The scores range from 69 to 76. Reviews with higher scores highlight the presence of replaceable power sources; however, almost all products still lack a comprehensive parts catalog, take-back programs, or specific recycling instructions.

EEvidence

Resistance to forced entry and abrasion

This measure independently verifies resistance to forced entry, drilling, picking, bolt or strike failure, and operational wear. A key point is that the assessment is based on an exact-model BHMA record or a recognized independent test, not on claims from retailers or manufacturers. Scores range from 68 to 78; however, reviews consistently indicate that certification for the exact model or results for forced-entry tests are often unavailable. Therefore, a higher score does not necessarily confirm enhanced burglary resistance.

Protection Against Digital Intrusions

This includes remote, Bluetooth, keypad, biometric, guest-code, and account management features, along with encryption, recovery, revocation, vulnerability response, and firmware management. The security scores range from 68 to 82. Products with higher scores demonstrate more robust documented or verifiable security and interoperability evidence. However, reviews typically reveal that many products lack specific ioXt certification or other accredited cybersecurity certifications, public penetration testing, or clear update policies.

Reliable long-term support and consistent compatibility

This assesses whether the app, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Matter, Thread, voice, and bridge features are certified and likely to stay functional. Consult listings from the Connectivity Standards Alliance, Apple, Alexa, and Google for specific models, firmware details, and end-of-support policies. The scores range from 68 to 82, with higher scores indicating verified platform information or published updates, and lower scores suggesting reliance on gateways or unspecified support periods.

The claims accurately reflect the actual functionality of the lock.

This evaluates whether features such as battery life, ratings, weather resistance, remote capabilities, subscription requirements, biometric performance, and compatibility are accurate and reliable. Scores range from 52 to 78. Products with higher scores align their listings with official manuals and clearly disclose any dependencies, while lower-scoring products often show conflicting claims regarding battery life, IP ratings, connectivity, Matter, or door status. Simply using headlines like “Grade 1,” “IP65,” or “remote” is insufficient on its own.

Evidence that Goes Beyond the Brand's Own Claims

This assesses precise model traceability across areas such as mechanical, electrical, radio, cybersecurity, compatibility, and environmental claims. Relevant documentation includes certifications from BHMA, UL or other OSHA-recognized NRTLs, FCC authorization, the Connectivity Standards Alliance, ioXt, and reports from designated independent laboratories. Scores range from 68 to 81. The most robust evidence consists of exact FCC or CSA records and, in one instance, independent testing; however, many critical security and durability claims have yet to be verified.

Philips Smart Lock with Handles
#1 - Best Overall

Philips Smart Lock with Handles

Buyer Score 98/100 Integrity Score 75/100 PHILIPS

Overview

The primary safety benefit is the simple emergency operation. The device features an interior thumb turn that allows for exit without using electronics, and mechanical keys offer a non-electronic alternative for re-entry. The manual specifies the use of AA alkaline batteries, advises against mixing old and new batteries or different types, and warns against potential hazards such as short circuits, fire, water splashes, and the use of non-approved parts. Additionally, the low-battery warning remains audible even when the keypad sounds are muted. From an environmental standpoint, utilizing user-replaceable AA batteries eliminates the need for a sealed rechargeable pack. The manufacturer recommends disposing of used batteries and the product responsibly, avoiding regular household waste. The product comes with a two-year warranty covering defects in materials and workmanship. However, there is no independent environmental certification, recycled-content certification, publicly available spare-parts catalog, or detailed repair procedures. The manual directs replacement and repairs to Philips, authorized service centers, or professional technicians.

What works

  • There is no publicly available certified BHMA exact-model certification or independent test report specifically for forced-entry resistance and durability. The absence of this documentation is simply a lack of evidence; it does not indicate that the bolt has failed any security tests.
  • No publicly available UL, ETL, or other NRTL electrical safety certifications for the exact model were found. While the battery guidance is comprehensive, there is no independent electrical listing documentation available.
  • The manual indicates that external emergency power is not available. Ensure the two mechanical keys remain accessible outside the home, and replace low batteries promptly.
  • The manufacturer makes general claims regarding improved encryption and local storage; however, there is a lack of publicly available technical details, independent cybersecurity certifications, information on firmware support duration, and security release notes tailored to the specific product.
  • The app's privacy policy outlines the collection of device information, usage data, IP addresses, diagnostic data, and potential location data. However, its app store disclosures are more limited, so details regarding data management and biometric storage are not entirely transparent.

What does not

  • A physical thumb turn allows for immediate inside unlocking without the need for power, an app, a code, or a fingerprint.
  • Mechanical keys serve as a reliable external backup in case batteries, Bluetooth, phone access, or fingerprint recognition do not work.
  • The manual provides detailed safety precautions for the battery, instructions for replacing a depleted battery, steps for performing a factory reset, and guidelines for proper disposal.
  • The installation material includes documentation on door thickness, bore-hole, backset, handing, strike hardware, and alignment specifications.
  • The deadbolt core is linked to an FCC radio authorization record, and the manual contains operating information in accordance with FCC Part 15.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households with a standard, non-fire-rated residential front door that prefer multiple local entry methods instead of relying solely on a smartphone. It is especially useful for residents who can store a backup key in a safe and easily accessible location, desire a straightforward thumb-turn for exiting from indoors, and appreciate local PIN and fingerprint entry options. Additionally, it suits users willing to replace four AA alkaline batteries as needed, check latch alignment after installation, and view app access as an added convenience rather than the primary means of entry.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for doors that require a verified fire-door hardware listing or for installations where local codes, landlords, or door manufacturers mandate the use of listed hardware. It is also not ideal for households that cannot manage an off-site mechanical key, as the product lacks an external power connection for emergencies. Buyers seeking independently verified ANSI/BHMA resistance to break-ins, an IP weather rating, a documented firmware security support period, or independently evaluated Bluetooth and biometric security features will find that this product does not provide the necessary documentation.

Ultraloq U-Bolt Pro WiFi Smart Lock
#2 - Popular

Ultraloq U-Bolt Pro WiFi Smart Lock

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 73/100 ULTRALOQ

Overview

This lock does not contain a rechargeable lithium battery pack. Instead, it operates on four replaceable AA alkaline batteries. The manufacturer also provides a Micro-USB port for emergency power in case the batteries are depleted. Using replaceable batteries helps avoid discarding the lock due to battery failure, but it does generate ongoing alkaline battery waste. Used batteries and the electronic lock should be disposed of through appropriate local collection channels for batteries and electronics. The manufacturer states that the lock has a zinc outer body, IP65 weather resistance, an 18-month warranty on electronics, and a lifetime mechanical warranty. According to its privacy policy, fingerprint scans are converted into template data stored within the device and are not transmitted externally. However, the policy also mentions collection of account information, device location (if enabled), access logs, and encrypted cloud storage of Wi-Fi credentials. No specific electrical safety listing (such as NRTL), third-party privacy certifications, environmental certifications, recalls, or dedicated recycling programs for this product were identified in this review.

What works

  • The claim that the product meets ANSI/BHMA Grade 1 standards has not been supported by a publicly verifiable, specific product certification. As a result, the most significant assertions regarding forced-entry resistance and durability are based solely on the manufacturer's statements.
  • There is no publicly available specific cybersecurity certification for the exact model, such as ioXt. The claimed AES encryption and dynamic-key protections do not replace the need for an independent security evaluation.
  • Remote access relies on the app, Wi-Fi connection, cloud services, and a household account. While offline credentials are still beneficial, remote control and activity features are not available without an internet connection.
  • The privacy notice states that information such as account details, device location (when enabled), access logs, Wi-Fi credentials, and usage data may be collected. It also mentions that fingerprint template data remains within the device, although this claim has not been independently verified.
  • The product operates with four disposable batteries, and there is no designated electronics take-back or repair parts program available for this product.

What does not

  • Multiple local and backup access methods are documented, such as fingerprint recognition, keypad entry, mechanical keys, interior thumbturns, and exterior emergency power supplies.
  • The manufacturer specifies certain fit requirements, which include doors measuring between 1-3/8 and 1-3/4 inches thick, standard bore preparation, and adjustable backsets of 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inches.
  • The sensor integrated into the system is designed to activate the lock only when the door is closed, thereby minimizing the risk of locking an open door.
  • The specified outside temperature range and IP65 rating define the device's operational limits, although these ratings have not been independently verified in this context.
  • Four user-replaceable AA batteries and a lifetime mechanical warranty decrease reliance on a sealed battery pack.

Who is it for

This product is designed for households seeking to replace a standard deadbolt on compatible doors, offering multiple local unlocking options. It is especially useful in situations where different users prefer methods such as a code, fingerprint, phone, or physical key. Additionally, the inclusion of a door-closed sensor enables automatic locking. Its specifications, including compatible fit, replaceable AA batteries, a physical key, and an external emergency power connection, enhance practicality for users who want backup access options apart from a smartphone app. Installation requires precise deadbolt alignment and testing with the door open to ensure proper functioning.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for fire-rated door assemblies or openings requiring code-specific hardware unless a qualified installer verifies the full door and hardware listing. It is also not suitable for households that need independently certified cybersecurity, traceable Grade 1 documentation, or a published long-term firmware support plan. Users who prefer not to manage batteries, maintain a mechanical key backup, or ensure reliable 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi should avoid depending on its remote functions. Additionally, fingerprint features may be inappropriate where strict biometric consent and data retention policies are in place.

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Lock with Handle
#3 - Best Deal

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Lock with Handle

Buyer Score 95/100 Integrity Score 73/100 PHILIPS

Overview

For household safety, the key resilience features are primarily physical rather than cloud-based. The manufacturer’s manual details include a thumb turn for indoor unlocking, mechanical keys for outdoor entry, low-battery alerts, and instructions to replace with four new AA alkaline batteries. Users are advised not to use rechargeable batteries or mix different types of batteries. Installation accessories include an optional strike reinforcement plate; however, ensuring proper screw selection, proper frame condition, latch alignment, and adherence to local building codes remain critical. The product is powered by replaceable disposable batteries instead of a sealed rechargeable pack, which helps mitigate premature electronic waste once the batteries are depleted. Philips offers a two-year warranty on electronic components and lifetime coverage for mechanical parts and finish for the original resident at the initial installation address. The manual recommends following local disposal regulations for used batteries rather than discarding them with household waste. No independent environmental certifications, recycled-content claims, repair parts catalog, or specific end-of-life recycling programs for the product were identified.

What works

  • There is no public record of an exact product certification for BHMA, although Grade 2 specifications are listed for related variants in the 4000 series.
  • No publicly available certification was found for exact-product NRTL electrical safety listing, IP rating, fire-door listing, or recognized cybersecurity accreditation.
  • The lock does not have an external power connection for emergencies. As a result, a drained battery makes the mechanical key particularly crucial for gaining access.
  • Remote control, alerts, voice features, and guest management through accounts rely on the bridge, home network, cloud application, and user account. Public app reviews mention occasional issues with login and pairing; however, these problems do not affect the thumb-turn exit or key access functionalities.

What does not

  • Indoor thumb-turn exit and mechanical key entry are still accessible without needing the app or Wi-Fi bridge.
  • Four AA alkaline batteries are user-replaceable. The manual advises against using rechargeable batteries and mixing old and new batteries.
  • The manufacturer provides specific specifications regarding door thickness, bore-hole size, backset, handing, as well as temperature and humidity restrictions.
  • When the bridge and app are set up, remote guest-code scheduling, activity logging, and automatic locking are features provided by the manufacturer.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households with a standard outward-facing residential door that already has a compatible deadbolt bore and backset, and that prefers a matching handleset instead of just a deadbolt. It is especially convenient for residents who want local fingerprint or PIN access while still keeping traditional keys, and for hosts who can provide scheduled or one-time access codes via the bridge. Buyers should be comfortable replacing four AA alkaline batteries, keeping spare keys handy, and verifying the door alignment during installation.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for fire-rated doors, required egress doors, or doors exposed to harsh weather unless the installer verifies that the entire door assembly remains compliant with code. Do not depend solely on remote unlocking as your access method, as the product lacks external emergency power and remote functions depend on the bridge, network, and account. Additionally, it is not ideal for households requiring independently verified Grade 1 or precise-model Grade 2 burglary resistance, formal cybersecurity certification, or a documented commitment to long-term firmware support.

Eufy Security Smart Lock C220 Fingerprint Wi-Fi Deadbolt
#4

Eufy Security Smart Lock C220 Fingerprint Wi-Fi Deadbolt

Buyer Score 93/100 Integrity Score 77/100 Eufy Security

Overview

For household safety, the most well-documented safeguards are mechanical and local. The device features an interior thumbturn for exit, a physical keyway, and an external USB-C port for emergency power. It also advises against using incorrect battery types and cautions against unsafe disposal, crushing, heating, or exposing batteries to extreme conditions. The model's radio functions comply with FCC regulations in the United States, which pertains to radio emissions rather than safety or cybersecurity certifications. The lock is powered by eight user-replaceable AA batteries instead of a sealed rechargeable pack, facilitating easier battery replacement without needing to replace the entire electronic unit. The manufacturer recommends not discarding the product with household waste and suggests proper recycling. However, there is no specific environmental certification, recycled content information, repair-parts policy, or detailed end-of-life program available. The manufacturer states that fingerprint templates are encrypted and stored locally, but clear documentation on product-specific deletion and data retention controls is lacking.

What works

  • The manufacturer states that the product meets BHMA Grade 3 durability; however, a specific model listing could not be found in the publicly available BHMA certified products directory during this evaluation.
  • There is no publicly available cybersecurity certification for a specific model, independent penetration testing, or a dedicated firmware security update commitment.
  • The IP53 weather resistance rating and the estimated eight-month battery life are provided by the manufacturer. No publicly available third-party ingress testing certificates or category-specific reliability tests have been found for this product.
  • Eufy describes fingerprint templates as encrypted and stored locally; however, detailed product-specific information regarding retention, deletion, and account recovery processes could not be found.

What does not

  • An interior thumbturn offers a simple mechanical method to exit without needing an app, account, network, or fingerprint.
  • Physical keys and the documented USB-C emergency power port offer reliable backup access options once the AA batteries are drained.
  • The installation guide provides specific measurements for door thickness, bore size, clearance, and backset, rather than just making a general compatibility claim.
  • The specific model is certified with FCC documentation for its Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi radio capabilities.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households with a standard single-cylinder exterior door seeking multiple local entry options. It features a thumbturn for easy exit, traditional keys, and USB-C emergency power to address battery failures. It is also suitable for users who can measure their door beforehand, as the installation guide specifies a door thickness of 35-55 mm, backsets of 60 or 70 mm, and the necessary bore dimensions. Additionally, its integrated Wi-Fi setup makes it convenient for users who want to remotely monitor and manage access without the need for a separate bridge.

Who is it not for

This is not suitable for doors that need to maintain a fire-door hardware listing, mortise-lock doors, or doors with thicknesses outside the specified range of 35-55 mm and standard-bore requirements without a qualified compatibility assessment. It is also less ideal for households that require independently verified cybersecurity certification, a specified minimum security update period, or publicly documented weather resistance ratings. Individuals who cannot consistently have physical keys accessible should not rely solely on remote control or fingerprint access as their only backup in case of battery failure.

Veise Keyless Fingerprint Door Lock Set
#5

Veise Keyless Fingerprint Door Lock Set

Buyer Score 88/100 Integrity Score 73/100 Veise

Overview

The primary safety benefits for households include mechanical indoor exit capability and physical backup keys. Veise specifies that the lock uses four replaceable AA alkaline batteries and advises against using rechargeable batteries or mixing old and new cells. While this avoids the need for a sealed lithium battery pack, it results in ongoing disposable battery waste. Additionally, there is no available public NRTL electrical listing specifically for this product. Veise states that fingerprints are stored locally on the lock rather than uploaded to a cloud service, aligning with the product's no-app design. However, its broader privacy policy indicates that biometric data, device information, location, and usage data may be collected for related services. Therefore, households should not assume that all Veise products share the same data handling practices. No specific CPSC recalls or warnings related to this product were found in U.S. recall records. The technical page references an expired carbon-offset certificate covering 2023 to 2024, rather than an active environmental certification. Additionally, information on spare parts availability, recycling instructions, or guidance for end-of-life electronics was not available.

What works

  • The claims of ANSI/BHMA Grade 3 and IP54 standards were observed on Veise materials; however, there was no specific product listing or certification available in a publicly accessible issuing authority registry.
  • There are no records of any independent tests specifically for this product that involve forced entry, drilling, picking, or long-term reliability assessments.
  • The Veise-hosted documentation directs users to a deadbolt installation guide intended for a different KS02 variant, undermining precise product traceability.
  • The programming documentation provides the factory master code and advises users to update it prior to programming. Leaving it unchanged could pose an unnecessary security risk.
  • The manufacturer provides varying claims regarding fingerprint recognition speed, such as 0.2 and 0.3 seconds. Therefore, these performance figures should be regarded as marketing statements rather than confirmed measurements.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer's documentation, local keypad, fingerprint, key, and interior thumb-turn operation eliminate the need for a phone, network, or account.
  • The device uses four AA alkaline batteries that can be replaced from the inside. The instructions advise against mixing different types of batteries or combining old and new cells.
  • The specified door dimensions, backsets, bore size, and a minimum 1-inch frame hole provide installers with clear compatibility verification points.
  • The product comes with two zinc-alloy lever handles that include the deadbolt, eliminating the need to purchase a separate matching handle.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households seeking local electronic entry without the need for an app, Wi-Fi bridge, subscription, or cloud account. It is compatible with standard wood doors that already feature the specified 2-1/8 inch bore holes, a backset of 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inches, and sufficient frame depth. It also suits users who want a physical key backup and a simple manual exit inside the home. Users should be ready to change the default master code right away, securely store backup keys, and confirm proper bolt alignment after installation.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for fire-rated doors or any doors requiring hardware that is specifically listed for a particular fire-door assembly, as no exact fire-door listing for this product has been found. It is also not appropriate for households that need verified Grade 1 or Grade 2 security, independently tested attack resistance, or audited biometric performance. If remote management, mobile credentials, activity logs, or integration with systems like Matter, Apple Home, Alexa, or Google Home are necessary, consider choosing an alternative setup. Additionally, renters and owners of metal, fiberglass, storm, sliding, or doors with unusual thickness (either very thin or very thick) should verify compatibility before making any modifications to their door.

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Door Lock with App Control
#6

Philips Wi-Fi Smart Door Lock with App Control

Buyer Score 84/100 Integrity Score 70/100 PHILIPS

Overview

The product operates using replaceable AA alkaline batteries instead of a sealed rechargeable pack. The manufacturer's manual provides important safety guidance for batteries, including the use of AA alkaline cells, correct polarity, replacing the entire set at once, and avoiding mixing old and new batteries or different types. It also advises against placing batteries near fire and recommends keeping used batteries and the lock out of household waste. No specific NRTL electrical safety listing for this model was found, so these safety instructions should not be mistaken for independent electrical certification. The manufacturer offers a two-year warranty covering electronic components, as well as mechanical parts and finish, as long as the original purchaser remains at the initial installation address. The manual states that returns should be made through authorized service centers and mentions proper disposal. However, no publicly available repair parts catalog, recycling partnership, recycled-content claims, or third-party environmental certifications were identified. Additionally, no specific CPSC recall or SaferProducts report related to this product was found during the review. The app’s privacy policy is noteworthy because it details the collection of access logs, lock status, user credentials, guest information, device data, and possibly location information.

What works

  • There is no certification from the exact-model BHMA directory, independent attack testing, or publicly available NRTL electrical safety listing. This indicates a lack of verification, but does not necessarily suggest a defect.
  • The retail listing describes the product as weatherproof; however, the official available materials do not specify an IP rating, operating temperature range, or detailed weather testing information.
  • The official privacy policy states that the service may gather lock passwords, access logs, guest information, device details, and possibly location data. This contradicts the app store's developer data safety declaration, which claims that no data is collected.
  • There was no information available regarding a public firmware security update commitment, the end-of-support date, a vulnerability disclosure policy, or specific cybersecurity certification for the exact model.
  • Remote controls and real-time activity updates rely on the bridge, home network, app account, and compatible cloud service.

What does not

  • An interior thumb turn allows for an exit without the need for an app, account, network connection, fingerprint, or battery power.
  • A mechanical key serves as a reliable backup for outside entry in case batteries, phone access, or fingerprint recognition do not work.
  • The official manual provides detailed specifications for door thickness, bore-hole size, backset, strike-depth, alignment, and installation procedures.
  • Four standard AA alkaline batteries are replaceable, and the manual advises against using mixed, damaged, or rechargeable batteries.
  • Fingerprints and user PINs can be removed directly from the lock without needing to use the app.

Who is it for

This product is designed for homes with a standard single-cylinder exterior door measuring between 1-3/8 to 2 inches in thickness and featuring a typical 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inch backset. It is particularly suitable for households with multiple residents, guests, or service personnel requiring unique PIN codes, while still maintaining a physical key as a backup. Additionally, it is ideal for those who prefer everyday access via key, PIN, or fingerprint, rather than relying solely on remote control for entry.

Who is it not for

This product is not suitable for fire-door assemblies or any door requiring hardware with a certified fire-door listing, as no exact product certification was available. It is also not ideal for privacy-sensitive homes that prefer not to have activity logs, account details, guest information, or location-based app features processed according to the manufacturer’s policies. Homes exposed to harsh weather conditions should not rely on the retail weatherproof claims as an IP-rated environmental standard. For those needing verified resistance to drilling, forced entry, or digital attacks, more specific model evidence is necessary.

Veise VE017G-H Smart Fingerprint Door Lock
#7

Veise VE017G-H Smart Fingerprint Door Lock

Buyer Score 82/100 Integrity Score 72/100 Veise

Overview

The lock avoids the use of a built-in rechargeable battery pack. Instead, it operates on four replaceable AA alkaline batteries, which can be swapped out without replacing the entire electronic lock. The manufacturer also provides mechanical keys and mentions USB-C emergency power options for situations where the battery is depleted. The radio hardware is independently certified under FCC authorization for the VE017 series; however, this certification only covers radio compliance and does not address lock strength, weatherproofing, or cybersecurity aspects. Veise states that the product stores fingerprints, PIN codes, and access logs locally with AES-128 encryption, and does not utilize cloud storage. Their broader privacy policy indicates that smart-lock services may collect biometric data, device information, account details, and location data. It also allows for some retained data even after a deletion request, for reasons related to legal, accounting, or security needs. The reviewed sources did not identify any specific product recall, public NRTL electrical listing, public BHMA certification, repair parts program, or end-of-life electronics recycling instructions.

What works

  • The product is advertised as Wi-Fi-enabled; however, the lock operates via Bluetooth. Remote access features require the included gateway, a home internet connection, and a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
  • The alleged ANSI Grade 3 and BHMA testing have not been independently verified in a publicly available, specific BHMA certification record for the product.
  • Veise's privacy policy states that its smart-lock services may collect fingerprint data, whereas this product page indicates that fingerprints, codes, and logs are stored locally without any cloud storage. The scope and consistency between these statements are not clearly defined or reconciled.
  • There was no evidence of a publicly available specific product cybersecurity certification, vulnerability disclosure policy, firmware support duration, commitment to providing repair parts, or an electronics recycling program.

What does not

  • According to the manufacturer, multiple local entry options—including mechanical keys—remain accessible when the internet or gateway is unavailable.
  • The device offers practical recovery options, including replaceable AA batteries, backup keys, and a temporary USB-C emergency power port, according to the manufacturer.
  • The entire VE017G series can be specifically identified through FCC authorization for its Bluetooth and NFC radio capabilities.
  • The manufacturer specifically specifies door thickness, backset, bore size, compatible door construction, operating temperature, and an IP55 rating.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for owners of standard single-cylinder external doors who prefer a matching deadbolt and handleset rather than modifying existing hardware. It is particularly suitable for households requiring multiple entry options, such as PIN codes, fingerprints, key fobs, and physical keys, along with the convenience of remote guest-code management. Be sure to measure your door accurately beforehand. The compatibility specifications are for doors measuring 1-3/8 to 2 inches thick with a 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inch backset; it is not compatible with mortise or integrated locksets.

Who is it not for

This hardware is not suitable for fire-rated doors unless the door manufacturer or a qualified installer confirms that it is approved for use on that specific assembly. It is also not ideal for households that demand independently certified BHMA certification, audited cybersecurity measures, or a publicly available long-term firmware support plan. Avoid using it when a mortise or integrated lockset is installed, when installing the handle-hole layout would compromise the door’s strength, or when occupants need to reliably retain a mechanical backup key.

Wyze Auto-Lock Bolt Smart Bluetooth Deadbolt
#8

Wyze Auto-Lock Bolt Smart Bluetooth Deadbolt

Buyer Score 81/100 Integrity Score 72/100 WYZE

Overview

For household safety, essential features include straightforward manual indoor door opening, a visual indicator for low battery, local Bluetooth control, and a temporary USB-C port for emergency power. The device operates on four replaceable AA batteries rather than a sealed rechargeable pack. Wyze recommends using new batteries, avoiding mixing different types, and replacing batteries when the low-battery alert appears. Its specified operating conditions include an indoor temperature starting at 32°F, which is relevant for unheated entry areas. In terms of privacy, Wyze's documentation suggests it is relatively strong. The company states that access codes, schedules, entry logs, and fingerprints are stored in an encrypted format on the lock itself. It also provides instructions for device deletion and factory reset procedures that remove all user data and settings. The privacy policy generally allows for requests to access or delete account data. There are no records of this specific lock being recalled by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. However, there is no publicly available repair program, end-of-life electronics recycling plan, claim regarding recycled materials, or independent environmental certification. The lock’s limited one-year warranty and disposable AA batteries indicate a limited lifespan.

What works

  • This product does not feature an external mechanical key override. Wyze explicitly recommends against using it in homes, condos, or apartments that lack a second entry point.
  • The dead-battery recovery process necessitates a USB-C power bank and a functioning code, making it less convenient than using a physical key in the event of a lockout.
  • The fingerprint reader may not work properly if your skin is dry, wet, oily, or dirty, or if the finger is placed incorrectly. Wyze recommends registering multiple fingerprint scans and keeping the sensor clean for optimal performance.
  • The asserted ANSI/BHMA Grade 3 and UL 10C 20-minute fire-test ratings could not be independently verified against the official product records available from the issuing authorities.
  • The most recent firmware update for the original model was released in March 2023, and Wyze does not specify a security support end date for individual models.

What does not

  • The interior thumb latch allows for immediate manual egress without requiring a phone, app account, fingerprint, or batteries.
  • Consumer Reports features this specific product in their laboratory testing program to evaluate its resistance to kicking in and drilling.
  • Wyze states that codes, schedules, access logs, and fingerprint data are encrypted and stored locally on the lock itself, rather than in the cloud.
  • The lock can function without an internet connection at home since it is controlled locally via Bluetooth through the app. Additionally, keypad codes and fingerprint data are stored directly on the device.
  • Its published compatibility ratings and included strike plate provide installers with clear door-fit specifications.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households that have an alternative secure entry point, such as a garage, side door, or a trusted keyholder nearby. It is suitable for buyers seeking local Bluetooth control, keypad access, and fingerprint entry, without depending on Wi-Fi or cloud-based systems for everyday unlocking. Additionally, it is only compatible with doors that meet Wyze's specified standards for deadbolt bore size, thickness, and backset, and where users can regularly replace fresh AA batteries and have a USB-C power bank readily available.

Who is it not for

This lock is not suitable for single-entry homes, apartments, or condominiums where a dead battery, forgotten code, damaged keypad, or mechanical failure could prevent entry. Wyze recommends that such households avoid using this keyless design. It is also not ideal for those who need remote access beyond Bluetooth range, a physical key backup, long-term firmware support, or independent verification of its lock grade and fire-test certification. Do not install it on doors that do not meet the specified standard dimensions or on assemblies requiring specific fire-door hardware.

ULTRALOQ Bolt Smart Lock
#9

ULTRALOQ Bolt Smart Lock

Buyer Score 78/100 Integrity Score 75/100 ULTRALOQ

Overview

The current safety guide outlines several practical safety measures. It specifies the use of user-replaceable AA batteries instead of a sealed rechargeable pack, advises against using rechargeable or non-alkaline batteries, and indicates that the device can operate outdoors within a temperature range of minus 4 to 149 degrees Fahrenheit. Additionally, it requires the battery compartment to be located indoors and kept dry. No relevant recalls or warnings from the CPSC regarding this product were found in the public U.S. recall database reviewed. The product helps reduce some replacement waste by providing accessible batteries, and the manufacturer offers a lifetime mechanical warranty along with an 18-month electronic warranty. However, this does not guarantee repair services. A public parts catalog, repair program, electronics take-back initiative, recycled-content claims, or independent environmental certifications were not identified. Proper disposal of depleted AA batteries should be done through local battery collection programs rather than household recycling.

What works

  • The BHMA certification claimed for this product could not be independently verified against existing public BHMA records. As a result, the product's forced-entry resistance and cycle-performance grades remain unconfirmed.
  • No publicly available exact-model NRTL electrical safety listing or independent forced-entry test report was found.
  • The manufacturer states that the exterior is weather-protected, but the current installation guide refers to it as waterproof without providing an independent ingress test certification. Additionally, the interior battery compartment is explicitly not waterproof.
  • Remote control and various setup options necessitate an account, app, or a compatible Matter hub. The product documentation does not specify a timeline for firmware security updates or indicate an end-of-support date.
  • The privacy policy broadly addresses account, device, location, and biometric data; however, it does not clearly specify where fingerprint templates are stored, how long they are retained, or the procedures for deleting data tied to specific devices.

What does not

  • A thumb turn allows for immediate indoor exit without the need for batteries, network connection, an app, or biometric identification.
  • The provided backup keys offer a recorded manual entry method in case of battery failure or any other access issue.
  • The current guide provides specific fit specifications, including door thicknesses ranging from 1-3/8 to 1-3/4 inches, bore options of 2-1/8 or 1-1/2 inches, and backsets of 2-3/8 or 2-3/4 inches.
  • The Matter over Thread certification for the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint platform is backed by an official public Alliance certification record, rather than just a brand assertion.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for households replacing a traditional deadbolt on a standard, non-fire-rated residential door, particularly where adults desire multiple local entry options. It is suited for users who plan to keep the backup key accessible, regularly test the thumb turn and bolt alignment with the door open, and replace the four AA batteries promptly when a low-battery alert appears. Additionally, it is compatible with homes that already have a suitable Thread border router and wish to enable local Matter control, understanding that Wi-Fi and Matter are alternative operating methods rather than indicators of independent, simultaneous resilience.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideally suited for use as a required egress door where local building codes, fire-door listings, or authorities having jurisdiction specify the use of specifically listed hardware. It is also not suitable for households that cannot reliably keep a mechanical backup key or those requiring a BHMA grade certification and verified forced-entry testing for the exact lock model. Privacy-conscious users needing a clear fingerprint-template deletion process, or buyers who want a published long-term firmware security support date, should not solely depend on the provided documentation. Additionally, avoid installing the lock in exposed interior locations where rain, snow, or condensation could reach the battery compartment.

LOCKSTAR Smart Door Lock Keyless Deadbolt
#10

LOCKSTAR Smart Door Lock Keyless Deadbolt

Buyer Score 76/100 Integrity Score 71/100 LOCKSTAR

Overview

The product is powered by four replaceable AA batteries, eliminating the need for a sealed battery pack and allowing for easy routine replacement without discarding the entire lock. The installation manual specifies zinc as the housing material and mentions silicone gaskets. However, there is no claim regarding recycled content, nor are there programs for repairs, electronics take-back, battery recycling instructions, or independent environmental certifications. Used AA batteries should be disposed of according to local battery collection guidelines rather than household recycling, where applicable. For home safety, the manual details a physical key, an indoor lock body with a knob, and access via keypad and fob. The radio component has FCC authorization for the specified Lockstar smart lock model, ensuring legal radio operation in the United States. However, it does not include certifications related to electrical safety, fire safety, forced entry resistance, weatherproofing, or cybersecurity. Additionally, no product-specific CPSC recalls or public safety warnings were found during verification.

What works

  • There is no record of an exact-model ANSI/BHMA certification, independent forced-entry testing, or an established durability rating. As a result, the lock's resistance to break-ins and wear remains unverified.
  • No specific UL or ETL certification for electrical safety, fire-door listing, or publicly available weather protection ratings was identified.
  • The current manual lacks clear information regarding the low-battery warning threshold, procedures for emergency external power, the acceptable operating temperature range, and steps to follow during an outage.
  • There was no security white paper, vulnerability disclosure process, encryption details, firmware support commitments, or third-party IoT security certification available.
  • Privacy disclosures require clarification. Google Play indicates that no data are collected, whereas Apple specifies the use of a user identifier connected to the user's identity for app functionality.

What does not

  • Multiple local entry options are available, such as a physical key, keypad, and key fob, ensuring that app access is not the sole method of entry.
  • The manual indicates that standard replaceable AA batteries should be used, rather than a sealed rechargeable battery pack.
  • The installation instructions specify the door thickness, minimum door width, and an adjustable backset of either 60 mm or 70 mm.
  • The radio hardware is FCC authorized for NFC at 13.56 MHz and low-power communications at 2.4 GHz.
  • A two-year warranty is provided by the manufacturer and is valid upon registration within 14 days of purchase.

Who is it for

This product is ideal for homeowners or small-scale rental hosts with a standard, non-fire-rated residential door that is between 1.5 and 1.9 inches thick and accommodates a 60 mm or 70 mm deadbolt backset. It is particularly suitable for households seeking multiple daily access options, such as PIN, fob, fingerprint, and a physical key, with the gateway and app serving as convenient alternatives rather than exclusive methods of entry. Proper installation requires precise alignment of the strike plate and thorough testing of the indoor knob and mechanical key to ensure proper functioning.

Who is it not for

This product is not ideal for fire-rated doors, doors that must comply with building or association regulations requiring certified hardware, or installations that demand documented ANSI/BHMA forced-entry resistance. Additionally, it is not suitable for households needing a publicly available low-battery emergency plan, verified weather resistance, official cybersecurity certification, or a clearly defined long-term firmware support policy. Individuals uncomfortable with storing biometric data or relying on an app with inconsistent cross-platform privacy practices should avoid fingerprint registration and look for options with more transparent data management controls.